MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #930
Hoshi no Koe

Hoshi no Koe

Alternative Titles

English: Voices of a Distant Star
Japanese: ほしのこえ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 2, 2002
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 36141 users)
Ranked: #9302
Popularity: #427
Members: 58,991
Favorites: 371
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama mecha romance sci-fi
Jun 1, 2007
Stormy_77
Another hidden gem gets reviewed.

I randomly picked this DVD up at Blockbuster's Anime section and expected nothing much from it and 25 minutes later I was ...... !!!!!! The next day I told 10 people about this movie. That's how much it *got* to me.

Hoshi no Koe ~The Voices of a Distant Star~, is essentially a story of a long distance love and mail messages between a boy and girl. The movie is really short, but in that time you discover that the two of them are friends, the girl is sent out with space forces, but they "text" each other. As time passes (on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2013
Savepoints
“There is no long distance about love, it always finds a way to bring hearts together no matter how many miles there are between them.”

Telling a good story in only 25 minutes can be a difficult task, but Shinkai Makoto (almost) single-handedly managed to do so with Hoshi no Koe. However, since it was in fact only made by one person, it does have its fair share of flaws (some more prominent than others).

Story: (8 / 10)
The story is simple. Two childhood friends are separated, but try to stay in contact with each other, even as the distance between them grows. This creates a rather read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 17, 2010
Laevus
The story line is just simple but how they portrayed it was just FANTASTIC. We all probably can think of a story like this one but its how the story was full of passion between the two characters which made this anime's story so beautiful. This anime shows how easily love can determine one's future and thoughts.

Although the story was good there were some "not gonna happen, even for an anime" moments, which was the heroine was still in high school and was going out to the universe. Although, this gave the anime a dramatic effect to it.

It was interesting to see how read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 16, 2009
suicideducky
An absolutely beautiful masterpeice in all but a few regards.

Voices of a distant star tells the tale of two lovers, seperated by time and space whos only connection is through txt messages which arrive at exponentially increasing delays, to the point where a message is sent wishing happy 24th birthday, from a 15 year old me.

Voices of a distant star is the end result of getting a perfect love story, trimming off all the excess fat, and shrinking it down to 25 minutes of raw emotion.

This was a very hard anime to rate, if you were to take this 25 minutes and compare it to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 12, 2010
Shuu-chan
After watching the amazing 5 Centimeters Per Second, I figure I owed it to myself to watch Shinkai Makoto's first work Voices of a Distant Star. Reviews praised it and I assumed that it must be good. Well you know what they say about assuming.

Story:
Right off the bat I was unsure about the story. I liked the concept of love separated by distance as it worked quite well in 5cm Per Second, but the idea of lagging text messages is just ludicrous. You'd think that in the year 2046 we'd have invented a more effective form of communication, but I guess Shinkai Makoto didn't think read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2011
VGCKenny
Voices of a Distant Star is a very well received anime. For what reason is beyond me. This anime is just bad. Maybe I'm not the most cultured person, but seeing two people whining and complaining isn't my idea of entertainment.

Story: The story has the right idea, it just doesn't seem to do anything. The idea that two people who care about each other but are split apart by distance is a noble idea, and one that could have worked, but it doesn't because it just shows the two people just complaining, and hardly anything else. Sure there are some action sequences in there, but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 18, 2008
Splitter
One of the shortest anime out there, Voices of a Distant Star is also in my most humble opinion, one of the best I've ever come across. Following the story of two young friends, they are suddenly divided by the reaches of space. Their contact with each other becomes limited to text messaging. Soon the messages take days to reach, then months, and eventually years. The work that put the now-well-known Makoto Shinkai on the map, this bittersweet tale is one not to be missed.

Voices of a Distant Star is a story that packs more emotion into its entire 25 minute run than an average read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 17, 2009
SamFury
=====
Story
=====

“And ever has it been known that love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.”
-Khalil Gibran

The sheets of rain curtained onto the barren streets, while a single boy runs for shelter into a bus stop. He looked skinnier than usual, as the white fabric clung to his pale flesh and the shadows plastered to his features. Sliding onto the bench, he slipped out his cellphone, fiddling with it for a bit before the screen came chirping to life. The beep ricocheted through his heart like a jolt of electricity, bringing his attention to the email he received. He had waited read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 7, 2007
ElectricSlime
Voices of a Distant Star, short... but sweet. As a one off OVA by acclaimed director Shinkai Makoto it comes with a rather impressive pedigree, but I feel like it never really got moving. The story tells of a young boy and girl who are separated by an intergalactic war. Sounds excellent, but it never really gives you a sense of why they are fighting or even who they are fighting. If the story was more fleshed out and placed in a movie format I feel that this would have been a real winner. It isn't bad as it is, but it could have been read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 22, 2012
animelambie
Voices of a Distant Star is a short 25 minute OVA with an incredible story. Star crossed lovers aside, it’s the tale of this little episode’s production that’s really unbelievable. Voices was written, directed, and produced by one man, Makoto Shinkai, on his Mac computer. He outsourced the music to a friend, who provided the soundtrack; and Makoto and his wife, Miko, even provided the voices for the working edit.

This little OVA is a miracle; given the extremely limited production value, Voices is just impressive. The art style is simple, but it’s very well animated. There’s a lot of CGI used to animate the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 26, 2010
thresholden
Texts from a Distant Star:

Story: Voices of a Distant Star is an update to the war letters to a loved one story, such as the real case of Sullivan Ballou's famous letters during the Civil War. The slow agonizing wait of reply is given a sci-fi spin as the characters age at different rates due to the effects of space travel. As Nagamine travels ever further into the depths of space, her texts take longer and longer to reach her childhood friend and lover, Noboru. The concept is very poignant and one can feel great empathy for the couple as the cold distance of time read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 7, 2008
sabermetrics
With such a short OVA, you can't really expect much out of this... was what I thought first. Watching the first 5 minutes of the OVA, I realized that this was much more than a regular OVA.

Story (10/10): Given that it was a short OVA, to be able to fit an entire storyline behind a 30 minute sequence shows the ingenuity of director Shinkai Makoto and his ability amaze. With drama and romance put together, you really cannot go wrong with this. This story really puts you in the driver's seat, and makes you experience what the main character really goes through.

Art (8/10): With read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 27, 2010
JusticeUndone
I just finished watching the anime and wanted so much to write a review right away, because I'm still overwhelmed after watching this.

(I won't include a summary of the story, since I assume everyone has read the official MAL one)

Story: 11
Yes.. 11! The story is quite simple to grasp. In a nutshell it shows two people, a young boy and a girl who are seperated by distance. Yup..that's the whole concept. But it's the ideas that enriched this concept and its execusion that made this anime a little gem. Because distance here has taken its most extreme form..that of some light years away. Mikako and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 6, 2013
LaiChie
This anime is the holder of my record for the SHORTEST TIME ANY ANIME COULD LEAVE ME WITH AN IMPACT which was previously holded by the first 4 episodes of Aoi bungaku.
I randomly watched this series cause I saw it and I was like 25 minutes,lets see if its good.THEN I GOT BLOWN.It was amazing.
Hoshi no Koe or Voices of a distant star(although I study Japanese and this should just be Voices of a star) is a story about a girl who was chosen to be a part of a space expedition and a boy she left and their communication.The communication however takes longer time read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 19, 2010
johnny_quid
Well, first I must admit that "Drama" and "Romance" aren't my favourite anime genres, but, dammit [!], I must admit "Voices of a Distant Star" is one beautiful production as well.

Warning! The following text contains spoilers!

Story: 9! - A tail for one girl, one boy and one love. Oh, and bunch of text messages as well. A tail for two student-lovers, who, in spite of all, keep the relation between them. I give "9", just because I think something's missing.

Art: 3! - Well, that was the weak point for me. Pretty annoying art. All the animation sucks as well.

Sound: 10! - Great, great read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 4, 2010
kajia
I'd heard some really good things about "Hoshi no Koe". Considering the amount of praise there's been for this seemingly insignificant half hour long OVA, I felt that it was something I simply HAD to check out.

Having watched it, I feel a bit... disappointed. The main problem is that it's just too short. Due to all the hype, I was expecting a lot more. Though in some places "Hoshi no Koe" does succeed in generating a certain special atmosphere, the amount of stuff you can pack into a half an hour show is simply not enough for it to solidify into something more substantial. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 7, 2013
ThatGuyWithAHat
Voices of a distant star was made by Makoto Shinkai back in 2003.

Fun fact: Voices of a Distant Star was written, directed and produced entirely by Makoto on his Power Mac G4.

Yes really. So how did this this one man production go?

It went great this may only be a 25-30 minute anime movie but it would feel as if had lasted over an hour or two.

The story follows two teenage characters Noboru Terao and Mikako Nagamine and the distance that separates them. (that being lights years apart) and their struggle to overcome the feeling of loneliness.

Mikako the female character heads read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 2, 2012
angelsreview
I couldn’t really get the story line much, it didn’t really explain much and I think it just points the the novel and manga for more information though I have no clue if they actually say more. It feels like a pilot to something that could have been rather then a real show. Sadly, it’s hard to get a real feel for this. It’s a lot about romance which doesn’t seem to work with mechas. There isn’t much excitement om this because of how slow passed it is. For a show that is only 25 minutes long, the excitement only happens about 10 minutes in.

Mikako read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2012
Paulwillson26
Two young friends, Mikako Nagamine and Noboru Terao, are separated when Mikako is selected to fly a Tracer, a mecha robot, to fight against an invasion of Earth by aliens called Tarsian's and they keep in touch by sending text messages which become more and more infrequent the further the one in space as the war is taken o the Tarsian's, first a month, then a year and finally 8 years.

If you expect a mecha / alien anime click the back button because this is not a mecha anime. Instead you get a 25 minute film which nothing short of an intelligent and gut read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2011
serowenczak
After watching hundreds of hours of filler anime this one is a real breath of fresh air. In 25 minutes this anime managed to grab me and hit me in my soft parts. This anime proves that you don't need 24 episodes to tell a story. This anime is simple (just a story of two lonely people in love) but it's told in such a way really sucks you in right from the start. There are definitely no extraneous plots. They cut everything out but exactly what you need to know. They don't explain a lot of what's going on but that ok because it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices