Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Doubt

Doubt

Alternative Titles

English: Doubt
Japanese: Doubt

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 4
Chapters: 21
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 12, 2007 to Feb 12, 2009
Authors: Tonogai, Yoshiki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Gangan

Statistics

Score: 7.361 (scored by 34842 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #52542
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #78
Members: 63,089
Favorites: 2,263

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 15, 2009
Tsumayouji (All reviews)
A story about a group of people locked together in a strange place being killed off one-by-one: sounds fun, right? Well, that is if you're a horror buff. Even though this plot has been done to death (hehe, look at the puns a rollin'!) "Doubt" brings some new charm and perspective to the table with its telling.

First off, the most enjoyable and engaging part of this manga to me was the cell-phone based game that frames the overall story. The game deals with a group of rabbits who are being murdered one-by-one by a wolf hiding amongst them. So what do these little critters do? read more
Mar 13, 2009
Elydan (All reviews)
It's basically a game of guessing. If you guess right, you survive. If you guess wrong, you'll die. Now, this isn't just a game for children. It required hard thinking and strong determination.

The intention of this Manga is to make it's readers doubt and think. The manga wants us to think alongside, to guess who the killer truly is. And of course, we as the readers succumb to this feeling and guess.
However, this is where my first disappointment came into the picture.
There are varieties of personalities and character present to make the manga interesting. All it needed was more doubt among themselves; more drama, more read more
Sep 13, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Whats is the one thing in the world that you can never doubt?
That my friend, is doubt itself. If you doubt the existence of doubt,
you are contradicting yourself. Since doubting doubt, ultimately means
you believe in doubt.

In a room filled with five people each of them has a their own bar code, and grotesque body hanging before them. There is a wolf masquerading as a rabbit. If they can find the wolf, they will survive. Choose the wrong rabbit, and all the rabbits will die.

This manga is very engrossing. After the first chapter, I was quickly hook in the world of Doubt. As the title read more
Sep 2, 2009
Cries (All reviews)
I would not recommend this anime at all. There was barely any character development, the plot consisted of... well, killing, and the whole manga was stretched to the max (they obviously wanted to sell their product for a longer period of time).

Here's a little checklist:

- Plot twists can not make up for a lack of plot, character development
- Cliffhangers are pathetic suspense - builders
- Not all readers are unable to see the Saw II parallels (a horrible sequel, by the way)

Thoroughly disappointed,

Cries
May 25, 2008
Jasonbear (All reviews)
Preliminary
For some strange reason, I am absolutely infatuated with this manga. It's sick, demented, and twisted... and I love it. Doubt is an online game come to life, where each character is slowly being cut out and killed. Who is first, who is next? Nobody knows except the killer wolf. A completely demented manga that makes you go, quote, "Hm... interesting opener... decent characters, kinda funky, good art... HOLY SHIT." unquote.

All the characters of Doubt have their own special persona. Each one from a different "cliq" and you get to see how the characters begin to develop bonds between one and another despite their read more
Mar 1, 2015
bloodgods (All reviews)
[Light spoilers]

As someone who likes this genre, I can say with confidence that Doubt was, by far, one of the most disappointing, pathetically thrown together anime OR manga I've picked up so far.

Reading this manga, I was completely appalled with how much of a train wreck this was. At first glance, this seems like an interesting story concept, and it is. I've read and seen my fair share in the "survival game" genre, and this is an awesome story concept with a lot of potential, which got me interested to begin with. That's why it's so easy to see where Doubt totally blew read more
Aug 28, 2008
petticoat (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’m a guro fiend. Meaning, I love a manga that has gore and blood and horror in it. But finding a manga that isn’t gratuitous? That’s hard to find.

Enter “Doubt”: a gore manga with a plot. A plot that revolves around a group of “Rabbits” (i.e. the protagonists) to find the “Wolf”, as illustrated in the very beginning of the book—like a cruel, taunting tease of what is to come. Needless to say, as people begin to die within the group, people go absolutely nuts and start to accuse people, exact revenge, and have their whole world cave read more
Sep 10, 2009
Akachi_Tem (All reviews)
I found out about this manga just yesterday,it was a recommendation to another one in this site.Thought I'd try it,so tomorrow I started reading it.Firstly I have to say that I loved the atmosphere,I've always loved buildings like that in horror movies,or in this case let's say manga.They fit best if you want to creep out the readers.
Now let's start on the review.

Story 6/10
Something I've heard before again and something I'd think of it too,if I were to create a manga.Didn't give me a "Wow" when I read the summary but sometimes all it matters is how the story develops later.Now that I just mentioned read more
May 26, 2010
Nek0 (All reviews)
Doubt, just as the name says, is all about doubting. The game of “Rabbit Doubt” is basically about finding the lying “wolf” amongst the group of “rabbits.”

You would expect this manga to be all about backstabbing, distrust, and a whole lot of confusion. But essentially what Doubt boils down to is hardly more than a manga version of the Saw movies –– especially, the first one. You remember Saw, right? That movie where people get kidnapped and tortured? Well, there’s no torture or traps here, but the similarities between the two are uncanny.

The manga starts off normally enough, when a group of strangers meet read more
Jul 5, 2008
edgewalker00 (All reviews)
Preliminary
when members of an online game went on for an offline meeting, everybody started to end up dead. the plot of this manga is cliche with any other thriller plot but unique in its own sense with the application of newer trends. so to speak, the manga is so good that readers would find themselves involved at the story and its characters, questioning what these people have in common? why should they die? how the story would end. what secrets would be revealed.

it's too early to comment on possible endings with how the story is progressing and always catching the reader's thoughts but if you're read more
Aug 21, 2009
NekoJr (All reviews)
Well well well, this is one suspense story that really keep me on my toes and I'm serious about it. Normally there's hardly any suspense manga that will let me finish the entire manga in one plus hour time.

The story really builds on itself and it's not predictable like other mangas around, and just when you think that its the end, the author will provide another element that totally throws you out of the track.

The storyline is perfect and 20 chapters are just nice for the manga, but beware, this is not for those who are faint-hearted because of its fast paceness...

A perfect read at read more
Oct 26, 2009
Vexys7 (All reviews)
Doubt, on the surface, sounds amazingly interesting kids participating in a game of death, dying one by one and the killer is (surprise) one of them. It sounds reminiscent of series like Battle Royale, but where BR succeeds Doubt ultimately fails.


Storywise Doubt starts of as an enthralling thiller, it's paced very well and strikes a great balance between doling out enough info to keep the reader interested and keeping enough draped in mystery that you want to read more. And you will read more you will read and read and read up to the climax of the story but then it falls flat on read more
May 28, 2013
Nocti (All reviews)
This manga is very good up to the last two chapters. It is very entertaining and the art is good. I don´t find the plot similar to "Battle Royale" as many people do... in Battle Royale the players are openly forced to kill each other. In the Rabbit Doubt game, the rabbits (the players) are not told to kill each other. In this game, there is a wolf hidden among the rabbits, and the players end up trying to find a way to escape from the building where they are imprisoned and trying to discover who the wolf is, in order to avoid being killed. read more
Jan 28, 2009
Foxygirl05 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Who Doubt still has not read, it should be read quickly.

The story is really good.and for those who liked the Saw series then you'll probably see some parallel.

Story:
The story begins with a rather creepy story about a wolf who snuck in disguised as a bunny into a group of bunnies and one by one killed the bunnies. The bunnies realized that one among them was the wolf, and that if they killed the correct one, then they'd be safe, but otherwise, they'd all of the wolf as the fed on. The manga states then this is such a game, and transitions to a group read more
Nov 6, 2018
LoPixels (All reviews)
1) The art is really unclear, making it sometimes hard to understand what's going on. It's not ugly, just really average without any style of it's own.

2) The set-up to the story is really cliche, and does nothing but stick to the formula.The characters are your standard stereotypes from every high-school drama ever. Besides, no one gets any real development or backstory untill it becomes relevant to the story.

3) The writing is baaaad. The mystery genre is supposed to have some nice twists and turns along the way and Doubt... Let's just say that the reveal is comparable to "Luke,I'm your father". It reeks of read more
Dec 30, 2009
BelovedSeverity (All reviews)
At first, I saw this Manga and thought it didn't seem great. But the first chapter hooked me in, and it seemed like I was going to be forced into riding this killing game that has been set forth. This is definitely a manga I would tell all of you to read if you haven't, yet.


The story revolves around a game of 'Rabbit Doubt'. There's a group of people and everyone is labeled as a rabbit. Someone within them is in a disguise, but is truly a wolf who seeks to murder the innocent. It's a lying game. If the wolves are gone before the read more
Feb 20, 2018
Pok0555 (All reviews)
Not to brag or anything, but I figured out the fucking culprit in chapter 2, my suspicion was later confirmed in chapter 6

v--SPOILERS ALERT--v

Rule number 1 of murder mystery: It is forbidden for the culprit to be anyone not mentioned in the early part of the story
Therefore we have 6 suspects:
- The protagonist can't be the culprit cuz he's tied up
- The other two girls (Mitsuki and Haruka) can't be the culprit cuz they were being observed by mc through the camera monitors
- The other guy can't be the culprit cuz Eiji was immediately killed right after he left the room, therefore, he is not read more
Mar 17, 2019
Imperiled (All reviews)
I thought that I was edgy enough to pick up any horror manga and immediately love it. I was wrong

The worst element of this manga in my opinion is the complete and utter lack of character development. Throughout the entire manga, I felt no strong emotions towards any of the characters, and when they started to die .. I cared so little it was almost comical.

Character development, especially in horror, is SO important to making a good story. We want to care about the characters, we want to know their back stories, what makes them tick, and we want to try and find a read more
Feb 17, 2011
Diassia (All reviews)
Story - I must say that I actually guessed the right wolf from the beginning although Doubt does do very well at throwing you off the scent. This just goes to show how you show stick to your original instincts. Although I found it fairly predictable, I loved each second that I spent reading it. To me, it seems very 'Saw'-esque but with less gruesome scenes but it was exceedingly clever with lots of immense twists and a fantastic ending!

Art - I loved how the rabbit masks were drawn - very creepy and fitted so well with the atmosphere of the story. The characters were read more
Oct 25, 2008
dinosotaku1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
this is my favorite manga of all time! its like a better verion of saw but you dont know the "wolf". the plots great, the action and suspense is awesome. its soooo good i read the 15 chapters in one day. i was hooked on it