Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hana yori Dango

Hana yori Dango

Alternative Titles

English: Boys Over Flowers
Synonyms: HYD, Boys Over Flowers: Jewelry Box, End of the Century
Japanese: 花より男子

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 37
Chapters: 244
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 1992 to Apr 2008
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo
Authors: Kamio, Yoko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Margaret

Statistics

Score: 8.101 (scored by 90789,078 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7512
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #450
Members: 18,981
Favorites: 1,146

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 5, 2008
leviathanscales (All reviews)
Preliminary
I read this after I watched the drama, and having watched the drama - which I liked a lot - I didn't think the manga would be as good.

My expectations were blown away; the manga is absolutely fantastic, and despite its age compared to the newer dramas, the newer films etc... it still shines. The characters are absolutely fantastic - Kamio Yoko managed to turn around the high school genre on its head, and managed to produce a female teenage protagonist that actually WORKED. She was a brilliant character, with her own flaws, and her own strengths, and is definitely a character I and others read more
May 9, 2013
lady_ribbon (All reviews)
Hana Yori Dango (Boys Over Flowers) is a excellent example of why not all things popular are good. (In fact, they're usually the furthest thing away from being good).

Hana Yori Dango is long running manga considered to be the cream of the crop of Shoujo series in Japan. It has spawned several TV dramas in different countries, an anime series and three movies, one of which is an anime. It's story is very well known in many Asian countries, and is very much beloved and popular as well.

It is also the best selling Shoujo manga of all time in Japan, having sold 54 million read more
Mar 22, 2009
Lint (All reviews)
Preliminary
At 37 volumes, Hana Yori Dango first seemed like a daunting read for a strictly-shoujo-reader such as myself. However, I won’t hesitate to say that the length of the series plays to its strength. I don’t think that the manga would have had such an emotional resonance if it had been a short series.

Starting out, HYD is very much like your typical shoujo. It features this seemingly meek heroine who, in fact, is much tougher than her exterior suggests. I would daresay that it’s Makino Tsukushi that really keeps the manga afloat for some of the early volumes.

At times it felt like much of a read more
May 25, 2013
Eitoku (All reviews)
Hana Yori Dango is the first shoujo manga I read, therefore it always hold a special place for me. If you have seen the anime or any of its drama adaptations, you should definitely check out this manga as well.

In the times when feminism is yet to conquer Japan, Makino Tsukushi (the heroine) retaliates against the F4's bullying. Yes, I'm aware that she doesn't have the fighting skills of Wonder Woman but what makes her strong is the strength of her spirit. She's spunky, independent, hard-working, refuses to be a subject of social humiliation and stands up for what she believes is right - traits read more
Aug 12, 2008
purplelover813 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, what can i say i didn't first read the manga i watched the anime then the live-action show then i thought you know what i'm going to read the manga. It is like the anime but more detailed stuff.
At first i wasn't really going to read it since i had watched the anime but now i'm glad that i read the manga also. What i liked about this manga was that the story line was different from your typical boy meets girl and they fall in love.In this manga you will find many different things love triangles, fights,some things make you sad, other read more
Aug 14, 2011
kaedesumire (All reviews)
What can I say? I absolutely adore this manga. I love it so much that I decided to write my first review for it.

I should start by saying that in order to read Hana Yori Dango, I feel like I had to overcome a few crucial things.

First: the art: I'm a stickler for pretty drawn manga (I'm shallow, hah), so when I first saw HYD, i was skeptical. It was a bit dated, with the characters all looking kind of...heavy? But the story was so funny and so engaging, that I kept going.

Second: the shoujo "cliches". Yeah, they are to be expected of read more
Nov 6, 2010
vicky27_1 (All reviews)
To be honest, I was really expecting more out of this manga. I had heard so much ranting and raving from the readers, but the art was very disturbing (epecially domouji's hairy) and the story was shallow. It's hard to explain, but i felt as if the characters were being developed too quickly, and there were too many problems all piled up at once.

The japanese show turned me on more than this manga did
Jun 26, 2009
animexluvr (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first was recommended this manga, I thought to myself "Wow...why would anyone want to read this story? For one thing, it's too long. And for another thing, one of the guys in it has the weirdest-looking hair I've ever seen in a shoujo manga." However, I would soon find out that I would have to eat my words.
Hana Yori Dango is by far the best manga I have EVER read, and believe me, I read tons of shoujo manga. The storyline is typical, but the characters are so unique. Here's a girl, Tsukushi, who isn't afraid to say what she feels. She isn't read more
Apr 9, 2011
zybactik (All reviews)
Don't underestimate old manga!
I myself avoided it, because it seemed so old fashioned and out-of-date.
First several chapters, if you are not accustomed to the old style, you'll feel almost disgusted. Save your dissatisfaction for the later to be completely swept away. I don't remember the point when I got hooked on this manga. Tell you one thing. After reading it I reread it two months later. Even with more pleasure.
One of the strongest points of this series is a very composed and consistent development of characters.
Story----> 10:
May seem quite ordinary due to the pattern setting, of a girl falling for her savior. However this manga read more
Mar 30, 2009
KoizumiAyumu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I entered this manga having little to no experience in involvement in a long-term series. Before finishing Hana Yori Dango, the longest series I had ever finished was Hana-Kimi with twenty three volumes. Hana Yori Dango, or Boys Over Flowers as it is known in the U.S., is a shojo manga by Yoko Kamio, who mostly had small works published in the weekly shojo magazine Margaret prior to HYD. The thirty-six volumes of HYD show Kamio's eleven year progression with the series, beginning with the transformation in artwork early on to the development of her characters, which began unfocused and one-dimensional to relatable and understandable. read more
Aug 14, 2013
raichuzeyou (All reviews)
I tend to stay away from long mangas, just because of the time consumption. After realizing that I had limited options left within my comfort range, I decided to pick up HYD. To my surprise, it was a quick read, but not in the sense that it was lacking plot. The character development was fantastic in all the characters, which is something you don't always see in a shoujo manga. I was thoroughly impressed with the constant pace and overall plot. Basically, I would recommend this manga to anyone, because it fits most manga cravings. I plan to watch the drama next!
Jan 10, 2020
TIIC123 (All reviews)
Hana Yori Dango, or Hanadan, as I call it, may seem like a stereotypical shōjo manga, UNTIL you realise it set half the stereotypes followed by shoutouts manga today. It is internationally famous and has spawned countless dramas in different parts of Asia and also has an anime adaptation. This, right here is what started it all.

Story- 10
This manga follows the story of Makino Tsukushi, a middle class girl going to a school for rich people. All she wants to do is fit in and graduate, but then enter the F4, the group of popular and rich boys in the school. They are well read more
Feb 28, 2010
Akachi_Tem (All reviews)
I'm so happy to finally write a review on this one!

I started it last week and finished it at the end of it(this Friday).All I have and want to say is that it's a magnificent manga.If you haven't read it then you should.Sure it might like a bit old but don't let it fool you.I too was fooled.I would have read it earlier but the cover just wouldn't inspire me enough to do so.I had come across this title many times but always thought it was not worth it,until a decided to try it a few days ago.After all I didn't have anything to lose,right?
It read more
Jan 2, 2014
Laurielaurs (All reviews)
I really liked this manga but it got a little bit annoying. What was probably the most annoying thing for me was that almost EVERY guy liked her. I mean seriously? Yeah, obviously most mangas aren't that realistic, but this is going a bit too far.

Although I liked the main female protagonist, she could be a bit annoying.

"Do I like him?"
"I don't like him!"
"I do like him!"
"I don't like him!"
"Wait...I'm not sure"
I swear it felt like she was confused about her feelings for more than half of the manga.

All in all though, this is a great read.

I really liked the main male read more
May 18, 2010
tailsy20 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hana Yori Dango is probably the most perfect shojo manga and anime series ever created haha! I read the manga series first and was immediately addicted to the crazy drama and romance. It is by far the manga that is closest to my heart and I think if anyone is a shojo-lover (like me
Mar 28, 2018
conquerwithin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ugh I am so disgusted beyond belief. I could not believe a manga of this popularity and seemingly the "classics" of manga, anime, and dramas was such a flop. This was probably the rise for the cliche tropes we see in the other shoujo mangas today. In the first few chapters you think the MC will be a strong, stubborn woman who doesn't take shit from no one. THE ONLY THING SHE IS IS STUBBORNLY STUPID (as well as everyone around her). Not only does she pine after this guy who walks all over her, she forgives others for almost FUCKING RAPING HER. This manga read more
Apr 24, 2017
2Blover3000 (All reviews)
This is my first review and not intended to be a review but a way to express my burning hatred for this series:

NOTHING happens in this godforsaken manga. All we get to see is the genuinely wonderful and likeable people that Makino COULD'VE ended up with but of course, she had to be with the arrogant, selfish, egocentric brat that had NO reedeeming qualities which the other characters try to explain why the way he is with wishy washy garbage. I just LOOOVEE boys who causes everyone in school to bully and humiliate me in public. nearly rape me and walk away when I'm being read more
Jun 11, 2009
BlackRose067 (All reviews)
Preliminary
For me, the way that the artist draws is very important. In the begining, the characters are drawn very, very bad. The f4 (which is what the hotest guys around call themselves) are drawn very akwardly, well just plain horrible to put it bluntly! But I got over thr drawings and later on they slowley changed and stared looking actually cute.
I really did like the story, it had drama, romance scenes that make you saw, "aww!" and it just makes you smile. I wished the ending was more of a happier union but it was still good.
read more
Aug 15, 2009
NerdyNinja (All reviews)
Preliminary
At the beginning of the manga, u think the art looks lame, but later on it gets better 100%! The story line is great. This is hilarious. The characters are great. Definitely a must read for shoujo/romance manga-lovers. This is my favorite. At times u may get annoyed by mixed feelings like yelling "OH SHUT UP! Just go with it!" but we all have those moments while reading manga. This is just fantastic/cute/funny/lovely.
Dec 28, 2015
Anondesuu (All reviews)
Hana yori Dango or "Boys over flowers" is one of the best selling shoujo manga of all time in Japan. It's simple, predictable and to be honest there's nothing new to find for a veteran shoujo reader, yet it's highly enjoyable and to be honest quite well deserved of its popularity.

There's nothing that puts HyD above others in the same category because it really is your typical shoujo manga - poor girl enrolls in a rich high school and accidentally makes the richest guy in school her enemy. Thus her quiet life makes a 360 turn and rich guy also realizes that "oh she's different read more