Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hoshi no Koe


Alternative Titles

English: Voices of a Distant Star
Synonyms: Hoshi no Koe
Japanese: ほしのこえ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 2, 2002
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: CoMix Wave Films
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.591 (scored by 45,116 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #638
Members: 77,201
Favorites: 450

Reviews

Stormy_77
Jun 1, 2007
Another hidden gem gets reviewed.

I randomly picked this DVD up at Blockbuster's Anime section and expected nothing much from it and 25 minutes later I was ...... !!!!!! The next day I told 10 people about this movie. That's how much it *got* to me.

Hoshi no Koe ~The Voices of a Distant Star~, is essentially a story of a long distance love and mail messages between a boy and girl. The movie is really short, but in that time you discover that the two of them are friends, the girl is sent out with space forces, but they "text" each other. As time passes (on read more
I found this review Helpful
Shuu-chan
Aug 12, 2010
After watching the amazing 5 Centimeters Per Second, I figure I owed it to myself to watch Shinkai Makoto's first work Voices of a Distant Star. Reviews praised it and I assumed that it must be good. Well you know what they say about assuming.

Story:
Right off the bat I was unsure about the story. I liked the concept of love separated by distance as it worked quite well in 5cm Per Second, but the idea of lagging text messages is just ludicrous. You'd think that in the year 2046 we'd have invented a more effective form of communication, but I guess Shinkai Makoto didn't think read more
I found this review Helpful
milnivek
Apr 20, 2015
I first watched this movie in 2004 in university and remember being blown away by the sheer depth of emotions and feelings that this short film manages to convey in the time that the typical shounen anime may have managed to advance the plot by about 2 screams, a power-up and a fireball.

Coming back to this film over 10 years later, I was apprehensive at how my memories of the film would hold up to a rewatch by my older, cynical, 30-something self.

The art is pretty mediocre especially given the advances in animation in the past decade. The faces especially tend to be distorted and read more
I found this review Helpful
Savepoints
Aug 20, 2013
“There is no long distance about love, it always finds a way to bring hearts together no matter how many miles there are between them.”

Telling a good story in only 25 minutes can be a difficult task, but Shinkai Makoto (almost) single-handedly managed to do so with Hoshi no Koe. However, since it was in fact only made by one person, it does have its fair share of flaws (some more prominent than others).

Story: (8 / 10)
The story is simple. Two childhood friends are separated, but try to stay in contact with each other, even as the distance between them grows. This creates a rather read more
I found this review Helpful
suicideducky
May 16, 2009
An absolutely beautiful masterpeice in all but a few regards.

Voices of a distant star tells the tale of two lovers, seperated by time and space whos only connection is through txt messages which arrive at exponentially increasing delays, to the point where a message is sent wishing happy 24th birthday, from a 15 year old me.

Voices of a distant star is the end result of getting a perfect love story, trimming off all the excess fat, and shrinking it down to 25 minutes of raw emotion.

This was a very hard anime to rate, if you were to take this 25 minutes and compare it to read more
I found this review Helpful
Splitter
Sep 18, 2008
One of the shortest anime out there, Voices of a Distant Star is also in my most humble opinion, one of the best I've ever come across. Following the story of two young friends, they are suddenly divided by the reaches of space. Their contact with each other becomes limited to text messaging. Soon the messages take days to reach, then months, and eventually years. The work that put the now-well-known Makoto Shinkai on the map, this bittersweet tale is one not to be missed.

Voices of a Distant Star is a story that packs more emotion into its entire 25 minute run than an average read more
I found this review Helpful
VGCKenny
Oct 6, 2011
Voices of a Distant Star is a very well received anime. For what reason is beyond me. This anime is just bad. Maybe I'm not the most cultured person, but seeing two people whining and complaining isn't my idea of entertainment.

Story: The story has the right idea, it just doesn't seem to do anything. The idea that two people who care about each other but are split apart by distance is a noble idea, and one that could have worked, but it doesn't because it just shows the two people just complaining, and hardly anything else. Sure there are some action sequences in there, but read more
I found this review Helpful
Laevus
Jan 17, 2010
The story line is just simple but how they portrayed it was just FANTASTIC. We all probably can think of a story like this one but its how the story was full of passion between the two characters which made this anime's story so beautiful. This anime shows how easily love can determine one's future and thoughts.

Although the story was good there were some "not gonna happen, even for an anime" moments, which was the heroine was still in high school and was going out to the universe. Although, this gave the anime a dramatic effect to it.

It was interesting to see how read more
I found this review Helpful
ElectricSlime
Nov 7, 2007
Voices of a Distant Star, short... but sweet. As a one off OVA by acclaimed director Shinkai Makoto it comes with a rather impressive pedigree, but I feel like it never really got moving. The story tells of a young boy and girl who are separated by an intergalactic war. Sounds excellent, but it never really gives you a sense of why they are fighting or even who they are fighting. If the story was more fleshed out and placed in a movie format I feel that this would have been a real winner. It isn't bad as it is, but it could have been read more
I found this review Helpful
ran614
Mar 5, 2015
Have you ever tried having a long distance relationship? It’s not easy, believe me. I once tried it for a year and a half and it was really hard. The trust issues men, they’re killer. You don’t know what she’s really doing because you are not always together. Though she tells you want you want to hear, you will not know if it’s really the truth. After the relationship, we became friends (can you believe it?) and she told me she was having an affair during that time. What a bitch! Anyway, my situation was just one of the millions of long distance relationships all read more
I found this review Helpful
omegavesko
Nov 28, 2015
This OVA definitely felt like it had potential, but for me, it didn't really deliver on what it promised.

Anyone who takes a look at my anime list will know that this is definitely the kind of story that I would expect to thoroughly enjoy; from the sci-fi, to the romance, to the unique element that drives the plot.

However, it just didn't feel like it.. went anywhere. Of course, I don't expect much character development from a 20-minute OVA, but the characters felt like they had close to no personality at all. There were no developments that weren't already obvious from the start, and little read more
I found this review Helpful
AnimeElitist
Oct 17, 2014
Melancholic story about love and long journey full of beautiful images. In less than half an hour Shinkai will drag you from the "boring dead end" train station somewhere in Japan to remote galaxies. He is executing the whole process very skillfully by mixing poetism with sci-fi.

It is remarkable that he did all the work by myself. Deficiencies seen in particular on animation of characters, static backgrounds are however very nice. The film deserves more elaborate scenario. Fights animations are in my opinion, completely unnecessary and in this genre we should feel pretty comfy even without them. On the other hand, it must be read more
I found this review Helpful
animelambie
Jun 22, 2012
Voices of a Distant Star is a short 25 minute OVA with an incredible story. Star crossed lovers aside, it’s the tale of this little episode’s production that’s really unbelievable. Voices was written, directed, and produced by one man, Makoto Shinkai, on his Mac computer. He outsourced the music to a friend, who provided the soundtrack; and Makoto and his wife, Miko, even provided the voices for the working edit.

This little OVA is a miracle; given the extremely limited production value, Voices is just impressive. The art style is simple, but it’s very well animated. There’s a lot of CGI used to animate the read more
I found this review Helpful
obtrice
Jul 17, 2013
Voices of a Distant Star — the work that made Makoto Shinkai famous and touched the hearts of angsty teenagers everywhere. Feel free to help me understand why this is revered. I get that it’s remarkable that Shinkai did everything but the music, but I fail to see how it gives him license to write a hollow story and be called the next Miyazaki for it.

Let’s start with the good. Shinkai is a master of animation, arguably the best in the business, and Voices of a Distant Star is no exception. While it may have been made by one man on his laptop, it is read more
I found this review Helpful
SamFury
Oct 17, 2009
=====
Story
=====

“And ever has it been known that love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.”
-Khalil Gibran

The sheets of rain curtained onto the barren streets, while a single boy runs for shelter into a bus stop. He looked skinnier than usual, as the white fabric clung to his pale flesh and the shadows plastered to his features. Sliding onto the bench, he slipped out his cellphone, fiddling with it for a bit before the screen came chirping to life. The beep ricocheted through his heart like a jolt of electricity, bringing his attention to the email he received. He had waited read more
I found this review Helpful
thresholden
Jan 26, 2010
Texts from a Distant Star:

Story: Voices of a Distant Star is an update to the war letters to a loved one story, such as the real case of Sullivan Ballou's famous letters during the Civil War. The slow agonizing wait of reply is given a sci-fi spin as the characters age at different rates due to the effects of space travel. As Nagamine travels ever further into the depths of space, her texts take longer and longer to reach her childhood friend and lover, Noboru. The concept is very poignant and one can feel great empathy for the couple as the cold distance of time read more
I found this review Helpful
Inteati
Apr 30, 2016
Do yourself a favor, and read the manga.

Similar to some other posters, I watched this after reading the manga. The potential was there, but sadly was not executed in the way the 5cm per Second was. Granted this is only a 25 minute ova. I felt the art was sub-par. There were a few liberties taken in regards to character development, which entirely changed the feel. The emphasis of the ova was on mecha-space fighting, and for that, I felt the character's relationship took a back seat.

Again, do yourself the service, of reading the manga. The long-distance love relationship read more
I found this review Helpful
kajia
Aug 4, 2010
I'd heard some really good things about "Hoshi no Koe". Considering the amount of praise there's been for this seemingly insignificant half hour long OVA, I felt that it was something I simply HAD to check out.

Having watched it, I feel a bit... disappointed. The main problem is that it's just too short. Due to all the hype, I was expecting a lot more. Though in some places "Hoshi no Koe" does succeed in generating a certain special atmosphere, the amount of stuff you can pack into a half an hour show is simply not enough for it to solidify into something more substantial. The read more
I found this review Helpful
JusticeUndone
Feb 27, 2010
I just finished watching the anime and wanted so much to write a review right away, because I'm still overwhelmed after watching this.

(I won't include a summary of the story, since I assume everyone has read the official MAL one)

Story: 11
Yes.. 11! The story is quite simple to grasp. In a nutshell it shows two people, a young boy and a girl who are seperated by distance. Yup..that's the whole concept. But it's the ideas that enriched this concept and its execusion that made this anime a little gem. Because distance here has taken its most extreme form..that of some light years away. Mikako and read more
I found this review Helpful
sabermetrics
Mar 7, 2008
With such a short OVA, you can't really expect much out of this... was what I thought first. Watching the first 5 minutes of the OVA, I realized that this was much more than a regular OVA.

Story (10/10): Given that it was a short OVA, to be able to fit an entire storyline behind a 30 minute sequence shows the ingenuity of director Shinkai Makoto and his ability amaze. With drama and romance put together, you really cannot go wrong with this. This story really puts you in the driver's seat, and makes you experience what the main character really goes through.

Art (8/10): With read more
I found this review Helpful