Monster
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Monster

Alternative Titles

Japanese: MONSTER
English: Monster
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 162
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 5, 1994 to Dec 20, 2001
Genres: Award Winning Award Winning, Drama Drama, Mystery Mystery
Themes: Adult Cast Adult Cast, Psychological Psychological
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Serialization: Big Comic Original
Authors: Urasawa, Naoki (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 9.111 (scored by 7100971,009 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #52
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #31
Members: 183,952
Favorites: 16,132

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2009
BorisSoad (All reviews)
I rarely give tens to mangas. But this one just deserves it! Why? I'm going to tell you:

Monster isn't a tradional manga. It isn't about fighting. I even dare to say it is a 'Love it or hate it'-manga. If you are the type of Naruto and Bleach and looking for that kind of manga, this isn't the manga for you. If you are looking for an intense, well-written manga, I would recommend this certainly for you.

The story is complex and long. Altough it's long, there isn't one single filler. It is all part of the same story. The story is about several characters, whom read more
Mar 22, 2012
kurosaki_kabuto (All reviews)
"Look at me! Look at me! The monster inside of me has grown this big!".

Is the righteous path always the right path to take? Is it possible to regret doing the right thing and standing for justice? Is a righteous choice with a bad effect a good choice or a bad choice? How far is anyone prepared to go to correct what wasn't wrong in the first place? In these questions we find the basic premise of Monster.

Monster is a brilliant piece. A thriller with a story so unified, steady, complex and without plot holes that puts 99% of all thrillers (be them books, movies read more
Mar 26, 2015
Trojan_Invasion (All reviews)
What makes a great psychological thriller? An intelligent plot? Unpredictable plot twists? Memorable, deep characters? Or is it the overall atmosphere of the series? If you're looking for a manga that can give you all of the above, Naoki Urasawa's got your back. Chances are that you have probably heard of Monster before and was wondering if it's as good as some people make it out to be, and to be quite honest, it deserves every bit of praise it gets and lives up to the hype surrounding it. Securing a position at the top of almost every manga ranking site, Monster is a critically read more
Jun 8, 2015
crystaldawwn (All reviews)
I loved this Manga, one of my favourites, and the first Naoki Urasawa manga that i've read, and this has definitely made me want to read more of his work!

SPOILER FREE

STORY:
I've spoken with friends who are big fans of 20th century boys (which i've started to read) and i've been told a couple times that the story is a little hard to get into. I do see what they're saying, it starts off a little slow but after the short first chapters of set up the reader is thrown into an adventure and chase that never seems to have a dull moment. read more
Dec 21, 2010
Foolness (All reviews)
Not an overrated masterpiece but clearly a hollow one.

I have to admit I couldn't remove my bias even before I completed the first arc/chapter/plot event. (The way the story is told is via one huge epic. This could just have easily been a Resident Evil type of game, a film directed by Kubrick or a crime thriller novel and thus normal manga reviewing aren't as relevant to grasping the quality of this series)

In that initial bias, I so wanted to shout "overrated" and how this was another fake Hollywood made serial killer story. Monster's plots are more unrealistic, unlikely and forget forced - the characters read more
Dec 25, 2007
InformationGeek (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Viz Signature collections features some of my most favorite mangas of all time, The Drifting Classroom, Uzumaki, and Black & White. However, there was always one story that just caught my attention right away after the Signature series started and that was Monster.

Story:

The story is completely different then any other series I have ever read and leaves me wondering what will happen next to our hero. After every volume, I feel I learned something new, but I'm still no closer to the mystery behind the villian.

Art:

This artist has some great skills. Every character and every location is amazingly detailed and drawn read more
Dec 14, 2010
DynamicDylan (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying, that this is my favorite manga of all time. I know I give it a perfect score, and there are many reasons for this. Lets start with the story.

This manga takes place in Germany and follows the main character, Dr. Kenzo Tenma, a brilliant brain surgeon. His fiance' is the director of the hospital's daughter. Tenma is torn between following orders from his boss and doing what he thinks is right. Basically he is told to opperate on the mayor of the town, but because a little boy came in first, he decides to read more
Sep 4, 2009
keasty (All reviews)
This manga is, in my opinion, overrated. The only reason I’m writing this review is because I didn't think monster was worth a 9 or a 10 and if I don't surely other people out there won't either.

The story for monster is what lets it down. The story basically follows a fugitive doctor that is chasing a serial killer. While this is happening the doctor is being chased by the police, who think he has committed the murders. Along the way the doctor meets a lot of families/individuals, makes friends and teaches people. He is helping them to grow and mature in their own right, read more
Jan 18, 2020
ohooh (All reviews)
Monster - the Midwit Masterpiece

There are few mangas/animes that I regret reading/watching, but Monster is definitely one of them. It is an absolute bore with zero payoff, an incredibly unsatisfying ending that renders a majority of the plot meaningless, as well as unrealistic and uninteresting characters.

Ultimately it boils down to a mostly episodic series where the main character Tenma roams around Europe helping everyone in his path. There are a lot of sappy exchanges, but I really couldn't find myself caring about any of these random people. The evil characters are over-the-top and sinister, something I noticed right away, and that never stops. Since the read more
Aug 30, 2016
butekkusu (All reviews)
It kind of offends me that this manga is so praised.
If you are considering taking this up let me tell you one very important thing. It's a spoiler for sure, but it's a fair one because without knowing this you can end up accusing the manga of false advertising:
you will not learn here how a monster is created

As I am sure you know, the story is about a surgeon on a road trip looking for a kid he saved on the operating table, a kid that turns out is pure evil, a monster, something like a murdering psychopath/genius tactician/politician/businessman and also, oh man was this read more
Apr 15, 2021
Totalphantasma (All reviews)
Preliminary
Monster fails in most of its attempts to be interesting.
The story is completely predictable. Up to the point where i dropped it, there was not a single plot point which i did not guess. I could probably accurately guess which chapter a character will die in.
Many people call this a suspense and i think it does this very very poorly for several reasons.
First, the characters are not interesting and i do not care about any of them. They are one note and flat. For a story which is about the darkness within people and how everyone can have a monster inside of them for every read more
Apr 26, 2012
rokkugoh (All reviews)
REALLY fascinating manga.

Basically about the genius neurosurgeon Tenma who choose duty over hospital politics and decides to save a young child shot in the head over the famous celebrity. Tenma loses his job because of this and worse... the boy he saves grows up to be a crazed serial killer! WHAT.

Lots of twists and turns and increeeedibly addictive. Read all of it in about 2 days. Ending leaves a lot to interpretation, which was a nice touch for a manga that was so morally ambiguous throughout. Writing is very tight; sometimes some threads of the story seem read more
Apr 20, 2020
TheWildBeanz (All reviews)
Do we all in humanity contain a "Monster" inside of us? Can even the brightest of souls purge to darkness when led to?

These are some of the thematic questions that Monster is based on. Throughout reading this manga, you both follow the development of a seemingly righteous protagonist and misguided antagonist, but follow an initially convoluted story that continues to surprise while reading, leading to the grand climax at the end. While it may primarily sound similar to any other mystery, what separates Monster from other anime/manga is the well-executed philosophical take on society, and how some of the characters shift their ideals after read more
Oct 3, 2021
Fguyretftgu7 (All reviews)
Despite most people believing that thrillers are only good on the first read, somehow my appreciation for Monster skyrocketed after rereading it recently. I once babbled nonsense about how overrated Monster was, how it isn't worthy of being so revered, how it's a slow painful read that ends off in such a underwhelming way, I apologise to Urasawa-sensei for making these foolish claims. I knew nothing back then, but now I do, and Monster is indeed the greatest thriller manga of all time.

Monster is a tale of a doctor, Kenzou Tenma, tracking down his ex-patient turned murderer, Johan Liebert. However, while that is indeed the read more
Sep 14, 2021
FRIEND_YT (All reviews)
Ladies and gentlemen, this is the deepest and best seinen manga you will ever see in your life
Story 10/10: The writer has given each character their right and their story, and the story is a wonderful embodiment of what we are experiencing today....Excellent
It's hard to say what makes this manga beautiful and great because everything in it is great
Characters 10/10: Each character has its own role and personal story, and each character makes the story develop and connects the other characters, and from here we know that the writer is very smart.
Events 10/10: It is difficult to predict the events in this manga or say read more
Dec 28, 2013
N201_ASYLUM (All reviews)
Look at me, look at me! The monster inside me has grown this large!
- The Nameless Monster (Obluda, Která Nemá Své Jméno)

What does a man have to do to become fictitious? How does one make his existence merely fiction? It's dubbed as the "perfect suicide". Kill everyone who has had memories of you, and finally, kill yourself.


Somewhat long summary, or rather, plot introduction:

The plot of Monster revolves around Dr. Tenma, a surgeon with a bright future in his field of work, and engaged to the beautiful and glamorous daughter of one of the medical world's most influential players, his hospital's director, Udo Heinemann.

One day, he read more
Oct 22, 2008
Dong_Bong_Wong (All reviews)
Oh, MONSTER does many, many things right. An American creator would surely be jealous of things that Urasawa succeeds at seemingly effortlessly. The cast is large but each character’s motivation is clearly defined. Many of the secondary characters steal their scenes (none moreso than the icy “computer-brained” police investigator chasing the lead character). Urasawa seamlessly integrates effective single-episode stories into his larger arcs, adding extra depth to the proceedings. While my initial impression was that the characterization was still far too thin, by the end Urasawa had convinced me (at least with the main character) that he’d pulled off a satisfying character arc over the read more
Sep 18, 2020
HotDadEren (All reviews)
Frighteningly addictive.
"Monster" is a deep and meaningful psychological thriller one should at least watch/read once in his life.

In this one, Urasawa allows us to explore the most classic theme in all medias: the duality of good and evil. The darkness and light that co-exist in each human being.

As we follow the journey of Dr Tenma, mistakingly convincted for murder, and devoured by his own guilt for saving a kid ,Johan, who turned into the most deranged and manipulative psychopath, we get to know a plethora of characters along the way: each one getting a different backstory, and serving a different purpose, giving a most humane read more
Jan 9, 2013
Hikkykun (All reviews)
Finally read Monster after countless years, and it's an amazingly good manga,free from most traps that make especially seinen manga a dreadful cornucopia of blandness, and managing to claw its way to classic status.

Story : 9/10
Easily Monster's strong suit, the storyline is extremely, be it plot , dialogue, and even the translated text holds some literary value in parts. Naoki Urasawa here, as he does with Pluto later, sets his story mostly in Germany , something unusual for a manga but I reckon even more close to the affections and experiences of most Western readers. He masterfully weaves long, seemingly totally disconnected threads read more
Aug 3, 2021
WazEvergarden (All reviews)
warning: spoilers

monster is probably one of the best mystery/thriller mangas to ever exist even though it starts slow the pay off is worth it. thats one of the reasons why the manga can be better than the anime. the story follow kenzo tenma the protagonist of monster a neuro surgeon or sum. so this tenma dude has two lives in his hands. a little boy who got shot in da head and sum mayor guy. well ofc they told em to save the little kid. only to know that kid became a handsome as fuck antagonist mass murderer called johan liebert. Knowing this was tenmas read more