Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Glass no Kamen

Glass no Kamen

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Glass Mask
Japanese: ガラスの仮面

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 1976 to ?
Genres: Drama, Romance, Shoujo
Authors: Miuchi, Suzue (Story & Art)
Serialization: Hana to Yume

Statistics

Score: 8.541 (scored by 1814 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1112
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1464
Members: 6,595
Favorites: 301

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
May 8, 2008
nosfertauman (All reviews)
Glass mask is one of the best shoujo manga out there. Despite having a common enough shoujo setting, the plot hardly ever falls into any of the comon cliches that shoujo manga often times fall into. The artwork is in a classic 80s style, nothing outstanding, but the mangaka does not skimp on the minor details, and her understanding of common facial expressions is top notch.
Where Glass Mask really stands out is in the main characters and in the story. We are presented with a main character that is hard not to sympathize with and all the supporting characters and antagonists are really well read more
Mar 3, 2010
DdDCcC (All reviews)
This manga had me absolutely hooked. I started reading it and simply couldn't stop. I sat in my chair for about 24 hours and ended up finishing the 169 chapters in one go.

The story is an interesting one as we follow a young girl who dreams to become an actress. She has an abundance of raw talent and passion and then continues to develop her techniques and skills throughout the story. The manga introduces a wealth of different characters who are not always what they seem to be but are ultimately human. They have their own pasts that have shaped their decisions and actions read more
Jan 15, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
Do the petty bickering and shoddy attempts at "comedy" in Skip Beat annoy you? Does the angular, ugly art annoy you? Well, here is a much more coherent, fun to look at alternative!

So what exactly does this manga offer? In terms of story, it offers something fairly unique in terms of a manga about actors and actresses, which is a fairly complete walkthrough of several stories. Others all offer summaries, or perhaps a bit more, but nothing like this. This is bad in one way, which is that the story drags on forever (decades, in this case!), but is great in that you get to read more
Dec 2, 2010
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
Kitajima Maya has a 'pathological obsession' as one character put it, with acting. Poor, doggedly-stubborn Kitajima loves anything theater; movies, series, operas, anything you can watch and has actors: you get the picture.

Poor (ofcourse, she's poor!) and lives with her mother (she lives with her mother!? How come she's not dead yet so Kitajima can move into her late-grandmother-whom-she-didn't-know-existed-until-her-inheritance's estate! Sheesh! People who try to be creative!) who works and lives in a store and has to support seemingly almost mentally-handicapped Kitajima.

And then the key scene, like in Romeo and Juliet when Tybalt watches Romeo watching Juliet...

*Building suspense...*

Is when a bat-shit crazy old hag from read more
Mar 14, 2012
taigataiga (All reviews)
[edited review to make it more professional-ish, that's what I thought]

Glass Mask a.k.a Garasu no Kamen is definitely one of the oldest manga that is still running on serialization until now. Celebrating its 36th anniversary this January 2012 -- yes it was first serialized on 1976 -- this manga continues on growing even after it's this old, and we still can't guess how is the ending going to be like.

The story revolves around an almost good-for-nothing Maya Kitajima, but has a really great passion for anything about dramas and acting. Once her buried talent is discovered by one of the most renowned actress that had read more
Apr 29, 2011
mixing-scents (All reviews)
It's taken a while for me to get around to reading this - after being recommended a LONG time ago. And now I'm hooked and cringing inwardly at the cliffhanger it's left me on after reading 32 volumes and 4 chapters in one chunk =.O.

Admittedly I wasn't a huge fan of the art which was why I put it off. It grew on me though - and to be honest, the story more than makes up for it. There's so much plot and story as well as character development and seeing them grow and change. There's a lot of different arcs, each one presenting read more
Jul 25, 2016
Mina-dere (All reviews)
Ok so after much contemplation on whether or not I should read this, I gave it a shot. Honestly my first impression was "holy crap this manga is over 50 years old and its still ongoing! And dam this art style is old and not really my cup of tea." Despite that I swallowed my doubts and read on.

This manga is actually really captivating. The storyline keeps you on edge and it didn't take me long for me to get over the fact that I thought the characters were ugly. If you enjoyed skip beat, this is a more serious version. Skip beat is read more