Hunter x Hunter
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Hunter x Hunter

Alternative Titles

English: Hunter x Hunter
Synonyms: HxH
Japanese: HUNTER×HUNTER

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Mar 3, 1998 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy, ShounenShounen, Super PowerSuper Power
Authors: Togashi, Yoshihiro (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.681 (scored by 8203682,036 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #502
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #18
Members: 174,105
Favorites: 18,295

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 17, 2018
keragamming (All reviews)
Before beginning this review, I will like to point out that the intention of this review is not to trigger Hunter X Hunter (HxH for short)fans or let them feel like I'm attacking them or their intelligence since that is basically the trend in most reviews these days. Most reviews are made with the intention to 'trigger' a reaction out of fans by criticizing a series to the point that you are telling fans that they are basically dumb for liking a particular series.

This review is simply showing you guys another perspective since HxH fans aren't used to seeing much criticism when it comes to read more
Sep 15, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
Welcome to the world of Hunter X Hunter where people pursue to become Hunters. But to become one, one must undergo the Hunter Exam. Thousands of people participate in this exam. Among them is a kid name Gon Freecs who longs to meet his father, a great hunter, but in order to do so, he must become a great Hunter and follow his footsteps. Along the way, he meets Killua, a kid whose family is famous for being assassins, Kurapika, a kind and loyal friend but at times reckless due to his revenge motive and Leorio, a brash man who aims to be a successful read more
Jan 2, 2012
checkmate_19 (All reviews)
This my favorite manga of all time, so I may be a little biased when it comes to this review. I love every work that Yoshihiro Togashi puts out! I'm not exactly sure what a typical shounen is, so i'll just start by saying that it starts out with a boy named Gon Freecs going on the most challengeing hunt of his life, to find his elusive hunter father. And the story shows his development as a hunter throughout.

Story: 9/10
I give the story a 9 because the first 12 or so volumes had a great story and a lot character devolopment with the four main read more
Jul 9, 2018
Kuta1 (All reviews)
Most of my points in my HxH 2011 review stand here, so I'll keep this short.

HxH 2011 definitely brought life to the HxH manga, but the manga is still wholesome in its story and its characters. The current arc is in the running to be the best arc of HxH in my opinion.

The only low points for the manga are its artwork and the constant hiatuses. The art can range from scribbles on a page to fantastically drawn creatures and areas that even Miura of Berserk would approve of. And as every HxH fan knows, the hiatuses are the biggest flaw on this great read more
Dec 30, 2014
Izaya (All reviews)
Okay, to start off, I'm going to go on a little tirade about the early chapters of this manga's art. If you don't care or whatever, then keep scrolling until you see "TIRADE END", I guess, haha.

*TIRADE START*

When I read this manga, I was shocked that the art style of the manga that managed to tie with OP was so bad. It actually looked a lot like my current art style.

I was actually sort of happy.

You see, I'm an aspiring mangaka (bleh, I know that's not what you call it outside of Japan, but bleh), and I was always thinking that my art style read more
Oct 29, 2012
souhail (All reviews)
this manga was the first manga i ever read ...by the baka sensei yushiro togashi ..you can find every thing you like in this serie no one can say the opposite unless they were payed.......with the process of this manga you get more enjoyment ..more characters appear ..the events just getts more darker and cooler ...for me i finished the whole manga in one week because i couldn't stop ...belive me if it was no hxh manga ther will be no naroto or bleach or a lot of other mangas that borow meany things from this manga ..if just that baka togashi didn't stop the read more
Jan 9, 2010
Catnis (All reviews)
"Monstrous Animals, Rare Species...Buried Riches, Hidden Treasures...Worlds of Demons, Unexplored Lands...The Word 'UNKNOWN' Seems Magic...And Some Men Are Attracted By This Force...They Are Called 'HUNTERS'!"

This is the introductory that meets the reader in the very 1st chapter of the 1st volume of the Hunter X Hunter manga. Having had already watched the anime, I am aware of what Hunter X Hunter is about so the introduction wasn't anything new. Someone who hasn't ever encountered Hunter X Hunter, however, will probably feel disappointed to eventually find out that the manga isn't really about a treasure-hunt or a great adventure into some read more
Mar 20, 2016
waajajajajajaja (All reviews)
I gave everything a 10/10 except for the art which got 7/10.

Anyway, where should I start?

This is a masterpiece, and I will tell you why:

Story: 10/10
Genius. He thought it all up. The world of HXH, when we think of it, makes you realize many things about our own world, and makes you question many of our morals and mentalities. This masterpiece was elegantly written, no fillers, and every action counts. Realistic reactions to many events. this manga leaves you in a wreck of emotions: there are funny moments, there are heartwarming moment, an then there are those very dark moments when you least expect them. read more
Mar 3, 2019
YourLeader (All reviews)
This manga is an absolute masterpiece, and I'll never stop recommending it.

Character development is incredible and the story is engaging. Pacing is pretty much perfect. While I was reading the manga, it really felt like I was on a journey with the protagonists, which I think is a sign of great writing.

There are hardly any instances of plot armor or plot holes in this manga. In all 380 chapters, there are only 2 events that can be referred to as asspull. The power system feels balanced and contained, without skyrocketing in later chapters, instead opting for more creative powers.
Jan 24, 2018
JOBEY-C1 (All reviews)
English Version

-I had done a review of the anime a while ago .. I'll put it back here since it's practically the same with the exception that the manga has a horrible inconsistency with the drawing, as it does not have the animation, the music and the direction of the anime that it improves it in every aspect of the work, therefore I can call it bad and with all the errors that are loaded-

I will talk only about the errors of the series .. Arc by Arc

1)Hunter Exam.
Although the beginning paints well and forms the friendship relations of which the main cast will be read more
Oct 21, 2020
Havos44 (All reviews)
Hunter × Hunter is a manga series written and illustrated by Yoshihiro Togashi. The chapters have been serialized in the Weekly Shōnen Jump magazine since March 3, 1998, where they are compiled and published in tankobon format by the publisher Shueisha, although the manga has often gone on hiatus since 2006. The story has as protagonist Gon Freecss, a boy from 12 years old who wants to find his father at all costs, so he decides to become a "Hunter", just like him, and somehow find his whereabouts. As the story progresses, Gon befriends three other aspiring Hunters: Leorio, Kurapika and Killua, who accompany him read more
Nov 12, 2012
WindChange (All reviews)
( Sorry english isn't my first language (; 3 ;) )

Hunter X Hunter is one of the longest ongoing manga in Weekly Shonen Jump since 1998. Sadly, this masterpiece is really have annoying hiatus often, so unlike One Piece that published from 1997 have almost 700 chapters in 2012. Hiatus X Hiatus (Hunter X Hunter I mean) only made half of it, 340 chapters and hiatus again in 2012.

But, what makes this manga really addictive to the reader? What makes it adapted into amazing anime twice (1999 & 2011)? The answer can only you get after you read this manga. So, I'm going to review read more
Jun 4, 2015
OtakuMangaGamer (All reviews)
This is one of the most underrated manga i ever read. The characters are really well develop,you are gonna love some of the characters good or evil. Most people see this story has an shonen battle manga but yet it is not like that at some points at the story, some part of the story will use challenges for the main or secondary characters in were the need to use the intellectual to beat the enemy. Every arc has is own unique style with different objectives that will not make you bored of the story. This is a great manga one may said that is read more
Sep 13, 2020
PearlescentGem (All reviews)
The story of HxH is very good, the world is pretty awesome and the powers are super cool. The problem with this manga is the endless exposition, even 390 chapters in there are walls of text that makes this manga feel like I'm reading the wiki for this manga and not the manga itself.
It is a testament to the brilliance of this manga despite all that I was still engaged in the story even after the beginning of this newest arc.
The characters are good but you can go a long while without seeing them and often it's out of sight out of mind with read more
Oct 8, 2018
RED_COMET_ (All reviews)
Please tell me how many other manga series delve in genocide, murder, war, racism, transgenderism, royalty, corruption, democracy and the flaws of political government with direct democracy, criminal minds, reincarnation, Loyalty, Love in all its obsessive and unconditional forms, the meaning of life, the concept of a soul, Christianity, Catholicism, Buddhism, Hinduism humanity and inhumanity, revenge, abandonment as well as a slew of other topics and concepts as nuanced and well written as Hunter x Hunter while seamlessly weaving in and out of genres, going from mafia wars to MMORPGs to the epic rise and fall of an entire civilization to politics, to succession wars read more
Jan 31, 2014
Supson (All reviews)
One of the few manga's I've reread because it was just that good. I'm willing to bet most people that read have loved it. The hiatus of it is quite saddening as I still check every week to see if the next chapter is out. We were left with such a cliff hanger in the last chapter it's a damn shame if this manga will never be finished. It has so many good aspects to it. Personally when Gon is just waiting for Pitou to heal Komugi so he can kill her those are some of the best chapters in any manga I've ever read. read more
Apr 2, 2013
gabunomi (All reviews)
This is my all time favorite manga AND anime so I will give it a perfect score. But because I love it so much it pains me that I have to wait so long for new chapters to come out. But I will wait because I believe in quality over quantity.

Honestly I have nothing bad to say about this series; it has everything you could ever ask for in a shonen manga. A lovable main character, great friendships, interesting abilities, nice balance between fights and problem solving, no over powered main characters, a huge world to explore, and the list goes on. One most read more
Feb 27, 2018
Antikollektivist (All reviews)
Hunter x Hunter is the best Shounen there is.
What i like about it is that it feels like togashi has taken all the god ideas and tropes from shounen and has kicked all the bad out.

Gon is like the early Goku.
Most Shounenprotagonists are simple stupid Hotheads, before DBZ Goku wasnt stupid, it was just that he was raised in the jungle and therefore was uncivilzed and didnt know and understood conformity.
Gon also is not stupid, its more like he ignores social conventions.

The powersystem is outlined in the beginning.
Take OP for example, afer hundreds of episodes they just say you know there is another powersystem read more
Apr 10, 2016
Goldenshadow177 (All reviews)
This manga does everything a shounen manga should do. When I think of the perfect manga, I think of Hunter X Hunter. This review is about the series as a whole.

The fights are amazing. Each hunter has their own ability and fighting style. The main characters use their wits and their own unique style to win. I liked Dragon Ball Z as much as the next kid growing up, but each characters strength is determined by their power level, and that's about it (DragonBall is a different). In HxH there is so much thought and strategy during the fights. When a character wins, you read more
Feb 23, 2021
SeksGod (All reviews)
te rog frumos togashi sa mai postezi chaptere :**** 😥😣😣😣😣😣😥😥



Hunter × Hunter (stylized as HUNTER×HUNTER; pronounced "Hunter Hunter") is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Yoshihiro Togashi. It has been serialized in Weekly Shōnen Jump since March 1998, although the manga has frequently gone on extended hiatuses since 2006. As of October 2018, 380 chapters have been collected into 36 volumes by Shueisha. The story focuses on a young boy named Gon Freecss who discovers that his father, who left him at a young age, is actually a world renowned Hunter, a licensed professional who specializes in fantastical pursuits such as locating rare read more