Ranked #1682

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha

Alternative Titles

English: Maoyu - Archenemy & Hero
Synonyms: Maoyu Maou Yusha
Japanese: まおゆう魔王勇者


Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 5, 2013 to Mar 30, 2013
Premiered: Winter 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.451 (scored by 63,500 users)
Ranked: #16822
Popularity: #271
Members: 124,145
Favorites: 402
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Aug 8, 2015
Maoyuu was a great anime, at least the first episode and not because i didn't get the story, i got the story and i found it refreshing and really relatable to real life, but is because this promise you that there will be romance, but the romance only existed the first 3 or 4 episodes and it was a light romance, this anime was perfect to be romantic but they wasted the oportunity and the story was rushed and can be confusing for a lot of people.

The story was great, is in fact a little complicated if you don't pay attention or else you will read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 29, 2013
The problem with creating a historical anime is frequently similar to that of adapting a manga or video game: oftentimes, the author has to resort to filler or fan-service materials to clumsily meet the airing requirements for shows. However, an axiom that directors ought to familiarize themselves with is that quality is invariably better than quantity.

Thankfully, this inference only applies to certain aspects of Maoyuu Maou Yuusha, a recent adaptation of the original light novels under the same name.

Set in a time period of gruesome wars to political corruptions, Maoyuu depicts a fantasy world where humans and devils are fighting for the ultimate authority, while read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 11, 2015
Spoilers: Minimal (a "little" lengthier than usual)

It goes without saying that life seems more enjoyable when those around you share similar traits, but more importantly, Interests. In anime, many shows of whichever genre they derive from are often formulaic; many of which the stories of each share common and highly similar premises and themes. Unfortunately, this tires many dedicated fans of such genres and leads to a "I've seen this all happen before.." Kind of situation when watching or reading one such story.

Maoyuu Maou Yuusha appears to be no more than your typical "fantasy" taking place in medieval-ish times with a few hints of modern read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 4, 2014
Fantasy isn't quite like it used to be nowadays, or at least it doesn't want to be. Tolkien-like stories of great heroes and their adventures in the world inspired by Medieval are considered old news; now fantasy likes to be dark, edgy and bitter, showing the "true rough nature" of the world. There are good examples of such "mature" fantasy, the Witcher, for example, much as I dislike its focus on angst over substance. Often, though, it just comes down to buckets of blood and a lot of sex scenes (yeah, so mature) with no depth to it.

This anime's take on modern fantasy and overall read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 29, 2013
So begins the journey...

In any fantasy world, some beings just don't get along. Take for example, demons and humans. In order for two races to co-exist, they have to accept each others' values. Yet that dream is an overwhelming task to achieve because let's all face it, some things just don't mix well. It's been fifteen years since the war waged by the humans and demons have begun. After an awkward meeting and the revelation that the Demon King is in fact a female, the duo forms an alliance after some reluctant arguing. Hence, let the tale of a human male and demon female begin!

Mayou read more
I found this review Helpful
May 3, 2015

What happens when you take the writer, director, and voice actors from the beloved series Spice and Wolf and add executive meddling, fan pandering, and have it produced by Studio ARMS? You get...a massive disappointment.

Warning Spoilers!!!

Story: 5/10

The human and demon worlds have been at war for 15 years, but the humans have gained the upper hand and an elite squad is sent deep into the demon world to assassinate the Demon King and end the war. However, for poorly explained reasons our main character, who is just named Hero, goes on ahead of his squad to undertake the assassination himself. When he arrives at the read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 4, 2014
“Original and different yet wanting. A well-founded mythological world that reveals a very interesting concept and focus within it, but lacks that something to become something transcending”


-STORY: 7-
To set this show as just a typical adventure/fantasy anime would be a shortsighted description of it; after all, this show has more potential than just that. “MAOYUU…” grasps into things –more complex- such as politics and economics –although they are observed from a very basic and simplistic point of view and nothing more complicated, probably for the sake of the aimed viewers -. But let’s not get carried away, this show isn’t a masterpiece read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 30, 2013
The success of "Spice and Wolf" probably came as a surprise to most. Who'd have thought a dialogue-heavy fantasy anime about economics on the surface but powered by the chemistry between the lead characters underneath would sell, right? But sell it did, and someone must have extrapolated that there's a under-tapped market for such an anime, because the next thing you know, along comes "Maoyu Maou Yusha", a show so blatantly similar to "Spice and Wolf" (the fantasy settings, the economic lectures, moe heroine sporting ginger hair and unusual strength of character and intelligence, etc etc) that people immediately started labelling it "Spice and Wolf read more
I found this review Helpful
May 10, 2015
In 'Spice and Wolf' many people try to rip-off Holo and Lawrence, but it inevitably backfires because they aren't as clever as they like to think. 'Maoyuu Maou Yuusha' failed to learn this lesson and tried to do just that... with the exact same result. Inferior to 'Spice and Wolf' in every way, and not even decent on its own, I dropped this badly written wannabe like a hot potato. Stupid potato.

'Maoyuu Maou Yuusha' can be legally steamed on Crunchyroll and the DVDs can be purchased from Sentai Filmworks.


If medieval economics can create a cult hit, why not medieval agriculture? Well, first you have read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 2, 2013
Maoyuu Maou Yuusha is one of those animes where although it is enjoyable to watch there seems to be too many issues to really give it a high recommendation. Maoyuu draws you into its grand plot and characters however they really fail to develop primarily due to it only being a 12 episode anime.

Set in a medieval fantasy world in which the human race and demon race are at war for territory and power, the story follows the human Hero and the female Demon King (They are simply referred to by these titles) who team together to solve the underlying reasons the war; read more
I found this review Helpful
May 2, 2015
Okay, about this anime, first story is good, it has some kind of an unique vibe that wants you to open the next episode after every episode, it's also kind of role-switched, hero the one who should be doing good is the one who goes around and fights with others meanwhile the demon who should be doing the greater harm is actually teaching and helping the society.

Art is good, you cannot ask better, personally nothing bothered me about this art style or so. Newer style if you are looking for something old school like older anime art then you are not obviously going to find read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 13, 2013
This season seemed to lack a lot of luster for me till i saw the picture for this anime that stirred my curiosity. After watching the first half of this anime i already know where it intends to go and i can see the increase and quality every episode.

The Characters of this anime are all uniquely set in there role and Given names to reflect that. (Eg. Knight,Hero,Mage) I enjoy this method of naming cause it makes everyone really easy to remember and there role apparent from the start. It does away with a lot of formality by establishing the characters early. Then the show read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 9, 2013
Maoyuu has quite the little story. An anime spawned from 2chan, quite impressive if you ask me. Now I'm sure that I'm in a large group of people who decided to watch this show because it is like Spice & Wolf and made by the same team. If you're after something to fill the hole of season 3 of Spice & Wolf then this will not satisfy. It's far from a bad show, but it's not Spice & Wolf.

It's something different, it is middle age European, there are economics, but not like Spice & Wolf. The economics are read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2013
If you ever wondered why there are wars, how the economy goes, political corruptions, lust for power and alike. Then this anime would be for you. A Hero/Warrior made his way through the castle of the Demon lord to confront him. It turns out that the Demon lord was a woman, that needs the help of the hero to reach peace, prosperity, and independence of the people from the support of other countries, and to end pointless wars against the humans and demons.

Story: 10/10

The plot flow is just perfect. The actions of the characters to the plot is well planned. Hiding from the high officials, read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 4, 2015
More Demon King anime, how unoriginal, right? Well, this one isn't that unoriginal considering the Demon King is a female and the story has medieval economics.

Story: 6/10

The story for me was basically that it started really good, but then dropped around the end. At first, I was going to rate the story around a 8, because I really liked it. The last 4 episodes bored me to the point that I would just go on my phone and scroll through Instagram or watch some other videos on my laptop. The negatives out of the way, even though the Demon King stories are kind of overused, read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 28, 2014
what a wonderful series

i have to say a fell in love with the "maou" in the first episode, she is beautiful, sexy, cute, nice and smart.(although this kind of female only exist in anime) the characters were beautifully drawn and the voice actress made her sound so sexy and cute.

the plot and storyline are really interesting, touching of agriculture and science with a twist in economics and politics. it doesn't concentrate a lot on "superpower" but the few fighting and battle scene are still exciting.

in this anime one of the plot about prolonging and creating war, which i think is happening in real life is read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2013
(based on 7/12 episodes, show still airing)

"After a long and treacherous journey, our Hero finally arrives at the Demon Queen's castle only to find himself being asked for help. Queen explains to the Hero that actual war between Demons and Humans is beneficial for both factions, since it boosted economy, banded humanity together against common foe, improved society overall ... furthermore, ending the war is not a option as at their current situation it would cause more damage and suffering than actual war ever caused. So Hero accepts Queens proposal to assist with her grand plans how to prepare world for it's better future..."

This show read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 7, 2013
It's a series that had potential, but ruined it by doing too much.

[mild spoilers pertaining to storyline progression and general point-of-view]

A third season of Spice and Wolf is perhaps the most desired adaptation among fans of the franchise. When announcement came through that a similar series, with similar staff members, was going to be released, fans were ecstatic. Unfortunately, it's not quite that simple to live up to the name of the predecessor, and it's even more difficult to satiate an entirely new crowd. Maoyū Maō Yūsha suffers from a variety of debilitating features that not only make it a shitty, half-assed 'successor', but read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 18, 2013
Story about the hero who kills the demon king is become classic or maybe mainstream story for all of us, Usually we see this concepts in video games or maybe films. but what if the hero become a partner with demon king itself for the peace of the world?

A short explanation above is maybe enough to describe what this anime about, but if you think this anime was like any adventure romance anime, then you're totally wrong. The story from this anime itself is kinda complex for some people. why? this anime was not about slash-and-kill or lovey-dovey things (its not like SAO), but its read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 30, 2013
Here we are at the end of another historically based series that focuses mainly on the same problem as the real world at that time. So when you watch this series you are more likely to encounter economic dilemmas that intend to solve or ruin people's lives. Whats the point you ask? well for us maybe there is none or maybe they just wanted to show us how hard it was living back then.

After this you have a nice romance story evolving on the background of a war that is not based on conquest but on survival. All these while adding various comedy scenes read more
I found this review Helpful