Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Eureka Seven


Alternative Titles

English: Eureka Seven
Synonyms: Koukyoushihen, Koukyou Shihen Eureka Seven, Eureka 7, Eureka Seven Psalms of Planets
Japanese: 交響詩篇エウレカセブン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 17, 2005 to Apr 2, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2005
Broadcast: Sundays at 07:00 (JST)
Studios: Bones
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.181 (scored by 113,049 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #169
Members: 259,262
Favorites: 7,271

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 25, 2007
infinity (All reviews)
- - - [ Eureka Seven :: Eps: 50 :: Rating: 9.9/10 ] - - -

- [ Intro ] -

While enduring one of my anime-deprivation periods, I saw Eureka Seven with a high rating. I said why not and proceeded to get all of its 50 episodes. I started watching it only recently, after going through Ergo Proxy. Upon opening the first episode, I went o_0 then 0_0 instantly! Eureka Seven has a great OP and accompanying music! This promised to be a great anime. I could not resist going on after seeing the first episode. I can say I went through the episodes like read more
Apr 14, 2009
MasterDLG (All reviews)
At first I was skeptical as to just how good this series would be and the 50 episode runtime was a bit daunting however I began watching anyway as it seemed the most interesting out of the series I have waiting. I can say that I definitely wasn't disappointed.

Story:
I'm sure you've read the synopsis so I won't be mentioning that here. The story moves quicker than what you would expect from such a long series and this is a good thing as it minimizes any time where it would seem to be boring. This is even more impressive when you realize that there read more
Apr 3, 2009
BarnacleBlister (All reviews)
“Eureka 7” is definitely an entertaining series even if not a great one. The artistry oozing from the animation, designs, and music may help you overlook the story’s schizophrenic inanity.

The show’s supreme craftsmanship provides the spoonful sugar for its less-than-tasty story. It’s easy to watch these fifty episodes when the characters and their world are as creative and eye-popping as “Eureka 7’s.” Bolstering the shows designs and animation is one of the best soundtracks to bless a show; most impressive is the music’s ability to capture each of the story’s emotions with a perfectly mellifluous track.

“Eureka 7” suffers mainly from an identity crisis that read more
Jul 5, 2009
kiriska (All reviews)
Eureka seveN is about saving the world! ...Eventually!!

STORY - A strange girl and her mecha enter Renton’s life one day. He quickly develops a crush on her and decides to leaves his home and stay with her by joining Gekkostate, a group of outlaws and his childhood heroes. Shenanigans follow. There are vague and unclear plot developments that happen in the background, but the actual story will not really start to manifest for another twenty or thirty episodes, and even then, it’s difficult to figure out what exactly anyone’s try to do, much less how they intend to do it. Eureka seveN has some of read more
Mar 31, 2007
Wyko (All reviews)
Thankfully, Infinity (the first reviewer) posted a wonderfully analytic review of this anime already, so I can forebear myself to post another. Instead, I just want to reinforce his review with a few short comments on my part.

First of all, this anime is, without *any* reservation whatsoever, the best anime I have ever seen. The storyline is engrossing, the character development surpasses anything I have ever seen before (although, admittedly, I don't watch many pure dramas), the animation flows true and clear even through the most active fight scenes, and the sound is perfect.

The anime begins with this immature kid we see expressing his read more
Jun 4, 2008
mango5snowy (All reviews)
This show was like a roller coaster (if you'll pardon the awful cliche). Up and down and unpredictable if it's your first time. When I say unpredictable, I hardly mean it in a good way. I enjoyed it in the beginning to some point (when I wasn't sleeping through it) but I was also annoyed by the basically completely unlikable cast (Renton, anyone?) Renton never EVER became anything good in my mind. He was obnoxious even when he grew a pair. Eureka was just too weak in my opinion. Whenever I liked or found a character interesting, they were either killed off or they would read more
Feb 26, 2016
Goukeban (All reviews)
Besides poking fun at Christianity, one genre that seems to be a writing gold mine for anime is the coming-of-age tale. Taking a character who is in their teens, a period where they start to shape themselves to soon ingress into adulthood, and make them face reality in its different shades up until they become completely rounded figures is a setup that offers a vast range of opportunities for writers. The deal is that, the main character being a kid or a pre-teen, you can make them as immature as you can get away without making the audience hate the little twerp and slowly improve read more
Nov 18, 2013
Redkrimson (All reviews)
Story: 8 - Sweeping and poignant, but fraught with several filler episodes and inconsistent pacing.
Characters: 10 - Dynamic and well-developed cast all-around. Flawed, but likable heroes as well as sympathetic and compelling antagonists.
Art: 8 - Fluid and emotive, but with a tendency to go off-model.
Sound: 9 - Fantastic use of music, memorable soundtrack, solid voice casting.
Enjoyment: 10 - A fun and emotional ride with surprising complexity and thematic resonance.

Full review:

Where do I even start with this? There’s just so much going on in this thing that it’s hard to organize my thoughts. Most stories tend to stick to one or two central read more
May 21, 2015
logicenthusiast (All reviews)
Nostalgia, I often find, is one of the greatest deciding factors of a person's enjoyment of something, and this doesn’t apply solely to anime watchers. Nowadays I will find myself more often than not going back and taking shows I used to enjoy at face value and realizing they weren't as great as I remembered. It's a truly beautiful thing, at least for me anyway, when you watch a now classic show or movie that aired during your childhood in your adulthood without that nostalgia factor blinding your judgement. I didn't seriously start getting into anime until around the time that I was almost out read more
Oct 3, 2008
Pleasedontfind (All reviews)
When I first started Eureka Seven I thought "Sweet he's like, surfing on AIR" but then I really got into it. I've never been a big fan of mecha, but this one wasn't just mecha, Eureka Seven had something for everyone. At first I thought Eureka was a little strange, a robot maybe, and Renton's whining got on my nerves, but I was really drawn in, because every episode made me wonder more and more what Eureka was, and what the Gekkostate's goal was. I had originally watched the first five or so episodes in Japanese, but I could actually handle the dub, which I read more
Dec 21, 2007
eddiefb3 (All reviews)
Never have I been so touched by an anime more then this one. The story is one of the best out there. It has plot twists and adventure, as well as sorrow and hate.

The characters develop immensely throughout the series. This isnt your average everyday anime. The characters grow up and they make mistakes and learn to deal with them. These characters are the most human I can ever imagine.

The music for this series is the best. All the background music is enjoyable and helps move the series along.

The acting is also very well on both Japanese and English sides.

This is the best anime I read more
Nov 26, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

A common saying that people often hear is, "All is fair in love and war." Interpreted literally, what this phrase says is that there are no rules when it comes to the battlefield. That people will do whatever it takes to win, to obtain the ultimate prize: victory. In both circumstances, it's something that is quite difficult to achieve, but when it is, it's one of the sweetest, most exhilarating feelings in the world. To an extent, the tale of Eureka Seven is the manifestation of such an idea.

STORY

Eureka Seven begins with Renton Thurston being visited by two read more
Mar 21, 2014
TokyoSanchez (All reviews)
This anime, is beautiful. Not just in animation or sound, but also in how the story and characters are laid out. However, each gem comes with it's own dents and scratches, and this is no different. Just a heads up that although I easily would give this anime a ten because of how amazing it made me feel at the end, I'm going to try my hardest to not be incredibly biased and point out flaws just like any other review.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Story:
First, lets start off with both a positive and a negative point. I found that for a lot of the time, many, many things read more
Sep 11, 2008
Sylenced1 (All reviews)
I would like to start off by saying Eureka Seven is hands down my all time favorite anime series. From beginning to end it managed to keep me glued to the computer screen without so much as a blink of the eye. Sure, I lost my eyesight after watching the series from beginning to end due to the lack of blinking, but all I can say is; worth it, totally worth it! This anime has everything you would want, and then some! Ranging from humor, to a love story, to action/adventure, and one of my favorite's; things that deepen the plot, leaving you with so read more
Oct 21, 2008
Prede (All reviews)
This could possibly be one of the best written anime series of all time. Dai Sato is defently one of the best screenwriters in all of Japan. Tomoki Kyoda is also a very talented director. With those two and people like Chiaki J. Konaka, and Sayo Yamamoto involved it's no wonder this anime is a success.


I started watching this anime on Adult Swim, from the day it first aired. It took a few episodes before I was hooked, but once they grabbed me, they never let go. So please give this series a shot. After it aired on Adult Swim I started buying read more
Mar 1, 2015
rikka_tan (All reviews)
Eureka Seven was the first anime that I ever binge-watched. For that reason, it will always hold a special place in my heart.

Now, on to the review! (which is, for the most part, spoiler-free)

The story is quite good. The anime is 50 episodes long so there are some lulls in the action. I would describe Eureka Seven as a love story that happens to have fighting robots. The main enjoyment (at least for me) comes from seeing the relationship between Renton and Eureka grow. You spend a lot of time inside Renton's head and, by the end of the series, he is one of the read more
Sep 1, 2009
ByakuyaKana (All reviews)
Alright, I've been looking forward to typing up this review ever since around the 25th episode. For me, Eureka Seven has been bouncing between, and around an 8-9 for the rating. But it really didn't take long AT ALL to make me change that score. It was in my "Plan to Watch" list for far too long as well. And deserved to be looked into a lot sooner. So, first, what I mean by this is, if you haven't seen Eureka Seven yet, DO NOT WAIT ANY LONGER. Especially if you absolutely love incredible love stories.

I'll start with story, I gave it a 10 read more
Jan 22, 2008
LilaJean247 (All reviews)
I wouldn't recommend thos for the shonen/mecha driven fans because it gets good until after 12 or 15 episodes then it just goes downhill from the there filled with fallen/raisin relationships between Renton/Eureka and Holland/Taho which it really gets irradiated when you want to see more action and less of the romance and the ending isnt so hot either so if you like shoujo and can tolerate the few action that's in there which isnt for long then this is for you if not then don't waste your time on this at all is completely dull after the action is all drawn out and all read more
Jul 16, 2013
JebekiSan (All reviews)
So much unrealized potential. I began watching Eureka Seven on the basis of the many positive reviews here and elsewhere, but was gravely disappointed in what I experienced. There is indeed the foundation for a great work here, and there is within it some exceptional parts, but they are too few and far between to support a fifty-episode run.

My principle issue is certainly with the lead characters, nearly all of whom are more frequently frustrating to watch than endearing and spend far too much time whining and lazing about like some useless wretches. There are numerous secondary characters who are far more intriguing and read more
Apr 8, 2007
fluffyanimals (All reviews)
*Notice: This review contains some spoilers. And a lot of this contains sarcasm, depending on the portion of the review you're reading. If you�re not prepared for either, stop reading. Also, if you haven't seen the series (or most of it) you probably won't understand a lot of what I'm talking about to be completely honest. Which is why I have that summed up below, but even that has a couple of references to scenes late into the series.

The first 25-30 episodes were an absolute bore for me (think slightly more enjoyable than the 9th level of Hell), but in the latter episodes there were read more