Initial D Final Stage

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 頭文字 Final Stage

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 16, 2014 to Jun 22, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Avex Entertainment
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: SynergySP
Source: Manga
Genres: SportsSports, CarsCars, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.241 (scored by 5011250,112 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1578
Members: 98,573
Favorites: 613

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 30, 2014
Hiros-lastchance (All reviews)
I'll be the first to review this, which brings me to my first point. Initial D is not as popular among people on the mal community (probably everyone outside of japan) as it used to be. I can't be sure how popular it is in japan now, but the subs for the final stage took a very long time to come out. As of now it has a little over 2,000 members. Initial D never was extremely popular (I'm generally speaking for the mal community, Its seems to be more popular in Japan) but as it has been airing through about 15 or so years read more
Sep 6, 2014
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
Taking place where fifth stage leaves off, Takumi will have the his final race as a street racer. His opponent this time is like no other opponent he has ever faced. He is now racing a fellow AE86 Trueno model driver, Inui Shinji. Not only that, he happens to be younger than Takumi who usually tends to be the youngest in his social circle. Also, the difference between their cars is that Takumi is the hatchback model while Shinji has the sedan model. And as the race progresses, we will also learn about Shinji and his background and many characters return to see if Project read more
Feb 8, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
Intro: Although it is not the smart thing to do, this will be a review for the entire Initial D series (First stage, Second Stage, Third Stage, Fourth Stage, Fifth Stage and Final Stage).


Story: 8/10
Although at first the story may seem boring or not appealing it actuallty is great and dosen't get too repetitive but towards the final seasons the story is getting less real.
The story takes place in about a 1 year interval and revolves around the journey of a ditsy highschooler (Takumi) who will join his friend's race team and become one of the fastest street racers in his area, later read more
Jun 22, 2016
River_Cloud (All reviews)
*SPOILER-FREE Short and Cute ^_^ Review for the Initial D series*
(If you haven't watched fifth stage you should! just to get to these four episodes!! >_<)
Also pardon my Exclamation marks use but that's how much I liked this season!!

Fifth Stage left me a little demotivated and I had to force myself to begin Final Stage. And Thank God! If you love the Initial D series, please sit through Fifth Stage just to get to this one.

+++This race is unlike any other I've seen and that's all I will say about it! Just when Fifth season made me forget about Takumi, he entered from a corner read more
Sep 5, 2014
fameONE (All reviews)
As far as character development and depth, Initial D has been sorely lacking these qualities since Second Stage. The story arc with Ryosuke in Fifth Stage covered some ground, but the characters in the anime failed to entice. Understably, the manga fits a lot more details and character nuances into the story, the anime has not been so successful in translating that into action.

With that said, Final Stage provides viewers with much needed closure. The ending was expected, to a certain degree. The final race was full of suspense and a rather unpredictable sequence. The story itself didn't provide much closure as the action read more
Jul 24, 2020
cameronrb24 (All reviews)
It's a decent conclusion to the series. It's a bit disappointing that Tak's friends literally never race, and are still stuck working at the gas station, but it appears that the members of Project D get to move on to bigger and better things at least. Ryosuke's development over the series still feels odd to me, but the end result is fine I guess. Shinji worked well as the final opponent. He helped emphasize just how much Takumi has grown, both as a racer and a person, since first stage. I didn't find the race itself that interesting though. Much of the same as read more
May 22, 2021
Nebarto (All reviews)
Over half of this season (4 episodes ~ 1 HOUR) was some Karen trying to justify their whiny teenager's driving style that ironically lacks any, after his balls suddenly dropped looking at some legs. Other than his need to compensate for said lack of technique by ramming other cars out of the way, this was the worst season of Initial D.

SPOILERS AHEAD

SPOILERS AHEAD

Then there's the other side of the story Takumi, who didn't show much of what he learned throughout the series in his final battle, other than his blind attack, after spending half of the previous season talking about how he was read more
Apr 4, 2017
TheIceDragon (All reviews)
IMO This anime had great potential, but imo it needs a graphics / art overhaul. Comparing this anime to some of the old animes like DBZ or Naruto which continued to improve their art overtime, you can see it. Whereas Initial D's art becomes stale as I felt the artist got lazy and decided not to improve on the overall graphic quality of the manga / anime. The original is a good standard to set, but comparing it to today's anime / art, it's just not appealing and won't cut it.

Story Telling: 7/10

The story telling is amazing. The plot pace moves along well when it read more
Jun 6, 2017
KSt0ne (All reviews)
This review is very late. I don't write many reviews, but I seem to write reviews on the series that I enjoyed or were impactful on me as a viewer.

Obviously, Initial D has been referenced widely in other shows. I did not pick up this series until a few years ago, starting with the original, working my way to Final Stage. I do recommend Initial D: Final Stage, if you can make it through some of the earlier seasons.

Final Stages takes all of the events leading up to it, delivers it at full throttle (I watched this all non-stop and barely took read more
Jun 6, 2020
SlowpokeWild (All reviews)
The last Vroom Vroom

This was a decent final and a really fun journey trough all the stages of Initial D. I never enjoy a lot since I've watched all Naruto in one month.

To be fair this isn't the final I want it but I'll take it.
Most of the race we seen Takumi struggling with his 16 years old rival and it's kinda hilarious because this rival is like a counterpart of Takumi and they both are connected by the fact of "why am I racing?" and both are amazingly good drivers. But the rival is an asshole (in my humble opinion).

Yes, Takumi face of his read more
Apr 26, 2020
WeebXXX (All reviews)
I have rated all of the previous seasons as 8s, and the reasons for that is that there isn't really anything to dislike in the show. You can argue that the visual part of the show is not the best by todays standards, however it's something that can easily be forgiven by the other aspects of the show, like characters.

So why did I decide to rate this as a 9 then you may ask? Even though I can't say with 100% confidence that the final battle was the best one, I can say that the closure to the whole Project D was very satisfying, read more
Apr 28, 2021
MonteJi (All reviews)
Liked it. Like, this thing is awsome, the final of it(with i wount spoiler here) is breath takin, i literaly became pog while watching, the cars are very well desingned and the musci complements it all. The race is so fun and the events leading to it(all the other stages of the initial d) are so great(besides the 4 stage
thatr i dont find that good, at least for me -.-).

This is my first review so probably bad and dont explain that much about the expecific about things like audio, caracter design and some other bullshit that you would probably care about to change read more