Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Eureka Seven


Alternative Titles

English: Eureka Seven
Synonyms: Koukyoushihen, Koukyou Shihen Eureka Seven, Eureka 7, Eureka Seven Psalms of Planets
Japanese: 交響詩篇エウレカセブン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 17, 2005 to Apr 2, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2005
Broadcast: Sundays at 07:00 (JST)
Studios: Bones
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.201 (scored by 100,807 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2972
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #144
Members: 220,236
Favorites: 6,646

Reviews

infinity
Feb 25, 2007
- - - [ Eureka Seven :: Eps: 50 :: Rating: 9.9/10 ] - - -

- [ Intro ] -

While enduring one of my anime-deprivation periods, I saw Eureka Seven with a high rating. I said why not and proceeded to get all of its 50 episodes. I started watching it only recently, after going through Ergo Proxy. Upon opening the first episode, I went o_0 then 0_0 instantly! Eureka Seven has a great OP and accompanying music! This promised to be a great anime. I could not resist going on after seeing the first episode. I can say I went through the episodes like read more
I found this review Helpful
MasterDLG
Apr 14, 2009
At first I was skeptical as to just how good this series would be and the 50 episode runtime was a bit daunting however I began watching anyway as it seemed the most interesting out of the series I have waiting. I can say that I definitely wasn't disappointed.

Story:
I'm sure you've read the synopsis so I won't be mentioning that here. The story moves quicker than what you would expect from such a long series and this is a good thing as it minimizes any time where it would seem to be boring. This is even more impressive when you realize that there read more
I found this review Helpful
BarnacleBlister
Apr 3, 2009
“Eureka 7” is definitely an entertaining series even if not a great one. The artistry oozing from the animation, designs, and music may help you overlook the story’s schizophrenic inanity.

The show’s supreme craftsmanship provides the spoonful sugar for its less-than-tasty story. It’s easy to watch these fifty episodes when the characters and their world are as creative and eye-popping as “Eureka 7’s.” Bolstering the shows designs and animation is one of the best soundtracks to bless a show; most impressive is the music’s ability to capture each of the story’s emotions with a perfectly mellifluous track.

“Eureka 7” suffers mainly from an identity crisis that read more
I found this review Helpful
kiriska
Jul 5, 2009
Eureka seveN is about saving the world! ...Eventually!!

STORY - A strange girl and her mecha enter Renton’s life one day. He quickly develops a crush on her and decides to leaves his home and stay with her by joining Gekkostate, a group of outlaws and his childhood heroes. Shenanigans follow. There are vague and unclear plot developments that happen in the background, but the actual story will not really start to manifest for another twenty or thirty episodes, and even then, it’s difficult to figure out what exactly anyone’s try to do, much less how they intend to do it. Eureka seveN has some of read more
I found this review Helpful
Wyko
Mar 31, 2007
Thankfully, Infinity (the first reviewer) posted a wonderfully analytic review of this anime already, so I can forebear myself to post another. Instead, I just want to reinforce his review with a few short comments on my part.

First of all, this anime is, without *any* reservation whatsoever, the best anime I have ever seen. The storyline is engrossing, the character development surpasses anything I have ever seen before (although, admittedly, I don't watch many pure dramas), the animation flows true and clear even through the most active fight scenes, and the sound is perfect.

The anime begins with this immature kid we see expressing his read more
I found this review Helpful
Redkrimson
Nov 18, 2013
Story: 8 - Sweeping and poignant, but fraught with several filler episodes and inconsistent pacing.
Characters: 10 - Dynamic and well-developed cast all-around. Flawed, but likable heroes as well as sympathetic and compelling antagonists.
Art: 8 - Fluid and emotive, but with a tendency to go off-model.
Sound: 9 - Fantastic use of music, memorable soundtrack, solid voice casting.
Enjoyment: 10 - A fun and emotional ride with surprising complexity and thematic resonance.

Full review:

Where do I even start with this? There’s just so much going on in this thing that it’s hard to organize my thoughts. Most stories tend to stick to one or two central read more
I found this review Helpful
Goukeban
Feb 26, 2016
Besides poking fun at Christianity, one genre that seems to be a writing gold mine for anime is the coming-of-age tale. Taking a character who is in their teens, a period where they start to shape themselves to soon ingress into adulthood, and make them face reality in its different shades up until they become completely rounded figures is a setup that offers a vast range of opportunities for writers. The deal is that, the main character being a kid or a pre-teen, you can make them as immature as you can get away without making the audience hate the little twerp and slowly improve read more
I found this review Helpful
mango5snowy
Jun 4, 2008
This show was like a roller coaster (if you'll pardon the awful cliche). Up and down and unpredictable if it's your first time. When I say unpredictable, I hardly mean it in a good way. I enjoyed it in the beginning to some point (when I wasn't sleeping through it) but I was also annoyed by the basically completely unlikable cast (Renton, anyone?) Renton never EVER became anything good in my mind. He was obnoxious even when he grew a pair. Eureka was just too weak in my opinion. Whenever I liked or found a character interesting, they were either killed off or they would read more
I found this review Helpful
FloydCatalyst
May 21, 2015
Nostalgia, I often find, is one of the greatest deciding factors of a person's enjoyment of something, and this doesn’t apply solely to anime watchers. Nowadays I will find myself more often than not going back and taking shows I used to enjoy at face value and realizing they weren't as great as I remembered. It's a truly beautiful thing, at least for me anyway, when you watch a now classic show or movie that aired during your childhood in your adulthood without that nostalgia factor blinding your judgement. I didn't seriously start getting into anime until around the time that I was almost out read more
I found this review Helpful
TokyoSanchez
Mar 21, 2014
This anime, is beautiful. Not just in animation or sound, but also in how the story and characters are laid out. However, each gem comes with it's own dents and scratches, and this is no different. Just a heads up that although I easily would give this anime a ten because of how amazing it made me feel at the end, I'm going to try my hardest to not be incredibly biased and point out flaws just like any other review.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Story:
First, lets start off with both a positive and a negative point. I found that for a lot of the time, many, many things read more
I found this review Helpful
BanjoTheBear
Nov 26, 2014
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

A common saying that people often hear is, "All is fair in love and war." Interpreted literally, what this phrase says is that there are no rules when it comes to the battlefield. That people will do whatever it takes to win, to obtain the ultimate prize: victory. In both circumstances, it's something that is quite difficult to achieve, but when it is, it's one of the sweetest, most exhilarating feelings in the world. To an extent, the tale of Eureka Seven is the manifestation of such an idea.

STORY

Eureka Seven begins with Renton Thurston being visited by two read more
I found this review Helpful
Pleasedontfind
Oct 3, 2008
When I first started Eureka Seven I thought "Sweet he's like, surfing on AIR" but then I really got into it. I've never been a big fan of mecha, but this one wasn't just mecha, Eureka Seven had something for everyone. At first I thought Eureka was a little strange, a robot maybe, and Renton's whining got on my nerves, but I was really drawn in, because every episode made me wonder more and more what Eureka was, and what the Gekkostate's goal was. I had originally watched the first five or so episodes in Japanese, but I could actually handle the dub, which I read more
I found this review Helpful
rikka_tan
Mar 1, 2015
Eureka Seven was the first anime that I ever binge-watched. For that reason, it will always hold a special place in my heart.

Now, on to the review! (which is, for the most part, spoiler-free)

The story is quite good. The anime is 50 episodes long so there are some lulls in the action. I would describe Eureka Seven as a love story that happens to have fighting robots. The main enjoyment (at least for me) comes from seeing the relationship between Renton and Eureka grow. You spend a lot of time inside Renton's head and, by the end of the series, he is one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
eddiefb3
Dec 21, 2007
Never have I been so touched by an anime more then this one. The story is one of the best out there. It has plot twists and adventure, as well as sorrow and hate.

The characters develop immensely throughout the series. This isnt your average everyday anime. The characters grow up and they make mistakes and learn to deal with them. These characters are the most human I can ever imagine.

The music for this series is the best. All the background music is enjoyable and helps move the series along.

The acting is also very well on both Japanese and English sides.

This is the best anime I read more
I found this review Helpful
Sylenced1
Sep 11, 2008
I would like to start off by saying Eureka Seven is hands down my all time favorite anime series. From beginning to end it managed to keep me glued to the computer screen without so much as a blink of the eye. Sure, I lost my eyesight after watching the series from beginning to end due to the lack of blinking, but all I can say is; worth it, totally worth it! This anime has everything you would want, and then some! Ranging from humor, to a love story, to action/adventure, and one of my favorite's; things that deepen the plot, leaving you with so read more
I found this review Helpful
mossarelli
Aug 10, 2015
A futuristic mecha teenage love drama story with likeable characters and an excellent soundtrack without a manga to slow it down, here we go.

I remember watching this show every week, waiting for the big final at 50 episodes and it was one of my most enjoyable moments watching anime. A strange love between a human and a coralian with a mech robot that understands them as they have to face the challenges of different enemies that want them captured.

Renton is a somewhat dumb and brave boy that have a talent for flying the combat mech Nirvash, growing up with his grandfather in his repair hangar, read more
I found this review Helpful
JebekiSan
Jul 16, 2013
So much unrealized potential. I began watching Eureka Seven on the basis of the many positive reviews here and elsewhere, but was gravely disappointed in what I experienced. There is indeed the foundation for a great work here, and there is within it some exceptional parts, but they are too few and far between to support a fifty-episode run.

My principle issue is certainly with the lead characters, nearly all of whom are more frequently frustrating to watch than endearing and spend far too much time whining and lazing about like some useless wretches. There are numerous secondary characters who are far more intriguing and read more
I found this review Helpful
CovetCloud
Feb 4, 2016
Eureka Seven is a masterpiece plagued by flaws. What I have trouble understanding is why I enjoyed it so much despite this. On one hand, you have beautiful cinematography, a colorful cast, and a romance that makes Kirito and Asuna look like 5th graders handing each other cards on Valentine ’s Day. On the other, you have a profusion of plot holes, one of the worst antagonists I’ve seen to date, and a very rushed conclusion. I’m going to separate the good from the bad because I feel this is the best way to categorize everything. Here we go!

Before getting started, here’s a brief synopsis:

The read more
I found this review Helpful
Prede
Oct 21, 2008
This could possibly be one of the best written anime series of all time. Dai Sato is defently one of the best screenwriters in all of Japan. Tomoki Kyoda is also a very talented director. With those two and people like Chiaki J. Konaka, and Sayo Yamamoto involved it's no wonder this anime is a success.


I started watching this anime on Adult Swim, from the day it first aired. It took a few episodes before I was hooked, but once they grabbed me, they never let go. So please give this series a shot. After it aired on Adult Swim I started buying read more
I found this review Helpful
stanet96
Jul 26, 2015
Eureka seven is a classc mecha anime, no this is a love story.The story clearly wasn't the major aspect of this but instead it was the relationship between eureka and renton.

Story 7: The story isn't the major part of this anime and has such it takes a back seat to the characters which can be frustrating.The story is good but it took way too long for it to be revealed.Throughout this anime there was no incline of where the story was going until episode 30 which is really not acceptable.30 episodes in before you even know what the story is about is a bit too read more
I found this review Helpful