Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gundam: G no Reconguista


Alternative Titles

English: Gundam Reconguista in G
Synonyms: G-Reco
Japanese: ガンダム Gのレコンギスタ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2014 to Mar 27, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:44 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Space, Mecha
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.781 (scored by 7,392 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #87232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2904
Members: 21,724
Favorites: 42

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 1, 2014
Bluemagedood (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's no secret that G-Reco is controvertial. It's hard to understand, far more colourful than contemporary anime and generally reverts to paradigmns more reminisent of the 80s and 90s than anything you'd see in 2014.
And as far as I'm concerned, that's why it's brilliant. It sports some of the most beautiful art in the franchise and demands your full attention to get the most out of it.
It's also brutal, with 2 named character deaths in the first 6 episodes, one of them in episode 2.
It is spectacular though.
If there's a downside, it's the dialogue. As mentioned before, it rarely gives you more information then read more
Feb 27, 2015
spooky (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is full return to Tomino - in fact it is by the far the Tominoest of them all. Full of inconsistent characterization, questionable plotting, and cryptic and random dialogue. When I was younger, I interpreted this as Tomino being really weird, but as an older person I think this reflects Tomino's view that the world really IS strange and random.

"The show is weird -sure- but so is the world, damn it," - my imaginary Tomino.

Your mileage WILL vary, and it isn't helped by the breakneck pacing which I think is because the show's length's been cut in half from the original estimate. read more
Feb 4, 2015
blimbling (All reviews)
Preliminary
G reco is what Gundam needs right now

00 started off as a really interesting show with a lot of new tricks, by season 2 though it had gone back to the old Gundam tropes. Unicorn was much the same being a great celebration but did little to push the franchise forward. G reco sets out to actually try and play with the formula and stick with the new ideas.

Much of G recos time is spent world building. This is a very different world than UC or other gundam worlds with a society who see any war tech as taboo and are dealing with a dark read more
Oct 17, 2014
AaronDabes (All reviews)
Preliminary
First Review: If you are a Gundam fan, i'd personally stick to Build Fighters Try this season. G Reconguista takes place after the Universal Century in a time called the Regild Century. The writer and director of this series is the same guy who created Turn A Gundam back in 1999, so i suppose his take on the Gundam Franchise isn't as modern and could be a little outdated in terms of what the people what to see and such. The First episode i feel was filled with confusing dialogue and the lack of explanations when it came to what was going on and who read more
Nov 2, 2015
AH1cm (All reviews)
Gundam: Reconguista in G (from hence forth RG) is an ambitious project from a man who made the Gundam metafranchise what it is today. The show takes some big risks, but unfortunately, the execution leaves much to be desired.

First some back story. When Tomino produced the original Mobile Suit Gundam, he was struggling with deep depression and extreme suicidal thoughts. This led to his signature "Kill'em All Tomino" storytelling that bears a remarkable resemblance to George R.R. Martin's way of storytelling today--develop characters, get the audience invested, then give them the axe. By the mid-90s, however, Tomino was receiving treatment and read more
Dec 12, 2014
chaoshallnotfall (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a UC fan, I'm supposed to cherish this series a lot more than I actually do. It's like Char's Counterattack all over again : beautiful art and animation (you can clearly tell they got way more resources for Reconguista than for build fighter try) and awkward character develpment and interactions.
The show looks really pretty : colorful character design, interesting yet recognizable mobile suits, beautiful environment...... The animation is smoother than what you typically get from an anime tv series, which helps the show stand out a lot. The FX (explosions, thruster flames etc) are of high quality too, which remind me of what read more
Nov 28, 2014
zetagus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Where do I start to describe this mess?

After watching 10 episodes, all I can say is "I am sooooo lost". I get the parties "Moon", "Earth", "Armenians", "Capital Army", and "Pirates". They are fighting, sorta, and yet they are not...... Main character "Bellri" was a cadet at the capital army, defected for NO reason and joined the Armenians, ended up killing his instructor, and despite the "Oh what have I done" scene, the remorse lasted about 5 seconds.

His mother is supposedly a high ranking officer, and she just decided to go find him in nothing more than what might be a wooden raft in read more
Apr 20, 2015
wilaw (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm not too sure where to start, but I'll start with what I think impacted me the most. Every single episode, never fails to impress me in terms of...."WTF"!?!?!? It's like they try to create a logical story and then try their best to mess it up. The only thing I really enjoyed is the art. The story is just so bizarre and doesn't make any sense at all. Imagine a captain trying extremely hard to stop a war, goes out of his way to the president while dodging bullets from friendly fire to convince him, then the president says "oh sorry, I already declared read more
Mar 28, 2015
ZEROthefirst (All reviews)
I'm not going to make a long review for this series, as I have quite a bit I would like to actually cover, but do not feel doing so here would be the best. So I will make a very basic review, more or less outlining some of the points of Gundam: Reconguista in G.


--Story: (This is the part I have a lot to touch upon, but will wait until I have a more fleshed out script set up to add back in if possible or re-do my review later on since there is more I would like to add to the rest as well)

The read more
Nov 11, 2014
BigBangParty (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's been years since the last real gundam serie. Even if I personally appreciate Gundam Build Fighters, it's good to see real Gundams in real fight situations. But it's a long wayè to the top if you wanna be a good Gundam serie.

The art is marvelous, it's the main reason I started the show. It manage to get both old and new artistic aspect of the Gundam franchise into one design, making it really unique and absolutely gorgeous !

BVut beyond that, well, it's pretty useless as for now. The story isn't really built yet so I can't really judge on that, but what we know read more
Jan 22, 2015
x_silversurfer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Disclaimer: not a big Gundam fan, but I'm not against the series either. So, I believe I'm rather impartial and look at each show on their own and not part of a series.

I get the distinct feeling that Gundam: G no Reconguista is the modern day Japanese equivalent to G.I. Joe, a show purely designed to push toy sales. Where G.I. Joe, however was a poorly animated episodic weekly with interesting characters and fun stories, Gundam G (or GG as I'll refer to it from here out) is a very well animated poorly written saga with terrible characters that instead of selling action figures is read more
Dec 15, 2014
TheTitanx56 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Story of Gundam Reconguista in G is simple but can easily cause confusion among its viewers. I have gained a complete understanding of whats going on within the storyline but not without a backtracking. What I believe causes this confusion is the easily forgettable dialogue. In my opinion the forgettable dialogue is due to the pacing of the show or quirky onscreen antics of the characters that overshadow the dialogue.
Gundam Reconguista is a unforgiving yet enjoyable series so far. My advice is to closely pay attention to the dialogue within episode 3, 4, 5, 8 & 9. Backtracking to these specific episodes greatly read more
Sep 25, 2016
RoarkTenjouin (All reviews)
I've noticed that a lot of reviews for this series say that the person who wrote them did not finish said series - sure, there are some people who have finished the series, but the first 11 reviews are by people who, at the time they wrote their reviews, had not finished the series. So, as someone who's finished this series, I thought that I might as well add my opinion to the mix. No, I'm not going to be comparing this to Gundam IBO, Unicorn, both seasons of Build Fighters, or Thunderbolt - I'm going to instead compare this to Turn A read more
Feb 26, 2015
Bloodyclaws (All reviews)
Preliminary
Im 45 and grrown up a Gundam fan. Ive watched most Gundam series and Gundam G no Reconguista is the only Gundam series I can recall that I can say is terrible.

Ive watched 21 episodes and signed up just to give this a review. I gave the story line and the overall score a 5. Though if you are a Gundam fan the graphics alone are worth watching it.

Generally most of the Gundam genre have been really dark and more adult oriented because of the violence and engaging story line

The graphics art is stunning gave it a 10. Same with sound read more
Mar 27, 2015
mbooster1 (All reviews)
Story:It hard to understand by watch one time and have many relax scenes but it makes this drama serie have good lesson for kids about wars and reasons to fight of them.
Art:Good , this is the one of all anime in previously season that have outstanding art.Especially,Mobile suit action scenes that born form animator drawn it and have red or blue shade when climax scene of that battle.And eyecatch dance scenes of main characters.Totally,it makes this serie easy to memorize.
Sound:Have a good soundtrack that suit this story even relax scene,battle scene,G-Self's Theme and Ending G no Senkou that have good meaning for read more
Jul 17, 2015
sunnyong (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before drilling down into details, the summary:
With an interesting premise and impressive mecha battles, the story development is somewhat erratic and leaves viewers(Like me) confused most of the time.

Story 6/10:
The story doesn't exactly live up to its potential or rather, the plot development is really difficult to follow. While I see it as an attempt to create a politically-heavy driven plot, with sides changing from one episode to the next, things move so fast that half the time I'm left wondering which side is doing what, who is allying with who or why this side is doing this.

Art/Animation 8/10:
Nothing much to elaborate here other read more
Nov 21, 2018
SMGJohn (All reviews)
Review 12.12.2017: Gundam G no Reconguista
Written by SMGJohn
"Every review is subjective, art is subjective your opinion may differ, never trust reviews to make the opinion for you, use them as a guide and make your own journey."

Tomino is certainly known to be very skilled at writing interesting really strange stories, Reconguista is a return to the old Tomino style of odd dialogues, very strange character behaviour choices and a world very unlike our own however despite being so alien and so strange its actually very evident that Tomino WANTS it to be different.
Its not that Tomino cannot write consistent dialogue and realistic character read more
Jun 8, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
Since NT is a direct sequel to Unicorn, I’m gonna postpone my review of the latter to instead be the second to last review of this marathon of sorts. Plus, I have a bone to pick with this show. Released in 2014, this was gonna be the grand return of Tomino to the franchise. Naturally, everyone expected it to be awesome. Instead, we got the confusing mess that is Gundam: G No Reconguista. So, let’s get into this mess.

Story:

Do I even need to explain what’s wrong with this show? Like, seriously, everyone has complained about it already, so I’m just being a broken record by read more
Mar 27, 2016
metalinvader665 (All reviews)
It's amazing this is the lowest rated Gundam show on this site. It honestly doesn't deserve it. It didn't fuck up nearly as much as Gundam Age or Gundam Seed Destiny--I mean, at least someone put some thought into it. But the point is, it did fuck up. You learn in writing class 101 that every story has to have a denouement, a fancy way of saying "ending". Gundam: G no Reconguista has none. And that is why it fails. And fails hard, which is a shame to say as I tried to love this show as much as I could.

Yoshiyuki Tomino is the director, read more
Mar 23, 2018
alterzero (All reviews)
The show is clearly not targeted at teens nor adults unless you have a certain amount of enpathy with the good old kid days.

The character designs are not the worst. Art style is pretty outdated. The gundam itself does not look like it was meant for a war. Too cute to be a weapon. It lacks the menacing cool look. The action scenes are not even brutal. This is by far the happiest gundam series which defeats the whole point of a war and battle. I honestly thought Age was tame but this is a whole new level of tame.

The plot itself was read more