Black★Rock Shooter (TV)


Black Rock Shooter

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Black Rock Shooter
Synonyms: BRS (TV)
Japanese: ブラック★ロックシューター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 8
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 3, 2012 to Mar 23, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Ordet, SANZIGEN
Source: Other
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama
Theme: Super PowerSuper Power
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.831 (scored by 158064158,064 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #44812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #530
Members: 319,584
Favorites: 1,976

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 23, 2012
afkeroge (All reviews)
Black★Rock Shooter would be the last time that I will ever watch with the name Mari Okada in it. I should have learned my lesson with the pile of nonsense Fractale, but nooooo! I JUST HAD to watch this until the end.

Okay, I admit, not all of it was bad. For starters, the use of CGI in this anime was superb. I mean, really. I think BRS established a new standard in me when looking at CGI in anime. The fight scenes were well-made, and the level of violence put in here is nothing to laugh at. BUT, I’m afraid everything else just felt… ridiculous read more
Aug 24, 2013
NotDolphy (All reviews)
Ahh, Black Rock Shooter… je t'aime

In the 1960s, which is 60 years before when I come from which is the future, a recondite avant garde composer by the name of Captain Beefheart graced the airwaves with his trundling avant garde music that challenged the status quo of blues music with a menagerie of outré bumps and scrapes, replete with a healthy dose of guttural growls, vaguely resembling music. Yet these renegade evocative soundscapes informed a portent of society. In order for progress to subsist, artistic vanguards like this are of incorrigible necessity.

Now, I'm going to go on a bit of a tangent here, so please read more
May 17, 2013
IdleSheep (All reviews)
This is my second review ever written and this contains solely my opinion, i apologize in advance for any grammar mistakes you may find while reading it.

Wow this anime, as i'm scrolling through the reviews it's like 2 different worlds (no pun intended) i see half of people rating it at 1-3 and the other half rating it 9/10. To be fair most reviewers just end up giving it a 5, I guess you could call that neutral, neither a masterpiece nor utter garbage, but i feel the need to give some credit to this anime and am going to state all I think about read more
Mar 18, 2012
renkel76 (All reviews)
Preliminary
When watching Black Rock Shooter OAV, I remember seeing the original HUKE mv and thinking, "Simple. Makes sense."

Then the TV came in. I was first of all shocked by all the changes, then I was surprised the story had taken a different turn, and then came the new characters added. What had happened to the original animation I had fallen in love with? There was a bunch of mixed emotions as I had such high expectations. And that was only the first half of the first episode.

And then I watched the first one. And then the second. I was literally hooked.

Why?

First of all, for only read more
Apr 1, 2012
zahodnik_miensk (All reviews)
Story: 9/10
It was absolutely unpredictable for me. Maybe, people who watched OVA can find some spoilers in it, but I think that scenario is great. It's quite interesting story about hurting, friendship and parallel world. Actually, "Black Rock Shooter" has two or even three parallel plots.
Art: 10/10
Fantastic graphic. Each episode was really incredible from graphical point of wvew. Both real and parallel worlds are painted carefully and stylish, that means, in two different styles.
Sound: 9/10
I don't know what to say about it. Maybe, I put nine for sound because I saw the "Puella Magi Madoka Magica", where sound work was really outstanding. There sound is read more
Feb 10, 2012
Scruff (All reviews)
Preliminary
WARNING- Nothing like the OVA.

I for one was very disappointed. I enjoyed the OVA, the art was great, the soundtrack was amazing, and the voice acting perfected. (Yeah the story could have been better.)

But what the OVA did right, the adaptation did wrong.

The art-style changed. Character designs were completely redrawn. The designs in the OVA were great, but in the anime they just look bland and half-hearted.

The voice-acting and the music weren't as bad, but they still don't quite match up to what the OVA gave us.

And the story... well that was just stupid. It's another Otaku bait anime that wants to give us read more
Apr 9, 2012
Haokan (All reviews)
The first time I heard about Black Rock Shooter, it was basically from all the hype in literally every single social media site I visited. The catchy theme song with the opening lines "Brack Lock Shootah~" stuck in my head and it was on the top of my "planning to watch" list for the longest time. However, this anime was very disappointing.

I'm going to keep it pretty short since this my first review and I don't actually know what I'm doing, but there were several key aspects I feel the anime was missing.

Many people commented on the fact that it had no storyline, and I'll read more
Feb 10, 2012
Plagus777 (All reviews)
Preliminary
--------------------------------------Head Notes--------------------------------------

Black Rock Shooter for a viewer who only knows her from images, various cosplays, and that one Miku song... Maybe more, maybe less. I, the person reviewing this am that person. Not a fan, I haven't done any research whatsoever. Just someone who knows that it exists and through curiosity alone decided to start watching in order to find out what all the hype is about.

In short, I might not know what the hell I am talking about.

Please enjoy the review.

-------------------------------------The Review----------------------------------------

Story - 5

I really don't know what to say about this. I would say there are two threads of plot. One in this read more
Mar 11, 2012
Taufiq91 (All reviews)
Mari Okada is a writer who is the perfect definition of "all style, no substance". I enjoyed her script for Toradora, but everything else she wrote makes me want to throw my monitor out of the window.

For example, Ano Hana. It took 2/3 of the series to reveal that yes, Menma the ghost is real. Why couldn't she just prove herself instead of acting like a moeblob for the first six episodes? Oh wait, it's bad writing.

She's basically the Nicholas Sparks of anime. Her only purpose is to make you cry, and when emotions are the main factor behind a story, you know that there read more
Apr 2, 2012
XtX (All reviews)
Updated for completing the series. I'll try to keep this as spoiler free as possible

Story 3/10- While all the characters from the OVA are present here, the story itself is nearly completely different. While I won't spoil anything, I will say that right off the bat BRS and her alternate world is explained within this first episode. One of the main faults of the OVA was that nothing was really explained at all, so the fact that the audience learns what the hell is going on is an improvement. However, explaining it all within one episode, in a few lines? Then, read more
Feb 10, 2012
Eien_no_mirai (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay... this is my first review, but I thought of doing this, since people don't seem to understand what this anime was about, since the anime itself seemed actually very psychological, or at least that's what it felt like to me.

these are my personal feelings about the anime so far, please be aware of that

Story: 9
Story was great, it felt to me, that it was built to tell about human's emotional suffering, and how social invalidation can turn us into doubting our own feelings, and making us feel isolated.

"Invalidation is to reject, ignore, mock, tease, judge, or diminish someone's feelings. It is an attempt to read more
Jan 17, 2018
AndoCommando (All reviews)
Warning: The following is a rewrite of a deleted review from years ago, and contains blacks, rocks, shooters, criticism, profanity and a score below 5/10. Reader discretion is advised.

“Motherfucker” – Samuel L Jackson.

Black Rock Shooter has had an interesting rise to prominence, beginning with a mere illustration that spawned into a music video by famous vocaloid persona Hatsune Miku, whose attire was inspired from these illustrations. An OVA was released in 2010 based on the music video, much to the pleasure of many vocaloid fans that caused a ridiculous amount of hype surrounding the project that naturally left a lot to be desired. From there read more
May 13, 2015
Seto_Masamune (All reviews)
Black★Rock Shooter (TV) is an action, science, fantasy and drama anime, which was created by Ordet and Sanzigen studios, with Shinobu Yoshioka as the director and Mari Okada as the lead writer. The anime first aired on February 2nd 2012, finished on March 22nd 2012, and was 8 episodes long.

In a nutshell.
Black★Rock Shooter (TV) has a story that centers on the two different worlds that are connected and everything, which happens in the first world, will affect the second. The anime follows the story of Mato Kuoi, a girl who struggles to keep her new friend Yomi Tananashi and Black★Rock Shooter, a mysterious girl read more
Feb 13, 2012
farscapeman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright then people, this is what I've taken from this anime so far. This is my opinion, agree or disagree, its up to you which button you press, helpful or not.
BTW this has spoilers

So, I remember watching the OVA for black rock shooter and I admit it did suck me in. I have high hopes for this series, it has plenty of potential. First of all, I have to say that the artwork is brilliant as is the backround music I've heard. The characters appear to be well done and both main characters interact well, being polar opposites they appear to just fit each other. read more
Feb 8, 2012
arcunhacked (All reviews)
Preliminary
Black★Rock Shooter is, more or less, an inevitable failure to imitate the dark theme of Mahou Shoujo Madoka x Magica.

Starting off, the first time I saw the trailer of the OVA in Youtube, I was amazed. I really want to watch it. But in the end, after about five months of waiting, I was so disappointed with the OVA. It tried to deliver the story in a very tight yet complex plot--but it failed. Their attempt brought so much plot holes.

Now, there's a new one for the television. I thought it was a hope to revive the title's failure in the OVA but no, it read more
Sep 4, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Black Rock Shooter is a series I'm only passingly familiar with. Basically, an illustrator named Fuke Ryohei did an illustration that inspired a song that resulted in an OVA that resulted in a game that resulted in several manga, an anime and a whole lot more. That must have been one awesome illustration. In any case, let's take a look at the anime adaptation.

The story is pretty simple, there are two worlds, one is our ordinary world, the other is a world where our other selves live and shoulder our pain for us... by beating the crap out of each other. The series surrounds a read more
Apr 10, 2012
Amikke (All reviews)
I started watching this anime with high expectations, but I was prepared that it can be worse than I thought. Even then it suprised me badly. Instead of drama-action anime it turned out to be really hard to watch, unlogical, and artifically dramatic piece of junk. Really what was good in it? Pretty other world and opening singed by Hatsune Miku just cannot save something like this from being exactly what I wrote: hard to watch, unlogical and artifically dramatic piece of junk. Characters are acting unrealistically, which is something I really hate since watching School Days. Overall just doesn't make sense. It's just something read more
Mar 23, 2012
dimanganime (All reviews)
I got into the Black★Rock Shooter franchise without any former expectations based on the song by Hatsune Miku (which i enjoy lots, but not particularly the original Miku BRS song) nor the original illustrations, videogame or merchandise. I was embracing a new show, unaware of what was coming, perhaps wondering what sort of quality anything about this brand could possibly have, when this fame was reached through such disperse sorts of media. This perhaps could have made me a little sceptic but i was nontheless very curious, it was all new to me. I was in for a surprise.

STORY - 9
Borderline 10 rating. One of read more
Mar 24, 2012
Tyer123 (All reviews)
Firstly, I want to start off by confessing that I was (and still am) a huge fan of Black Rock Shooter before the OVA and the TV series came out. However I will try my best to write this review as if I know nothing about Black Rock Shooter. All good? Awesome, let's go!

Story 7/10 & Characters 7/10
For me, the weakest areas of this series are the story and characters. The story centers around Mato as she struggles to understand pain and the feelings of hurt, and Black Rock Shooter in an alternate world trying to save others from their pain and suffering by fighting read more
Nov 24, 2014
Gmancam (All reviews)
Preliminary
I picked this series up not being a fan of the Black Rock Shooter franchise; just a guy who gave into watching a popular series which was short enough that I could finish in little time.

Story: 3/10

There story is based around 2 different settings. 1 being a different world where there honestly isn't much going on in it till like the final 2 episodes. The other is an over the top school based drama that tries way to hard. You could fast forward through the first 6 episodes and not miss much in terms of plot progression.

Art: 8/10

Probably the only reason I carried read more