Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

School Days

School Days

Alternative Titles

Japanese: スクールデイズ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 2
Chapters: 12
Status: Finished
Published: May 26, 2006 to Sep 26, 2007
Authors: Sakazuki, Homare (Art), 0verflow (Story)
Serialization: Comp Ace

Statistics

Score: 6.541 (scored by 7456 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #144362
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #762
Members: 11,991
Favorites: 224

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 18, 2008
wesley96 (All reviews)
The basis for School Days if you haven't read/seen/played it, it's pretty much about the main leads. Makoto, Kotonoha, and Sekai. Makoto likes Kotonoha. the basis of the manga revolves around them. but, Sekai likes Makoto! the basis is really will Makoto end up with Kotonoha, or Sekai? I'm not going to spoil the ending, but the ending is dark. this is not your everyday shoujo.

i saw the anime first, and the art changes between the anime and the manga. the anime has ecchi-type animation to it. the manga however, the characters don't have this ecchiness to them, and i prefer the art read more
Oct 27, 2011
yaywalter (All reviews)
This has to be one of the worst manga I've ever read.

This manga basically amounts to a very flimsy, mediocre romance setup to lead up to a a random, truly stupid shock ending.

The only people who I see liking this is young freshmen/sophomore kids in high school who might be entrenched in their own silly high school drama enough to be able to buy into the poor romance setup that ultimately leads into the absurd ending.
May 9, 2012
Fawke (All reviews)
* CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS*

Okay, I'll try to be very straightforward. I went to this manga with zero expectations. And for the first ten chapters, I read a simple but likable romantic triangle. Not great in any aspect, but at least, enjoyable. But, in the last two chapters, what I read was a pathetic, and I really mean PATHETIC, try of the author to give readers a big mindfuck, by suddendly changing the thematic of the manga. And that was atrocious, ridiculous. Well, let's go to the main points:

Story: 2

As I said up there, that was a big fail of the manga. And no, I'm read more
Aug 30, 2009
neilcfreak (All reviews)
If you are a big horror manga fan like me, prepare to be highly disappointed. The story isn't very smart nor is it interesting. The art is okay, it's your average anime style. The characters are so stereotypical it makes me want to cry. There's the boy that has no personality, his wacky best friend, and the shy moe-ish girl that the boy likes. Of course since it's a horror manga you know what's going to happen at the end. But was it violent, frightening, or disturbing? Maybe to some people who thought it was a shojo manga, but to the people who read read more
May 7, 2011
HowTragic (All reviews)
*Pre-Note: Any Ano Hana hurt fanboys are probably not too happy to see this review. It's alright. Rate it down even before reading this if it satisfies your anger. I personally feel a bit sorry for the cute and awesome characters from School Days since they'd suffer for a completely unrelated review, but other than that, I couldn't care less if you did.
To the people who were actually looking for the review, I apologize for this.

School Days, within the recent years, has become a symbol series for the sheer pleasure and entertainment of watching/reading violent love, described by a divine term called "YANDERE". read more
Jun 30, 2011
Seijurou (All reviews)
Where do I begin? This title is very famous for its erotic visual novel version as well as its anime one, due to the fact they have great artwork. The manga follows suit, as the characters and scenes are superbly drawn. Since you have probably seen, or at least heard of, the anime version, I will be mentioning some comparison points later in this review, but I will still treat this as a stand-alone one.

The story follows Itou Makoto, a boy who started noticing a beautiful girl commuting with him to and from school. Her name is Katsura Kotonoha, she likes reading books, and she read more
Jul 15, 2013
HKA-4M-T7 (All reviews)
This was one of the worst things I've read in awhile. Aside from the overall boorishness of the manga, the ending to it just sums up my feelings.... But in the wrong way.

Story: 2
It stars Makoto, a high school student who has a crush on a girl, Katsura. A classmate, Saionji, finds out about his crush and decides to help him out. This evolves into Makoto and Katsura dating. So far, cliche but something to waste an afternoon on, so ok.

For the first 6 or so chapters it's just a typical "shy factor" revolving around our 2 lovebirds liking each other, but not knowing how read more
Aug 4, 2010
HatchetGirl (All reviews)
I really liked this manga because I really loved the art style. It started out very sweet, then got alittle deeper into the plot and became even more interesting. Then, it got quite creepy. I LOVE creepy mangas :D
My favorite character was Sekai. Makoto was interesting, but not quite an enjoyable character, while Kotonoha was kind of boring. The ending slightly confused me. I still think this manga was quite enjoyable, and you should read it when you have the time.
Thanks for reading this little review :3
Sep 11, 2013
Fujaku (All reviews)
Sigh...

I was really really pumped up to read this manga, considering I loved the School Days anime. Thus I was expecting an emotional drama filled with several memorable moments. Instead I got two memorable quotes. Which were in the final two chapters. The rest? FLUFF!

School Days the manga is based off of a visual novel that also has a rather infamous anime adaption. For those of you who are unaware, it tells the story of a boy named Makoto. The girl who sits by him in class, Sekai, finds out he likes a girl called Kotonoha and helps Makoto become Kotonoha's boyfriend. But Sekai happens read more
Sep 5, 2008
Xerty (All reviews)
hhmm how to put it this story semes to be a fairly normal romance shoujo manga at first though it is defently a cut above the avreage manga in this gener chercter devolpment and back ground are a bit limited but for a 12 chapter manga it's more then ample the art is decent enoffe though it is nothing special what trully makes this story shine though is the ending for those who love a twist in the story this manga will be apreciated
Apr 12, 2011
Ni-nyan (All reviews)
The School Days manga begins the same way as the anime and who reads is led to believe that the end will be equal. But the story unfolds in a different way.

Some scenes are true to the anime, some even appeared on TV.

The base is the same: a love triangle that has everything to be just an innocent story turns into a cruel and controversial end. Anyway, the manga is "lighter" with both the adult scenes, both with violence, leaving it understood.

While I was reading the final chapters, hoped that the end was not as inhumane, since the story, as I said read more
May 11, 2009
MsMcMorbid (All reviews)
The normal cliche of Shoujo manga, right? Boy falls in love with a girl, but the boy's childhood friend fell in love with him.
A cute little story of love and friendship, but with a most shocking end.
I recomend this to all manga lovers. Even those who don't usually read Shoujo.
Dec 8, 2016
zeralul (All reviews)
The story was cliche. I almost fell asleep. Until the end.

The art was nothing out of the ordinary. Until the end.

The characters were predictable and not very dynamic. Until the end.

I did not enjoy this manga at all. Until the end.

You should read School Days if you have lots of free time and nothing better to do. I'd imagine that most people don't think it's worth it, and that's okay. I personally loved the ending. What this says about me as a person...? I'd rather not dwell on it.

Mediocre everything wrapped up by its ending leaves this with a score of 6.
Jun 11, 2012
Akaelda (All reviews)
School Days was a story that I was already familiar with from watching the anime series. I was aware of two things: one that the ending was going to be fairly dark and two the main male protagonist was a significantly more redeemable character. With this in mind, I was still pleasantly (or rather disturbingly) surprised.

I don’t normally like being the type to compare the anime to the manga, but in this case I think an exception is necessary. The most importance difference was how much better I felt about Makoto as a main character. While he still manages some fairly unlikeable actions, he finds read more
Apr 23, 2013
Heta-rashi1 (All reviews)
The first thing I can say is that the manga did better than the anime...for a few reasons. The manga presented Makoto with trying to do the right thing while the anime made him into a major twat. The girls all remain stupid while Kotonoha was as innocent yet bat crazy as could be. Sekai was still no better.

Story plot/ character development: The story in compare and contrast to its anime counterpart.....still made me want to flip chairs and tables. The fact that only this time it was all Sekai's seducing's fault and the misunderstandings of the side friends. Although Makoto did try to see read more