MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #219
Eureka Seven

Eureka Seven

Alternative Titles

English: Eureka Seven
Synonyms: Koukyou Shihen Eureka Seven, Eureka 7, Eureka Seven Psalms of Planets, Koukyoushi Hen: Eureka Seven
Japanese: 交響詩篇エウレカセブン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 17, 2005 to Apr 2, 2006
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.291 (scored by 68990 users)
Ranked: #2192
Popularity: #81
Members: 135,645
Favorites: 4,966
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure drama mecha romance sci-fi
Feb 25, 2007
infinity
- - - [ Eureka Seven :: Eps: 50 :: Rating: 9.9/10 ] - - -

- [ Intro ] -

While enduring one of my anime-deprivation periods, I saw Eureka Seven with a high rating. I said why not and proceeded to get all of its 50 episodes. I started watching it only recently, after going through Ergo Proxy. Upon opening the first episode, I went o_0 then 0_0 instantly! Eureka Seven has a great OP and accompanying music! This promised to be a great anime. I could not resist going on after seeing the first episode. I can say I went through the episodes like read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 18, 2013
Redcrimson19
Story: 8 - Sweeping and poignant, but fraught with several filler episodes and inconsistent pacing.
Characters: 10 - Dynamic and well-developed cast all-around. Flawed, but likable heroes as well as sympathetic and compelling antagonists.
Art: 8 - Fluid and emotive, but with a tendency to go off-model.
Sound: 9 - Fantastic use of music, memorable soundtrack, solid voice casting.
Enjoyment: 10 - A fun and emotional ride with surprising complexity and thematic resonance.

Full review:

Where do I even start with this? There’s just so much going on in this thing that it’s hard to organize my thoughts. Most stories tend to stick to one or two central read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 14, 2009
MasterDLG
At first I was skeptical as to just how good this series would be and the 50 episode runtime was a bit daunting however I began watching anyway as it seemed the most interesting out of the series I have waiting. I can say that I definitely wasn't disappointed.

Story:
I'm sure you've read the synopsis so I won't be mentioning that here. The story moves quicker than what you would expect from such a long series and this is a good thing as it minimizes any time where it would seem to be boring. This is even more impressive when you realize that there read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2014
furdlemygurdle
This anime, is beautiful. Not just in animation or sound, but also in how the story and characters are laid out. However, each gem comes with it's own dents and scratches, and this is no different. Just a heads up that although I easily would give this anime a ten because of how amazing it made me feel at the end, I'm going to try my hardest to not be incredibly biased and point out flaws just like any other review.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Story:
First, lets start off with both a positive and a negative point. I found that for a lot of the time, many, many things read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 5, 2009
kiriska
Eureka seveN is about saving the world! ...Eventually!!

STORY - A strange girl and her mecha enter Renton’s life one day. He quickly develops a crush on her and decides to leaves his home and stay with her by joining Gekkostate, a group of outlaws and his childhood heroes. Shenanigans follow. There are vague and unclear plot developments that happen in the background, but the actual story will not really start to manifest for another twenty or thirty episodes, and even then, it’s difficult to figure out what exactly anyone’s try to do, much less how they intend to do it. Eureka seveN has some of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 16, 2012
MyNameIsTony
Eureka 7. It completely stands out from any other Mecha/Romance anime's out there. First few episodes were great but when it came to the last few episodes it was Phenomenal. The setting was great with a awesome story to back it up. the art and animations looked amazing as the music went in well with certain scenes. The characters are all great and compelling.

It starts out with a 14 year old teen named Renton Thirston. Everything about his life sucks until it all changes when a huge LFO comes crashing into his house.Out comes A very beautiful girl named Eureka. Soon after Renton joins read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2009
BarnacleBlister
“Eureka 7” is definitely an entertaining series even if not a great one. The artistry oozing from the animation, designs, and music may help you overlook the story’s schizophrenic inanity.

The show’s supreme craftsmanship provides the spoonful sugar for its less-than-tasty story. It’s easy to watch these fifty episodes when the characters and their world are as creative and eye-popping as “Eureka 7’s.” Bolstering the shows designs and animation is one of the best soundtracks to bless a show; most impressive is the music’s ability to capture each of the story’s emotions with a perfectly mellifluous track.

“Eureka 7” suffers mainly from an identity crisis that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 31, 2007
Wyko
Thankfully, Infinity (the first reviewer) posted a wonderfully analytic review of this anime already, so I can forebear myself to post another. Instead, I just want to reinforce his review with a few short comments on my part.

First of all, this anime is, without *any* reservation whatsoever, the best anime I have ever seen. The storyline is engrossing, the character development surpasses anything I have ever seen before (although, admittedly, I don't watch many pure dramas), the animation flows true and clear even through the most active fight scenes, and the sound is perfect.

The anime begins with this immature kid we see expressing his read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 1, 2009
Bosch
where can i start...first time it aired in japan i was like 'not interested in mecha and boring stuff'
after some months i seen the very first ep by coincidence airing in our tv and i deceided to watch..after the first episode i was hooked because i want to know how it continue and got all of them lol there were alot of moments where i was sad and cried..or happy and cried also. im build near the water u can say..very emotional nature and this anime is totaly in my list of prefered style.

my point of view is more the philosophical way of humans beeing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 3, 2008
rawrpancakes
When I first started Eureka Seven I thought "Sweet he's like, surfing on AIR" but then I really got into it. I've never been a big fan of mecha, but this one wasn't just mecha, Eureka Seven had something for everyone. At first I thought Eureka was a little strange, a robot maybe, and Renton's whining got on my nerves, but I was really drawn in, because every episode made me wonder more and more what Eureka was, and what the Gekkostate's goal was. I had originally watched the first five or so episodes in Japanese, but I could actually handle the dub, which I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2008
Sylenced1
I would like to start off by saying Eureka Seven is hands down my all time favorite anime series. From beginning to end it managed to keep me glued to the computer screen without so much as a blink of the eye. Sure, I lost my eyesight after watching the series from beginning to end due to the lack of blinking, but all I can say is; worth it, totally worth it! This anime has everything you would want, and then some! Ranging from humor, to a love story, to action/adventure, and one of my favorite's; things that deepen the plot, leaving you with so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 16, 2013
JebekiSan
So much unrealized potential. I began watching Eureka Seven on the basis of the many positive reviews here and elsewhere, but was gravely disappointed in what I experienced. There is indeed the foundation for a great work here, and there is within it some exceptional parts, but they are too few and far between to support a fifty-episode run.

My principle issue is certainly with the lead characters, nearly all of whom are more frequently frustrating to watch than endearing and spend far too much time whining and lazing about like some useless wretches. There are numerous secondary characters who are far more intriguing and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 2013
Caraniel
Exciting concept, wonderful character development and awesome soundtrack.

PLOT: This series was an absolute joy to watch! Extremely well put together with a multi-layered plot, memorable characters and inspired pacing – every episode was used well and contributed something to the entertainment value of Eureka Seven. The concept and studio was what attracted me to this series, and it really did not disappoint. I like mecha series in general and of course Eureka Seven contains many of the standard cliché’s of mecha anime, yet somehow this series made everything feel fresh and new. Turning the sky into an ocean and using so many familiar concepts in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 20, 2009
CloudStrife1992
Intro:

I first learned about Eureka Seven when I saw Eureka on the cover of a magazine back in 2006 or so. She was very intriguing, and the series looked interesting, but I wasn't much of an anime watcher back then, so I didn't watch the series. Eureka has always been stuck in my head though, so now that I watch anime as a hobby, I figured I'd give the series a go, even though I don't generally like mecha-related series.

First Impression: 4/10

After the first couple of episodes, I really didn't see a reason for so many people giving this anime a 10. Renton acted read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 18, 2010
Yuffira
50 episodes ago I thought I was mad for watching such a long mecha anime. 7 days later I'm wondering why it's already finished. My expectations for Eureka Seven were high, though I never thought it would be more then a stereo-type mecha anime. And guess what, Eureka Seven is a top notch mecha anime, but it's also much more then that.

Everything starts with a 14 year old boy named Renton Thurston. He's entire life up until then turned around ref-boarding, a popular sport in the world of Eureka Seven, and mechanics. So when the Gekkostate drops by, a group of rebels leaded by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 1, 2009
ByakuyaKana
Alright, I've been looking forward to typing up this review ever since around the 25th episode. For me, Eureka Seven has been bouncing between, and around an 8-9 for the rating. But it really didn't take long AT ALL to make me change that score. It was in my "Plan to Watch" list for far too long as well. And deserved to be looked into a lot sooner. So, first, what I mean by this is, if you haven't seen Eureka Seven yet, DO NOT WAIT ANY LONGER. Especially if you absolutely love incredible love stories.

I'll start with story, I gave it a 10 read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 5, 2013
Rionada_Jackie
Ah, Eureka Seven. This should be a classic already, if it isn't.
A beautiful anime and a pleasant experience, this was also my first venture into the Mecha genre.

(The beginning and a little summary)

Eureka Seven is about Renton Thurston, a boy from a family of mechanics and whose father is a war hero. During what seemed like another day of helping out his mechanic grandfather and being a Ray=Out (magazine featuring members of the Gekko State, which I'll get to later on) fanboy, a uniquely shaped LFO crashes into his grandfather's garage. While fixing Eureka's LFO, and being a member of the Gekko, her comrades follow read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 21, 2007
eddiefb3
Never have I been so touched by an anime more then this one. The story is one of the best out there. It has plot twists and adventure, as well as sorrow and hate.

The characters develop immensely throughout the series. This isnt your average everyday anime. The characters grow up and they make mistakes and learn to deal with them. These characters are the most human I can ever imagine.

The music for this series is the best. All the background music is enjoyable and helps move the series along.

The acting is also very well on both Japanese and English sides.

This is the best anime I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 16, 2012
eurekaloverenton
I've always wanted to write a review for Eureka Seven, As it is my favourite anime.. but for whatever reason i always feel like words i say can never live up to how Amazing Eureka Seven was. The anime is action packed, heartwarming, beautiful, dark, scandalous, funny, cute, romantic, packed with morals and so on.
Eureka Seven actually one of the best anime I've ever watched. From the first opening i saw on TV back in 2006 i thought it was going to be creepy and hard to understand just like .//hack sign... But it really wasn't. As long as you don't skip an episode and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2008
mango5snowy
This show was like a roller coaster (if you'll pardon the awful cliche). Up and down and unpredictable if it's your first time. When I say unpredictable, I hardly mean it in a good way. I enjoyed it in the beginning to some point (when I wasn't sleeping through it) but I was also annoyed by the basically completely unlikable cast (Renton, anyone?) Renton never EVER became anything good in my mind. He was obnoxious even when he grew a pair. Eureka was just too weak in my opinion. Whenever I liked or found a character interesting, they were either killed off or they would read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices