Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Evangelion: 1.0 You Are (Not) Alone


Alternative Titles

English: Evangelion: 1.0 You Are (Not) Alone
Synonyms: Evangelion Shin Gekijouban: Jo, Rebuild of Evangelion: 1.0 You Are (Not) Alone, Evangelion: 1.01 You Are (Not) Alone, Evangelion: 1.11 You Are (Not) Alone
Japanese: ヱヴァンゲリヲン新劇場版:序

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 1, 2007
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Khara
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Mecha
Duration: 1 hr. 40 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 168,038 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #309
Members: 278,476
Favorites: 1,213

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 7, 2008
EXEs (All reviews)
I'm assuming that you've already watched the original EVA series before watching the movie before reading this. If not, spoilers abound.

So yes, this is basically a retelling of the original Evangelion in movie mode, and it's the first of 4 movies. This first movie covers the first six episodes of the original series, therefore not exactly innovative or anything shockingly interesting about the story. However, they did remove most of Shinji's self-pitying/emo-ing/bitching moments, so it's definitely one improvement from the original series.

The art is simply fabulous. The original series already had excellent artwork for its generation, and they've managed to improve it. Introduction of read more
Aug 19, 2009
Ni_Go_Zero_Ichi (All reviews)
[NOTE: Mild SPOILERS in this review]

I just got back from seeing Evangelion 1.0 in theaters, and it was some experience. Though I didn't end up bringing the boom box playing a ripped CD of Prince's 1999 (and a bloody shame that is, too) it was still a real treat. The crowd was bigger than I had anticipated - I wondered if I might actually have the theater to myself, this being such a niche release and all, but it turns out I was dead wrong. While I wouldn't say every row was packed - it wasn't exactly a Transformers crowd (though one guy did have read more
May 3, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
Seeing as how I am a fanboy of the original series of Neon Genesis Evangelion, you will have to take everything I say with a grain of salt. That said, it is pretty much inevitable that everyone watching this is already a fan of Evangelion anyway. So let's begin by making this clear: This is not Evangelion. It may look like Evangelion, it may claim to be Evangelion, but it isn't.

The movie covers episodes 1 through 6, beginning in much the same way as the series did, and ending with the 5th Angel's attack. We see much of the scenes faithfully recreated, up until Misato read more
Feb 21, 2008
Cory (All reviews)
That's right, 10's across the board. I'll go in depth a little bit about each category further proving my point.

Story: The story, as a remake of the original series, is fantastic. The plot is the same thus far (as I'm sure it will change in the next movies to come). The story has changed slightly in some aspects. Depending on how well you watched the first one, you'll see minor changes, (like the new NERV and SEELE logos). Also, there is less character analysis. You focus on the main characters (Shinji, Misato and Rei up until now). You don't see Shinji in the classroom at read more
May 12, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Rebuild of Evangelion 1.01: You Are (Not) Alone is the first movie in the Rebuild of Evangelion tetralogy, which aims at remaking the movies the way Anno wanted to make them originally and make it more accessible than previous versions. It was released in theatres on September 1st, 2007, and has yet to be licensed Stateside. It was produced by Studio Khara (the Rebuild series is their first major work), and directed by Hideaki Anno (famous for his work on the original Gunbuster OVA and His and Her Circumstances), Kazuya Tsurumaki (famous for his work on FLCL and the original Gunbuster OVA) and read more
Apr 25, 2013
Fourteenthangel (All reviews)
So what happens you have a guy in a bout with depression direct a supposedly children’s super robot show? What you get my friends is what we call Neon Genesis Evangelion. Now flash-forward a few years and now said man is an accomplished director who is credited for making one of the most influential mecha anime to date. So of course he is happy as can be. Now said man intends to revisit his magnum opus yet again. What will became of this revisit soon to be called the Rebuild of Evangelion. The Rebuild of Evangelion was intended to introduce viewers previously unfamiliar with the read more
Apr 13, 2014
moonkingdomify (All reviews)
So it was really just Evangelion with better animation and the long scenes cut out.

First the Bad. I didn't think that I would have prefered to have the long scenes in the anime over having them cut out. This is assuming that you have watched Neon Genesis before, if you haven't then you probably have no idea what I am talking about. But the lack of the long scenes in the from the original anime results in a lack of character development and really just makes Shinji look whiny instead of realistic. Another thing was the lack luster soundtrack, they went from classic compositions to read more
Apr 8, 2008
Ender_Wiggin (All reviews)
Unfortunately I have to introduce a little personal bias into this review. I have already seen the Neon Genesis Evangelion series in its entirety. Therefore there were dull moments in the first half of the film, given that 80% of the story was exactly the same as the original.

However the editing was executed in such a way as to eliminate some of the humor and fan-service, and various scenes were added to acheive a darker atmosphere, which better suits the overall theme of the series.

Some things to note for some of the original EVA fans is that subtle changes were made in order to connect read more
Jul 27, 2010
Mune-sama (All reviews)
I won't pretend I'm a master of story telling, or that I am the most observant anime fan, but this film left a bad taste in my proverbial mouth. It wreaked of a rush job, or if not that, of a film created solely as fan service. That is a slap in the face to long time fans.

Without going into detail, much of this film feels like it simply wants to rush through a good part of the original series. There are many moments during the first 30 minutes or though that I felt, "Oh... wow, that's probably the exact same angle, and scene from read more
Apr 29, 2008
Wasabi (All reviews)
Rebuild of Evangelion: 1.01 YOU ARE (NOT) ALONE is the first of 4 movie adaptations to the Neon Genesis Evangelion series. The movie series is not to be taken as a complete retelling of the original NGE series as it will eventually contain new content never before seen in the original. The first movie starts off relatively similar to the first few episodes of NGE up to the 6th Angel's battle.

Story: Ikari Shinji is the 14 year old son of Ikari Gendo, the commander of NERV. Shinji arrives at Tokyo-3 to find out he will be piloting Eva Unit 01 to fight off against the read more
May 29, 2010
Moonlith (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion, the show that was the one to introduce thousands of otakus (including me) to the world of anime is back. It's not like this classic from the '90s was ever truly left alone, for the constant parade of upgraded DVDs, Blu-Rays and whatnot special editions has made sure the cashcow known as Evangelion hasn't been forgotten by us for a moment. Thus slight reserve and revulsion was the natural reaction of many cynical fans when the entire four-part remake of the original series was announced years ago. Suffering from the same inhibitions it was only now that I, a long-time admirer of read more
May 25, 2013
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
Critic's Log - Earthdate: January 21, 2013. Review #30: Evangelion 1.0: You Are (Not) Alone

Today is my birthday and I have just turned 22. With Evangelion 3.0 being released a while back and the fact that Evangelion: Final is slated to be released this year. I decided to tackle the Rebuild of Evangelion series since I already have seen the original classic. Since it's my birthday today, I will call the shots on what I want to review today, and here's the review for Evangelion 1.0: You Are (Not) Alone, or Evangelion: Beginning, or Evangelion 1.01/1.11, OH JUST GIVE IT ONE FRACKING NAME ALREADY! Here's read more
Mar 18, 2010
xm0123 (All reviews)
My history with Eva is a bit interesting. I watched the tv series about two years ago; I was somewhat impressed by it, and somewhat unimpressed at the same time. I opted to skip the End of Evangelion, and with good reason. Then I discovered the manga by Yoshiyuki Sadamoto; I really liked it. Reading the manga is what turned me into a fan of Eva. I heard that the Rebuild series would be like the tv shows, but with the unnecessary filler excised (much like the manga cut out a lot of filler, also), and so, with Blu-ray in hand, I just watched this read more
Nov 29, 2013
post_human (All reviews)
This is the 1st of 4 movies (3 released so far) that are to be made as remakes of the somewhat legendary mecha anime "Neon Genesis Evangelion". While I haven't watched the show I was meaning to check out this movie for quite a long time & really was expecting a lot from it as a matter of fact from all the hype over the internet, but also had a bit of irritating fear that it might not turn out to be as good as it promises to be. Well, it had its flows but it is also an experience to be greatly enjoyed indeed.

This read more
Oct 9, 2017
Falco2424 (All reviews)
Evangelion 1.11 is as breathtakingly good as the first six episodes of the main series. Having said that, everything that it does different than the main series was a mistake. And, having said that, it's still one of my favorite movies of all time.

It is very hard for me to properly express how I feel about Evangelion because of how good it is. That's why I haven't reviewed the main series yet. That makes it hard to review this movie, since the main things I would normally talk about are the differences between the two. I will dodge having to discuss Evangelion once again read more
May 11, 2013
Lemmy7003 (All reviews)
More then a decade ago, the world was graced with one of the most influential anime to ever come to air, Neon Genesis Evangelion, written and directed by Hideki Anno. Jump ahead a decade. A new generation of fans, and old alike, are revisited with a revised and, well, rebuilt version of the legendary anime, the aptly titled Rebuild of Evangelion.

Evangelion 1.0, You Are (Not) Alone, is the first film in the tetraology forming the Rebuild. Anno has been known to call this series the way Evangelion "as he wanted it to be." 1.0 adapts the roughly the first eight episodes of the series, but read more
Jul 29, 2016
xgreeneyednekox (All reviews)
<<This is a review from somebody that has never yet watched the actual NGE series, so I'm mostly writing this to warn people like me that dive into the movie thinking it's ultimately the same thing just with newer animation.>>

Avoid this movie at all costs ( and potentially the next ones if you didn't already like or get intrigued by this one). At best, just go watch the actual NGE and if you like it then only THEN come back and watch this movie. Don't under any means watch it without knowing anything of NGE.

Why? Was it that horrible despite the very high ratings read more
Aug 10, 2018
PicklePride (All reviews)
This movie recaps what happens in the beginning of the Neon Genesis Evangelion series in a more concise way and with a few differences. The differences set up an alternate storyline for the next two movies, so Evangelion 1.0 is (not) the same as the introductory episodes in the series. Due to this variation, you can’t just skip the first movie. It basically gives you the same character establishment but more streamlined and purposeful. That said, it’s strange how they included the scene where Shinji walks in on naked Rei while going through her things and he falls on top of her beneath a downpour read more
Mar 10, 2009
BatOtaku13 (All reviews)
I'm not going to write about the plot of this movie since its essentially a remake of the first 6 episodes of the show shot for shot but with better animation and crisper visuals. But let me get one thing out of the way first, I FREAKING LOVED the original EVA series. Here we were with our boring and repetetive mech shows, and there came EVA to turn it all upside down along with all of anime. Also, End of Evangelion is not only an anime masterpiece, but a masterpiece in pure animation filmmaking.

I'm going to jump right in and tell whats different in this read more
Mar 29, 2011
Kyzoryn (All reviews)
[As Originally Written on AnimeNfo.com] - Via Kyzoryn


Essentially it is a recap of the original Genesis Evangelion which aired in Japan back in ’95. Though I haven’t watched the original series, this movie does a good job clearly telling its story and developing each character sufficiently.

With the latest graphics and CGI the animation and fight scenes excellent, and at moments just take your breath away – that is if you’re watching the movie with high quality. The amount of detail integrated in the foreground, mecha, and characters (not just the main characters) are tremendous. The sound does an effective job of enhancing each theme provoked read more