Magic Knight Rayearth
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Magic Knight Rayearth

Alternative Titles

English: Magic Knight Rayearth
Synonyms: Mahou Kishi Rayearth
Japanese: 魔法騎士〈マジックナイト〉レイアース

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 15
Status: Finished
Published: Nov , 1993 to Feb , 1995
Genres: ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, MagicMagic, MechaMecha, ShoujoShoujo
Authors: CLAMP (Story & Art)
Serialization: Nakayoshi

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 92459,245 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #19862
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #735
Members: 17,050
Favorites: 445

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 27, 2010
OniNoYami (All reviews)
CLAMP's first manga series, Magic Knight Rayearth is certainly one of their best works, if not their very best. The plot is interesting and keeps the reader guessing to the very end, as always the art is captivatingly beautiful, the characters are engaging and it's overall a beautiful piece of work.

The story begins with three middle school girls -- Hikaru, Umi and Fuu -- being transported to a magical world known as Cephiro by the pillar, Princess Emeraude. They are taught magic and told they are the Magic Knights of legend, but the girls just want to go home, as is expected of middle read more
Jun 24, 2010
napolean86 (All reviews)
Like most of CLAMP's early works, Magic Knight Rayearth deals with fantasy and is geared toward female readers. The artwork conveys a sense of beauty and elegance that is rarely found in a manga nowadays. As for the storyline, it's more fast-paced than its anime counterpart, but its still a completely original storyline that doesn't borrow from any outside source. Out of all of CLAMP's works, I would have to say that Magic Knight Rayearth is definitely the best.
Jan 30, 2015
chubar (All reviews)
Oh, CLAMP. I have such a swaying opinion of you. You either confound me or I adore you to where I want to be proud that I’m a huge fan of yours. There are so many series that I want to try to read but at the same time, I’m so worried I’m going to be burned again by your stupid deux ex machina. And, oh, does it hurt so good.

Fortunately, that’s not the case with this series. However, it’s rather short as a manga series. It’s very quick pace and a lot gets done over the course of three volumes (or one omnibus).

Now, I’m read more
Aug 3, 2019
Uutama (All reviews)
Sometimes it's the simple stories that are the most memorable. Magic Knight Rayearth manages to be just that: an enjoyable tale that doesn't deviate from the traditional fantasy-style formula too much. Despite this, there are still a good amount of unforeseen twists and turns that keep the reader interested in what will happen next. Beyond that, it is a very fun and moving story that takes you through your typical 'save the princess' type of fantasy adventure.

Magic Knight Rayearth is simple, but don't let that discourage you. Originally written by the famous all-girl manga group, CLAMP, this story holds the honor of being one of read more
Jul 31, 2013
inkball (All reviews)
This is my first review on MyAnimeList.net, so I apologise in adavance if I don't structure this review very well.

I picked up Magic Knight Rayearth in a bookshop for £15. Having come across a few CLAMP mangas before, I was rather intrigued. Was it worth the buy? Yes, it was.

Story: 8/10
For fantasy fans, the storyline may seem like something that's been done before. But despite this, the plot is gripping and fast-paced, yet there are also some more emotional moments. And the ending? It really isn't what you would expect. But wait, I've said too much.

Art: 9/10
The best thing about this manga, in my opinion, read more
Jan 12, 2019
Alderaminn (All reviews)
There are only two reasons to read this manga. First - to enjoy its beautiful and smooth art, a mix of shounen dynamics and classic, rich style of 70s shoujo mangas. Second - to meet a historic example of how modern shoujo was forming.

Almost everything in this story is simply bad. Plot is as simple as classic fairytails, except its lack of symbolism, and is so predictable that after 2nd chapter you can figure out how and what way it will end. It follows all the worst and overused schemes of fantasy genre. Weird names? Check. Overpowerment of characters? Check. Absolute lack of worldbulding, read more
Apr 20, 2013
DiegoCCamara (All reviews)
I read Magic Knight Rayearth in a Brazilian publication from 15 years ago, and I noticed that some names are a bit different, so if a write anything awkward, you know the reason.

This manga is about 3 student girls that are transported to a mysterious land called Cephiro, where it's structure is based in the will of a princess called Esmeralda. The three girls meet Clef, a wizard that gives them the mission to save their world from an evil wizard called Zagato that impriosioned the Princess, and from now on they start to develop a strong friendship in order to save Cephiro and themselves.

What read more
Mar 22, 2020
OKaduSan (All reviews)
I must start this review saying that this is the first manga, of magical girls that I read, in fact, I don't have many manga in my library of completed manga, it can be said that I am a beginner in the middle, and that is precisely why I decided to read this work, I wanted to expand my few readings a little bit, in addition to the works of a super strong boy who saves everyone or the seinen that I also like a lot, the fact is I couldn't have made a better choice, this manga got me completely surprise, because I confess read more