Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Final Approach


Alternative Titles

Japanese: φなる・あぷろーち

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2004 to Dec 26, 2004
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 14 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.621 (scored by 15,234 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #54942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2525
Members: 29,735
Favorites: 45

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 19, 2009
cheriipai (All reviews)
Either bashing my cranium against a solid, brick wall because the main character, Ryo Mizuhara, is ceaselessly making stubborn and defiant choices -even though he is completely aware of hurting his fiancée's feelings- or because his fiancée, Shizuka Masuda, is almost annoyingly hell-bent on receiving affection from someone who obviously does not care, I'll have to admit that (most-importantly) my head seems to be in relatively good shape, despite a solid beating(s). And since my skull-bashing proved to be ineffective time-after-time, I could actually sit and enjoy some of the finer moments that Final Approach had to offer.

Yes, it has the long-running and omnipresent anime read more
Jan 15, 2009
VoDKa (All reviews)
Final Approach is a romantic comedy with a total runtime of 2.6 hours (13 episodes X 12 minutes each). I can understand why the anime is short because it would make little sense for it to be any longer since the story and events of this show are quite simple. Although this is not the best anime out there, I have to say that it is not bad at all. It really depends on the audience. I am not really into the whole romantic comedy genre but I do not detest it either. I think this is one of the reasons why I liked this read more
Aug 30, 2008
mcjazzman32 (All reviews)
Final Approach is possibly one of the most demented, impossibly defunct anime I’ve ever watched. Not only does it strangle the viewer with absurd, illogical plotlines and unexplainable (and oftentimes incomprehensible) conclusions to cap 10 minute long episodes, but the characters can go from annoying to lovable in 0 to 60 without breaking a sweat.

The story is supposed to be about a guy, Ryo, who is forced to marry this girl, Shizuka, because of a government program meant to up the childbirth rate. But the anime completely abandons that premise half-way through in favor of some kind of twisted love triangle between Ryo, Shizuka read more
Jul 8, 2008
DarkAssassin31 (All reviews)
Final Approach, the title has nothing what so ever to do with the content of the story, which is about a girl who is forced to marry someone because of a 'government program'. I don't know about anyone else but i found this quite enjoyable.

[Story]
The story is great. I say its great not 'amazing' or 'excellent' because the forced marriage thing is kinda overused and people like me, who are heavily into romance, comedy, harem type animes, will think 'been there done that'. But the reason why its 'Great' and not 'Mediocre' is that it adds a certain twist to the story (you'll find out read more
Apr 13, 2008
billy_oniisan (All reviews)
Final Approach is probably ONE OF THE BEST, if not the best there is, anime of its genre. For those who would like to make a review for this series, pls watch all the episodes first before doing so.

[Story]: The story, I admit, seemed uninteresting at first, but got better and better as the story progressed. It got my interest, probably because of of its comedy-romance genre mix-up.

[Art]: What more can I say? The anime character art that I've always loved. How they mixed the typical anime characters with chibis versions was very interesting. That really gave the series a great comedy twist...

[Sound]: The read more
Jun 8, 2009
shanimebib (All reviews)
Well i was just bored at only watching ongoing shows for a while and just wanted to give a marathon of a random anime and then i picked this anime i dont know why.

the synopsis and the original plot was absurd enough to ruin my interest, however, i kinda liked the main girl shizuka and ryo's sister akane from the first episode and decided to stick with it.

in the end, i am glad that i finished it and its way way better than stupid anime like akane-iro no somaro saka. if anyone compares this anime with akane-iro, then they have pretty bad anime taste.

tonikaku,

plot: one read more
Apr 24, 2011
rosenkavalier (All reviews)
Foreword
Found the torrent from Tokyotosho RSS feed. Yes, it's another release from Jumonji-Giri. They've been around re-encoding old series,those that aired when .mkv format was not so widespread, and widescreen broadcast was uncommon. After a quick look on AniDB, I downloaded this series. FYI, this time too, J-G peer swarms were small, and up/down speed was so low, around 8 kBps.

Story
This kind of theme has been recycled again and again for romantic comedy (particularly harem, and ecchi) anime. Although there's not much similarity between them, I am tempted to compare FA to Daa! Daa! Daa! (UFO Baby). No... no... don't ask me anything if you read more
Dec 19, 2015
ratedR7585 (All reviews)
after just finishing watch Final Approach, this is my quick review of the series

There are spoilers in this review so be careful

Genres - comedy, drama, romance, slice of life

What I Liked about the anime -

1 - I will admit that the first couple of episodes of the show were both boring and slow, but as the show went on, the more it got better.

2 - This was one of the very few occurrences when having short episodes were better than having the traditional 22 minute format (these were round about 11-14 minutes per episode).

Dislike -

1 - The one thing that was bad for read more
Oct 23, 2008
patient_senses (All reviews)
Final Approach is about a young high school boy who is suddenly picked to be the arranged fiancee of Shizuka. Due to the recent low birth rates, a system picked the two at random to be the perfect match for each other, however, Ryo disagrees.

Story: The story is pretty common in the sense that it's yet another anime about an arranged marriage. There isn't really much of a twist to the overly used storyline either. The girl is all excited about being engaged to the boy and the boy just wants nothing to do with her. A slight twist would be the government's involveent I read more
Jul 29, 2010
CNProf (All reviews)
I found this pretty interesting because I liked the character designs and voices. The length is short enough without dragging on like many romantic-"comedy" series.

It's a basic premise - a girl drops in from the sky (literally), and introduces herself as our main character's fiancee. This is where the response is markedly different from others - he gives a very definite no, instead of reacting in consternation or thinking he's never seen such a cute girl, or allowing himself to be walked all over.

That said, he isn't the best of characters personality-wise, but isn't a polite wimp either.

Several things stood out:

- No jealous childhood friend
- read more
Jul 17, 2012
goblinlancer (All reviews)
I liked this anime because it was hart warming and funny. lots of romance. It takes a long time for the romance to progress.