Domestic na Kanojo
Domestic Girlfriend
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Domestic na Kanojo

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Dome x Kano
Japanese: ドメスティックな彼女
English: Domestic Girlfriend
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 28
Chapters: 292
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 23, 2014 to Jun 10, 2020
Genres: Drama Drama, Romance Romance
Themes: Love Polygon Love Polygon, School School
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Authors: Sasuga, Kei (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.191 (scored by 5668856,688 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #53812
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #93
Members: 106,334
Favorites: 6,192

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary Show Spoilers
Jun 1, 2020
WisestofWolfies (All reviews)
Preliminary
I used to love reading this story. Week to week the drama it presented was realistic and in character, every conflict made sense, and was emotionally compelling. However, since Chapter 268, the story has fallen off the cliff in the most contrived nonsensical way imaginable and it's made me vehemently hate this story.

Before anyone asks, I was never part of the waifu wars involved with this manga. I related to Rui the most and wanted her to be happy, but I loved all the characters. What Kei Sasuga has done with the most recent chapters is fundamentally disrespect her characters, her audience, and this story, read more
Sep 28, 2018
Limnir (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga will go down in history as one of the greatest declines in writing quality.

The author, without spoiling much, writes in very serious issues and treats them as nothing and never shows us the consequences of actions. Chapter 52 to 114 is a brilliant example of this.

It's now got to the point, over 200 chapters in, where the author is just scratching their head thinking of how to force drama. Will they cheat? Will someone get stabbed? Is there gonna be a rape/murder/blackmail of some sort? Will MC make up his damn mind about a single thing (MC is a loser)?

The one saving grace read more
Jun 8, 2020
MaxWyght (All reviews)
Preliminary
Starts out nice, gas great ecchi, then turns to absolute shit.

It looks like there was a ghost writer who came in to write the plot for the second third of the story and thwn left, saying they don't want to work with sasuga anymore, leaving us with the absolute dumpster fire that we ended up with.

Either that, or Sasuga had a massive stroke that made her think that this shit ending is somehow a good idea.
We're talking shittiness levels that would make Nisekoi cringe.
Shittiness levels that make the HIMYM ending seem good.
Shittiness level that make the ending of GOT look like a fucking masterpiece.

I've wasted read more
Jun 9, 2020
TakedaCaio (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the biggest frustrations I've ever read in my life.

It is really disappointing that you follow 276 chapters and come across a roller coaster of quality and consistency. This was the second manga I read completely and I can say that until chapter 258 I believed it to be the best I had ever read, but from then the quality and consistency just dropped, where we see the development and growth of a relationship between 2 characters (Rui and Natsuo) that has everything to become a couple but at the end of the manga all this changes without any sense or nexus throwing away read more
Jun 11, 2020
Megaxclaw (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Save yourself the time, and DO NOT read)

This manga was a trip, but one that I got hooked on fast. It was the perfect blend of romance and drama (and ecchi), and was enjoyable given the weird situation. It had it's ups and downs, but ultimately started to come out on top as one of my favorites. That is, until the dumpster fire hit.

It was really starting to get wholesome and fulfilling towards the end, and there was a clear way to end this manga (not because of what the majority of readers wanted, but because the character development was leading directly towards this perfect read more
Jul 1, 2020
Funuki (All reviews)
Domestic na Kanojo is finally over, after it's been dragged for so long and beaten to death it finally can rest in peace.

Art

While the backgrounds weren't masterpieces, the characters's design made up for it, in most cases at least.They were expressive, sometimes making for some good comedic moments. There was also a nice variety in clothes which made it feel more realistic. What really matters, at least in my opinion, is that Sasuga really shines when it comes to drawing the naked body. Even after everything that happened i can still appreciate the way she draws tits. If you only want to experience that, read read more
Jun 9, 2020
LamSauce12 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have read a multitude of dramas. I have read a multitude of romances. I have survived the horrors that are Seo Kouji's romance works(I'm looking at you Kimi no Iru Machi, but I surprisingly liked Fuuka). I have spent days and nights ailing over the feeling of reading such thought-provoking stories.

But never have I ever been so mortally pissed off by a manga. Domestic Girlfriend is the most confusing story I have ever read in my life. The story takes so many twists and turns that makes you question the author's thought process. There will be arcs that seem essential to the story but read more
Feb 27, 2017
HandA711 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was looking for some fap material when I stumbled upon this. Then I got hooked and forgot my original "goal".

The story: is frustrating at times but it gave me some strong feelings that even real life people haven't. It could be because I haven't read many romance manga though. One thing I don't like is that sometimes the author get lazy and create events that are too convenient to solve the problems instead of a step-by-step progress.

The art is great except for the males characters being a bit too "shoujo" for a shounen manga.

The characters: Well. This is where readers divide. First discussion point read more
Jun 9, 2020
oreoreoreo (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've read every single chapter that has been released, until the very ending. Like everyone else is saying, this manga declined so much, so badly in terms of writing quality in less than 10 chapters. Not that it hasn't been declining before, but at the very least until chapter 268, everything was still pretty much solid.

I don't want to give spoilers, but here's a heads up. Do note that I've distanced myself from the "waifu wars" and that until some time ago, I loved all the characters, as they went through visible developments a long time ago. The manga has been in decline for at read more
Jun 17, 2020
prometheusx (All reviews)
Preliminary
For a long time, I've really, really liked this manga. The author presented us with serious problems about the relationship between the characters. The story was very enjoyable, character development was excellent, the roller coasters made sense, and then... last few chapters came out, and everything was thrown into the trash.

After reading the last few chapters (ch. 272-273) it felt that I'm in a fantasy world where the previous 100-200 chapters are non-existent: the groundwork and foundation of the story barely exists, and the relationship between the characters are fake. It's a huge and very bad plot twist, which for me doesn't make any read more
Jun 13, 2020
Jonarez (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh man... Oh man.. I read tons and tons of romance mangas as well as pure shojo. Those are my favourite genres.
Domestic na kanojo was one of my favourite manga in its genre too. I was waiting every week to read the latest chapter with anxiety. And I bought most of the french translated books (they're not up to date yet).. I even bought all the existing mangas in japanese when I was in Japan las year.
That was a waste of money and a waste of time. I regret that I kept reading that shit since 2018.
I was so into that kind of story, it read more
Jun 28, 2020
Akagi-kun (All reviews)
I tried to avoid spoilers, plot summary, and other things, but still, something can be considered as such, so read all of the following at your own risk.

The success of a work often depends on its finale. After all, an unsuccessful ending can easily disappoint readers, leave an unpleasant "aftertaste".
I didn't want to write a review of this manga right after I finished reading it. I thought that after some time after the final chapters my opinion of the manga would improve and I would give a higher score. And so it happened. I initially rated this as a 3. But anyway, I just can't read more
Jun 9, 2020
rotanrotan1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I admit, the whole premise on the immoral pleasures of student-teacher relationship got my attention. I stayed for the pleasingly realistic approach the cast have made in resolving the issues brought by their choices. Their decisions and the consequences were impactful. Even with the switching of sides from the love triangle kept happening, it was enjoyable enough to root equally for both with how they've given their reason for their choices. Everything was going well, cliched situations happened, but for some very very unnatural reason, everyone and everything changed.


[SPOILERS AHEAD FOR THE FINAL ARC--It is important for me to include this spoiler because for me read more
Jun 18, 2020
darth_derrick (All reviews)
Preliminary
I want to say that this manga was great. The character development, their interaction, the world building, the build up to emotional/dramatic events and the plot scenes were good. I came from the anime but of course I read from the beginning and I really enjoy up to chapter 240. Why? It was a little predictable because what I saw was happiness for the character then boom, pain and agony to the side character but it wasn't that bad. Not the best but still a nice but random change of pace.

Now let read more
Jun 16, 2020
Bathguy (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you dont want to read all of this, just know that if you dont want to lose your time, dont even bother reading the manga.

So, we finally got the Domestic na Kanojo ending, and let me tell you, it was a dumpster fire, these last chapters just wasted all of the character development that happened during the 276 chapters that this manga has. To be fully clear with you, i really enjoyed reading this manga before the ending, the characters act in a somewhat believable way and get fleshed out, + their relationships evolve with time, but how it ended just threw all of read more
Feb 7, 2019
tzy_19 (All reviews)
Preliminary
*mild not-plot related spoilers*

I've updated this review now that I've finished the series. The ending will be touched in its own section at the end.

Story: 6
I think it was at its best when it was basically a slice of life story, with just a stronger focus on romance than most. The interactions between characters were well handled, the plot wasn't overly complicated(minus the incest), and while following obvious cliches, it wasn't all that bad. I actually quite enjoyed how the story chose to continue further after high school, which is where most romance stories tend to end. The story was good while the characters were read more
Jun 15, 2020
Peternetto (All reviews)
Preliminary
The outstanding aspect of this manga is its ability to resonate at a very deep level with the reader. As a reader, you experience a range of emotions strong enough to determine your mood for the whole day. Such a power, in the hands of an author, is a great responsibility: and the way Sasuga used its power was nothing short of criminal, in how it managed to make thousands of fans fall into rage/depression in the span of just a few final chapters.

Domestic Na Kanojo has been on my list for a while, but since I'm not a fan of serialization I waited until read more
Jun 15, 2020
Gihiro (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, the manga has finally finished. yeah! No it's not.
*THERE WILL BE SPOILERS*

All of this is my opinion so....yeah.
The ending was straight up disappointing. Natsuo asks Hina to marry him? Like where is the logic. Maybe he developed stronger feelings for her when she was in a coma, but still.
The manga was just a rollercoaster, ups and downs. Rui fans vs Hina fans, I personally was a Rui fan but that doesn't effect my grading.
Rui and Natsuo had a child, so it looked like it was over for the Hina fans? Not its no, the twist in the end.....its not a read more
Jun 9, 2020
Totalphantasma (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok so my review scores might be a little biased I'll be the first to admit. But it comes from a place of love. I loved this manga and for the longest time I held it as the pinnacle of character writing and romance. It was a 10/10. But then the story hits something like chapter 180 and it just... isn't great. It slowly gets worse after the main character graduates high school. The author spends something like 2 years just wasting your time, creating bullshit plotlines that mean nothing and doing nothing.
But god even that couldn't take this below a 6/10 for an average read more
Jul 12, 2020
yucoffee (All reviews)
This is absolutely the definition of “What are you doing step bro, this is so wrong”. Well in a way, I guess.

Reading through all the chapters all the way to the end was a train wreck full of countless counts of facepalming, cringing, or the absolute face of disgust that makes you want to strangle someone.

You ever get that feeling that you want to strangle someone just because of their shitty decision? Well that’s that feeling reading through all of this.
Don’t even get me started with the shitty plo-- you know what let’s all calm it down for a second and start from scratch. read more