Ranked #1834
Brigadoon: Marin to Melan

Brigadoon: Marin to Melan

Alternative Titles

English: Brigadoon
Synonyms: Brigadoon Marin and Melan, MariMera
Japanese: ブリガドーン まりんとメラン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 21, 2000 to Feb 9, 2001
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 1129 users)
Ranked: #18342
Popularity: #3389
Members: 4,425
Favorites: 48
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

ChillWinterheart
Sep 21, 2009 12:29 AM
Most anime series can be neatly categorized into some kind of cliche-ridden group or another: magical girls, mecha, sports, slice of life, ecchi. "Magical girl" series, for example, will always have prepubescent girls with colorful wands, long transformation sequences and brains the size of a Chinese dumpling. That, my dear kiddies, is "cliche". It causes cancer.

Brigadoon, I am happy to report, does not suffer the cliches usually associated with certain anime categories or genres. It simply doesn't belong to any. In fact, It will quietly defy all attempts at categorization and will summarily step on your face if you attempt it.

Brigadoon Marin to Melan's story read more
I found this review Helpful
Maverynthia
Sep 15, 2010 12:15 PM
As others have reviewed before, this anime is very hard to categorize and it's due to that, which makes this anime shine. It's not simply a clone of another series. It's what every anime should aspire to be.

First of all, it has the human weapon as male (a rather good looking one at that) rather than female as seems to be the standard in anime, seemingly push this from an ecchi shounen aspect to a more shoujo one. Most series if they want to reverse it, either make the human weapon as some ugly robot, as some monster hybrid or some female cute monster. That's read more
I found this review Helpful
Otaking09
Nov 1, 2011 9:03 AM
Sunrise, being one of the two meta-studios capable of funding anything their collective minds can fathom, decided that GaoGaiGar's director had something goin' for him.
Leaving his only legacy for Sunrise two quirky arthouses; the enamoring but puzzling Brigadoon, and the philosophical/medical study, Betterman. Of the two, Brigadoon succeeds as both a step away from source inspirations and how to mindfuck someone and the recipient not feel violated.

Brigadoon starts off as simple as the oldest mecha genre can be; plucky girl, Marin, has external problems that do little to upset his/her upbeat view of life. All of a sudden... robot invaders strike!
The military is ineffective!
They seem read more
I found this review Helpful
gedata
Jul 16, 2014 1:32 PM
If you were to ask me to fit Brigadoon: Marin and Melan into one dominant category, I would honestly be at a loss. This is a series that doesn’t tie itself down to any specific genre, Brigadoon instead opts to include a wide variety of elements into its grand stirring pot. You want series mech (or very mech-like) battles? Heartwarming family drama? A world endangering conspiracy? Goofy comedy? Yuri undertones? Dark psychological drama? Brigadoon brings all of these ingredients together. This type of blend will likely prove off putting to those who aren’t a fan of one or more of the aforementioned areas, an will read more
I found this review Helpful
Filia_Ryuuza
Apr 15, 2008 8:44 AM
The series starts off really well- but slowly goes downhill from there. It starts off as a school story with action mixed in, and then slowly turns to pure action. But that's not the bad part. The action was alright. However, around episode 15, the series went from having a plot, to complete and utter nonsense. The plot becomes incoherant at this point, and the only thing that would save this series would be the sweet tale of friendship between Marin and Melan- if the series itself wouldn't have become borderline pedophilic at this point.(Just trust me on this- it does. >_<;.)
Avoid this at all read more
I found this review Helpful
jlutholtz
Apr 19, 2009 6:18 PM
Very original story. I enjoyed it thouroughly. Thoughout the series I had no idea what was going to happen. No matter what I though the outcome would be or what I expected to happen, the story shattered it to bits. It has to be one of the top 25 animes i've seen. It is proof that not every excellent anime has to have excellent art.
I found this review Helpful
ggultra2764
Aug 20, 2012 11:45 AM
Brigadoon was a series I wasn't sure what to make of it considering it doesn't entirely following a specific genre or appeal to a targeted viewer demographic. The art style, Marin's manic behavior and bizarre comedy would have one think this was a light-hearted comedy geared for children, yet the show's dabbling into some pretty dark territory with Marin's tragic past, portraying humanity at its worst in dire circumstances, the occasionally brutal violence from Monomakia and humans, Marin and other girls frequently being nude and the things Marin puts up with in both her family and her connection to the Monomakia would be things you read more
I found this review Helpful
Donwun
Oct 21, 2012 11:26 AM
This anime is certainly up there as one of the weirdest yet intriguing anime series I have ever seen. In many ways this series showcases how mixing completely different themes and genres and even animation styles has given Japanese animation such a varied and unpredictable pallet.

Storyline

Our main character is a zany 13 year old orphan girl called Marin who lives in a small town and usually just goes about her day with her head in the clouds delivering newspapers. Suddenly and without warning Marin starts being chased out of nowhere by mechanical monsters. This incident leads her to come across a tiny capsule like bottle read more
I found this review Helpful
dury
Jul 31, 2012 6:13 PM
AKA watch a poor sweet orphan girl get the crap beat out of her relentlessly. sheesh

seriously. this is good, but it's like watching torture.
I found this review Helpful