Ansatsu Kyoushitsu
Assassination Classroom
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu

Alternative Titles

English: Assassination Classroom
Synonyms: Tokyo Department Sensou Taikenki, Tokyo Department Store War Chronicles
Japanese: 暗殺教室

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 21
Chapters: 187
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 2, 2012 to Apr 25, 2016
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Authors: Matsui, Yuusei (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.331 (scored by 4724947,249 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2462
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #40
Members: 95,837
Favorites: 5,844

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 19, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
Preliminary
Assassination Classroom is possibly the most unique shounen/comedy/action story I have ever seen in either anime or manga. Despite it's somewhat slow start and very peculiar setup, this manga is executed very well with good pacing and astonishing character development despite the large cast.

As for the story, it is about an unfortunate group of third year middle schoolers at a prestigious school. They are "Class E" which is full of the idiots, delinquents, and other people who didn't fit into the other four classes. Their class is used as an example for the other students about what happens if you don't do well in school read more
Mar 17, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh Yūsei Matsui, thanks for the greatness of a manga you bestowed upon thee.

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu was a pretty great ride while it lasted, I think this was perhaps one of my least favorites at first, however it really grew on me. To be more specific the characters did. I'll have to say personally I think the story was a bit too ridiculous, however the good thing about it was that it added a great sense of humor along with.

I was always excited to see what was going to happen next each and every chapter. Going back to what I said earlier, I loved the characters. read more
Jan 12, 2015
Vayentha (All reviews)
Preliminary
[SPOILER FREE REVIEW - UP TO CHAPTER 30]

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu is a very unique shounen/comedy/action manga that has managed to make me reconsider about the combination of the said genres. I never go for such manga since I prefer to read an actual story with an intriguing plot etc. I'd rather watch comedy than read it most of the times. But this manga has definitely captured my attention.

The story is pretty simple to follow, since there's just one crucial plot point you need to remember from the beginning (although, I can assure you that you won't forget it, as it is mentioned more times than I read more
Mar 2, 2015
Looklook111 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Assassination Classroom is somewhat of a unique shounen which blends comedy and action really well.To me this manga is a break from the more mainstream shounen manga and it really is a fun and interesting read.

Story
The story to say the least is really weird.The misfits(Class 3-e) of Kunugigaoka Middle School must kill their new homeroom teacher (an octupus creature of unknown origin or as the students call him Koro-sensei) before he blows up the earth in one year and also become world class assassins in the process .For the most part the stories really focuses on the development of class 3-e developing into assassins read more
Oct 31, 2016
IHadinot (All reviews)
Truly the best manga ever created.This is by far the most enjoyable manga of all time. If you are a school student, this series has got to be the most relatable for your time. If you are not a school student, then you may be able to relive your moments as a school student. The length of the manga is appropriate to the complex storyline that in encompasses. It is really a nice way to enjoy the introduction of characters and see how they are developed before moving on to the core elements of the plot.

Story: 10/10
The story is amazing. As I have said earlier, read more
Jan 13, 2015
GinZura (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you are the kind of individual who enjoys tentacles of comedy penetrating your funny bone, then Assassination Classroom is the manga for you. It has everything you could want from a shonen manga: a unique art style, likeable characters, and, most importantly, it manages to maintain an essentially perfect balance between comedy and action. Unlike other comedy manga, which can often come across as being too Japanese, Assassination Classroom’s comedy is generally much more accessible, relying more on character-based comedy than wordplay (although wordplay does feature quite heavily in the beginning). 



Assessing the characters in Assassination Classroom is a difficult exercise. It took more read more
Jun 17, 2013
Jazze (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ansatsu Kyoushitsu, or Assassination Classroom (my preferred title), is a remarkable manga; since its debut, its tankobons have been topping sales charts in Japan and ranked relatively highly in Weekly Shonen Jump, which is amazing. Having read the mangaka's previous manga, Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro, which was incredible in terms of storytelling, I had been looking forward to Assassination Classroom for quite a time. And in some ways, it is vastly different from Neuro, but in some other ways it still has the trademark absurdist humor and surrealism that are typical of Matsui's works.

Certainly, the octopus-like character of Korosensei merits some inevitable hentai fanart, but read more
Aug 11, 2015
stanet96 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After constantly putting off reading this manga i have finally caught up.Ansatsu Kyoushitsu is a very popular manga among teens in japan that is always in the top 10 of weekly shounen jump and so i wondered what was so good about it and after having read it i can say the popularity is well deserved.Ansatsu Kyoushitsu is different from the standard shounen series the entire concept of middle scholars having to kill their homeroom teaching or else he will blow up the planet in a year is something you don't see in shounen.The relationship between the students and the teacher koro sensei is peculiar read more
Mar 11, 2017
K3fka_ (All reviews)
Assassination Classroom is an enjoyable, if overrated, series. It's one that started off merely okay, but it certainly improved as it progressed and I read more and more.

First of all, the premise is certainly unique. A super powerful creature threatens to destroy the world, yet he wants to teach a middle school class? It's a concept that will leave you wondering what's going on, and this is something the series uses to keep you going: What are Koro-sensei's secrets, and when will we discover them? And I can say that while you do have to wait quite a while to find out everything, it's certainly read more
Apr 2, 2018
Angeltze (All reviews)
Assassination Classroom is not fot everyone. Its concept is weird and it kind of makes you question whether you should read it or not at first. However, once you get used to the concept, it actually becomes pretty balanced.

Story-wise, it's a pretty chill manga that offers you that one bit of relaxation. You don't have to waste brain power to understand what's going on. It's also pretty funny; the humor is simple but effective. There are gags that play many times without getting boring. That's what happens at the beginning. After a certain point, Assassination Classroom becomes way more interesting and you'll find yourself invested read more
Jul 7, 2016
dodge2461 (All reviews)
NO SPOILERS
Assassination Classroom was a manga I didn't really like when I read the first volume. Was it the odd premise? Or the somewhat bland characters? I couldn't tell you, but I decided to come back to it after I heard it would end in five weeks. I'm glad I did, because I found a very well done manga that has a somewhat rough start.

STORY
-----
Assassination Classroom's premise is very odd to say the least. Class E3, the worst of the worst, have been given a special assignment: Kill their new teacher, punnily named Korosensei by one of the students, before their graduation in March. read more
Jul 15, 2015
Badass_Hole (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, i pick up this manga after i watch all 22 episodes of the TV Anime.
Maybe this is the most unique shounen manga i have ever read.
So, first we have an octopus who can move at a mach 20 speed. He threatens mankind that he will destroy earth if by the end of march next year, Class 3 E can't kill him. But is it really his intentions ? What is the secret behind this mysterious octopus?

Art. Most people judge manga by the art. If the art is bad, then they are out. At first, i was reluctant to start reading this manga because the read more
Mar 17, 2016
MissMoon91 (All reviews)
Preliminary
It was a very nice and not tediously long manga series. I loved it, we got to know all characters (some more than others), we got failure, success, laughs and tear. It ended where it should have ended but I still wished that the outcome was different and that after the big event at the end everything wasn't as rushed up (3 chapters for so many students is just not enough Matsui Yuusei-sensei! >_<' ) but still I'm really glad I picked this series up when I read by chance the plot and got me hooked from start to end. You have my big thanks read more
Mar 22, 2018
Weewer (All reviews)
Assassination Classroom is one of my favorite manga in recent years, and it caught me completely by surprise as I was reading it. Short, sweet, packed with funny moments and extremely heartfelt moments, I most definitely recommend anyone should read it. My recommendation is to read it to about chapter 40, at which point you can see if it's for you or not.

Story: The story is fantastic. It's got a unique premise, it's got a continuous sense of progression and incredible pacing. It's got some crazy twists, as well as some predictable moments. It's overall quite light hearted despite some of the subject matter, but read more
Nov 18, 2015
Pdev0797 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Assassination Classroom is unique.That's the word to describe the manga.It draws you in and keeps you there.

A super-being destroys a large part of the moon and then becomes a teacher.If that doesn't make you curious, I don't know what will.

It's very funny, the art is well done, and the setting of the story in particular(a school which discriminates against students who don't perform well) is refreshing.The manga hits you hard with the realism in relation to the education system.The characters are done fine.You can see the development happening gradually.

Overall, it's a fun and refreshing manga to read.This is one of the few mangas that don't read more
Mar 17, 2016
Santoryu_XBurner (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ansatsu Kyoushitsu (Assassination Classroom) incorporates a mix of comedy and action which is executed well and differs from other shounen manga that I have read before. From the start I found the premise a bit strange and how could this be popular at all, but as you go on I found the series to be interesting and enjoyable to read.

How exactly do you assassinate someone that can travel at Mach 20 and move from one location to the next in the blink of an eye?

Story: 9/10

The story is simple and is about a super powered alien octopus (Koro-Sensei) that has destroyed a read more
Apr 15, 2016
Felicia_Liang (All reviews)
Preliminary
I must say, for someone who usually hates heavily comedic stories I absolutely loved this.
This is one of the those stories that hides so much meaning and darkness under the cute characters and the genre assumptions.

Story: 10
It can say definitely that is starts of ambiguous making you utterly confused about practically everything. But invest enough and the story will become one of the richest ones you've ever read. Story is extremely unique in nature and full of surprises.

Art: 7
Unfortunately, I am not a big style of the face placement and sometimes strangely jointed characters. The overall style wasn't terrible, but not read more
Dec 30, 2018
Sanae28 (All reviews)
I love this manga because is original and innovative.
I like Matsui's art style and the reading is really fluently.
I love Korosensei and all the students of the 'Class E, and, in the manga, you can find more information about them and also some extra chapters.
Korosensei is the best teacher of all time!
This story should be horror, but it's really funny to read, It's true that there are some dramatic moments, but one returns to school life without suffering.
In Italy have been published also the 'Charas book' and 'Graduation' and are really well done and the color images are amazing.
By reading them you can understand the read more
Nov 7, 2019
Cynthesia (All reviews)
How do you describe Assassination Classroom? It's a story that's simple, but also unique. It's goofy but also serious. I suppose the best word to describe it would be is enjoyable.
Right off the bat, the reader is sent a handful of mixed signals. The moon was destroyed... by a cartoonish octopus character that can move at Mach 20? And it has to be killed by a classroom of middle schoolers?
If I'm being honest, the first volume is the weakest, the characters are fairly bland, you aren't given any investment into the world, it's alright at best.
But as the series progresses, it's hard read more
Mar 21, 2020
Brad_Wine (All reviews)
So I recently started to re-read this manga since I have it on my bookshelf and I realized a couple things that compelled me to give it a review on here, to explain why this is such a phenomenal story, at least to me.

Firstly, despite the large cast of characters and the fact only a handful really get focused on for more than a couple pages here and there, they are all distinct. Each character has their own drive and ambition that lets them stand up and really shine when it's their turn, and it's at a level far above other stories with large casts read more