Tsubaki-chou Lonely Planet
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Tsubaki-chou Lonely Planet

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 椿町ロンリープラネット

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 14
Chapters: 85
Status: Finished
Published: May 20, 2015 to Aug 20, 2019
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, ShoujoShoujo
Authors: Yamamori, Mika (Story & Art)
Serialization: Margaret

Statistics

Score: 8.061 (scored by 1080110,801 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5652
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #314
Members: 32,052
Favorites: 1,087

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 16, 2019
glamazon (All reviews)
I first heard about Mika Yamamori because of Hirunaka no Ryuusei. While it was a manga I, overall, enjoyed, I couldn't help but feel that it could have been so much better had it not be rushed. When I started reading Tsubaki-chou Lonely Planet, I hoped she had improved by then. Somehow, her writing skills have worsened.

It all starts when Fumi Ohno starts working as a live-in housekeeper to Akatsuki Kibikino, a writer. Not so different from Hirunaka no Ryuusei at this point, considering the main characters are around the same age gap, despite the men having completely opposite personalities.

The beginning is just your average read more
Sep 3, 2015
Grapesandraisin (All reviews)
Preliminary
I discovered Tsubaki-chou Lonely Planet due to Yanamori Mika's other, more well known, work Hirunaka no Ryuusei. I'm sure a lot of people who are considering reading this manga are here for the same reason.

Story (7/10):

I think this manga is unfairly underrated. Although it is a bit cliche -- I mean, 16-year-old girl begins working as a housekeeper for a writer who happens to be ridiculously good-looking? C'mon. Anyone who has read a lotta shoujo knows what's up by now. Going back to my main point, I believe that this manga deserves more attention.

Other than the somewhat cliche storyline, I would definitely recommend read more
Jun 4, 2020
matchakitkat (All reviews)
I could not put this manga down! it was incredibly heartwarming and not as cliche as everyone is saying. I found the relationship in this story to be the most genuine and satisfying out of all the romance manga I've read.

Story: There were a few weird unrealistic blips in the very beginning (which is what most people are commenting on), but after you pass the first few chapters it gets so much better. I never felt overtly annoyed by anything the characters did and I thought the progression of the story made a lot of sense. Nothing felt too rushed or too slow. [SPOILER: there read more
Apr 17, 2016
chiapet-IRL (All reviews)
Preliminary
While the story itself is kind of a cliche shoujo manga (which has its ups and downs), it definitely has somethings that other shoujos do not.

For one, the communication between the two main love interests is fairly good. They don't go around, sneaking all their feelings. The girl, Ohno/ Ono (the translation varies), is very smart, and will speak for herself. The main guy, Akatsuki, is the kind who is "hard to understand," but he's straightforward and not necessarily a huge dick for no reason.

The storyline is fairly standard, but I have some hope that it might differ a little from the standard. It's read more
Oct 21, 2015
haachiko (All reviews)
Preliminary
WOO! Yamamori Mika has yet again embarked on another Shoujo Quest, and let me tell you, it's looking up!

OVERALL (8):
It's early days so far, 9 chapters for what might become a behemoth (if it's going to be anything like Hirunaka no Ryuusei), but from what's been published so far, I think a lot of people will really enjoy this! Yamamori has laid some great foundations for a somewhat unpredictable manga, and when she fleshes things out a bit, I'm sure it'll be a hit...!

TL;DR? WATCH THIS SPACE.

For those who feel like a breakdown, here's the breakdown:

STORY (8):
The Story is somewhat typical and read more
Sep 29, 2020
sunasideup (All reviews)
As somebody who does not read much shoujo manga this past few years, Tsubaki-chou Lonely Planet was a pretty huge shock for me, and it hooked me into reading more shoujo these days.

Now, as a sucker for character back stories, this manga got me real good. I like how in-depth Akatsuki is as a character. Although, I personally think it would be better if his backstory was explained throughout the whole story instead of rushing everything at the end. I love how every little thing that he experienced, had a huge affect on his present life. The only thing that I wish was in the read more
Sep 25, 2020
Pixeldrum (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm not a particular fan of shoujo, but I still sometimes read them, and admittedly, some of them are pretty good. However, most of them are pretty bad.

For example, Tsubaki-chou Lonely Planet is a pretty popular one. Whatever, I'll give it a try. I mean, the problem with all these romance novels is that they give the same sort of vibes no matter which author you read about: girl main character gets swept up in a hot guy's pace somehow, thet somehow get into a special relationship in weird circumstances before it eventually sprouts into love. Am I missing something?

Tsubaki-chou Lonely Planet employs all the read more
Jan 2, 2019
BlackLolitarose (All reviews)
Preliminary
Reading Tsubaki-Chou Lonely Planet is like stepping into a simpler life. School drama and family tragedies won't be found here. Instead, you'll see a blossoming love, one that feels beautifully pure, but heart-achingly real, told against the backdrop of everyday Japanese life.

Like many, I started TCLP after finishing Daytime Shooting Star, a manga that I loved but that left me unsatisfied. I expected to find a similar story: a young highschooler falls in love with an older man, but many obstacles await them. I also expected a similar love triangle. But TCLP was not at all what I expected. It doesn't share that many similarities read more
May 31, 2016
Sereshay (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga has all the things I love: romance, older guy, and beautiful art.
I am a big fan of the mangaka, Mika Yamamori, and her other work, Hirunaka no Ryuusei. The art is clean and pretty; she's good at designing aesthetically pleasing characters. I'm really enjoying the story so far. Fumi is beautifully drawn and though she and her dad are riddled with debt, she looks on the bright side of things and is an extremely diligent worker. She's not the kind of girl who depends on other people to do things for her. She is sensitive but she's not a wimpy crybaby. She is read more
May 2, 2017
Juziy (All reviews)
Preliminary
So far, I've been pretty impressed by this manga. Let me list some things I like about it.

First, the main female lead isn't annoying. How rare is that?! Often I can't get into mangas because the female lead is too ditsy or annoying, but Fumi does not even annoy me one bit.

Second, I really like the main male lead. He's socially awkward, but a very soft guy inside. The great thing is, he's awkward and never understands things, but he is aware of it and tries to do something about it. So things actually do end up happening.

Third, the side characters are actually supportive and read more
Nov 5, 2020
todoroquekun (All reviews)
Preliminary
Another great work from Yamamori-sensei!

Honestly, I enjoyed her work in Daytime Shooting Star (DSS), so I decided to give this series a try as well.

In Tsubaki-Chou Lonely Planet, we get more or less the same feel of what we got in DSS. Like DSS, I thought the pacing of the story was quite good. In fact I was pretty surprised that I finished reading the series already. I also thought it was good seeing Akatsuki and Fumi's relationship slowly progress. There were times where I felt the pacing was quite stagnant or felt rushed, but nonetheless, I still thought it was good. Huge age gap read more
Jul 5, 2020
eskway (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 8/10
Despite a rushed ending, I found the story to be well-paced on the whole. There was a really nice balance between the main romance, the romance between the supporting characters, and the development of Fumi and Akatsuki's individual characters and backstories. Of course, the cliches and tropes are still there, but I thought the story's exploration of love, loneliness and family (what are you born with vs. what you make for yourself) was great. The bond between Fumi and Akatsuki was the highlight for me - the way their love developed was very realistic and meaningful.

Art: 10/10
Yamamori Mika's art is my all-time favourite for read more
Apr 17, 2020
Aschleeep (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even though this manga was very cliche i thoroughly enjoyed it!

This time around i'm just going to talk about it overall, because i loved it so much - i'm going try and make it nice and simple for y'all.

The main characters are;

- Oono, Fumi: a 16 year old highschool girl - who is trying to pay off her father's debt. & Akatsuki Kibikino, an older guy - who later hires Fumi as his housekeeper.

Now i will mention this, there is quite an age gap between the 2, so if that kind of stuff makes you uncomfortable, then this is probably not for you.

The read more