Mushikago no Cagaster


Cagaster of an Insect Cage

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Cagaster of an Insect Cage
Japanese: 虫籠のカガステル

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 6, 2020
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Netflix
Studios: Studio Kai
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, DramaDrama
Duration: 28 min. per ep.
Rating: None

Statistics

Score: 6.541 (scored by 98749,874 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #57112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3457
Members: 24,390
Favorites: 46
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 6, 2020
Skarvalin (All reviews)
Netflix heard the silent cries of no less than 0 people to make a new CGI anime, but thankfully it turned out pretty decent in my opinion. Not the CGI though. It’s a nightmarish display of the show’s low budget and most will look at it with disgust. But the pleasantry of not having watched worse is not true for me. What I’ve seen from the early 2000’s is enough to make the CGI in this show look rather good in comparison. With other words Cagaster of an Insect Cage could’ve been so much worse in terms of visuals.

But what’s the show about? read more
Feb 14, 2020
YoungAcademia (All reviews)
I'm sure you've heard the expression never judge a book by it's cover, but that's what I intended to do when I first glanced at this anime on Netflix. From the screenshots alone I thought I wouldn't enjoy the animation and art style and was going to skip watching this, but I decided I had enough free time and started episode one. Next thing I knew, I was hooked.

The story starts off slow in the beginning, so you have to be willing to wait a few episodes in before it begins to get interesting.

The fight scenes, between the bugs and humans aren't as read more
Feb 12, 2020
nexuro01 (All reviews)
Story:
30 yeras after apocalypse, where new disease caused 1/3 of human kind turn into nasty, bloody and huge insects - we meet with Kidow. Kidow is an insect exterminator that in the opening scene happens to be escaping from a huge swarm of flying worms. When he strives to survive from that swarm he finds out that despite him and his friend - he's not the only one person trying to escape. Unfortunately for the other escapists - the car droved by them meets with accident in which driver dies. It turns out that these car passangers are father and daughter. Father dies - begs read more
Feb 17, 2020
Racioo (All reviews)
This is my first review, so it might be a bit flawed, but we all gotta start somewhere I guess. Here we go:

Story:
Mushikago no Cagaster, or Cagaster of an Insect Cage is a Netflix original, and takes place in a post apocalyptic world, where humans are facing extincion after a disease (or something idk) turns some humans into massive, human killing insects. And we watch as Kidou, an executioner who's job is to deal with infected people, and Ilie, a girl that kidou saves and promises to take to her mother, the story then goes on, and we get more dept into these characters, read more
Mar 1, 2020
Coffea (All reviews)
The fact that Cagaster of an Insect Cage does not have a higher rating is a serious injustice. It brings me great pleasure to be one of the few who might actually understand the masterpiece behind this anime.

Story: 10
Art - 8
Sound - 9
Character - 10
Enjoyment - 8
Overall - 9

Starting from what is considered "bad" about the show, the 3D CGI may put off a lot of people, but that is easily overlooked when considering everything else the show has to offer. Personally, I also believe Cagaster of an Insect Cage is one of the few shows that pulls off CGI extremely well. The read more
May 1, 2020
u_like_jazz (All reviews)
Story: Just another Epidemic apocalyptic cliche story, cities trying to survive because a mysterious disease affected humanity, while there's an edgy main character and another main character that loves the first one, who is shrouded my a mysterious past related to the disease. 5/10

Art: The famous Netflix CGI, even tho not the worse CGI out there, still terrible. 3/10

Sound: Fairly good, probably the thing I most enjoyed, good sound track. 7/10

Characters: They are just pretty much lifeless, bad animation, cliche and mostly annoying. The only character that made me give two points instead of a round 0 is Maria. Oh, points for not having overly read more
May 13, 2020
badabass (All reviews)
My last thought for this series: weird. The beginning of the spread and causes of outbreaks still unknown, or rather i must believe unexplain. Yet the story start with new era of the insect-human hybrid called Cagaster, so why go to past to study the reason? Thats what the author believe for this show. After the outbreaks, all scientist just gone crazy, and think to control Cagaster by making some of the queen. What a story, i shall say weird. Why need queen? Th bug move individually so why need colony, and more over why need the queen? Idk, too simple, so the show just read more
Mar 19, 2020
yhighon (All reviews)
I enjoyed this anime, although the art and animation could be lacking at times, the story kept me engaged and the characters did as well. The most interesting characters did not get enough screen time in my opinion, but the main characters were also interesting and their backstories were cool to watch.

The main problem I have with this anime, although I enjoyed it, was the animation and sometimes the plot was a little cliche, but I did enjoy it overall and these things weren't enough for me to stop watching it.

Overall, I would recommend for a quick watch, and it was enjoyable enough that read more
Mar 6, 2020
fireball4011 (All reviews)
Mushikago no Cagaster is a decent show, but doesn't elevate to anything incredible. It's clearly trying to ride the Attack on Titan craze, which unfortunately just makes me think of a better show. That said, the monster designs are great & the animation is solid. The effects work is a highlight for me.

The music is great all around, I'll definitely be revisiting the ost in the future.

Most of the characters are well developed, giving a great sense of who they are and how they became that person. However, there's clunkers in the side cast that were blander than bread. Also, there's some questionable read more
Oct 13, 2020
LalaMoonU (All reviews)
This will be a SIMPLE Review. No full body paragraph essay here.

The animation style isn't my thing. It's awkward and could've been better BUT, BUT, the storyline was pretty great. I was I instantly hooked on it and binged the show. I liked the characters and the uniqueness of the story. The development between the characters were good. I guess the only 'negative' thing would be the animation. It wasn't good, period. Though if you can see through that you'll enjoy the anime. At first glance I was like 'what the heck is this' and I wasn't going to watch until some inner voice read more
Feb 23, 2021
cecito (All reviews)
Ther moment I finished this series I ran to MAL expecting to find a review that could put into words the absolute MESS this anime was, but I was surprised to find overall positive reviews so here goes my pessimist review, for those not willing to lost their valuable time.

The story is as common as it get: an edgy dude with some talent, a semi-loli girl and an apocaliptic world. The twist: oh, zombies? No, that's boring, the problem here are... Insects! Genius!
It was kinda simple but it caught my eye and I decided to give it a go even if the animation was awful, read more
Jul 16, 2020
KlausKS (All reviews)
Decent show - if the description sounds interesting to you, give it a try.
Be careful though, maybe it's not another Hellsing, but many scenes might not be good for sensitive audience.

The concept is nothing really unique, however I think it's good enough to not feel bored. Events that happen are not that predictable to know the whole story after first episodes, so I find it decent.

Art is probably the only "the best and the worst" element in the show. The worst - because not everyone might like how it is made. The best - because it's consistent and if you like it, you won't feel read more