Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan

Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan

Alternative Titles

English: Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Swordsman Romantic Story
Synonyms: Samurai X, Sengoku no Mikazuki, Crescent Moon in the Warring States, Crescent Moon Over a Country At War, Meteor Strike
Japanese: るろうに剣心 -明治剣客浪漫譚-

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 28
Chapters: 259
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 12, 1994 to Sep 21, 1999
Authors: Watsuki, Nobuhiro (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.671 (scored by 33725 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #632
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #77
Members: 62,130
Favorites: 6,567

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 8, 2008
VK11 (All reviews)
As we move closer and closer to the next decade, it seems like we keep on getting farther and farther away from amazing samurai stories. With possibly the recent exemption of Samurai Champloo and Gintama (which, to be fair, aren't your typical Meiji era samurai story, there seems like an apparent lack of new series that features your traditional Japanese samurai. Well, new series that are actually entertaining and interesting to read. The mid-90's and the turn of the century saw the unveiling of many great series (most still ongoing) like Vagabond and Blade of the Immortal, which truly define and really read more
Jan 23, 2009
callosum (All reviews)
Summary - Great manga with good action, great characters and an excellent plot.

Action - the swordsmanship scenes are well-drawn and the fights are pretty exciting. The reasoning behind the techniques is also explained and it kinda makes sense, at least in the context of a manga where the characters can leap many times their own height into the air.

Characters - wow, almost all the characters are well-developed and have a good back story to them. There is almost no one who is genuinely good or evil - everyone has a reason they developed the way they did. This is one of the read more
Aug 7, 2013
PokeL (All reviews)
Rurouni Kenshin is a series I've just recently read and enjoyed a lot so I thought I'd give it a shot! My overall rating for the manga is a 9/10, and here is why:


Story (8/10): The story might not have been the most original but I believe Watsuki made the best of it.
The manga is separated into 2 main arcs.
Personally I prefer the first one. The characters are more interesting to me and I think it was developed better. However, the 2nd arc is a lot of fun to read as well.

What I don't like about the first arc is that the end feels like read more
Jul 16, 2015
AmbiguousMonster (All reviews)
Rurouni Kenshin is a well-paced, high quality shounen series with a plethora of interesting themes and organically developed characters that stands among the best of its demographic.

The story of Rurouni Kenshin, set in Japan at the beginning of the Meiji period towards that end of the 1800s, begins following a rurouni named Kenshin and his time at the dojo of Kaoru, a female instructor whom he assisted. Initially, the story is engaging but episodic, with the focus being on the slowly expanding cast and their small-scale battles against individual threats to their safety. Though the more relaxed first quarter of the story doesn’t quite have read more
Dec 20, 2008
Kira_Shinigami (All reviews)
Amazing. amazing, AMAZING!!! This manga was absolutely fantastic- from the deep rooted history of feudal Japan, to the spectacular swordsmenship. This story (for those who don't know, where the hell have you been?) follows the life of a rurouni (wanderer), Kenshin Himura, and tells of the epic battles, forgotten romance, and struggling times of Japan during the 1800's. This manga is for him and her- while it is mostly action, there are plenty of romance scenes to make both happy. My only criticism is that I wish the final few chapters (with Enishi) were done better, almost seems like it was an after thought- like read more
Mar 25, 2015
Elgargini (All reviews)
A story that views the Japanese history (Meiji era) in a really fun, exciting and entertaining way…as anime&manga fans we always think of Japan as a dreamy land but in this story it shows you some of the dark sides of this country back in the 19th century, even though this manga has a historical background that non-Japanese readers wouldn't understand completely…it doesn't really mean that you won't enjoy reading it.

Rurouni Kenshin did start and end in the golden decade (the 90th) so I think those the of the same age as me will really enjoy reading this manga, the anime&manga world read more
Apr 30, 2015
PowerUpOrDie (All reviews)
This review is from the point of view of somebody who is indifferent to, and rarely indulges in the "Shonen Battle Series" genre. While it is true that long-time devotees of a genre have undeniable value in judging works within that genre, I believe the perspective of an outsider is valuable as well. If a newcomer doesn't 'get' or 'like' something, it's something to be considered, especially if a genre wants to attract new fans. Now down to business with this manga classic...

"Rurouni Kenshin" is licensed in the US by Viz Media.

-Story-

I typically ignore Shonen Battle series for the same reason I ignore American superhero read more
Nov 30, 2011
Eyzi (All reviews)
I mean sure i kinda like kenshin at first but as the story progresses he becomes increasingly annoying and unrealistic as he continues his wow not to kill people. I mean you could massacre all of his friendly honoured opponents with a machine gun, laugh in his face about smuggling opium, kidnap his loved one to help him make opium and he still wouldnt kill your ass for it. I hate him for that because it makes him seem weak, there is always a line that you dont cross and if you do cross it you are supposed to get killed for it. When someone read more
Dec 26, 2009
Roya (All reviews)
Of all the mangas I've read this is by far my favourite one with my favourite character in it (Kenshin). Although it is shounen (if i remember correctly) I personally think it is suitable for girls as well (if not more). It has everything you would want in a manga, full of action and fighting scenes, words of wisdom (I personally love it when they say very wise things you never thought about before), history (a lot of the characters in the story are based on real historical characters), humour and last but NOT the least, one of the best told love stories. I read more
Nov 25, 2008
FRESHShaZaM (All reviews)
Ok really i HATE to do this but i did rate everything a ten. I cant find a reason not to there is something about this manga that stands out in everything that i have to give it that. I have never rated an anime having more than four 10s, so this is a big moment for me.

The story is just incredible. It has so much historical references that its like how can a manga be that much in depth. Really its nothing like the other shonen mangas where this random teenager gets this crazy power and fights random guys that are somehow doing something read more
Feb 21, 2019
pilotwing (All reviews)
Rurouni Kenshin is undoubtedly one of the best things I've ever laid hands upon. I have severe ADHD making my attention spam absolute crap; it took me a month to finish a 2-hour long movie (I kept watching it in fragments) and it took me 3 years to finish an anime with 10 episodes (no exaggeration), so I struggle profoundly with finishing series but I do finish them eventually.

Rurouni Kenshin is a different case, I straight up nailed this son of a gun in 10 days flat cause damn, it was a good read. I've never once in my life thought that still pictures read more
May 16, 2011
Bellatrix510 (All reviews)
From a series similar to Inuyasha, I grew very quite fond with this series. Not only it took place in feudal Japan, it also took up great shape with the genre. Not too much romance, but action and humor will come out to play. All the characters hold their own personality and each has an important place in the story.
Rurouni Kenshin is not the type to bore your mind, it will want you to keep reading more and more after every chapter. All the action and excitement will keep you wondering what will happen next.
The plot of the story is somewhat similar to Inuyasha's read more
Nov 20, 2009
tehbohemian (All reviews)
This is my standard for manga. This is my favorite and first i actually loved. i remeber when I first saw the preview on toonami, I was about 8 or 9 when i was sitting back watching Dragon ball Z and YuYu Hakusho when i saw a 5 minute preview for Rurouni Kenshin i was BLOWN AWAY. I saw the first episode on Toonami I fell in love for the first time in my life. the show was then cancelled and than fell through the corridors of my memory not to be seen again for about 4 years

Wen i was in 6th grade I had read more
Jul 7, 2012
Mearas (All reviews)
Manga in Japan not only performs the function of entertainment, rather, it is not so much as function, call it so, upbringing and education. And Kenshin — it is not fighting and screaming, it's not rubilovka and ninjas, it's not Japanese swords and other branchy cranberry, and a very serious story about a human duty and destiny, sin and redemption. And inscribed (and very carefully!) In the historical reality of post-revolutionary Japan. Author manga, Watsuki Nobuhiro, has built into its story many real people, known in Japan about the same as ours — those who overthrew the monarchy in the 17th year. And in a read more
Jul 27, 2015
RedSwordHeart (All reviews)
I love this manga/anime, because unlike many stories like this, the main character is a total enigma when the story starts and we have to wait for the layers of the mystery to be pealed back before we can fully know him.

What I also love is that Rurouni Kenshin has a bit of everything in it: action, comedy, drama, romance and tragedy. All of these things fit seamlessly together to create a deep and very satisfying story.

The characters themselves are all well developed, even those who don't play a large part. Nobody feels one dimensional in this. These all seem like people that read more
Dec 2, 2008
Ginaz (All reviews)
Rurouni kenshin tells the story of a sowrdsman (not a samurai) who doesn't want to kill any more. Thel context lets you understand more about the history of japan, since the historical facts are very well explained (sometimes the problen is to difference facts and fantasy, anyway).
This manga will keep you entertained from the begining to the end, being very dynamic and quick (not "That" quick, but quick enough).
It's onl weakness are some minor characters, who sometimes don't really fit in an hitorical manga.
Finally, Rurouni Kenshin has a plausible end, not like the anime, allowing you to declare satisfied once you finish reading.
Apr 16, 2009
purple_neko (All reviews)
I have seen this in its anime form since 1998 (around the time of Fushigi Yuugi(which, incidentally I only have recently been able to read through to the "end" as well) and have only now just read through it...but then it finished (serialization that is, 1999) some time ago...anyway...

Okay, well if you liked the anime (which was full of non-canon/non-manga based episodes near the end), then I think you will still love the manga. Besides, the most interesting part of the story happens in the Jinchuu arc (which I had been hearing/reading about in various fanfics, but only now understand fully).

Hnn, well what hooked me read more
Nov 28, 2009
cupcakeninjaX3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a series set in feudal Japan centered around the infamous, merciless Hitokiri Battousai...is what it's SUPPOSED to be about, but I can't help but notice the dirty jokes and the not-so-manly Battousai (spaces out alot, kinda ditsy; if that's even possible for a "man", and falls in love with a moody teacher of young swordsman-hopefuls). If I would catagorize this series, it would be a comedic action manga. I'm sorry, but I prefer the manga over the anime for Rurouni Kenshin. NOTICE: THE OPENING SONGS FOR THIS ANIME ARE EXTREMELY CONFUSING!!! PLEASE read the manga instead. Thank you. Peace! ;D Happy drooling-over-hot-redhaired-samurai!
Feb 22, 2012
Unicorn-rider (All reviews)
My absolute favorite manga so far! And it was the 2nd manga I ever read. It didn't take me more than about 1 and a half year to collect all 28 books.

- The story is outstanding! I really love it. And thus I rated it 10.
- Watsuki's drawings are among the best, and it changes from very detailed in the beginning, and ends up quite plain in the end. However, it is still the same characters and they never changed because of his style. Even if it ended up more simple than it used to be, it still looks very beautiful! I rate read more
Aug 7, 2017
tenkenkid (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is a masterpiece, period. Watsuki-sensei created an epic rollercoaster of emotions as the main conflicts and story arcs weave and develop. No other manga has such a cast of loyal and honorable character as Rurouni Kenshin. You feel for this characters, they are human with flaws and defects but they stand tall and rise above it to inspire you to be a better person. The Kyoto Arc is the greatest story arc in any shonen manga ever! And the arc that follows is nothing to scoff about!

It starts a little slow but that's because the author wants you to get intimate with read more