Digimon Adventure:

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Digimon Adventure (2020), Digimon Adventure Reboot
Japanese: デジモンアドベンチャー:


Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 67
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2020 to Sep 26, 2021
Premiered: Spring 2020
Broadcast: Sundays at 09:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Other
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy
Demographic: KidsKids
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.401 (scored by 1582515,825 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #69522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2628
Members: 50,854
Favorites: 181

External Links


Streaming Platforms

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2021
SoldierDream (All reviews)
“This is Taichi and Agumon’s last adventure” – Toei Animation, 2019.

With that categorical catchphrase, Toei Animation lied to all of us Digimon Adventure fans two years ago. As a way to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the series that kicked off the franchise, it announced with great fanfare that it would be making one last movie -eventually called “Last Evolution Kizuna”- and that it would truly be the last adventure. The last one. This was it. No more. To say goodbye to the series and characters we’ve loved for more than two decades now. Despite the bitter taste in our mouths with the disappointing result read more
Sep 26, 2021
Arvanitis (All reviews)
I am writing this review to compare Digimon Adventure (2020) with the original Digimon Adventure. I do not see this as a new anime, and I will be harsh for an obvious reason; when you recreate such a classic work of fiction, with the same characters and main concept, you know your job must not disappoint. It seems that most Digimon Adventure fans - like me - are not satisfied with this reboot. The reasons are simple, so let’s examine them carefully. But before I begin, I must make a wish:

I wish the next generations will know watching the reboot is the wrong choice.

Another read more
Jun 30, 2020
Reinheit_Hezen (All reviews)
Preliminary
(incomplete review based on the first 13 episodes)

While I was expecting a remake of the original Digimon, Toei makes a reboot with a completely different story. I feel like this version of the original Digimon has been made with the intention of being a classic for this generation of kids/teenagers, just like the original one was, so the topics it touches are things common in this modern age (intercontinental nuclear missiles, smartphones, etc).

Story: 5
It tries to be more "mature" than the original Digimon using topics like weapons of massive destruction (nuclear bombs), I like that.
What I dislike about this is the way the story read more
Aug 13, 2020
ZeedMirai (All reviews)
Preliminary
--- SHORT VERSION ---

Pros:

+ character designs
+ nice visuals

Cons:

- pacing of the story is trash
- character development no longer required for evolution
- the story itself is a "reimagining" and not a very good one (Omegamon appears before the Dark Masters do, that is *IF* the Dark Masters even exist in this reboot)
- the songs used during key moments consist of generic & uninspired J-rock shouting that funnily enough sound like something Etemon would sing

--- LONG VERSION ---

Let me first say that I'm a huge (classic) Digimon fan. I love the first four seasons and I look forward to rewatching them whenever I read more
Jul 26, 2020
LennonBechara (All reviews)
Preliminary
In my opinion this reboot is as great as the 1999 season. Some points that I really appreciate are: The introduction of the characters along the episodes, this is good because they have their own episode to shine. The soundtrack is great, all the songs are really good, we can still listen the old ones, but these new are very good too. One thing that really bothers me is the fact that only Gabumon and Agumon have the digievolution sequence, I guess everyone wants to see the others. This season has the opportunity to be even better then the old one, because the Digimon`s lore read more
Sep 25, 2021
rasterman7 (All reviews)
"Hello? Oh hi... yeah yeah, it's me. Hold on, don't hang up! I know that when I told you to watch Tri I didn't deliver but this time will be different, promise. I have just finished and I think you'll like it. What do you say?"
"..."
"Great. Now imagine something that has never been done before in the franchise, something unheard of, something like... a reboot of Adventure. Big time classic, huh?"
"..."
"No no, not a movie but a full fledged anime with 50 episodes. Actually more even. It has a story, characters, digievolutions. Sounds great, right?"
"..."
"Don't worry, it won't take time for it to get exciting. read more
Sep 26, 2021
kurodou (All reviews)
Hello everyone, it is my first time reviewing an anime series. Growing with Digimon Adventure as my childhood weekend show, I highly set my expectation in this new series to be good as the OG or even better.

After following the story until the end, I can genuinely say that this new series is failing me. But it's unfair to say that the series is trash without looking up on the good side. Therefore to balance the review, I decided to make some pros and cons fair and equally. Here you go,

Pros :
1) Battle movements are improved and slightly more varied at some point
2) There read more
Jul 15, 2020
Learons (All reviews)
Preliminary
I enjoy reboots and I believe that Digimon Adventure has potential to be something entertaining. However, currently (6 episodes in) it hasn't lived up to my expectations and that's because of the characters.

To start of with something positive; I enjoyed the story so far because it opens up a wider scale of importance compared to the original show. It creates an essential, longlasting goal that the protagonists need to accomplish while also delivering engaging lore about the digiworld. I love lore, especially the lore that's given to me in this show.

Nevertheless that's as far as the upsides go. So far we're not given any actual read more
Nov 8, 2020
sfPanzer (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have so many issues with this reboot. Apart from the updated artstyle (though not the animation) I don't feel like it beats the original in any way or form. The pacing is all over the place, the characters and their growth (which was by far the most important aspect in the original for me) are lacking, the classic soundtracks got completely replaced with rather generic ones and the story is only meh even if we ignore the original.

I went in without any expectations and still got massively disappointed. Really, unless you can't stomach the older artstyle at all, I recommend just watching the original read more
Dec 13, 2020
akatatsu27 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Having just watched the original, I'm severely disappointed by this reboot. The lovable cast, has been reduced to mere expressionless shells, with no personality or motivations.
The sound and especially the animation are better than the original. There's a variety of pretty good tracks, and the evolution sequences are spectacular. Sadly, that sums up almost all the positives of this show.
The first ~12 episodes were ok, but after that, it divebombed into endless catastrophic events and ludicrous amount of fighting. Our protagonists also realised they are not kids, but robot soldiers that can only grunt, shout eachothers' names, and telepathicaly communicate stupid read more
Feb 14, 2021
Kwantico (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me go ahead and preface that I'll use the original Digimon Adventure series as my main comparison. Despite me really liking the Digimon franchise, I don't feel any attachment to Adventure 1 or 2 since I was too young at the time to even understand it and my Digimon introduction was basically left to Tamers and Frontier. Having finally watched the original series only about 2 years ago, I don't think nostalgia should really play a role in my opinion of Digimon Adventure:. Also, I'll not judge this anime as I would most other anime since I think it would be unfair to compare read more
Sep 25, 2020
Isella_Howler (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't normally write reviews of things, but after seeing this anime getting a score of 7 (For some reason) I felt like I needed to say something.

First off, I can say I was very excited when I heard they were making a reboot. I know a lot of people have bad experiences with reboots or remakes, but personally I have watched quite a few remakes which were amazing, sometimes better than the original. Some examples I can give are HunterXHunter, Fruits Basket, and Full Metal Alchemist.
I had lots of nostalgia with Digimon, so as soon as this new reboot came out, I watched the read more
Mar 22, 2021
LangleyAsuka (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I was a kid I used to think "damn Digimon is so good, you know what would make it even better? if instead of story and character development we had epic Digimon battles every episode". Someone must have read my thoughts and now all I can say is you shouldn't make an anime based on what an 8yo kid found cool, specially when you can't keep up the animation quality of these battles, become less and less imaginative and force all your episodes to have the same predictable structure where the minimum of plot and character exposition feels like a breeze of fresh air, read more
Mar 28, 2021
Daniel_Gherard (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Review after watching episodes 01-41).

We are almost at 2/3 of the whole series and... things are not looking good.

As a fan of the original Adventure series this one is a must watch for me. But, I feel that this only works as a nostalgic series. If you look at it as a new series, by ignoring the original, this remake is terrible. The story is terrible. It has no development and the characters lack that deep connection that we all loved. But... let's go in parts.

Taichi is by far the one with most character development. Which is super annoying because they skipped the best parts read more
Aug 18, 2020
Ventus_S (All reviews)
Preliminary
Disclaimer: my viewpoint is not base on my childhood nostalgia for Digimon, but as someone who rewatched Digimon Adventure as an adult a few years back, as well as someone who finished most of the recent great series like Digimon Universe App Monster. So my viewpoint is base on the actual quality of story-telling and characterization for this Digimon reboot.

Unlike most people, I can actually easily get pass all of the "childish element" of Digimon series (which would bother a lot of teenagers/ adolescent audience and they'd rate it down because of that ) and go straight into the core theme, the storytelling, and read more
Dec 27, 2020
MS_OLDHORSE (All reviews)
Preliminary
its hard to not compare the latest digimon 2020 with the original (digimon adventure). However, I tried my best to give my review from a new view point.

Firstly, the story. tbh the plot of digimon 2020 is not that good, its quite mediocre and even a bit weak, its like u can see the reason behind most of the fight, maybe this is due to the length of the anime, but it quite ruin the mood.

moreover, the character seems always full energy even after several fights they can just keep going without rest which makes me feel quite unrealistic. not only that, when they read more
Aug 15, 2020
SentiOnikawa (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I heard that there would be a remake of the original Digimon Adventure series, I was apprehensive. Like many others who had stuck it through the Tri movies, Toei's lackluster attempts to create compelling characters and a coherent story had me wondering if they could even manage it. Unfortunately, going by the first three episode rule, they failed. Horribly. From here on out, spoilers.

Episode 1:

It opens on a note-for-note "re-imagining" of "Our War Game" (a movie which came second in their Digimon movie catalogue and acted as the second act for the American Dub's movie). Okay, that's fine. The issue is, they rush read more
Jun 18, 2021
Rosikota (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is like being an adult and returning to McDonalds as an adult after not being for over a decade - Just to find out the taste isn't how you remembered it to be.

Now, with a situation like that, there's plenty of thoughts one could have, but there are three I think would be the most common.

1) "I guess I just didn't remember the taste after all."
2) "Some things taste better when you're a child."
and most importantly,
3) "It's not me that's changed, these just taste different now! I miss the old McDonalds!"

And then you might put it aside and finish your drink, deciding read more
Aug 1, 2020
WolfSilver00 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watched 3 episodes, had to drop it.
Maybe because I watched the original, maybe because its actual shit.
Seriously, rushed as all hell, not giving a single damn about the original content, clearly written for a generation with the attention span of a fruit fly.
Very disappointing in execution, only thing passable are the sound effects and the animation, was very pleased to not see any 3D cheap CGI a la berserk, shame that it was for no reason, because its boring as all hell, rushed, no character development at all, fucking third episode fusion.. At first I was pissed that he found agumon in the first read more
Nov 23, 2020
SirManigold (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched all Digimon from Adventure to Data Squad, watched Digimon adventure in Brazil when I was little kid and ten years later I re-watched with my younger brother. I saw all the movies, I cried with Last Evolution. But I was never so disgusted and disappointed than with this 2020 garbage, what the hell was that episode 25? Did the giant tortoise suddenly become a falling airplane? There is no sense? What a bad script, what a bad direction without depth, without timing, without emotion, badly animated.
The plot has no time to delve into anything, one problem ends and another begins immediately, all the read more