Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

MÄR

MÄR

Alternative Titles

English: MÄR
Synonyms: MAR, Märchen Awakens Romance, MAR-Heaven, Marchen Awakens Romance, MÄR-Heaven
Japanese: MÄR

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 15
Chapters: 161
Status: Finished
Published: May 2003 to Jul 2006
Authors: Anzai, Nobuyuki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Sunday

Statistics

Score: 7.461 (scored by 7082 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #42082
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #731
Members: 12,089
Favorites: 344

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 3, 2008
Ichijo_feast (All reviews)
From the author of Flame of Recca, Noyubuki Anzai brings us at tale of parallel worlds, and a hero destined to travel between them. You know the drill. I would pretty much agree with what the others have said; a good read, but in the end, nothing truly special to set it apart.

The story was probably the weakest point of the series; While it wasn't bad, in any way; an acceptable concept, fairly good plot development, and satisfying ending, I can't really find any specific complaints to log against it, except the fact... it just didn't go the extra mile. It was a story, but read more
Jan 20, 2008
Menelvir (All reviews)
The story is set mainly in a world other than our own. Ginta, the main character, is a dreamy, less-than-average, Japanese schoolboy who is summoned into the world of his dreams, to fight an evil organisation and save a princess.

The storyline is rather typical. The main character is called to be a hero and must save the world from evil. What is unique, however, is the fighting style. In the world of MAR Heaven, people fight using ARMS: jewelery that can be transformed into swords, spears, or even guardian monsters. 75% of the manga is staged within a tournament between the evil organisation, the "Chess read more
Nov 27, 2009
CatBubble (All reviews)
Although this story may lack exceptional story plot, I would still consider this manga to be a good read.
Ginta, our main character, is very funny at times and I can relate him to Frodo, from Lord of the Rings. In some characteristics, of course not all of them, I think other readers would agree with me on this. ^_^
One of the characters, Jack, once annoyed me, but after I awhile I accepted and then really enjoyed his part in the story, and that kind of attitude in a story is what I really look for.
Also, the Evil side of this world, the Chess read more
Dec 3, 2010
Foolness (All reviews)
A 10 if you're looking for a case study of shonen, a 4 if you're expecting a high quality battle manga.

What separates MAR above other battle manga is that it cuts through the heart of what shonen is.

There's no filler here folks but neither are you going to get the type of 'faux' unique quality often praised from series like Naruto.

You'll definitely spot the hot blooded hero, the traditional cliches and at first MAR looks like your generic battle manga only if you read through the entire series excluding MAR Omega the sequel you're guaranteed to see a sort of elements of "battle manga read more
Sep 6, 2015
SechelfGhost (All reviews)
Preliminary
(This is my first review. Breath in, breath out)
When I founded about MAR, it was on Wikipedia. I getted into it instantly. Unfortunately I was at school and I didn't have time to read it or found a site to read it.
Two years later, here I am. Writing a review.
SO! Fatherless, harmless and eye-sightless, Toramizu Ginta dreams of a world named ,, MÄR HEAVEN". No-one believes it is real, excepting his only friend Koyuki (which means ,,Snow Child").
After his 103 dream of MÄR, a portal opens to the world he dreamed o and he enters there in no time.
After that he meets read more
Oct 4, 2010
trishoverman47 (All reviews)
Preliminary
MAR is about a nerdy boy who one day suddenly enters a fantasy world. And he must save the people from all over the world from the evil army known as the Chess Pieces. There's a wide varity of characters that appear in this manga and what's even more great is that most of the characters are based off of fairy tales. For example, Dorothy the witch is based off of the Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz and the farmer Jack is based off from the one from Jack and the Beanstalk. It's a little comedy than fantasy though. The characters are always making read more
Jul 31, 2017
Daroman (All reviews)
MÄR is the definition of a mediocre manga, or close to it. I had seen some of the anime in my childhood and had some nostalgia for it, so I decided to give the manga a whirl. It didn't stack up to my memories of it.

Story:
The story is as bare-bones as could be and the weakest part of the manga. For the first thirty or so chapters there is something resembling an actual story as the cast of main characters is assembled, but once they are, it launches into a tournament arc that lasts for the rest of the manga. The beginning had some promise, read more
Oct 21, 2016
alvissisgay420 (All reviews)
I just watched this whole anime in japanese and its under the table dirty af all the boys are gay (alviss and phantom spitroast rolan) and Chaton fingers loco and sux off Alan till he nuts all over baby loco and dorothy’s clothes are always getting torn off and the octopus tentacle turns into a veiny dick that goes inbettween her tits and makes her blush wtf did I just watch. oh and jack ties a girl up with fines thats clearly sexually assualting her and then date rapes her with psychadelic mushrooms. WTF DID I JUST WATCH IS THIS A SHOW FOR KIDS? my read more
Feb 6, 2012
rondoblend (All reviews)
The author played it safe because he intendes to make MAR his last work.. So there is no complex story, no in deep character background. Just a linear story.

Story and character
It's about a kid named Ginta, who is bashful due to his relatively short stature and eyeglasses. his classmates treat him like a little brother instead of bullying him. Ginta is not an antisocial to begin with, this is a good start. Most authors sacrifice moral value by making read more
Jun 13, 2017
Izaya (All reviews)
The anime started to get out of context after episode 80 so I started reading the manga. A thousand times better tbh. I didn't realize it was Anzai who wrote MAR until after I finished it, and he just so happened to have been the same guy who wrote Rekka no Honoo. Which explains why Dorothy was able to be badass without being annoying, it explains the amazing art style, etc. There isn't much to say besides I really enjoyed this manga and I hope Anzai keeps writing good shit.

Like yeah, the story is generic, but he makes it in a way that it isn't read more