Clannad: Tomoyo After
Tomoyo After ~Dear Shining Memories~
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Clannad: Tomoyo After

Alternative Titles

English: Tomoyo After ~Dear Shining Memories~
Japanese: 智代アフター ~Dear Shining Memories~

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: 4
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 20, 2007 to Oct 20, 2007
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance
Authors: Key (Story), Sumiyoshi, Yukiko (Art)
Serialization: Dragon Age

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 36543,654 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7042
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2004
Members: 6,812
Favorites: 197

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 9, 2008
KY791 (All reviews)
I must say this was very enjoyable read despite its short length.

Story: Simply outstanding story, as expected from KEY. An excellent story from start to finish, however I did find a few things confusing such as Tomoya's memory loss, like many of KEY's works, its a finely tuned story.

Art: I wouldn't say it is a masterpiece in artwork, but the drawing is well done nonetheless. A good mixture of fights, touching moments, and chibis here and there.

Character: A small cast of characters, but definitely one that I loved very much. However, from what I have seen in the Clannad anime, Tomoyo's personality has changed read more
Feb 9, 2008
WonderingZero (All reviews)
What can I say...Very short, and very satisfying. A very well done manga with a story that we might never see animated.

I myself, have not played the game that this is based off of. To see it in the form of manga was surprising to me, but still a very good experience.

Tomoyo and Tomoya are stars of this manga. No where to be found are the other characters from the anime. But this does not take away from the experience. This is a side of the anime many people might not see, and is defiantly not worth skipping out on. To those who read more
Apr 13, 2008
Vin-nii (All reviews)
Key (adj) k-ee

Any story described as "Key" starts in a happy and sweet manner, then suddenly throws the reader in heart-aching despair, then whole-hearted admiration for the strong characters who over-came that despair.

This is what I think of Tomoyo After.

Alrite, most ppl who would want to read this are mostly affected by Clannad in its many forms (Manga, Anime, Movie). For those who are not in this group, do not fret. You can still enjoy this manga equally.

To put it simply,"Tomoyo after story" is set one year after Okazaki Tomya graduated from high school where Tomoyo is his girlfriend (Think the Clannad Game read more
Oct 24, 2008
Shinkenshi (All reviews)
Short. That was the first thing that came to mind when I saw this manga. A game that's as long as Nagisa's story line in Clannad is condensed into 4 chapters? Let me tell you now that if you have played Tomoyo After already don't bother reading this manga.

Admittedly, when I first read through it, I thought the manga was a poor adaptation. However, taking the merits of the original game and the length of manga into consideration, I can say that the author did fairly well.

Storyline is entirely hit or miss depending on whether the reader has played Clannad and Tomoyo After. The read more
Mar 19, 2012
Mizukiss (All reviews)
Tomoyo After ~Dear Shining Memories~ is a 4 chapter-manga spin-off of the original Clannad series based on the events of the visual novel Tomoyo After~It's A Wonderful Life~ narrated from Tomoyo's perspective.

As the title suggests,Tomoyo is the main heroine here and gone are the original Clannad cast excluding our main hero Tomoya. The story takes place after their dramatic reunion under the sakura trees where they decided to be lovers once again (Episode 24 of Clannad or if you've read the Clannad visual novel). And so,their new life begins.

Now that the long-winded intro is done,here's how I feel about the manga and how read more
Oct 18, 2013
Fujaku (All reviews)
Tomoyo After is a spinoff of Clannad, based off of a visual novel. Instead of Nagisa being the winner of the harem, Tomoyo is, and this manga tells about the trials the pair faces. It's also as rushed as hell.

Tomoyo After is very episodic in nature. The chapters barely connect at all, and each chapter seems to have about five chapters worth of materiel in it. Like Clannad, Tomoyo After has the goal of making you cry. However, due to its rushed nature, you don't get that chance. I never felt any connection to any of the characters, and due to this the drama felt read more
Dec 10, 2019
TassistaRomano (All reviews)
I like Clannad, and I absolutely love Tomoyo. That's why I madly loved the Tomoyo Route OVA too, despite it being reaaaally short, then what went wrong with this Tomoyo After manga adaptation? In short, everything. I repeat, I love Tomoyo After with all my heart, nonetheless I really think this adaptation was a mistake.

Art: when I started reading it I thought it was a joke. A really bad joke. While Tomoyo is let's say acceptable, what the fuck is wrong with Tomoya?! I think the mangaka was on drugs when he drew him, because I don't think anybody would make it to draw read more
Feb 15, 2019
Mr_Hat (All reviews)
Alright, if you want a TL;DR, the manga doesn't do the VN justice, because of it's rushed nature, but when it hits, it hits good


Now, for the bad points of the manga:

- The art isn't like the source material, the girls look fine, but tomoya and takafumi aren't recognizable at all

- The plot is very rushed, to the point of skipping a major player in the VN (Takafumi) and just setting him as an incidental character, furthermore, it barely fleshed out the tomo route, which was a huge part of the VN. Her chapter was so rushed, one could barely feel attached to the character's read more
Nov 3, 2020
Green_Gecko (All reviews)
If you've read the Tomoyo After visual novel then this will be a disappointment. This manga adaptation is more of a truncated story than a full experience. Whilst the characters maintain their personalities, one of the main character's storylines is entirely cut, and all the other characters have their storylines shortened dramatically. It is hard to get attached to characters when they aren't even present for the majority of the volume. Even if this was just one chapter or volume longer, it would have been a more fulfilling experience, but as it stands you just get the bare minimum story required to know what is read more