MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1667
Maoyuu Maou Yuusha

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha

Alternative Titles

English: Maoyu - Archenemy & Hero
Synonyms: Maoyu Maou Yusha
Japanese: まおゆう魔王勇者

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 5, 2013 to Mar 30, 2013
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 52462 users)
Ranked: #16672
Popularity: #269
Members: 101,479
Favorites: 313
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Aug 4, 2014
AvalonKnight
Fantasy isn't quite like it used to be nowadays, or at least it doesn't want to be. Tolkien-like stories of great heroes and their adventures in the world inspired by Medieval are considered old news; now fantasy likes to be dark, edgy and bitter, showing the "true rough nature" of the world. There are good examples of such "mature" fantasy, the Witcher, for example, much as I dislike its focus on angst over substance. Often, though, it just comes down to buckets of blood and a lot of sex scenes (yeah, so mature) with no depth to it.

This anime's take on modern fantasy and overall read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 4, 2014
GonWithARose
“Original and different yet wanting. A well-founded mythological world that reveals a very interesting concept and focus within it, but lacks that something to become something transcending”

REVIEW FREE OF SPOILERS!

-STORY: 7-
To set this show as just a typical adventure/fantasy anime would be a shortsighted description of it; after all, this show has more potential than just that. “MAOYUU…” grasps into things –more complex- such as politics and economics –although they are observed from a very basic and simplistic point of view and nothing more complicated, probably for the sake of the aimed viewers -. But let’s not get carried away, this show isn’t a masterpiece read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 29, 2013
Stellio
The problem with creating a historical anime is frequently similar to that of adapting a manga or video game: oftentimes, the author has to resort to filler or fan-service materials to clumsily meet the airing requirements for shows. However, an axiom that directors ought to familiarize themselves with is that quality is invariably better than quantity.

Thankfully, this inference only applies to certain aspects of Maoyuu Maou Yuusha, a recent adaptation of the original light novels under the same name.

Set in a time period of gruesome wars to political corruptions, Maoyuu depicts a fantasy world where humans and devils are fighting for the ultimate authority, while read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 2, 2013
sfk808
Maoyuu Maou Yuusha is one of those animes where although it is enjoyable to watch there seems to be too many issues to really give it a high recommendation. Maoyuu draws you into its grand plot and characters however they really fail to develop primarily due to it only being a 12 episode anime.

Set in a medieval fantasy world in which the human race and demon race are at war for territory and power, the story follows the human Hero and the female Demon King (They are simply referred to by these titles) who team together to solve the underlying reasons the war; read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 4, 2015
torrapamii
More Demon King anime, how unoriginal, right? Well, this one isn't that unoriginal considering the Demon King is a female and the story has medieval economics.

Story: 6/10

The story for me was basically that it started really good, but then dropped around the end. At first, I was going to rate the story around a 8, because I really liked it. The last 4 episodes bored me to the point that I would just go on my phone and scroll through Instagram or watch some other videos on my laptop. The negatives out of the way, even though the Demon King stories are kind of overused, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 21, 2014
Juky
From a simple perspective, the perspective of one who is simply watching for enjoyment, this anime isn't bad. There were moments that made me giggle, that made me think and analyze the ideas. However, looking deeper, this anime really isn't anything special. Like many others, it has potential, but ultimately failed to develop that.

The main idea of the story is interesting. The Demon King, the Hero, along with other companions such as the Head Maid and the Female Knight, try to change the world, a world currently plagued with poverty, corruption, war, through education, inventions and schemes. However, much of it is rushed through read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2014
punkertz
what a wonderful series

i have to say a fell in love with the "maou" in the first episode, she is beautiful, sexy, cute, nice and smart.(although this kind of female only exist in anime) the characters were beautifully drawn and the voice actress made her sound so sexy and cute.

the plot and storyline are really interesting, touching of agriculture and science with a twist in economics and politics. it doesn't concentrate a lot on "superpower" but the few fighting and battle scene are still exciting.

in this anime one of the plot about prolonging and creating war, which i think is happening in real life is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2014
budbadger
There's a somewhat infamous textbook that's used to teach Discrete Mathematics in some colleges called "Discrete Mathematics With Ducks". It sounds silly, but the premise is effective: if you pour raw information at a person it can bore or overwhelm them, but if you mask it in metaphor it can be a lot easier to understand.

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha is the "Discrete Mathematics With Ducks" of anime. It explains the importance of some really boring historical innovations like the use of potatoes and dual currency economics by making them elements in an engaging story. If you were reading a history book on the importance of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2013
kajia
The success of "Spice and Wolf" probably came as a surprise to most. Who'd have thought a dialogue-heavy fantasy anime about economics on the surface but powered by the chemistry between the lead characters underneath would sell, right? But sell it did, and someone must have extrapolated that there's a under-tapped market for such an anime, because the next thing you know, along comes "Maoyu Maou Yusha", a show so blatantly similar to "Spice and Wolf" (the fantasy settings, the economic lectures, moe heroine sporting ginger hair and unusual strength of character and intelligence, etc etc) that people immediately started labelling it "Spice and Wolf read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2013
Pariah695
Maoyuu has quite the little story. An anime spawned from 2chan, quite impressive if you ask me. Now I'm sure that I'm in a large group of people who decided to watch this show because it is like Spice & Wolf and made by the same team. If you're after something to fill the hole of season 3 of Spice & Wolf then this will not satisfy. It's far from a bad show, but it's not Spice & Wolf.

It's something different, it is middle age European, there are economics, but not like Spice & Wolf. The economics are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 29, 2013
Stark700
So begins the journey...

In any fantasy world, some beings just don't get along. Take for example, demons and humans. In order for two races to co-exist, they have to accept each others' values. Yet that dream is an overwhelming task to achieve because let's all face it, some things just don't mix well. It's been fifteen years since the war waged by the humans and demons have begun. After an awkward meeting and the revelation that the Demon King is in fact a female, the duo forms an alliance after some reluctant arguing. Hence, let the tale of a human male and demon female begin!

Mayou read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2013
mdz
It's a series that had potential, but ruined it by doing too much.

[mild spoilers pertaining to storyline progression and general point-of-view]

A third season of Spice and Wolf is perhaps the most desired adaptation among fans of the franchise. When announcement came through that a similar series, with similar staff members, was going to be released, fans were ecstatic. Unfortunately, it's not quite that simple to live up to the name of the predecessor, and it's even more difficult to satiate an entirely new crowd. Maoyū Maō Yūsha suffers from a variety of debilitating features that not only make it a shitty, half-assed 'successor', but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 2, 2013
Gan_HOPE326
I'll be short. I've gone into this show at first with great hopes. It was quite hyped and seemed the most original pick of the season. The very idea of a Demon King and a Hero signing an alliance to put an end to the reliance of the world's economy on eternal war was original and interesting. So what did go wrong?

Basically, everything.

The final result is a unique example of total blandness. This anime is, there's no other way to put it, boring. Horribly so. The characters are generic as they can be, starting with the Demon King, who's got bouncy boobs and is inexplicably read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 31, 2013
explicit707
Maoyuu Maou Yuusha has an interesting concept. It takes a look at economic and social issues during a medieval themed period, and it focuses on the "behind the scenes" sort of events. Again, it's an interesting concept, and at times I really liked it a lot. The ending was very disappointing, and it dropped my opinion of it dramatically. I simply want to warn that this story really doesn't have an ending and will most likely leave you expecting more (notice I didn't say wanting, but expecting). I did like this story (I figured I should say that much). I did look forward to it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 16, 2013
Potsuu
If you ever wondered why there are wars, how the economy goes, political corruptions, lust for power and alike. Then this anime would be for you. A Hero/Warrior made his way through the castle of the Demon lord to confront him. It turns out that the Demon lord was a woman, that needs the help of the hero to reach peace, prosperity, and independence of the people from the support of other countries, and to end pointless wars against the humans and demons.

Story: 10/10

The plot flow is just perfect. The actions of the characters to the plot is well planned. Hiding from the high officials, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 26, 2014
literaturenerd
Overview:

What happens when you take the writer, director, and voice actors from the beloved series Spice and Wolf and add executive meddling, fan pandering, and have it produced by Studio ARMS? You get...a massive disappointment.

Spoilers!

Story: 5/10

The human and demon worlds have been at war for 15 years, but the humans have gained the upper hand and an elite squad is sent deep into the demon world to assassinate the Demon King and end the war. However, for poorly explained reasons our main character, who is just named Hero, goes on ahead of his squad to undertake the assassination himself. When he arrives at the Demon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2013
Baldark
This is my first time writing a review for anything. So, wish me luck.

I wasn't sure what to think of this anime upon starting it. Even though the summary made it out to be pretty serious, there are splashes of comedy in many of the early episodes that some may think are out of place in regards to the overall tone, but I found these to be quite charming.

I found that this anime painted a good image of the world they lived in. It basically is the dark ages of Europe and it incorporates a lot of things from that time in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 30, 2013
Growler
Here we are at the end of another historically based series that focuses mainly on the same problem as the real world at that time. So when you watch this series you are more likely to encounter economic dilemmas that intend to solve or ruin people's lives. Whats the point you ask? well for us maybe there is none or maybe they just wanted to show us how hard it was living back then.

After this you have a nice romance story evolving on the background of a war that is not based on conquest but on survival. All these while adding various comedy scenes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 1, 2014
EquesX
Maoyuu Maou Yuusha truly was a masterpiece from start to finish. Unlike some of the previous animes I have seen, it seems like time progressed relatively fast in these twelve episodes.

Story & Characters: I really loved the story for this show. I don't want to reveal any spoilers, so I won't. xD The story moved along quite well, and I feel that the characters just made this show perfect. I loved their personalities, and I wish there was more to this show (I don't know anything about the manga, so I don't know if there would be enough material read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 16, 2013
LB_is_me
I've been wanting to watch this anime since it started but i don't enjoy waiting weekly for a episode so i put it off until it was finished but then still only recently watched it. I'm a big fan of anime with romance in it which put Maoyuu Maou Yuusha above plenty other anime that i want to watch but i felt really let down upon finishing it.

From the start, the first episode got me hooked and i put a little ending in my mind of how i would like it to turn or or what i expect it to turn out like. Even read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Advertising     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy