Digimon Adventure:

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Digimon Adventure (2020)
Japanese: デジモンアドベンチャー:

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 66
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2020 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2020
Broadcast: Sundays at 09:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Other
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, KidsKids
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.831 (scored by 82848,284 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #43242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2546
Members: 38,981
Favorites: 168
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jun 30, 2020
Reinheit_Hezen (All reviews)
(incomplete review based on the first 13 episodes)

While I was expecting a remake of the original Digimon, Toei makes a reboot with a completely different story. I feel like this version of the original Digimon has been made with the intention of being a classic for this generation of kids/teenagers, just like the original one was, so the topics it touches are things common in this modern age (intercontinental nuclear missiles, smartphones, etc).

Story: 5
It tries to be more "mature" than the original Digimon using topics like weapons of massive destruction (nuclear bombs), I like that.
What I dislike about this is the way the story read more
Jul 26, 2020
LennonBechara (All reviews)
In my opinion this reboot is as great as the 1999 season. Some points that I really appreciate are: The introduction of the characters along the episodes, this is good because they have their own episode to shine. The soundtrack is great, all the songs are really good, we can still listen the old ones, but these new are very good too. One thing that really bothers me is the fact that only Gabumon and Agumon have the digievolution sequence, I guess everyone wants to see the others. This season has the opportunity to be even better then the old one, because the Digimon`s lore read more
Jul 15, 2020
Learons (All reviews)
I enjoy reboots and I believe that Digimon Adventure has potential to be something entertaining. However, currently (6 episodes in) it hasn't lived up to my expectations and that's because of the characters.

To start of with something positive; I enjoyed the story so far because it opens up a wider scale of importance compared to the original show. It creates an essential, longlasting goal that the protagonists need to accomplish while also delivering engaging lore about the digiworld. I love lore, especially the lore that's given to me in this show.

Nevertheless that's as far as the upsides go. So far we're not given any actual read more
Aug 13, 2020
ZeedMirai (All reviews)
--- SHORT VERSION ---

Pros:

+ character designs
+ nice visuals

Cons:

- pacing of the story is trash
- character development no longer required for evolution
- the story itself is a "reimagining" and not a very good one (Omegamon appears before the Dark Masters do, that is *IF* the Dark Masters even exist in this reboot)
- the songs used during key moments consist of generic & uninspired J-rock shouting that funnily enough sound like something Etemon would sing

--- LONG VERSION ---

Let me first say that I'm a huge (classic) Digimon fan. I love the first four seasons and I look forward to rewatching them whenever I read more
Nov 8, 2020
sfPanzer (All reviews)
I have so many issues with this reboot. Apart from the updated artstyle (though not the animation) I don't feel like it beats the original in any way or form. The pacing is all over the place, the characters and their growth (which was by far the most important aspect in the original for me) are lacking, the classic soundtracks got completely replaced with rather generic ones and the story is only meh even if we ignore the original.

I went in without any expectations and still got massively disappointed. Really, unless you can't stomach the older artstyle at all, I recommend just watching the original read more
Dec 13, 2020
akatatsu27 (All reviews)
Having just watched the original, I'm severely disappointed by this reboot. The lovable cast, has been reduced to mere expressionless shells, with no personality or motivations.
The sound and especially the animation are better than the original. There's a variety of pretty good tracks, and the evolution sequences are spectacular. Sadly, that sums up almost all the positives of this show.
The first ~12 episodes were ok, but after that, it divebombed into endless catastrophic events and ludicrous amount of fighting. Our protagonists also realised they are not kids, but robot soldiers that can only grunt, shout eachothers' names, and telepathicaly communicate stupid read more
Sep 25, 2020
Isella_Howler (All reviews)
I don't normally write reviews of things, but after seeing this anime getting a score of 7 (For some reason) I felt like I needed to say something.

First off, I can say I was very excited when I heard they were making a reboot. I know a lot of people have bad experiences with reboots or remakes, but personally I have watched quite a few remakes which were amazing, sometimes better than the original. Some examples I can give are HunterXHunter, Fruits Basket, and Full Metal Alchemist.
I had lots of nostalgia with Digimon, so as soon as this new reboot came out, I watched the read more
Aug 29, 2020
Wavekai (All reviews)
I find this show absolutely mediocre and bland compared to the original or any other anime. That's my opinion. I just believe that quality of shows has gone down recently. I'm not even a big nostalgia fan either. I started watching anime in 2011 and watched digimon adventure 1, 2, and tamers in 2018. My bias comes from an artistic standpoint and I think quality has been pushed aside for quantity in the anime industry as of late. Obvious exceptions aside. But that's enough of my modern anime rant you've heard a thousand times on forums and youtube. It is relevant to this series however.

Story: read more
Aug 18, 2020
Ventus_S (All reviews)
Disclaimer: my viewpoint is not base on my childhood nostalgia for Digimon, but as someone who rewatched Digimon Adventure as an adult a few years back, as well as someone who finished most of the recent great series like Digimon Universe App Monster. So my viewpoint is base on the actual quality of story-telling and characterization for this Digimon reboot.

Unlike most people, I can actually easily get pass all of the "childish element" of Digimon series (which would bother a lot of teenagers/ adolescent audience and they'd rate it down because of that ) and go straight into the core theme, the storytelling, and read more
Aug 15, 2020
SentiOnikawa (All reviews)
When I heard that there would be a remake of the original Digimon Adventure series, I was apprehensive. Like many others who had stuck it through the Tri movies, Toei's lackluster attempts to create compelling characters and a coherent story had me wondering if they could even manage it. Unfortunately, going by the first three episode rule, they failed. Horribly. From here on out, spoilers.

Episode 1:

It opens on a note-for-note "re-imagining" of "Our War Game" (a movie which came second in their Digimon movie catalogue and acted as the second act for the American Dub's movie). Okay, that's fine. The issue is, they rush read more
Aug 1, 2020
WolfSilver00 (All reviews)
Watched 3 episodes, had to drop it.
Maybe because I watched the original, maybe because its actual shit.
Seriously, rushed as all hell, not giving a single damn about the original content, clearly written for a generation with the attention span of a fruit fly.
Very disappointing in execution, only thing passable are the sound effects and the animation, was very pleased to not see any 3D cheap CGI a la berserk, shame that it was for no reason, because its boring as all hell, rushed, no character development at all, fucking third episode fusion.. At first I was pissed that he found agumon in the first read more
Nov 23, 2020
Ruadenn (All reviews)
I watched all Digimon from Adventure to Data Squad, watched Digimon adventure in Brazil when I was little kid and ten years later I re-watched with my younger brother. I saw all the movies, I cried with Last Evolution. But I was never so disgusted and disappointed than with this 2020 garbage, what the hell was that episode 25? Did the giant tortoise suddenly become a falling airplane? There is no sense? What a bad script, what a bad direction without depth, without timing, without emotion, badly animated.
The plot has no time to delve into anything, one problem ends and another begins immediately, all the read more
Dec 27, 2020
MS_OLDHORSE (All reviews)
its hard to not compare the latest digimon 2020 with the original (digimon adventure). However, I tried my best to give my review from a new view point.

Firstly, the story. tbh the plot of digimon 2020 is not that good, its quite mediocre and even a bit weak, its like u can see the reason behind most of the fight, maybe this is due to the length of the anime, but it quite ruin the mood.

moreover, the character seems always full energy even after several fights they can just keep going without rest which makes me feel quite unrealistic. not only that, when they read more
Aug 30, 2020
Harisrox (All reviews)
The series is past it’s 1st cour and it’s safe to assume the formula it’s going to follow, it’s going to be episodic adventure where enemies will appear and be defeated all in a single episode only serving the purpose of main cast getting stronger and developed, unless the enemy serves to the plot directly then it’s not necessary to be defeated in a single episode and they might revisit some of the screen-time in future. The studio is trying to not rush it so much and giving the spotlight to each dou in each episode, slowly and surely reaching the main goal.
The animation is read more
Aug 5, 2020
Mrkaru (All reviews)
-based on the first 9 episodes-

This reboot is exactly what digimon adventure needed. The original series was cheap and aged very poorly. Reused animations to pad episodes, extremely slow plot that had to rely on the same formula, and altogether a great show for children, but didn't offer much in the way of depth.

By contrast, this version is a lot better. They cut digivolution animations to fit more dialogue and plot into the episodes. They don't rely on the same animations for attacks, making battles a lot more interesting to watch. The characters seem to have been perfected, no longer changing personalities depending on read more
Aug 9, 2020
KitsuneLisek (All reviews)
I've watched all Digimon Adventure and other series (only Xros Wars and Applimon are in plans to do so). I love Adventure for what not many animes have. Good character development with characters, that has to overcome REAL problems. I say real, because many character developments in animes are actually flat.

Also, "flat" will be a key word here. Because there is a thing called flat character archetype. Generally there is a lie, that character believes in and has to find the truth. That character arcs work. But, flat character arc is when the character doesn't have the lie. It doesn't mean that the problems are read more
Nov 11, 2020
EeeveRockstar (All reviews)
I grew up to the original Adventure series and I was expecting a semi-trash reboot but this out better than I thought they are taking time in introducing each character and bring hype to each Digimon and chosen child

but I'm sad they didn't use Butterfly and Brave Heart just for the nostalgic feeling but is fine, is a reboot not a remake

But the evolutions are going too fast less than 10 eps in we already have Ultimate and a Mega, with not much strong story/ reason for the Digimon to get level so quickly and so early but I do glad there some upgrades to read more