Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Chocolate Underground


Alternative Titles

Japanese: チョコレート・アンダーグラウンド

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 12, 2008 to Sep 4, 2008
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Novel
Genres: Adventure, Comedy, Kids
Duration: 5 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.221 (scored by 4,744 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #73232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4052
Members: 10,822
Favorites: 9

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 8, 2009
Dorcas_Aurelia (All reviews)
It's like Prohibition, but instead of ruthless gangsters making piles of money from illegal alcohol, a couple of high school students try to evade a government abolition of chocolate and all other sweets. Also, the police have giant robots specifically built for sniffing out and arresting chocolate enthusiasts. Yes, it's as ridiculous as it sounds.

Chocolate Underground is only made up of 13 three-minute episodes streamed on the internet, so there's only so much to say about it, although the show does cover a surprising amount of plot in the limited time it has. It's based on a satirical novel about two English boys with the read more
Nov 6, 2008
terra2 (All reviews)
For all of you who is searching for a short anime , short duration , eerie story but fun , and enjoyable anime ; chocolate underground is what your looking for.

I really enjoyed Chocolate Underground -althought its short and not many like it - because it has an outstading , eerie story that really amazed me . In my experience in anime , I think that most animes talk about love and confessing there feelings and a typhoon of romance or a triangle of love , which I didn't see in this anime .

I'm sure not many will recommend it , but I do read more
Jun 29, 2014
CrisiasRex (All reviews)
Chocolate Underground is a political satire that takes place in an alternate reality where the land is ruled by a totalitarian government known as the 'Good For You Party'. This government has banned the possession and consumption of sugar, honey, chocolate, and any other kind of sweets you can think of; and have established a police force to enforce this law. In the anime we follow our two heroes, Huntley and Smudger, as they attempt to bring chocolate back to the world.

Story - 6/10
The premise of the series shows promise but is not executed in the way I personally think it should have been. read more
Jun 21, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Chocolate Underground is a short ONA from 2008. It was brought to us by Production IG & Trans Arts. Because it's completely necessary to have two studios work on thirteen episodes that run for five minutes each. It's based off of the novel Bootleg, by British novelist Alex Shearer. You know, the bloke what wrote The Greatest Store in the World. That's the actual title, not me praising him. It was directed by Hamana Takayuki. Who also did director work on Prince of Tennis, which I haven't seen but am bringing up because it's well known & directed a few episodes of Psycho Pass, which read more
Oct 19, 2012
veluriel (All reviews)
My first review, but I didn't like any of the others here, and so felt compelled to write something on this cute, refreshing fun time.

Synopsis – Chocolate has been banned by a newly risen government entity (The Ministry of Health and Well Being) that has convinced the public that they are acting in their best interest. Two school-aged boys become interested in the idea of bringing chocolate back to the people, and after hearing about a secret smuggling ring, become entangled in a bootlegging operation to “fill the world with chocolate” once again.

A simple premise, and simply executed.

To be honest, I decided to watch read more
Nov 7, 2015
wonwoo (All reviews)
Chocolate Underground is a fantastic quick watch. You'd think a show revolving around chocolate would just be a silly children's show but it digs deeper than that. Now the story of children rebelling and people getting arrested for going against corrupt power is nothing original but Chocolate Underground puts a twist on it that is more lighthearted. Since it is a short running show there isn't much room for character development but that doesn't mean it's not worth the watch. You get to watch these kids get something they love taken away, meaning chocolate, for the "greater good" but there are still secret underground trading read more
Aug 26, 2012
AnchientProphet2 (All reviews)
F**K THE POLICE comin' straight from the (chocolate) underground!!

In a world where health regulations have gone waaay too overboard, chocolate has been banned as an unhealthy choice!

Much like Demolition Mans scene in Taco Bell stating that salt was banned because it was bad for you. Here we have a tale of a similar possibility by overzealous nutjobs. No chocolate with DEEZ nuts.
ITs all been written about in science fiction; things being banned, rights and choices restricted, overzeouls governments. Hell it HAS happend before, and things seem pretty familiar with actual current events.

So two young men form a plan to revitalize their read more
Sep 3, 2009
Longxinus (All reviews)
Two words: Illegal chocolate. So yeah.

(CHOCOLATE? DID YOU SAY CHOCOLATE? CHOCOLAAAAAAAAATE!)
If you don't know what the fuck I was going about just now, you can just ignore that inside joke.

First of all, there's not a lot to say about this anime, which is not a bad thing since every episode lasts like less than five minutes each. With that given, there's next to little character development, which is fine really. It's a comfortable anime that you can just watch without thinking so much. How the plot progresses has already been taken care of the previous reviewers, so I'll leave it at that, because I have read more