Densha Otoko: Net Hatsu, Kakueki Teisha no Love Story
Train_Man: Densha Otoko
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Densha Otoko: Net Hatsu, Kakueki Teisha no Love Story

Alternative Titles

English: Train_Man: Densha Otoko
Synonyms: Train Man, Densha Otoko: Net Development, the Love Story of a Local Train
Japanese: 電車男 ネット発、各駅停車のラブ・ストーリー

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 27
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 6, 2005 to Sep 5, 2005
Genres: RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Nakano, Hitori (Story), Hara, Hidenori (Art)
Serialization: Young Sunday (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 7.931 (scored by 43604,360 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8372
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1428
Members: 8,825
Favorites: 118

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 12, 2008
InformationGeek (All reviews)
Let’s face it. When was the last time you have ever read a romance manga that wasn’t a harem? If you have, then forget what I said. But if you haven’t read a romance story other than a harem lately, you need to expand your horizons. I have done so in the past and have uncover this hidden gem of a story. It’s about time all of you should about the amazing title I found when I did so.

Story:

The story itself is interesting and very entertaining. What makes it interesting is that it provides us with a realistic depiction read more
Jan 7, 2009
Ilyaoh (All reviews)
I'm someone who can enjoy romance and drama manga's (and anime's of course).

So I enjoyed this too, I found out that there was a manga (more actually, even an anime and several drama's). of a true story, so something that actually happened.

When I found out it was this story, I was suprised, that it was a romance, and not a warstory, or some kind of crazy deranged drama. But it was a nice suprise, this is about a guy, a "Otaku", who "saves" this ...woman from being harassed by a drunkard in the train, they exchange some information and keep narrowly contact with each other.

This read more
Aug 17, 2013
kurosaki_kabuto (All reviews)
“Beauty of style and harmony and grace and good rhythm depend on simplicity.” - Plato.

This is a very simple manga and due to such simplicity it is very often down-played and underrated. Is simplicity really such a bad thing? Can a simple manga be a good manga? The question "What makes a good manga?" is one that has no definite standard answer. The world of - let's call it "creative work" thus encompassing a wider scope than just manga - is an open one. Ultimately it is as unlimited as one's imagination can be, therefore any answer to this question will be met with opposition read more
May 27, 2010
blkcatXIII (All reviews)

It's really hard to believe that this is based on a true story but true story or not it's a must read.

Out of all the Densha Otoko Manga's I read this one is the best.

As you read the manga you feel like you regret not reading the thread that Densha was posting back when this happen but this manga gives who the feeling that you were actually there when this all happen.

Not only does it make you feel like you were reading the thread it also makes you want to change like Densha.

It's really a heart pounding love story and I read more
Sep 4, 2009
bijoublue (All reviews)
I loved this story! I really felt like one of the forum readers, getting excited over every thing. I felt myself smiling throughout the entire story. So much, that my cheeks felt sore by the time I was done.

Good read, I recommend it!!
May 2, 2011
hallanmeras (All reviews)
This is a little out of my normal field, but I got seriously caught up in this story. I originally got this manga as part of a lot on Ebay, and only started reading it because it was the closest book to the door for an outdoor trip, but couldn't put the book down!

Story is hard to beat, being a true story that exploded onto the national scene. It's one that resonates with just about everyone.

Art is fantastic. There are no giant mecha or too cute girls or rampaging monsters, but real life portrayed very well.

Characters are great, seeing real growth and development. Hard read more
Aug 13, 2009
Laevantein (All reviews)
First of all this is my first review, so don't expect too much from me kay?

I will not review about art, hell i don't really care as long the story gives me a good
impression, and this manga is one of those.

At first i think this manga is another romance story, where the male protagonist is a whimp
that do not have any courage to confess or even ask the girl, but every time i read a chapter
it is always makes me wants to cheers for this guy, it's feels like "go for it densha!".

Especially every time Densha asked his friend on the net read more
Sep 5, 2009
Longxinus (All reviews)
Wow, I just had to plow through all the 27 chapters in one sitting because I found it so enjoyable. ^^ I mean, damn, just imagine the whole manga-resque plot taking place in real-life? Because that's what exactly happened, which just makes the manga even more involving and entertaining. The thing is that half of the vibes you get from reading the manga, is based on this, which not necessarily is a bad thing. I feel like if I didn't know it was based on a true story, the plot would be weaker, yet still a bit original and decent. But like any other adaption read more
Jan 1, 2014
Madiha-chan (All reviews)
I was a bit skeptical when I first saw the name, and grew even more skeptical when i saw the old art. But I am so glad I stuck though it. This manga was amazing ! I fell in love his clueless shy character, and his otoko personality. The idea of his internet friends helping out made the story hilarious and intense. Would recommend to a friend, amazing manga :3
Jun 9, 2016
SpectreLance (All reviews)
I honestly don't know where to start. This is my first review, so please take it easy on me, but if I didn't review this, I think I would go—slightly—mad.

Context.

So here I am, hearing about 2ch's phenomenon of "Train_Man" after searching up what 2ch was. I read the summary and really just couldn't believe my eyes. An otaku stands up for a bunch of women getting harassed by a drunk on train and meets a woman among that group that congratulates him with an expensive tea set. 2ch instantly realizes this for what it is, and helps our dense MC start taking the bull by read more
Aug 17, 2009
chulian1819 (All reviews)
Makes you believe that real life love still exists, that destiny can start wonderful things and you just have to take from there and finish the job ^^
I know the drawing isn't great but what counts is the story