Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Oruchuban Ebichu


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Ebichu Minds the House, Anime Ai no Awa Awa Hour, Anime Lovers' Awa Awa Hour, Anime Lovers' Bubble Bubble Hour, Modern Love's Silliness
Japanese: おるちゅばんエビちゅ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 1, 1999 to Oct 1, 1999
Premiered: Summer 1999
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Group TAC, Pioneer LDC
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Gainax
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Ecchi, Seinen
Duration: 8 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 12,807 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2274
Members: 33,647
Favorites: 275

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 15, 2007
Svinger (All reviews)
Ebichu was one of the first anime series I watched. I got the DVD as a present and one dark and stormy day decided to watch it. Wow. For the first three episodes I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. It is just plain weird. I can't describe it better. It_just_is_weird.

Ebichu is about a hamster called Ebichu. Her owner is a single office lady desperate to find a husband. Many jokes center around Ebichu's owner and her good-for-nothing boyfriend. What makes this show worth watching is its extreme humour that springs form this set-up. Warning to all American kids: Contains adult themes, watch this read more
Oct 18, 2016
ZachM (All reviews)
I, like many other people, had never heard of this anime for the longest time. An obscure Gainax comedy show about a talking hamster? Never would've found that one. That was until a friend of mine showed me the famous scene from the show on YouTube, simply titled "Manko" https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=AAP1tmTn6tE . I don't know about you, but that was enough to sell me on adding it to the PTW. About a year and a half later, and I finally sat down and gave it a watch. And I'll tell you right now, it's a shame I hadn't found this sooner, because it is one of read more
Feb 6, 2015
brynolf (All reviews)
Overall
One of the funnier animes out there. Adult themes clash with animation and sound effects of a childrens' show. Humor, sex and kawaii in a perfect mix. Highly recommended!

Animation
Very simple graphics and animation, but that is kind of the point. The characters look dull at first glance, but once you get to know them, you can't imagine them looking any differently.

Can't give too high a score here, because of the simple looks, but on the other hand this anime really couldn't have a more appropriate animation.

Sound
The intro song is cute and catchy, but nothing too fabulous. The reason I rate the "sound" cathegory so high read more
Jun 30, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
This sort of feels like a mix between Shin-chan and Chi’s Sweet Home. It’s cute and talks of a cute little hamster’s life and how her owner is to her. In fact, the very first episode shows exactly how her master is… a useless bum. All this women seems to do is whine about her boyfriend and have sex with him. Yes, this shows them having sex a lot. The owner’s boyfriend seems useless to me. I don’t know why the owner hangs around him at all. The owner isn’t really that good herself.

Now that I have talked about all the bad things about read more
Mar 10, 2012
Skeleton-Jelly (All reviews)
For a reason I will never understand, cute things getting punished is a common trope in anime. For this reason, Oruchuban Ebichu breaks my heart.

Ebichu, the adorable (one might say sickeningly so) hamster of the title is mauled and abused in every episode, after having only lovingly cleaned her master's home. Reality check, eh? This shit happens in the real world, people.

Another reality check? Office Lady, although she is constantly taken advantage of by her lousy boyfriend, always comes back to him. A pretty typical unhappy romance, all things said!

Oruchuban Ebichu succeeds because it seeks to destroy the bubble of read more
Aug 1, 2018
WeabooJones666 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I see a lot of the reviewers for this show taking it WAY too seriously. Of course it is sad that Ebichu gets punished often, but its just slapstick for gods sake. Get over yourselves. And the art couldn´t be super detailed, otherwise the show couldn´t be broadcast at all due to censorship. The simplistic art style is what lets it get away with being so explicit. This is Japan, people. Even their porn is censored. By the way, the art shouldn´t have to be detailed to be considered good. Judging an art style based on how detailed it is is stupid. In this case, read more
Apr 25, 2018
Sidewinder51 (All reviews)
Rate an 8
English sub(had some brief moments of english dubbed.)

Story
If you can look past the animal cruelty with is kind of hard to do, this make for an interesting show. I like the English language because it has a lot of play on words. That is precisely what this focus here; Except not English but Japanese. Jokes were funny to some regard but were frankly over done and kind of silly. Silly due to childlike humor and veered left when it clearly was going right seconds before in a matter of speaking.

Ecchi is perhaps a reason one would watch this. Sadly i have to read more
Mar 5, 2018
valtiel01 (All reviews)
It's a shame that such marvelous show doesn't have more reviews. It's short, quirky and unique comedy. The show is about daily life of a woman who lives in an apartment with her pet, who does the chores. The comedy is heavily based on characters and their interaction than other elements. Story is one of them and the show feels like it's slowly paced and barely any changes happen at all. But that's the only downside, characters and situation are on the focus and create amazing atmosphere.
The show is comedy of character. We don't know much about the characters: most of their names, occupations read more
Oct 30, 2017
RinSalamander (All reviews)
A comedy anime targeted for a more adult audience, Ebichu knew what it was trying to be, what humor it was going for, and what audience it was trying to appeal to, and goddamnit it did a good job for what it was trying to be. A raunchy anime about a hamster? SIGN ME UP!

On my initial viewing of the first episode, I expected some Hamtaro type thing. Ohhh boy, was I incorrect, but what a pleasant surprise I got when Ebichu started talking about sex!

So, let's talk about the main character, Ebichu. An adorable hamster with a taste for icecream and camembert cheese just read more