Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gintama Movie 1: Shinyaku Benizakura-hen


Alternative Titles

English: Gintama: The Movie
Synonyms: Gintama: Benizakura Arc - A New Retelling, Gintama Movie: Crimson Sakura Chapter New Edition, Gintama: Shin-yaku Benizakura-hen
Japanese: 劇場版 銀魂 新訳紅桜篇

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 24, 2010
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 35 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 42,700 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1139
Members: 72,929
Favorites: 324

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 13, 2011
zealot7 (All reviews)
This movie is basically a remake of the Benizakura story arc (episodes 58-61) of the series Gintama. For those who are unfamiliar with it, Gintama is a comedy series set in an alternate universe, where Japan is taken over by aliens. It follows the adventures of Sakata Gintoki - former samurai, who is always broke. He works as a “yorozuya” (something like a mercenary) together with two teenagers and does various tasks to make a living. The series are more like a parody of popular anime series and characters. The whole concept of mixing samurai, space technology, aliens and comedy may sound strange, but read more
Jul 8, 2013
GloGangSLim (All reviews)
For all of those who are skeptical or were skeptical of Gintama, this movie will suck you into the hype. I was once filling the shoes you're wearing right now, but after watching this movie it changed my outlook on how I viewed anime.

This movie's plot comes from episodes 58-61 of the original series, just redone. The story is phenomenal (Gintoki keeps his former friend from destroying Edo).

The art is typical Gintama, as are the character's audio.

What pushed me to love this was that the enjoyment was simply satisfying. From the usual Gintama, I would just get a laugh and that was read more
Jun 25, 2012
artist-retired (All reviews)
The standard shonen jump series based movie often have an original story written entirely just for the occasion. . . Or yearly routine, but having a movie based on one of the series many story arcs is either playing it safe with material fans already know of, or it's just simply being lazy. . . And the Yorozuya knows all too well about laziness.

STORY: Gintama Shinyaku Benizakura-hen is the first (And mostly the only) movie for the Gintama franchise, I movie that adapts one of the series' most famous arcs, the Benizakura arc. . . Or more accurately, rehashes the Benizakura arc giving it a read more
Sep 6, 2011
Bryce-kun (All reviews)
"Hey I got a great idea! Why don't we (Sunrise) show our fans something they already seen before and turn into a movie! Wow, great! Yeah, great marketing scheme to pull in the profits."

Is it really necessary for me to explain and describe the plot and characters in this review even though you obviously seen the anime and if not why are you, the reader even going to attempt to watch the movie? You won't understand it.

In all seriousness what was the point of this movie? I thought it was going to be something original, something that Gintama fans never seen before. But it turned read more
Aug 25, 2015
-Alians- (All reviews)
NOTE : My score is given based off of two things. The first is how good the actual arc was. The second is what it improved.

Gintama has made quite a few remake movies of arcs. Can't say they were bad, because they did a great job at adapting the arcs. This movie adapts the Benizakura arc which is from episode 58-61 which is one of my favourite Gintama arcs. It's pretty much a recap with nothing left out with some added stuff.

This arc is probably the first arc revolving around Gintoki and his past. What does it do better than episode 58-61? It has read more
May 9, 2015
Iijjjjrssssssss (All reviews)
WARNING: REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS
NOTE: I will not be comparing to the anime Bt as a movie adaptation


STORY:7/10
its a copy and paste from the anime with some well accepted added scenes which were probably never in the anime the story itself isn't anything great but doesn't let you get bored because of the jokes and other screenplay motions.

ART:10/10
The art is absolutely beautiful they improved It alot with better lighting shadowing etc. You get the point. And also the absolutely amazing fight scene added at the end of the movie (Gintoki and Katsura vs Amanto) was certainly a treat for all the fans of read more
Jun 10, 2016
FurankuSan (All reviews)
Gintama is a good show. I have to admit that. The comedy of the show is really good. However, this movie only has less comedy and it shows more of its serious side. Is it a good movie?

It is a good movie, but it's not a 10/10 for me.

I believe this is the first Gintama arc that shows its serious side. It introduces, if not, develops characters that links to Gintoki's backstory. The film does show its epic moments. By the ending, it raises more question on Gintoki's past which makes me curious (I still have to watch the anime to find out).

I couldn't score read more
Oct 22, 2017
Crack-san (All reviews)
Gintama: The Movie or known it by the name of Gintama: Shin’yaku Benizakura-Hen is a summary of the episode Gintama 58-61, which here tells about the Benizakura Arc. Gintama was produced by Studio Sunrise since 2006 and for this movie will retell how Kotarou Katsura was attacked by the aliens of Kihetai. In this movie too, Warner Bros participated in the making of this movie even though they didn’t confirm about this movie. However, Gintama movie was a great success in 2010 and successfully aired in all theaters from various countries.

I will not write much about this movie because this movie is just a summary read more
Mar 3, 2012
erieh (All reviews)
Well, I'd say that it's true that 95% of the scenes in this movie was already seen by the viewers who have watched Gintama from episodes 59 (or something) and so on. But it was great since they showed some scenes that was never seen before.
Everything for me is just perfect, and even though I've already seen this in normal Gintama episodes, I still enjoyed it to the fullest.
I actually thought that they would never dub it again since the scenes are just the same with the episodes we first saw.
But I was proved wrong. Anyway, this movie is still the best!
Mar 21, 2013
roguenealer (All reviews)
Its just a copy and paste of a couple episodes of the series and the parts they did take from the series are not that great and the stuff that they added are bland a big dissapointment from a fan of the series
May 8, 2018
Casserollette (All reviews)
I started watching this show a few weeks ago. After watching 57 episodes of the show, I decided to watch this movie instead of the original episodes (58-61) since many recommended it and said it was better than the original. Before I continue with this review, I am basing my review only on the arc itself and the movie as a whole without relying on the original episodes (58-61).

Story (5) : As a movie without relying on the show, the movie is pretty lacking as you need to obviously watch the show (specifically episodes 3-57 before watching this one) because you might or will read more
Oct 25, 2012
5cheese (All reviews)
this movie is pretty much the same as the arc as staed several times by the characters of gintama. Although there was one or two new scenes. In one of those scenes they had my favorite character of all time ( Kagura-chan being my first favorite). Those new scenes made it worth for me.
Jun 15, 2014
Saag_Pasta (All reviews)
Sorry, first review but this needs to be known to everyone...

Good movie from a good series (well, as much as I've seen anyway). It's funny, it's got good fight scenes (and animation in general) and a coherent plot (even if it is just a re-hash of a existing story-arc), what more could you want?(besides romance... although I suppose you could say that it's already there...)

All right, to my main concern... So my friend showed me this the other night and this is very minutely a spoiler (even though it's been a solid 4 years), but did anyone else notice a possible Rick Roll when read more
Dec 9, 2012
worldvision (All reviews)
With one of the most popular arc of Gintama comes the movie version of it.

Of course, you wouldn’t understand this movie if you haven’t seen the anime version of it. To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much because I thought it would be just a compilation of the episodes from the series but I couldn’t be so wrong. I strongly believe that the movie is made even better from the anime version. You can feel the strong touch of a film from this movie which makes it quite different from the series. You will enjoy it just like watching a motion picture.

Because it is read more