Initial D Fifth Stage

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 頭文字 D Fifth Stage

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 14
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 4, 2012 to May 10, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: SynergySP
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, CarsCars, SportsSports, DramaDrama, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.081 (scored by 4553245,532 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1526
Members: 88,071
Favorites: 506
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 21, 2017
JCLogan (All reviews)
5/10 - How the Mighty have fallen.

Since the reviews here are all extremely positive, and since I watched the last two seasons back to back, I'm gonna review them both.

First of all, for anyone who has not yet watched the series:
The first 2 seasons are amazing, and the third one (movie) is very good!
After that the quality drops quickly though.

Where in earlier seasons the anime revels in showing drifts, and mixing up closeups on the steering wheel and pedals with shots of drifting tires and the rear of the car coming very close to the guardrails, all while awesome eurobeat music is playing,
in the last read more
Jul 24, 2014
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
Taking place where 4th stage leaves off, Takumi on his deliveries is practicing at the one-handed steering technique of his final opponent from the last season. Though he is progressing, he still is trying to figure things out. At the same time, his father is giving him props for trying such a technique and acknowledges his progress. So where does this leave Project D after beating the Purple Mountain? Their next conquest leads them to Kanagawa, a prefecture south of Tokyo which is known for having the best street racers in the nation to the point that some of the drivers are trained and active read more
Jul 24, 2020
cameronrb24 (All reviews)
Fifth stage is another low point of the series. The races and their outcomes were some of Initial D's the least interesting ever. There's hardly any racing anymore, it's this pull away style that generally concludes with someone making a mistake and/or spinning out. The drama was hard to take serious, particularly Ryosuke's arc. This tragic romantic aspect of him felt forced, out of place, and out of character. Takumi's friend's continue to undevelop as characters. Their hardly even his cheerleaders anymore; they're just dudes who work at a gas station and wallow in their singleness. Natsuki is non-existent at this point; they just introduce read more
Jun 22, 2016
TheFlowingStream (All reviews)
*Spoiler-Free for the entire Initial D seires* *Meant-to-be-short-but-fun review :P*
See, I am a fan of the Initial D series. So why have I given this one just a 7? It's not all bad depending on how you take it. You'll get what I mean:

(1) This stage is more dedicated to the development and growth of Keisuke. Since Takumi's unpredictable talent and dynamic races was what I loved, I felt a bit bored now and then. Not that Keisuke's races weren't interesting, they were all pretty good....but I guess you can't compare any other racers with Takumi. I did enjoy his character development. (Also Keisuke looked read more
Aug 4, 2017
ALongLostURT (All reviews)
Gone are the days of experts sitting on the sidelines discussing technique, strategy, and the characteristics of the road that Takemi is racing on. Gone is the under-dog feel. The Speed Stars side cast have been discarded for a bunch of guys who shop at hot topic and put more money into hair gel than they do car parts.

It's like someone took all the race theory that was great about the previous installments and threw them away; then took the story and put a bird on it. Holy Moley, I'm surprised they didn't put undercarriage neon lights and flashers on the AE-86 read more
May 16, 2020
SlowpokeWild (All reviews)
I'm getting out of Fast and Furious references...

All right this Fifth Stage was boring.

Don't get me wrong. I like it but it has a lot of problems that I can't hide.

Let's start with the good things.
I really like Takumi and Keisuke "final form" they do it amazingly and this is all the hard work they put trough out all the past stages and that's pretty much it.
The art is very pleasant but I kinda miss that clunky CGI and some shoots of the cars doing crazy stuff like going 1 cm of the guardrails. Overall they still have that weird looking sometimes and I'll take read more
Mar 20, 2020
Rarestein (All reviews)
!!!WARNING!!! THERE MIGHT BE SPOILERS !!!

I love Initial D. It reignited my passion for cars and also taught me a lot about driving techniques. While the previous four seasons were exciting and had a good balance of character development and racing sessions, Fifth Stage is anything but.

Fifth Stage brings improvements in terms of artwork and sound quality, but there's pretty much no character development or story. Yes, Takumi becomes better and better at driving, Project D continues to "conqueer" many other regions, but God damn it was slow! I know that Initial D is all about touge racing, but I find it difficult to watch read more
Dec 8, 2017
1nvader (All reviews)
5/10 Car magic is not what I asked for.

This is the only season in the series I'll be writing a review for, because it was quite the disappointment. The first was awesome, 2nd and 3rd dragged on a bit, 4th was awesome again.

Over the time the art style has been changed a bit several times, but it never improved. In this season it's probably the worst it ever was. The music is not always as extravagant as in the first couple of seasons either, although they do bring back some of the older songs.

I can get over all of that. The 2 things I really read more
Jan 15, 2018
Sirbuffalo (All reviews)
(Minor Spoilers)

It really hurt watching this season and there was a time where I could think Initial D was there perfect godsend anime that could never dissapoint.

Blatant callbacks to the first 3 seasons were put into place but executed terribly, the magic this series had is gone important characters and amazing races are put aside for crappy character remakes and constant talking about the race INSTEAD OF RACING not once has a series made me more angry.

I tried really hard to love this season and it dissapointed at every turn

+good art
+Interesting cars
+Fresh new characters
+ryosuke race
+Interesting story

-races aren't fun anymore
-annoying talking read more
Apr 4, 2017
TheIceDragon (All reviews)
IMO This anime had great potential, but imo it needs a graphics / art overhaul. Comparing this anime to some of the old animes like DBZ or Naruto which continued to improve their art overtime, you can see it. Whereas Initial D's art becomes stale as I felt the artist got lazy and decided not to improve on the overall graphic quality of the manga / anime. The original is a good standard to set, but comparing it to today's anime / art, it's just not appealing and won't cut it.

Story Telling: 7/10

The story telling is amazing. The plot pace moves along well when it read more
Aug 19, 2020
stmwg01 (All reviews)
Quick take: If you like cars, you'll like the story of Takumi Fujiwara, his Trueno 86 and the Probed D team. Fifth stage continues the story of Project D. It does an incredible job with the best CGI bits so far, which feel much more natural to the media than any other stage. While the manga does a much better job of telling the story, you’ll still find a decent plot in this anime.

Fifth stage continues the battles of Project D. Keisuke and Takumi take on new battles and face new opponents, growing from those experiences. Much like Fourth stage, Keisuke is largely ignored and read more
Jan 3, 2021
Niko1987 (All reviews)
Let me preface this by saying I am a very big Initial D fan as well as a very big JDM car fan. So the following is tough to say for me...

Unfortunately, I found Initial D Fifth Stage to be the worst stage so far, and by a fairly large margin, as I very much enjoyed stages 1-3 (Fourth Stage, not so much but still enjoyed too). Most of the battles in Fifth Stage except for maybe one (most of you will probably know which one I'm referring to if you've seen the season) were pretty uninteresting and predictable, though there were some little moments read more