Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Love Hina Christmas Special: Silent Eve


Alternative Titles

English: Love Hina Christmas Movie
Japanese: ラブひなクリスマススペシャル ~サイレント・イヴ~

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 25, 2000
Studios: Xebec
Source: Manga
Duration: 46 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 31,849 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1790
Members: 50,245
Favorites: 49

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 15, 2009
ColdBeans (All reviews)
STORY
8/10
The Christmas special is by far better than any of the Love Hina television episodes. It concentrates more on the characters and their interactions with one another, rather than overdone slapstick comedy, though that also finds its way into the release. It can easily be said that this one release has more emotion in it than all of the episodes combined, making it a very worthwhile view for Love Hina fans everywhere. Within its one hour run time, it manages to focus on Naru and Keitaro, while still exploring the feelings and thoughts of the other characters. Interestingly, while it has, by far, the read more
Apr 25, 2010
HowToWatchAnime (All reviews)
A compilation review of the HTWA! Hope you find it handy!

"I loved Love Hina because it was one of the first anime i watched.
I think that what makes it great is that it doesnt take place at school for once and even if the characters could have been improved (especially Keitaro), it remains awesome.
A special place in my heart for this one :)" - benjee

"Well, Love Hina was pretty unique for it's time.. wasn't it? I'm sure it was many people's first or one of their first Anime. It wasn't my first Anime but it was defiinitely something I watched in my earlier years of read more
Oct 23, 2014
rewdalf (All reviews)
Let's get down with the review.

-This is probably the most well animated episode by Love Hina standard. You can see the excessive frames around the beginning of the episode. But then it stagnates a little bit around the middle but still good.
-This time it's Keitaro who do the sulking when he taught Naru was cheating on him. He also don't get beat around too much.
-Naru confessed her affection to Keitaro on national TV in the end but moments later she's back with her normal abusive attitude towards Keitaro. Okay.

The drama feels better in this episode. If only they kept the drama this good throughout the read more
Mar 6, 2013
kevinswnd (All reviews)
I must say, Love Hina Chirstmas Special: Silent Eve is an enjoyment to watch! Still as same as Love Hina, but let me tell you, you won't be disappointed by watching this special.

Story: 7/10
The special concentrates more on the relationship between Naru and Keitaro. It is still as same as Love Hina's "stupidity", but slightly the story is better than the TV series although the special is given a short period of time.

Animation: 7/10
Same as the TV series, the animation is executed pretty good since it's 2000! Also the artwork is good, too, although it's not that special. But overall, the animation and the artwork read more
Nov 20, 2018
MKSTEEL (All reviews)
A lot better than the series proper, this holiday movie manages to draw a lot more emotional depth than any of the series episodes tend to. With some real emotional investment, the way it becomes a big throwdown about gifts and affirming love at the end reminded me of the final two episodes of the 'Oh My Goddess!' OVAs which also involves a Yuletide confession of love and gift-giving that had a lot of emotional gravity. Naru become almost likeable in the course of the film, but sadly shows little growth despite the meaningful lessons she received in the Christmas Special, as evidenced in the read more
Dec 25, 2011
selvania (All reviews)
The characters of Love Hina celebrate the season to the fullest in this special, which features elements from the main series as well as new ones brought in with the season.
The story centers around, as the premise of the series itself, on a rumor that states that if you make a wish on this 'special christmas eve' at midnight it will come true. It zeros in on the romance between Keitaro and Naru, yet features each of the characters, a fact which cannot be forgotten. You see the truer sides of all the characters and see them interact more in one episode then is really read more
Feb 23, 2009
alx222000 (All reviews)
8 months and countless shows since watching Love Hina, I've gotten hold of the specials, and it's review time.

Story

It's Love Hina, and it's christmas time, so we have to have some holiday romance.

The story is nice, especially the end, though I found too much of it to be predictable. Relationships move a bit, but I didn't really gain any new perspective on any of the characters.

Animation/sound

Not really anything noticably different from the series.

Character

If you've watched the original, then there aren't going to be any surprises here. They're all given an appropriate part in the story, but as I said above, I didn't feel any new read more