Umibe no Étranger
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Umibe no Étranger

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Étranger de la plage, Seaside stranger, Umibe no Etranger
Japanese: 海辺のエトランゼ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: 4
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 25, 2013 to Apr 25, 2014
Genres: Boys Love Boys Love, Romance Romance, Slice of Life Slice of Life, Erotica Erotica
Serialization: onBLUE
Authors: Kii, Kanna (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 1064210,642 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: N/A2
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #530
Members: 24,196
Favorites: 712

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2020
hanafleur (All reviews)
[Contains Minor Spoilers]

I went into this with high expectations, thinking it seemed like a promising Shounen Ai story that would actually focus on a realistic depiction of a intimate relationship between two fairly ordinary boys. My disappointment may have been partially the fault of my own high expectations, but nevertheless, "Umibe no Étranger" turned out to be a surprisingly frustrating read. I will try to give a good amount of objective criticism, but I will also be including subjective opinion in the "Enjoyment" section.

Story (6/10)
Despite having a rather simplistic concept, it actually seemed somewhat promising at the start. It initially felt like the story was read more
Jul 7, 2016
Komorebi_Aka42 (All reviews)
(Minor Spoilers in this review)
I'm not sure why there hasn't been a review for this series yet, but I decided I would go ahead and be the first to do so. (It's been a while since I've reviewed anything in depth, so bear with me!)

Umibe no Etranger (or Seaside Stranger) is not one of those yaoi stories where they fall in love immediately and then it's just sex, something happens, then more sex. Umibe no Etranger maturely covers issues such as loss, loneliness, and isolation while still managing to be pretty light-hearted and beautiful (seriously, the art is gorgeous).

Story (7/10):
While the story isn't read more
Sep 5, 2021
abystoma2 (All reviews)
Umibe no Etranger is a BL that does not fetishize gays. To those not that familiar with the genre this statement much not be telling much, but let me tell you that there’s just a few BLs that successfully don’t do that, even if they try not to. And most don’t even try at all. The characters feel like actual people having actual feelings instead of the usual “we’re all gay because the plot said so”. That’s not to say that Etranger doesn’t have any sexual content at all, but even that is more realistic and believable than the common “yamete kudasai senpai” bullshittery.

Now, read more
Jan 29, 2017
Marshee (All reviews)
Three years ago, Hashimoto Shun, a gay novelist in the making, met Chibana Mio, a very quiet high school student, in Okinawa. Mio had lost both of his two parents and was often seen sitting on a bench until very late, watching the sea, near Shun's house. They slowly grew closer to one another, but Mio suddenly had to leave the island, to pursue his studies...

Three years later, Mio returns to Okinawa: "I've been thinking a lot these last three years... Even if he's a man too, I love Shun."

Will these two finally be able to take a step forward together?
---------

My favorite shounen ai/ yaoi read more
Jan 8, 2018
takaminemidori (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS (minor) SPOILERS

I've never really done this before, but I decided to write a review to encourage others on picking this series up. I tried my best to be as in depth but succinct as possible, so bear with me!

Story (7/10)
Umibe no Etranger isn't about "love healing all wounds". It's about two people finding reprieve and genuinely caring about one another, helping each other grow bit by bit. The concept isn't too original or outstanding, but the way Kii Kanna handles it made me enjoy it. It has a very warm tone, with slight undertones of melancholy; taking themes such as death, loss, read more
Aug 22, 2021
yoobrojo (All reviews)
I watched Umibe before I read the manga. The reason I picked it up afterwards was because I wanted to clarify some events in the story that weren't expressed that well in the movie. (I definitely recommend you read the manga first before you watch the movie, the events and timeline get kind of confusing in the film)

The art style was what attracted me the most. I'm someone who enjoys more simplistic and slife-of-life kind of artstyles, so Kii Kanna really delivered!

The story does feel a little rushed, so I'm guessing Kanna was initially planning on making Umibe a stand-alone. Still, from beginning read more