MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #983
Mobile Suit Gundam 00 The Movie: A Wakening of the Trailblazer

Mobile Suit Gundam 00 The Movie: A Wakening of the Trailblazer

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Gekijouban Kidou Senshi Gundam 00: A Wakening of the Trailblazer, Gundam Double O Movie
Japanese: 劇場版 機動戦士ガンダム00 -A wakening of the Trailblazer-

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 18, 2010
Duration: 2 hr. 9 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.461 (scored by 16460 users)
Ranked: #9832
Popularity: #1046
Members: 26,383
Favorites: 111
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 15, 2011
CottonCandyLover
First original Gundam theatrical feature in almost two decades. The directorial talent behind Fullmetal Alchemist. The musical scoring of Kenji Kawai. The inclusion of aliens for the first time in the franchise's thirty year history. The namesake of a cultural phenomenon. To the cynical mind, Awakening of the Trailblazer could have almost instantly been dismissed as a failure due to the surrounding hype, the general attitude of indifference many fans have adopted thanks to Sunrise's shaky track record, and just the general air of disapproval by the die-hard Universal Century fans arguing that Gundam has just 'lost' its way.

And maybe some of it is true, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 4, 2011
AikoArisaka420
Like alot of other people who saw and enjoyed the TV Series, I was hyped up for this film. Although I did keep a few lingering doubts in my mind to make sure that the hype didn't ruin the film for me. Obviously being a movie, certain elements have to be condensed in order to function, so the question is: does Awakening of the Trailblazer serve as a fitting conclusion to Gundam 00? Well...Yes and no. Let's go over the main aspects of the story. This is the first entry in the franchise to introduce aliens, which is of course one of the film's biggest read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 28, 2014
VirtusSignum
The fact that the score for this is 7.48 is incredibly misleading and I cannot fathom how it has a score that high. This movie is a 4 at best, its bad. How is it bad? Well... if you liked Gundam 00, imagine stripping it of all character development, all creativity, all plot, all suspense... and all sense, only to leave you with one of the dumbest premises/villains ever.

Gray intergalactic blobs are attacking!! and the Gundam team needs to teach them the meaning of love and peace. No really... thats it. That is the entire plot of the movie. No, seriously... that really is it! read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2014
MrSideliner
This is my first review on an anime and I hope to be as helpful as possible!

Mobile Suit Gundam 00 The Movie: A Wakening of the Trailblazer is the sequel to the 2nd season of the series. It forms a "trilogy" if I can put it like that. I enjoyed the 2 seasons of Mobile Suit Gundam 00 a lot and loved the story, art and characters. I kind of prefer to believe the anime should have ended at the 2nd season. The movie adds a whole new concept to the Gundam Universe and it might seem "alien" to the loyal Gundam fans. (Excuse the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2011
ZakuHead
When Gundam 00 finished its broadcast, I was quite excited to hear that there was going to be a film sequel to resolve the last part of Aeolia's plan mentioned in the TV series and that it would be the first Gundam iteration in the 30 years of its existence that would actually have aliens included in the story.

A Wakening of the Trailblazer takes place 2 years after the end of season 2 where peace is slowly starting to come true with the A-Laws disbanded, but with the arrival of a bizarre alien life form called the ELS from a space ship sent to Jupiter read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 22, 2014
Sabrael
Note: Some spoilers are in my review.
I extremely enjoy the Gundam series very much; I love the concept of these massive man-made humanoid machines built for warfare that only skilled men and women are able to operate. However 00 was just... Not good. It's very annoying to me that the producers would even label this as 'Gundam'. What concept in this movie is actually Gundam original besides the mobile suits? To me, this seems like an expensive rip off to the real Gundam series. The Mobile suits have these 'Go Green' thruster packs now and uber futuristic designs to them. This kinda reminds me about read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2013
DuhCruzz
Sequel to 2nd season of Gundam 00
Anno Domini Timeline
1st Franchise with "Aliens"
Spoiler (Might also spoil your enjoyment of whatever enjoyment you can get outta this)

You know that mock film that's shown in the 1st 5 min of the movie? I would rather watch that. This doesnt deserve my Pro/Con format cause I couldn't find anything "Pro" about it. Let me just list down SOME of the bad

- WTH happened to these characters? They're all over the place. (Why is Ribbons here?)
- Faceless antagonist (just a bunch of funnels really)
- Pacing is wack (I kinda wanted at least a montage of preparation against the funnels but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 21, 2010
zeroasd
To be very serious in reviewing this movie, I would say this is not at all a gundam series and that falls into several big problems that this series has.

Art; 8 points
Firstly, the art it is self is great, it is what you would be expecting out of a movie at this time from the Gundam anime industry. It represent a lot about how much the art has developed through time in the Gundam history. However, it is not the best art and graphic you can find from Gundam. Unicorn on the other hand is an OVA series yet, its attention to small details read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 30, 2013
wuhugm
Easily the worst in Gundam franchise

Gundam was a show that while heavily defined by action sequences, but also displayed various aspects of human emotions.

How scary war is, about how enemy might be an enemy but they can't be considered evil, clash of values between characters, etc. Gundam series portrayed those clearly, so Gundam was always a great show that both risen your adrenaline by awesome actions while at the same time moved your heart.

This latest movie of 00 have no such things...

First, they fight freaking aliens, which was a taboo for Gundam series. The reason is clear, fighting a mindless being like robot or monster read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2011
Chazist
I had high expectations when I first heard of a gundam movie (although I shouldn't have with the crappy ending of 00) and I was thoroughly disappointed. The artwork and sound were fantastic as you would expect from an anime movie made in 2010 but it couldnt make up for all of its flaws.

Firstly, the story just didnt make any sense and it just seemed like it was trying to push some kind of peace message. The fighting was not very good and somewhat sparse throughout the movie. Honestly, this disappointed me the most as I was looking forward to some badass fighting.

The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 22, 2010
hero388
I would say out of all the up coming sequels Gundam 00: Awakening of the Trailblazer was on the top 5 of my list. After much anticipation, I would have to say it was a bit of a disappointment.

Story: 7
I would say the biggest problem I had with this movie is its storyline. It was pretty generic as far as mecha anime story lines go. I was expecting something new. It flows somewhat well and keeps you into it throughout. It also builds wonderfully to a climactic ending battle seen, the only problem is that it just ends. It seemed read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 5, 2013
Primus2x
This film is infamous for its full fledged (fossilised space whales appear in SEED) in the Gundam franchise, and I agree this I a bad thing, Gundam introduced human antagonists in order to make them more relatable and the conflicts ambiguous. This is an alien invasion story, while the ELS were oblivious to their attacks at first, this is the problem you cannot sympathize with the ELS properly as they have a different concept of morality, you can sympathize with the oppressed spacenoids that made up Zeon, the abandoned humans that became the Vagan, and ZAFT being victims of racism.
Secondly, Feldt declares her love for read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2011
mel-hime
Don't you just love when you think things go ok and then they just sink down so low?........Don't answer that.

Story: I would have given it a 6 but meh I went with 7 cause of the other 2 seasons.Firstly,Sunrise...do NOT make a movie if you want to, in the end,skip a timeline of 50 years or so.....The biggest problem in this was the after-credits timeline skip which I believe we all could have done well without.It's practically saying to all of us '' Oh well yah...and now every1 is actually dead or damn old almost ready to die and Setsuna and Tieria are only ones read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2011
dragonshaun9
I've been waiting for this movie for a while, and could barely restrain my excitement when it was finally released on DVD. When I sat down and watched the movie, my thoughts were all variants on 'This is gonna be awesome!' Well... I was half right. The fights were spot on in terms of battle mechanics. Though the plot was half decent, there was little character...I want to say growth. Setsuna had reverted to his original self in season one. He was surly and withdrawn. When the chips were down, he then proved to be all but useless. Tieria's return was a pleasant sight, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 6, 2014
llbg2
Two hours. Two hours gone that I will never again get back. Two hours in which I could have done much better things with my life. Who knows, I could've created the next Flappy Bird clone in that two hours but no, I spent it watching this. So instead, I pass the torch onto you. Recreate Flappy Bird. Don't watch this.

Conceptually, this movie could have been something great. The basic premise, though simple, could have easily been expanded into a whole 'bother season. For the first time in some 30 odd years, the Gundams aren't fighting other humans. They are fighting an alien race. You read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices