Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Goblin Slayer

Goblin Slayer

Alternative Titles

English: Goblin Slayer
Japanese: ゴブリンスレイヤー

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: May 25, 2016 to ?
Authors: Kurose, Kousuke (Art), Kagyuu, Kumo (Story)
Serialization: Big Gangan

Statistics

Score: 8.021 (scored by 16954 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9622
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #135
Members: 45,528
Favorites: 1,384

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Mar 3, 2018
Mapplesauce (All reviews)
Goblin Slayer is kinda entertaining. It's not entertaining because it has a compelling plot, or any deep themes, or any multi-faceted characters (dear god no). In fact, it lacks any depth whatsoever and can be aptly described by its title.

It's a manga about a dude killing goblins. That's it.

There are goblins in this established fantasy world, and they wreak havoc every day by pillaging villages and raping women. This actually happens on a daily basis, but because there are worse problems in the world (problems which are never elaborated on) and because the rewards for killing goblins are too meager, most higher leveled adventurers read more
Oct 12, 2016
reinbowrie0722 (All reviews)
*Warning : May contain some minor spoilers...
Who am I kidding, this manga is awesome, just read it*

Story : 8
While the manga is fairly new and fresh, the story is progressively getting better with new side-characters with believable motives , relatable personality and overall looking very promising. To be fair, the first few chapters so far wasn't much for advancing the plot, but take it with a grain of salt since I consider these chapters a Prologue for grand up-coming story waiting to be told. While the manga may appear edgy at first glance , the author did a good job portraying how difficult read more
Dec 28, 2017
urexbf_fromhome (All reviews)
'Goblin's killed my family!' Oh great motivation dude, really inventive.

Faux-edgy rubbish with no heart or drive. It's obviously going for a D&D universe of adventurer types without names pottering about doing general quests right? So the hook is there's a really powerful adventurer who only does the lower level missions. This is a weak set up already, not really unique but who cares Berserk started with a lame set up and developed into the greatest manga of all time so whatever.

However, Berserk took time to reveal the protagonist's motivations and gave it a huge amount of power via the narrative. Goblin Slayer's is literally read more
Jul 14, 2017
PlotLover (All reviews)
Goblins.

The basic mob 99% of fantasy writers/game publishers brush over.
Being able to write an engaging plot about that is a plus in itself.

But what sets it apart, is being able to provide multiple perspectives and consistent pacing to the world of the goblin slayer.

If you are afraid of gore and dark sexualised depiction of the fantasy genre then this manga isn't for it.

What is it is a semi-realistic story of what life would be like if the average person like you and I were to live in the popular generic fantasy RPG world, as we watch various protagonists share their harsh realities of living in read more
Jun 15, 2017
Thoswey (All reviews)
Mark my words, this manga is going to be big in due time. Unfortunately, as a monthly manga, that may take a while. For now enjoy this mostly spoiler-free review and decide for yourself whether this is worthy of your time. The spoilers you find in my review are from chapter 1 and 2 to give examples of the setting.

Story: 7
As the synopsis said, the story unfolds with a shy young girl - a priestess - who wants to become an adventurer, deciding she should help those in need. Applying in a lobby of sorts between all kinds of typical rpg characters (witches, shamans, berserkers, read more
Oct 17, 2018
RanRa45 (All reviews)
Honestly, Goblin Slayer does not impress me one bit into what it is looking to achieve, and I understand that a lot of people would buy it and praise Goblin Slayer, but I'm not one of those people.


Story: 1/10.

The story is not complicated, and the characters get as much depth as their names, which is none. Like many reviews have said before mine, this story will just follow the revenge story of one dude that "specializes" in killing goblins. His revenge path is justified, but what it isn't is the fact that he is the only one out of all the villagers to react read more
Oct 12, 2018
razlaz (All reviews)
Disclaimer: I want you to enjoy Goblin Slayer without any influence from any outside source, but also keep in mind that the series isn't immune to criticism and despite the grandiose complaints which many quickly shrug off, those complaints are there for a reason.

STORY: 4/10
Goblin Slayer's strengths are held back by its tendency to leave holes, the so-and-so fight scenes and characters which don't really garner much interest aside from occasional good writing hiccups. It gets a lot of praise for being "realistic" and "gritty" but it doesn't really function well as anything other than a Tabletop RPG session. Adding in snuff and rape doesn't read more
Jan 22, 2018
Showatt (All reviews)
"Robert Neville looked out over the new people of the earth. He knew he did not belong to them; he knew that, like the vampires, he was anathema and black terror to be destroyed. And, abruptly, the concept came, amusing to him even in his pain. ... Full circle. A new terror born in death, a new superstition entering the unassailable fortress of forever." - I am legend, Richard Matheson

Demon Lords are taking over the world. His generals spread across the lands. Countless heroes are being summoned to fight against the ruthless demon horde. Who can defeat those epic monsters? Who will slay the read more
Sep 27, 2017
FrenZato (All reviews)
*WARNING - this review may contain some spoilers*
"Goblins aren't smart creatures, but they aren't dumb creatures either. This is a common mistake to beginners, since they think too lowly of this creature, and soon enough they all got killed by the creature they think lowly off."
- The Goblin Slayer

Story : 9
The story is very promising since it's just been 16 chapters, it basically a really F-cked up manga that makes goblins as this really F-cked up creatures. Different then any manga or game we used to play, goblins used to be minor preys that beginners could took out easily. However in this manga, goblins read more
May 14, 2018
Dedal12 (All reviews)
I can be good manga, with interesing story. But .... rape, rape and more rape. This manga will be much better without rape. I can't read this, becouse it is too brutal because of this. I don't have problem with blood and brutal fight. Some people like this manga and think it must be brutal in this way to show how brutal goblins are, but not me. Characters are good, plot also. But I am disappointed. I thought it will be like Hai to Gensou no Grimgar but more brutal. It is more like berserk. If someone like reading about beautyful women with are rape read more
Nov 18, 2018
OG_Guts (All reviews)
“Goblin Slayer is a masterpiece!”. “It’s a good alternative to other dark fantasy manga like Berserk and gets too much hate for being ‘edgy’ or the rape scenes”.

I kid you not, these are the type of comments that were circling around anytime someone mentioned GS.
I have to say, as someone who’s not like the ‘snowflakes’ who write off GS because of the rape scene, once I read the manga I found it to be underwhelming, and there to be more glaring problems to focus my attention on.

Story (5/10):
Goblin Slayer is about a adventurer who witnessed Goblins kill everyone in his village as a boy read more
Oct 13, 2018
DMTfree (All reviews)
Overall.
Its the blandest manga I have ever read or heard of.
This manga is a joke that proves we are in a simulation were bizarre events like this can happen. We live in a simulation that people can enjoy Goblin Slayer.

Story.
The story is complete shit and has nothing to add to your intellectual being. It doesn't present any deeper themes. It just is going around killing goblins with a few overlying arcs.

Art
The art is not bad, but it's not good. I mean it's your standard manga art style.

Characters

These are the blandest characters I have ever seen in all of my manga adventures. It seems like they read more
May 17, 2018
interitio69 (All reviews)
other than the mc being baddass, the story is quiet meh.

I haven't read the novel yet but I assume the goblin thing will get old after a while. If there was a website that provided character templates for isekai stories I assume the author would have used it. All in all everything was average to below average except the priestess. Her being a beginner and utterly useless in combat makes you wonder why she is hanging out with a pragmatic veteran specialist who would clearly be better off without having to protect her. I think shes only there to soften the mc read more
Oct 27, 2017
Damned_One (All reviews)
My first review and i'm not native speaker, so i apologize in advance.

Goblin Slayer is another fantasy manga with adventureres, monsters and world-wide threat... except the latter almost does not appear. We follow the story titular hero, who has more than enough of reason to dedicate himself to slaying goblins.

Story: 7/10

As far story goes, it is rather standard one - MC goes on adventures and slays monsters. However, the way everything is presented (more on that in Enjoyment part) sets it from many similar titles. Still, the story is only starting to get serious, which i think is a good think, but it may disappoint read more
Nov 29, 2018
MusicaX79 (All reviews)
Okay the issue I have with this story is the amount of continuity errors the story has. There are multiple points in the story where an issue is brought up and they explain that they have to hinder themselves by doing X thing to solve Y problem. Only for then a chapter or two latter or the next volume the logic to be undermined.

The best example I have which is the reason a lot of people think the main character is "cool" is the fact he uses rundown garbage gear. Latter it's shown that it's not run down just that he buys the worst read more
Aug 12, 2018
Zecis (All reviews)
26 chapters have been released since this review.

Story 7/10 -
The narrative mostly progresses like a game. Goblin Slayer gets a quest to kill goblins, saves people, and the cycle repeats. There's plenty of action, plenty of gore, and plenty of other characters that join the main protagonist. The story does get kind of repetitive since there isn't much variety. It's pretty much the quests get harder and harder and newer types of goblins are revealed. A bit of rape is also included, not for anyone's fetishes, but to indicate the cruel and merciless actions of goblins. I hope the story gets more interesting or read more
Jan 29, 2019
BlurSong2 (All reviews)
This a general brush of the main plot of the series and its direction thus far:
The catatonic and autistic protagonist who lives in a Dungeons and Dragons (which I know almost nothing about) style medieval esthetic universe suffered a horrible loss of family and friends when he was a kid at his village by the hands of one of the vilest creatures this universe established the green skin pointy nose lizard eyes goblins who will survive and reproduce by any means and are disgustingly evil and sadistic. From this trauma and hate that he bears he vows to himself that he will become the read more