Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tales of Vesperia: The First Strike


Alternative Titles

English: Tales of Vesperia ~The First Strike~
Japanese: テイルズ オブ ヴェスペリア

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2009
Producers: Bandai Visual
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Game
Duration: 1 hr. 50 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.751 (scored by 16,306 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1778
Members: 34,388
Favorites: 146

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 10, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
In recent years video games, be they console or PC based, have moved to the forefront of popular entertainment. One of the upshots of this trend has been the a marked increase in the number of adaptations and spinoffs that can be found in manga and anime (and that's without including the doujin market). The major problem though, is that studios, production companies and storytellers are doing nothing more than recycling an existing concept, and while the adaptation may actually be pretty decent in some cases (Tears to Tiara for example), more often than not one is served a big plate of mediocrity (I'm looking read more
Jun 20, 2010
BlondeAssassin (All reviews)
SPOILER FREE

What amazing luck. I happen to complete the game the same week the movie comes out. This caught me completely by surprise, but I was extremely excited. When I initially started the game, I thought it was a bit corny and maybe even childish, but a few hours in and there was incredible character development and storyline threads stretching across, to the point where I even cared for the villains. Truly an exceptional experience from the game.

If you are a fan of the game, then there's no doubt you will love this movie. I went in with no expectations, except knowing that read more
Sep 19, 2013
Masserati_ (All reviews)
"Trust me the feeling is mutual, I still don't get why you even joined the knights at all!"

Tales of Vesperia, the game that is, happens to be a very special game to me - sure, its story isn't its highest selling point and the game really drags towards the end, but overall, I had a blast experiencing the world of Terca Lumiries - especially the characters, Vesperia has one of my favourite video game casts ever, particularly Rita Mordio - who I have a great adoration for, being my favourite female character in any form of media to date. However, until necessary, I won't let read more
May 25, 2015
Hgjgtdc (All reviews)
*Review is biased since I played the game*
As a Tales of fan, I knew exactly what to expect watching this movie, and I got what I was expecting. Since Tales of Vesperia is one of favorite games, I was quite excited, and my expectations were ultimately met, with only a bit of expected disappointment. Fans of TOV will be happy to learn more of the back story of Yuri, Flynn, and Repede, while newcomers will be amazed by the greatness of the Tales of series.

To be fair, The story was cliche, with some points that adds more flair, however, the art, animation, and music were read more
Aug 10, 2017
BladesArisen (All reviews)
Tales of Vesperia: The First Strike

I’ll start this one off by saying hello to all newcomers, and welcome back to all you Tales fans out there. Word to the wise: This movie is a prequel to Tales of Vesperia, an Xbox 360 exclusive video game and the tenth mothership title in the Tales series of games. If you have no interest in Tales, this movie won’t do as well for you as it will for a fan. Keep that in mind before continuing.


VISUALS [ 8/10 ]
This is a solid movie, through and through. Visuals are fantastic for the most part, especially for 2009. We read more
Nov 21, 2016
Marshmewwows (All reviews)
Note: This review was written on my Review Book on Wattpad. If you are interested, don't be shy to check it out! (Link's in my bio)

Tales of Vesperia is a RPG game that was exclusive for the XBOX 360. It had done so well that it had received a movie adaption, that takes place 10 years after the Great War. Yuri Lowell, hero of Zaphias, along with his loyal friend Flynn, have just become Imperial Knights. Meanwhile, Estellise, Princess of the Capital, along with the Imperial Knights Commander, Alexia Denoia, are currently fighting for the power in the Capital. Now, Yuri and Flynn read more
Sep 3, 2010
TheNurseInBlack (All reviews)


After fully completing the game and becoming a big fan, this movie comes out. And I have to say I was suprised and happy at the same time. At first I didn't know what to expect from this movie, but after I was done watching it I was very impressed. I was wondering how well they would do connecting the movie with the game. And they did a pretty good job. They also did a good job letting some of the characters from the game, have some scenes through out the movie.

If you played the game and enjoyed it I think you should defiently give read more
Jan 14, 2016
hoping (All reviews)
following is just my opinion about this anime: i found it slow paced and simple minded. it has some interesting original elements but the flaws and the plainness waste it all. the art had some nice points (a mix from various shows). the story develops without surprises, the fights have original elements but flawed. the characters are ok, nothing more... like the rest of the anime. maybe for some its worth watching because of some original elements but for me its just feels like one of the many shows that didn't pay enough attention to detail and made of something with good potential (and enough read more
Sep 2, 2015
SirHellfire (All reviews)
Having reviewed the entire Tales of Symphonia series, I thought it might be a good idea to review the rest of the Tales adaptations I can find. So first on the table is Tales of Vesperia: The First Strike. Standard rules apply with video games adaptations. The adaptation should be able to stand on its own, meaning even if the viewer hasn’t played the games or seen anything related to the series, they should be able to enjoy it just as much as someone who has. With that little parameter out of the way, let’s get cracking.

The Short Version:
(+)Animation is good, really good.
(+)The battles read more
Jan 1, 2013
angelsreview (All reviews)
This show starts out rather heavy, asking what people should protect. Then we are thrown into a large action packed fight and chase that feels really over the top. We aren’t introduced to the characters or understand what the hell they are doing. We just know a fight is going on. Although this show looks rather nice, the storyline doesn’t fit the look of the show and makes things confusing including the fact that this was supposed to have 4 video games before it to help with the story line and sadly, only two were dubbed and brought over. Sadly, I am probably in the read more
Jun 22, 2011
Leyla_ (All reviews)
When I first, came across this anime I thought that it was a spin-off of the "Tales of the Abyss" and I was quite interested because I enjoyed the second very much so I thought that I should try and watch this too. Actually some moments were almost the same like magic and that circles or whatever was there :D Well it doesn't matter. The main thing is that I am not a fan of this game and I didn't even played it so the anime was not anything special for me.

Story 8/10:
Well, I have to admit that the story was good. Like read more
Jul 7, 2012
Ayanashii (All reviews)
As an advid "Tales of" fan, I was super excited when I found out there was a Tales of Vesperia movie. Since I had never played Tales of Vesperia before, I decided to watch the movie and maybe get some more information about it, since my friend had told me the game and movie was very good. Probably best choice I've made.

Story 9/10 The story, I thought, was very interesting. It seems like the Namco is very god at making magical stories and putting it into their games. Same goes for this movie. Tales of Vesperia~The First Strike~ is a prequel to the Tales of read more