Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Toriko


Alternative Titles

English: Toriko
Synonyms: Toriko (2011), Toriko (TV), Toriko x One Piece Collabo Special
Japanese: トリコ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 147
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2011 to Mar 30, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at 09:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 26,334 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1245
Members: 82,434
Favorites: 755

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 12, 2011
DangoSage (All reviews)
"Cooking is as masculine as judo, kickboxing or tae kwan do. Anyone can fight but it takes a special man to craft the perfect Bolognese sauce"
Quoted from a manly midget chef...

You know the first thing that crossed my mind when I read that quote was covering a cow with ketchup then proceed to pound the cow into bolognese sauce.
Im just kidding of course, that isn't call MANLY... that's called animal abuse...

So chances are if you stumble upon this anime, you're not watching it just to fill up your boring life with some boring junk. No.. You hunt for exotic food on a daily basis. read more
Nov 10, 2011
KidCaramel (All reviews)
Preliminary
WARNING: In my Review I go on tangents, but that's just the way I roll because I like barbeque sauce on my chicken nuggets. And don't you forget it.

There are two reasons that I watch anime:

1) I want to see something with depth that is intellectually stimulating where the characters and story weave a fascinating tale with twists and turns. One Anime that did this for me was Kaiji.

2) I just want to relax and experience an enjoyable adventure with a memorable cast of characters. In this category I mostly look for the theme and eye candy (meaning the quality of the art).

I watch Toriko read more
Aug 27, 2013
Pessoa (All reviews)
The story of Toriko takes place in the Gourmet Age. In that world people live to eat. Wars can erupt over delicious food. The main character Toriko and his partner Komatsu travel around the world to find exquisite ingredients. Toriko hunts, his partner cooks. This is the basic premise and I’ll be honest, it sounds stupid. Teenage heroes of other anime are trying to save humanity, planets, their family and friends from cool-looking edgy evil forces. But Toriko, a twenty five years old adult male, is chasing after food. It isn’t primarily a comedy anime to excuse the premise. Although soon it becomes clear read more
Jul 10, 2015
Tampampam (All reviews)
Preliminary
How do you completely ruin a manga adaptation? Well, it looks like the creators of this anime have the right answer, because like they did their best to make this anime fail.
I mean, let's talk about it for a moment, what didn't they do?
Filler Characters: they added unnecessary filler characters and changed the storyline sometimes so the filler character could play a role in canon episodes. Why would anyone even do that?
Not enough?
Well, they also made sure to censor all the blood, I mean, almost getting killed and yet just having a few scratches is just natural!
Wait, still not enough for you?
Toriko smokes in the read more
Oct 1, 2011
EzmierTheSwift (All reviews)
Preliminary
Most people have told me they find the idea of Toriko to be stupid. After first, I had my doubts. "How could a show about cooking have made its way up the latter in SJ?"

Oh boy, was I in for a ride.

The best thing about this show, it combines old style fighting anime with a twist. The daily fight to find something new and exciting to tempt your tastebuds! The idea is probably one of the most original ideas I have ever seen. The exaction is well done and absolutely hilarious as I find myself laughing and cheering at every turn.

Biggest issue seems to read more
Apr 27, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
WARNING: Anime doesn't cover all of the manga. Toriko is a series where MANLY MEN have gritty fights against villains & monsters for the sake of heroism & food.

Many people have told me how much they hated the anime & prefer reading its manga, which is fine but I'm here to give my honest opinions about the animes pros & cons.

Toriko's concept is one of hunting & cooking where our heroes "The 4 Heavenly Kings" (Toriko, Coco, Sunny & Zebra) explore the unknown lands of the Gourmet Age where exotic food stimulates power resulting into a war which purpose is to obtain "GOD"; the read more
Jun 9, 2015
luffytora0556 (All reviews)
Okay, so to start I originally watched the first 20ish episodes of Toriko a couple years ago but then put it down because it just wasn't that appealing to me. Two weeks ago I decided to pick up the manga because I heard it was better than the anime. Still skeptical I powered past what happened in the anime, in the manga. After that, it was all downhill for me.

I read through over 300 chapters of Toriko in a week. The characters and progressing story had me going through dozens of chapters a day. While the concept of a food world/combat may be a read more
Oct 4, 2018
OG_Guts (All reviews)
I bet you’re wondering “how can a shounen about food be interesting”. I thought the same thing until I watched it, and honestly it completely blew my expectations away... at first. I’ll explain what I mean later

Pros:
- Unique concept and setting (Can you name another battle manga about food?)
- Godly world building. Seriously, it’s one of the best in anime/manga
- Amazing, brutal action sequences
- The hype is over 9000!!

These are the only pros I can think of for Toriko unfortunately, because i felt this series had a lot more flaws.

Plot: 3/10

The story takes place in the Gourmet age, a world where people live and read more
Apr 10, 2012
killerrbee (All reviews)
Preliminary
A somewhat familiar anime to audiences of the One Piece journey. With that being said, "somewhat" is the keyword.

The story, is simply juicy and riveting. Similar to One Piece, Toriko is made up of an immensely gargantuan world filled with many surprises, wonders, and mysteries.

The art is on par with any modern era Japanese anime. The emphasis and exaggeration on the food (especially "key" food items) is mouth watering. You'll soon find yourself engulfed in a sparkling, tender, and juicy piece of prime rib. The environment and color of the anime is beautiful and breathtaking at times.

The sound, is decent. The OP and read more
May 22, 2013
Mad_Maestro (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you like food... and like watching tv shows about food... this anime is for you, despite 99% of the food in this anime not existing my stomach growls every time I watch Toriko... and before I know it I have my face in a tray of Nacho's HA!
Toriko will take you on what is best described as a laid back gourmet adventure and you will love every minute of it... WARNING: make sure you have plenty of food on hand ;)
Oct 21, 2015
Dlite96 (All reviews)
Honestly if you watch this without thinking too much about it you well get a pretty normal shonen anime. The only character I have too much of a problem with is Komatsu, as alot of people say.

Now, he is not a detestable character and I do not loathe him, although I do hate incompetence he displays at times. However I do believe that they should have made Komatsu a women, this would have drastically changed the dynamic of the story and probably have made it better.

Now, I read somewhere that the author had intended at first to make Komatsu a woman, but in doing so read more
Oct 4, 2015
FK420 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So... We have food and fighting.Some people may think food fight but they are way off.This anime by "Shimabukuro Mitsutoshi" delivers a wide range of combinations and flavor that is hard to imagine.However once you do,you're ready to jump into battle with the characters just to try and sneak a bite of the overwhelming varieties of food."Toriko" ended up being the first food anime i watched,after episode 1 i had to show people so i called up some friends.We started the first episode and didn't stop until 15 or so,from that point we watched it every time we hung out.The story was easily captivating enough read more
Apr 11, 2013
lapinmagik (All reviews)
Preliminary
GUTS ! GUTS GUTS ! GUTS GUTS !

As toriko became one of my favorite anime, I had to write a review to explain why.

Imagine a world, much more bigger than earth, that seems endless, where you can find an infinite number of natural cooking's ingredients. Some of them are very rare and valuable, and that's why, there are people whose job is to hunt them.

We often follow toriko and komatsu (a boy whose dream is to become one of the best cook in the world) in their epic adventures to find and ingredient. It could as well be a terrifying and powerful monster or read more
Jun 5, 2015
OtakuMangaGamer (All reviews)
Toriko is one those Shonen battle anime like DBZ, Naruto, One piece, Bleach, etc... But whats makes this different this series is that the mayor point in the story is to eat food to gain more power, to be more accurate the main characters have this thing call gourmet cell inside their bodies that certain food will give them power up's when eaten. The main character are these gourmet hunters that travel around the world founding good food to eat, sometimes they have to fight monsters, other time they have to fight the environment and there time that they fight with other humans. The sound read more