Jujutsu Kaisen (TV)

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Sorcery Fight
Japanese: 呪術廻戦

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2020 to Mar 27, 2021
Premiered: Fall 2020
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, DemonsDemons, SupernaturalSupernatural, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.761 (scored by 738063738,063 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #55
Members: 1,317,136
Favorites: 48,353

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2021
HellLyter (All reviews)
“It’s not about whether I can, I have to do it!” – Megumi Fushiguro...and also me steeling myself to post a critical review on this beloved anime.

Jujutsu Kaisen is the latest shounen to gain a surge of popularity and get invited to join the mainstream table of the true anime titans, probably taking a seat right next to Demon Slayer. And I can say with certainty that this is primarily because of Studio Mappa's admirable dedication to making this show, particularly the fight scenes, look breathtakingly good. But here's the age old question: Does fantastic animation trump average writing?

Yeah, no. Heh, sorry to be read more
Mar 26, 2021
Twumi (All reviews)
After the ridiculous success of Demon Slayer, the shounen industry is finally taking notes on how to make a successful adaption. There's so many things that can be said about JJK, that I'm confused where to start from.

Let me start by giving JJK's staff the appreciation they deserve. Being a huge AoT fan, I'm honestly a little bit salty. I'm not undermining AoT, it's just that my eyes have been spoiled from seeing a sakuga on every damn episode of JJK. It's honestly just so good.

So yes, I'm gonna first highlight the sector which totally carries JJK, the animation. JJK is a feast for your read more
Mar 26, 2021
allegiant (All reviews)
Jujutsu kaisen was most hyped show of 2020. It was a new shonen so it was to be expected. Has it brought something new and distinctive to the genre and something others can get inspired from? Nope. Was it terrible? Nope. Was is a bit more than an average shonen? Maybe. Why? It has some qualities that put it aside from other battle shonen but many negatives as well.

○ Short introduction to the story:
So, we start off with our main character Yuji Itadori. A guy who is living an average life of an average teenager. He is passionate about his interests and mainly participates read more
Nov 6, 2020
mydayruined (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Contains minor spoilers*

For me the Shōnen Genre differs in itself into two different categories. The distinct difference can be seen starting from the first episode. It involves the protagonist’s motive and the cause of his journey. Known classics such as HunterxHunter, Naruto and the newly added Black Clover have their characters simply wanting to become stronger and starts through “aspirations”. Gon wanting to be a hunter like his father, Naruto wanting to become the next hokage, Asta wanting to be the Wizard King.

In contrast, Jujutsu Kaisen derives from misfortune and not having a choice. Yuji Itadori consumes Sukuna’s curse and at that moment, he becomes read more
Mar 26, 2021
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
The thing about trends that a lot of people take for granted is that the more overstuffed a particular set of ideas are, the more likely it is to see either flipped on its head (see Shrek for fairy tale musicals) or given more offbeat renditions (see Joker or Into the Spider-Verse for superhero blockbusters). Genres being overstuffed, if anything, should encourage more experimentation and refinement.

Over the years the Shonen genre has gone through a number of these phases. From past its formative years with Dragon Ball and Dragon Ball Z, you’ve gotten shows using the mold for massive tapestries (One Piece), those attempting to read more
Nov 13, 2020
JackLzx (All reviews)
Preliminary
I rate shit on enjoyment because that is what's important. Shit's lit, so watch it if you like high quality action scenes with moments of light heartedness but with a general dark theme. Mixes really well in my opinion and I suggest highly.

Don't go into it looking for a psychological thriller with some really deep story. Because that's not what it is. Go into it looking for a well crafted show with a story that takes its self seriously enough to keep you in it but not so much that the light hearted moments seem out of place.

In short it's a main stream read more
Nov 13, 2020
CloudWatcher (All reviews)
Preliminary
This seems to be another of those run-of-the-mill power shonens. It has basically the same story as Chainsaw Man up till at least chap. 91 of that series manga, and i think Chainsaw Man will give us a much better experience. I don't expect the plot give us anything special tbh.
What's great about this is definitely the animation and OST. I think this series is helped greatly by its good fight scene animation and if it continues to play into this heavy power shonen tendencies, i think it will continue to be as popular as it has. For this season at least.

Though you should not read more
Mar 26, 2021
yanderesarehawt (All reviews)
“But senpai, if I’m gonna do this, then I am going to win”- Yuuji Itadori.

Jujutsu kaisen has become really popular since its inception. Whether you are shonen fan or not, you are most likely going to enjoy this show. It offers more than an ordinary shonen.

In terms of plot, Jujutsu kaisen does not lag behind. It is not a typical story where the main character wants to become some kind of a head of the village, group or etc. It’s about a boy, who wants to die peacefully, wanting to help others and make them happy, wants to be remembered as a good read more
Dec 6, 2020
-ANIgourMEt (All reviews)
Preliminary
Its just an anime with bad/average story and no depth with masterful animation.
And i would prefer anime with the other way round: bad animation but therefore amazing story.

Really average anime and doesnt deserve the hype at all. Only newbies to anime would rate this anime good.

Feels like Bleach/ Aoi no Exorcist /Fire Force 2.0 + one dimensional characters.

Its just like the Fate Anime series - best animation but therefore uninteresting plot.
I dont get why people hype it to the air. Its really nothing special, the motivation from the protagonist isnt deep. The characters at all have no message to us as watchers. read more
Nov 6, 2020
m118970 (All reviews)
Preliminary
MC is very bad... Yuji's entire personality is based around a grandpa we knew for 1 episode with a screen time of less than a minute. and said like 7 words. yet his 7 words will dictate how the main character will act for possibly the rest of this series. very unfortunate that the author thinks we should care about someone that had less screen time than a no name curse. For the other characters, I see a lot of potential and hope they carry the load. Villains are mediocre at best except for one who's extensive backstory and connections to current characters is pretty read more
Mar 26, 2021
THEHANZO1 (All reviews)
Many of you probably won't even listen to my words after having seen the score that I gave to this anime. Many of you probably think: "What a f**king retard, the anime he's been talking about is a god damn masterpiece! How dare he?!" And many of you probably haven't even read further than these first three sentences. But in case you'll give me a chance to explain my score, let me give you a closer look into my thoughts, and let's see, why I didn't like JJK as much as other ppl did.

Story – 6/10

First things first: The story starts off right away with read more
Mar 26, 2021
IrrelevantGuy (All reviews)
*This review contains spoilers*

Shounen is arguably the most popular and the most disputed genre in anime. Quite a lot of anime fans, almost all of whom are expectedly the genre's target audience—male teenagers, dote on Shounen and revere it like it's the best thing since sliced bread. On the other hand of the spectrum, some of the more "critical" fans aren't as fond of the genre and often criticize it for its simplicity and lack of creativity.

However, while that statement is true to some extent, there are several Shounen anime out there such as FMAB, Gintama, HxH, etc. that have been able to receive plaudits read more
Mar 26, 2021
katsucats (All reviews)
Critics have hailed Jujutsu Kaisen as a philosophical masterpiece or even an anti-shounen, since the main protagonist supposedly dies in one episode (not a spoiler, watch any shounen fight anime to see what I mean). Much ado about nothing, since unsurprisingly, the death itself launches the catapult that becomes Itadori's powers. Have the shounen fans forgotten Yuyu Hakusho or even DBZ? Perhaps the real reason for the rants and raves lie in the annoying and inopportune character biopic digressions, extended flashbacks that set up every fight reversal -- in the middle of them happening -- as if the results of every power-up are predetermined by read more
Nov 21, 2020
fahoosa9 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, i get the hype its pretty cool shonen and its been 8 episodes out now. But its add nothing new to the genre. You can see the series got influenced a LOT by other shonen anime. For example :
1. 1 teacher and 3 student, hell even the personality just kinda copy-paste from naruto even tho slightly different but u know what i mean.
2. Kinda about demons/monsters slaying??, well theres a lot anime that similar to that.
3. Spritual/magical/superpower school??, yea its not original either.

i know all of this doesnt mean the anime just ripoffing other series and bad in general and of course the series read more
Nov 29, 2020
JCPrp (All reviews)
Preliminary
Jujutsu Kaisen is unlike any other anime I have seen before. When I first saw the trailer for it I thought that it was not really my style; seeming like a horror anime with obscure powers and weird monsters. Although Jujutsu Kaisen is this to a point it is so much more. As it does focus on the premise of curses, you can expect a horror aspect to this anime, which may not be your cup of tea, but trust me there is so much to offer in this anime.

I have never had characters in a series I have enjoyed more as much as read more
Dec 19, 2020
EricPhantom (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll give this review straight to the point! (10/10)
First , MAPPA studio has certainly nailed it!
This show has the potential to be one of the best Shounen Anime series ever!! This show has kick started really hard!
I've watched 12 episodes of JJK and I can easily say this is the most entertaining series I've ever seen to exist .The show has a dark plot where every episode is so much entertaining and straight to the point.(no fillers or waste of time scenes). Every episode ends with a cliff hanger(which shows how smartly they have put all the ending scenes of the ep).

The animations(10/10) read more
Nov 6, 2020
YeeYeeAss (All reviews)
Preliminary
Pretty Neat

So I came here after the hype that was the trailer and the wait for this show. Of course I did start the manga but only read the first few chapters and kinda stopped. I thought it was pretty good. But this anime made the experience different and hype as hell. This delivered some top tier animation and great voice acting, hell some decent CG as well.

Story: Some demon called Sukuna was killed and his fingers were chopped in to many pieces. This one Occult club found one of the fingers in a package and opened it. Which attracted many curses their way. read more
Mar 26, 2021
debochca (All reviews)
What is wrong with a generic shounen anime?

I firmly hold the idea that, nowadays, originality is something almost impossible, because every new anime you see will remind you of x anime you had seen before. No matter how hard you try not to compare, the floating idea is always there "oh, this is exactly the same premise as x anime". Nevertheless, does a show need to be only original to be great? No! Of course, if it has originality it is something to congratulate, but if it doesn't, there's a lot of ways to tell a story and pass over that. It can have read more
Mar 26, 2021
bulkyhog (All reviews)
Overall: 9/10
Now that JJK is over, I’m sure everyone who dropped it after 4 episodes or clowned it for being more trashy shonen are shaking and crying right now. While y’all did look foolish today, clown tryouts for the circus are next week. And if anyone STILL thinks JJK is an average shonen or sub-par anime, I would like to quote the great intellectual, Cardi B: “Hoes speaking capanese hit ‘em with karate chop.”

JJK is peak shonen that, in my mind, WILL become a masterpiece in the coming years (can’t wait for Shibuya adaptation holy shit man). You take the hypest arcs/features that took forever read more
Jan 10, 2021
Redrebel12 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Im already on episode 6 and I am already bored with this anime to the point where I had almost fallen asleep or went of my phone. The plot doesnt catch my attention at all as well as with the characters being generic anime characters.

Yuuji is typical super strong, overly nice high schooler who got himself into a world he has never seen before after the passing of his grandfather who he made a promise with him to "try to help others, save as many people as you can even if it is the only people closed to you" and he to pursue this goal read more