Sword Art Online
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Sword Art Online

Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online
Synonyms: S.A.O, SAO
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン

Information

Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Apr 10, 2009 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy, GameGame, RomanceRomance, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Authors: BUNBUN (Art), Kawahara, Reki (Story)
Serialization: None

Statistics

Score: 8.041 (scored by 2040020,400 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #6062
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #189
Members: 52,346
Favorites: 3,170

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 7, 2014
xNihalx (All reviews)
-This is a SpoilerFree review-

First of all I want to tell you that I'm not an english native so sorry for my poor english and for the eventual errors.

Sword Art Online, the novel behind one of the most discussed anime ever. Someone says "it's the best, omg nothing can be compared to that", someone else says "it's just the worst story ever with the worst character ever".
So that point of view gave me a lot of curiosity, I just wanted to start reading the novels, and after reading all the 14 that are out up until now I feel ready to explain my vision over read more
Aug 10, 2012
castor212 (All reviews)
Sword Art Online is about a virtual reality MMORPG. It is set on 2022, where humanity has finally for the first time able to completely go inside the game world using virtual reality technology.

At first I didn't really put high expectation to it, since it's genre is quite mainstream, like .hack G.U. or Yureka, but with a tint taste of darkness; Death is real here.

But the more I read it, the more I find myself enjoying the proggress of the story. The writer, Kawahara Reki gives a really realistic system and surrounding of said VR game, and it makes us able to completely drowned read more
Aug 14, 2013
arseface (All reviews)
I've read the baka-tsuki version of every main story up to Alicization, which I won't start until the translation is finished. This review is for every non-side up till then, not just the first volume.

The series is very good. Poorly written, but very enjoyable. You can tell the author was younger when he wrote it and each arc is vastly different from the others as he progresses as an author.

Story 7/10
Every arc is different here. Vastly.

First arc Sword Art Online
the story basically serves as a medium with which to explain the world to you. The romance factors are a bit exaggerated since the read more
Jun 23, 2012
Unknown7777 (All reviews)
Volume one probably the best so far that I've read in the series known as Sword Art Online, the characters are deep, and you end up developing an equal sentimental attachment of virtual world it all takes place. The romance may come about a little fast pace but you quickly forget about it as you find yourself quickly rapped up in how intimate and deep it is. By the end you definitely will get emotional, I won't say any spoilers but its a proper end to the whole story.

But wait theres more, I skipped over the side stories and went right to the essential read more
Apr 8, 2012
ZeroKamikaze (All reviews)
Have you ever imagined what it would be like to be inside a game? people everywhere have always wanted to be inside a game or at least considered what it would be like to live in one. In this day and age there are games like MMORPG (massive multiplayer online role playing games) where people can customise their very own characters and travel the online fairytale worlds where they can participate in adventures, quests, they can conquer dungeons, fight monsters, meet new people, just about anything but you can't actually experience this firsthand because it is limited to the fact that you cant actually live read more
Jan 31, 2014
asunoII (All reviews)
Alright so first, this is my first review and never less I'm doing this on a phone, so hand with me here. Do let's get started,
First, the story, the story has a great plot line while being the smartest novel, I've read. It goes into full Detail behind how the virtual reality in the story works.the theory on sword art's VR is plausible and bring a the reader I on a whole new level.add the story goes on the plot line gets even more smart and interesting in the alicization arcs,( I think I spelled that right) which introduces more technology and goes read more
Nov 15, 2015
KariaDragneel (All reviews)
Let me just say I am not reviewing the entirety of the light novel series. Although I have read almost all of them, I am writing primarily on the fourth arc of the LN; Aliciziation.

Most people have seen at least the first season of the anime, maybe even the second season. However; after the second season/volume 8, begins the best part of the entire series.

I am unwilling to provide a quick overview because you must experience the entire journey for yourself. The plot is so well executed, and the two main characters on the cover of volume 9 or the focal point of this journey. read more
Feb 13, 2017
Railgun1127 (All reviews)
Note: I will only be talking about Project Alicization arc (volume 9 to 18), which isn't in the anime. I found the previous 8 volumes not much different from the anime.

Story (10):
The setting is unique, different from the other settings in the first 8 volumes. It's more similar to an alternate universe, than a virtual world. The virtual world isn't for entertainment uses, which makes the functions within the virtual world which is called Underworld, different from the other three virtual worlds. The Project Alicization arc is set in 2026, after the Mother's Rosario arc. It introduces new technology, and it's not just going from read more
May 18, 2019
TheUnlocked (All reviews)
NO MAJOR SPOILERS

Ignore the chapter count. At the time of writing, I have read everything in the main series pre-Moon Cradle. That includes Aincrad, Fairy Dance, Phantom Bullet, Mother's Rosario, the volume 8 content, and all of Alicization.

STORY - 9/10:

With limited and generally unimportant exception, Kawahara develops a believable virtual world in Sword Art Online. He establishes a compelling set of goals for the characters to achieve, and then has them work to achieve those goals without including a lot of the boring questing but still including the more notable steps along the way. Now for a breakdown of how each of the arcs performs read more
Sep 30, 2017
albert475 (All reviews)
As a native speaker of mandarin, i am lucky enough to enjoy the novels without needing to wait the long translation time or the english translation of the book. Although the first story about Aincrad have seem to be unorganized and messy in structure due to its original purpose is for a novel contest, the story construction skills of Reki Kawahara is something that is definitely worth praising. Both the ALO arc and GGO arc provided a thorough and organized storyline, that are easy to read, understand, and enjoy. Kawahara together with his incredible skills of building tensions and setting the mood while reading, shown read more