Ranked #265

Eureka Seven

Alternative Titles

English: Eureka Seven
Synonyms: Koukyou Shihen Eureka Seven, Eureka 7, Eureka Seven Psalms of Planets, Koukyoushi Hen: Eureka Seven
Japanese: 交響詩篇エウレカセブン


Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 17, 2005 to Apr 2, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2005
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.231 (scored by 91,855 users)
Ranked: #2652
Popularity: #121
Members: 195,007
Favorites: 6,102
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Feb 25, 2007
- - - [ Eureka Seven :: Eps: 50 :: Rating: 9.9/10 ] - - -

- [ Intro ] -

While enduring one of my anime-deprivation periods, I saw Eureka Seven with a high rating. I said why not and proceeded to get all of its 50 episodes. I started watching it only recently, after going through Ergo Proxy. Upon opening the first episode, I went o_0 then 0_0 instantly! Eureka Seven has a great OP and accompanying music! This promised to be a great anime. I could not resist going on after seeing the first episode. I can say I went through the episodes like read more
I found this review Helpful
May 21, 2015
Nostalgia, I often find, is one of the greatest deciding factors of a person's enjoyment of something, and this doesn’t apply solely to anime watchers. Nowadays I will find myself more often than not going back and taking shows I used to enjoy at face value and realizing they weren't as great as I remembered. It's a truly beautiful thing, at least for me anyway, when you watch a now classic show or movie that aired during your childhood in your adulthood without that nostalgia factor blinding your judgement. I didn't seriously start getting into anime until around the time that I was almost out read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 26, 2015
Eureka seven is a classc mecha anime, no this is a love story.The story clearly wasn't the major aspect of this but instead it was the relationship between eureka and renton.

Story 7: The story isn't the major part of this anime and has such it takes a back seat to the characters which can be frustrating.The story is good but it took way too long for it to be revealed.Throughout this anime there was no incline of where the story was going until episode 30 which is really not acceptable.30 episodes in before you even know what the story is about is a bit too read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 10, 2015
A futuristic mecha teenage love drama story with likeable characters and an excellent soundtrack without a manga to slow it down, here we go.

I remember watching this show every week, waiting for the big final at 50 episodes and it was one of my most enjoyable moments watching anime. A strange love between a human and a coralian with a mech robot that understands them as they have to face the challenges of different enemies that want them captured.

Renton is a somewhat dumb and brave boy that have a talent for flying the combat mech Nirvash, growing up with his grandfather in his repair hangar, read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 14, 2009
At first I was skeptical as to just how good this series would be and the 50 episode runtime was a bit daunting however I began watching anyway as it seemed the most interesting out of the series I have waiting. I can say that I definitely wasn't disappointed.

I'm sure you've read the synopsis so I won't be mentioning that here. The story moves quicker than what you would expect from such a long series and this is a good thing as it minimizes any time where it would seem to be boring. This is even more impressive when you realize that there read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 26, 2014
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

A common saying that people often hear is, "All is fair in love and war." Interpreted literally, what this phrase says is that there are no rules when it comes to the battlefield. That people will do whatever it takes to win, to obtain the ultimate prize: victory. In both circumstances, it's something that is quite difficult to achieve, but when it is, it's one of the sweetest, most exhilarating feelings in the world. To an extent, the tale of Eureka Seven is the manifestation of such an idea.


Eureka Seven begins with Renton Thurston being visited by two read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 18, 2013
Story: 8 - Sweeping and poignant, but fraught with several filler episodes and inconsistent pacing.
Characters: 10 - Dynamic and well-developed cast all-around. Flawed, but likable heroes as well as sympathetic and compelling antagonists.
Art: 8 - Fluid and emotive, but with a tendency to go off-model.
Sound: 9 - Fantastic use of music, memorable soundtrack, solid voice casting.
Enjoyment: 10 - A fun and emotional ride with surprising complexity and thematic resonance.

Full review:

Where do I even start with this? There’s just so much going on in this thing that it’s hard to organize my thoughts. Most stories tend to stick to one or two central read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Eureka Seven was the first anime that I ever binge-watched. For that reason, it will always hold a special place in my heart.

Now, on to the review! (which is, for the most part, spoiler-free)

The story is quite good. The anime is 50 episodes long so there are some lulls in the action. I would describe Eureka Seven as a love story that happens to have fighting robots. The main enjoyment (at least for me) comes from seeing the relationship between Renton and Eureka grow. You spend a lot of time inside Renton's head and, by the end of the series, he is one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 5, 2009
Eureka seveN is about saving the world! ...Eventually!!

STORY - A strange girl and her mecha enter Renton’s life one day. He quickly develops a crush on her and decides to leaves his home and stay with her by joining Gekkostate, a group of outlaws and his childhood heroes. Shenanigans follow. There are vague and unclear plot developments that happen in the background, but the actual story will not really start to manifest for another twenty or thirty episodes, and even then, it’s difficult to figure out what exactly anyone’s try to do, much less how they intend to do it. Eureka seveN has some of read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 3, 2009
“Eureka 7” is definitely an entertaining series even if not a great one. The artistry oozing from the animation, designs, and music may help you overlook the story’s schizophrenic inanity.

The show’s supreme craftsmanship provides the spoonful sugar for its less-than-tasty story. It’s easy to watch these fifty episodes when the characters and their world are as creative and eye-popping as “Eureka 7’s.” Bolstering the shows designs and animation is one of the best soundtracks to bless a show; most impressive is the music’s ability to capture each of the story’s emotions with a perfectly mellifluous track.

“Eureka 7” suffers mainly from an identity crisis that read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 21, 2014
This anime, is beautiful. Not just in animation or sound, but also in how the story and characters are laid out. However, each gem comes with it's own dents and scratches, and this is no different. Just a heads up that although I easily would give this anime a ten because of how amazing it made me feel at the end, I'm going to try my hardest to not be incredibly biased and point out flaws just like any other review.

First, lets start off with both a positive and a negative point. I found that for a lot of the time, many, many things read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 20, 2015
Nostalgia is the first thing that comes to mind when I think about Eureka Seven. I was about 17 when this Anime first dropped, and I had watched bits and pieces of it for about a year, never quite devoting myself enough to it until now. It took me about two months on and off to finish this series, but its 50 episodes flew by before I knew what had hit me. An enjoyable storyline with a great cast of characters offers Eureka Seven to be a great Anime for virtually any fan to enjoy.

I feel like the world of Eureka read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 11, 2015
I learned to speak Eureka as Aristotle said it: as Yoo-rhee-ka, not eh-oo-rae-ka. But then again, I'm just joking around. No matter how much I pretend to make fun of Eureka's name pronunciation, I will always love this anime from the bottom of my heart. As someone who watched the whole first season, I will give you a SPOILER. Not one on the story, but one on the music. The music is PHENOMENAL!!! Here is a link to one of the most amazing emotional anime ost you will ever hear. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BCZ64DxnrA

Seriously, just listen to it and concentrate it on only it. Stop reading this review read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 7, 2015
Eureka Seven is one of the most awful anime series I've ever had the displeasure of attempting to sit through. The show got so bad I actually had to stop about 60% of the way through and drop the anime. Don't get me wrong, every action scene of this series had incredible art and for the most part it kept me on the edge of my seat. The real problem here is the character development.. That's what ruined it for me. Not all the characters, but particularly in the case of the two main characters Renton and Eureka. The way the show's read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 16, 2013
So much unrealized potential. I began watching Eureka Seven on the basis of the many positive reviews here and elsewhere, but was gravely disappointed in what I experienced. There is indeed the foundation for a great work here, and there is within it some exceptional parts, but they are too few and far between to support a fifty-episode run.

My principle issue is certainly with the lead characters, nearly all of whom are more frequently frustrating to watch than endearing and spend far too much time whining and lazing about like some useless wretches. There are numerous secondary characters who are far more intriguing and read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 7, 2015
Well this is my first review in a while as well as watching an anime in pretty much 1-2 sittings. I haven't watched anime in a while but the introduction to this series was very gripping and interesting up until later into the show... but we'll talk about that later in review

So the premise of this story begins with a boy named Renton who has joined the group of his dreams the "GekkoState", and how he interacts with everyone on the ship especially a girl named Eureka.

The premise of this anime was a real rollercoaster ride for me. At first I really enjoyed it up read more
I found this review Helpful
May 26, 2015
After watching episode one, I thought this series was going to be only one more, generical and simple shounen, and I was considering not keep watching it... I can't tell how glad I'm for not having done that.
Eureka Seven is a show that introduces you into a complete different world where everything is new and unknown to you, and it manages magnificently the slow exploration of this beautiful world that transmits an inevitable sense of nostalgia and whereby you get more and more trapped into the plot, which might seem very shallow at first but it turns deeper and complex episode after episode, keeping you read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 24, 2015
A really nice work of anime storytelling. There are no less than 5 romantic subplots woven into the story -- two with love triangles. Add to that 3 or 4 rivalries, and you have an action packed drama that you won't be able to escape from until the last episode.

I liked the series mostly for the drama and character interactions. Because of the length of the series, you get to know all the characters of GekkoState pretty well, which was nice. You also get to know many of the other characters, including various villains, pretty well too. This is why read more
I found this review Helpful
May 11, 2015
Practically any review of "Eureka Seven" has to mention Evangelion. Evangelion is the notorious classic that was many people's introduction to anime, myself included. Eureka Seven has so many similarities, both are mecha sci-fi animes, of course, but nearly every Evangelion character has an obvious Eureka Seven counterpart, both in terms of age/gender and their basic character type. It is not surprising that many have dismissed Eureka Seven as a ripoff.

All of that said, I felt like there were meaningful differences. So many of the similarities are superficial, and end up feeling a lot different in Eureka Seven. In this anime, our hero joins a read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 31, 2007
Thankfully, Infinity (the first reviewer) posted a wonderfully analytic review of this anime already, so I can forebear myself to post another. Instead, I just want to reinforce his review with a few short comments on my part.

First of all, this anime is, without *any* reservation whatsoever, the best anime I have ever seen. The storyline is engrossing, the character development surpasses anything I have ever seen before (although, admittedly, I don't watch many pure dramas), the animation flows true and clear even through the most active fight scenes, and the sound is perfect.

The anime begins with this immature kid we see expressing his read more
I found this review Helpful