Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Brigadoon: Marin to Melan


Alternative Titles

English: Brigadoon
Synonyms: Brigadoon Marin and Melan, MariMera
Japanese: ブリガドーン まりんとメラン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 21, 2000 to Feb 9, 2001
Premiered: Summer 2000
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Bandai Visual
Licensors: TOKYOPOP
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 1,619 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3958
Members: 6,691
Favorites: 95

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 21, 2009
ChillWinterheart (All reviews)
Most anime series can be neatly categorized into some kind of cliche-ridden group or another: magical girls, mecha, sports, slice of life, ecchi. "Magical girl" series, for example, will always have prepubescent girls with colorful wands, long transformation sequences and brains the size of a Chinese dumpling. That, my dear kiddies, is "cliche". It causes cancer.

Brigadoon, I am happy to report, does not suffer the cliches usually associated with certain anime categories or genres. It simply doesn't belong to any. In fact, It will quietly defy all attempts at categorization and will summarily step on your face if you attempt it.

Brigadoon Marin to Melan's story read more
Sep 15, 2010
Maverynthia (All reviews)
As others have reviewed before, this anime is very hard to categorize and it's due to that, which makes this anime shine. It's not simply a clone of another series. It's what every anime should aspire to be.

First of all, it has the human weapon as male (a rather good looking one at that) rather than female as seems to be the standard in anime, seemingly push this from an ecchi shounen aspect to a more shoujo one. Most series if they want to reverse it, either make the human weapon as some ugly robot, as some monster hybrid or some female cute monster. That's read more
Jul 16, 2014
gedata (All reviews)
If you were to ask me to fit Brigadoon: Marin and Melan into one dominant category, I would honestly be at a loss. This is a series that doesn’t tie itself down to any specific genre, Brigadoon instead opts to include a wide variety of elements into its grand stirring pot. You want series mech (or very mech-like) battles? Heartwarming family drama? A world endangering conspiracy? Goofy comedy? Yuri undertones? Dark psychological drama? Brigadoon brings all of these ingredients together. This type of blend will likely prove off putting to those who aren’t a fan of one or more of the aforementioned areas, an will read more
Apr 15, 2008
Elise_Grimwald (All reviews)
Preliminary
The series starts off really well- but slowly goes downhill from there. It starts off as a school story with action mixed in, and then slowly turns to pure action. But that's not the bad part. The action was alright. However, around episode 15, the series went from having a plot, to complete and utter nonsense. The plot becomes incoherant at this point, and the only thing that would save this series would be the sweet tale of friendship between Marin and Melan- if the series itself wouldn't have become borderline pedophilic at this point.(Just trust me on this- it does. >_<;.)
Avoid this at all read more
Aug 20, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Brigadoon was a series I wasn't sure what to make of it considering it doesn't entirely following a specific genre or appeal to a targeted viewer demographic. The art style, Marin's manic behavior and bizarre comedy would have one think this was a light-hearted comedy geared for children, yet the show's dabbling into some pretty dark territory with Marin's tragic past, portraying humanity at its worst in dire circumstances, the occasionally brutal violence from Monomakia and humans, Marin and other girls frequently being nude and the things Marin puts up with in both her family and her connection to the Monomakia would be things you read more
Apr 19, 2009
jlutholtz (All reviews)
Very original story. I enjoyed it thouroughly. Thoughout the series I had no idea what was going to happen. No matter what I though the outcome would be or what I expected to happen, the story shattered it to bits. It has to be one of the top 25 animes i've seen. It is proof that not every excellent anime has to have excellent art.
Oct 21, 2012
Donwun (All reviews)
This anime is certainly up there as one of the weirdest yet intriguing anime series I have ever seen. In many ways this series showcases how mixing completely different themes and genres and even animation styles has given Japanese animation such a varied and unpredictable pallet.

Storyline

Our main character is a zany 13 year old orphan girl called Marin who lives in a small town and usually just goes about her day with her head in the clouds delivering newspapers. Suddenly and without warning Marin starts being chased out of nowhere by mechanical monsters. This incident leads her to come across a tiny capsule like bottle read more
Jul 31, 2012
dury (All reviews)
AKA watch a poor sweet orphan girl get the crap beat out of her relentlessly. sheesh

seriously. this is good, but it's like watching torture.
Mar 17, 2017
FluffySushii (All reviews)
I remember watching this series as an twelve year old. Now I am seventeen. When I watched Brigadoon, I watched it overnight nonstop. I was tough when I was younger to strong theme and violence so watching Brigadoon was no trouble. I can still say the series was excellent today. It really came together in a well paced story with an ending that made me smile and remember so well. It's original and complex, you'd definitely enjoy this show if you like action, mecha, and maybe a twist of romance. I understand the show has it's major flaws, but it doesn't stop me from enjoying read more