Initial D Fifth Stage


Alternative Titles

Japanese: 頭文字 D Fifth Stage

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 14
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 4, 2012 to May 10, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: SynergySP
Source: Manga
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.151 (scored by 25,059 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1603
Members: 47,840
Favorites: 266

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 21, 2017
JCLogan (All reviews)
5/10 - How the Mighty have fallen.

Since the reviews here are all extremely positive, and since I watched the last two seasons back to back, I'm gonna review them both.

First of all, for anyone who has not yet watched the series:
The first 2 seasons are amazing, and the third one (movie) is very good!
After that the quality drops quickly though.

Where in earlier seasons the anime revels in showing drifts, and mixing up closeups on the steering wheel and pedals with shots of drifting tires and the rear of the car coming very close to the guardrails, all while awesome eurobeat music is playing,
in the last read more
Jul 24, 2014
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
Taking place where 4th stage leaves off, Takumi on his deliveries is practicing at the one-handed steering technique of his final opponent from the last season. Though he is progressing, he still is trying to figure things out. At the same time, his father is giving him props for trying such a technique and acknowledges his progress. So where does this leave Project D after beating the Purple Mountain? Their next conquest leads them to Kanagawa, a prefecture south of Tokyo which is known for having the best street racers in the nation to the point that some of the drivers are trained and active read more
Jun 22, 2016
TheFlowingStream (All reviews)
*Spoiler-Free for the entire Initial D seires* *Meant-to-be-short-but-fun review :P*
See, I am a fan of the Initial D series. So why have I given this one just a 7? It's not all bad depending on how you take it. You'll get what I mean:

(1) This stage is more dedicated to the development and growth of Keisuke. Since Takumi's unpredictable talent and dynamic races was what I loved, I felt a bit bored now and then. Not that Keisuke's races weren't interesting, they were all pretty good....but I guess you can't compare any other racers with Takumi. I did enjoy his character development. (Also Keisuke looked read more
Apr 4, 2017
TheIceDragon (All reviews)
IMO This anime had great potential, but imo it needs a graphics / art overhaul. Comparing this anime to some of the old animes like DBZ or Naruto which continued to improve their art overtime, you can see it. Whereas Initial D's art becomes stale as I felt the artist got lazy and decided not to improve on the overall graphic quality of the manga / anime. The original is a good standard to set, but comparing it to today's anime / art, it's just not appealing and won't cut it.

Story Telling: 7/10

The story telling is amazing. The plot pace moves along well when it read more
Dec 8, 2017
1nvader (All reviews)
5/10 Car magic is not what I asked for.

This is the only season in the series I'll be writing a review for, because it was quite the disappointment. The first was awesome, 2nd and 3rd dragged on a bit, 4th was awesome again.

Over the time the art style has been changed a bit several times, but it never improved. In this season it's probably the worst it ever was. The music is not always as extravagant as in the first couple of seasons either, although they do bring back some of the older songs.

I can get over all of that. The 2 things I really read more
Aug 4, 2017
ALongLostURT (All reviews)
Gone are the days of experts sitting on the sidelines discussing technique, strategy, and the characteristics of the road that Takemi is racing on. Gone is the under-dog feel. The Speed Stars side cast have been discarded for a bunch of guys who shop at hot topic and put more money into hair gel than they do car parts.

It's like someone took all the race theory that was great about the previous installments and threw them away; then took the story and put a bird on it. Holy Moley, I'm surprised they didn't put undercarriage neon lights and flashers on the AE-86 read more
Jan 15, 2018
Sirbuffalo (All reviews)
(Minor Spoilers)

It really hurt watching this season and there was a time where I could think Initial D was there perfect godsend anime that could never dissapoint.

Blatant callbacks to the first 3 seasons were put into place but executed terribly, the magic this series had is gone important characters and amazing races are put aside for crappy character remakes and constant talking about the race INSTEAD OF RACING not once has a series made me more angry.

I tried really hard to love this season and it dissapointed at every turn

+good art
+Interesting cars
+Fresh new characters
+ryosuke race
+Interesting story

-races aren't fun anymore
-annoying talking read more