Tenchi Muyou! Ryououki 3rd Season

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Tenchi Muyo! Ryo-Ohki 3rd Season
Japanese: 天地無用!魎皇鬼 第三期

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 18, 2003 to Mar 16, 2005
Producers: VAP
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: AIC
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, HaremHarem, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen, SpaceSpace
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.321 (scored by 90919,091 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #22532
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3842
Members: 17,569
Favorites: 47
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 16, 2010
case649 (All reviews)
Anyone who has ever so much as scanned my anime list here on MAL knows that I have a peculiar fondness for the OVA format of anime, particularly of that era in the late 80's and early 90's when the format was at its height. In a decade of being an anime fan, I've completed well over 200 series of this type, and to this day I still kind of prefer it just because of the superior quality you tend to have when animators can concentrate their time and energy on a small episode count.

That being said, Tenchi Muyo! Ryo-Ohki 3 easily wins my nomination read more
Apr 28, 2008
AoiMemori (All reviews)
*sighs* I have to begin by saying that I adore the original OVA. So, this review might be a bit biased.

I am huge Ryoko fan. I did not enjoy the fact that the producers threw in a "fiancee" into the mix especially when it feels like a lot of the fans of the other girls where cheated on by this decision. Most of the first 5 episodes have to do with us getting to know Noike and an overzealous brother of Mihoshi (this is pretty much the only romance we truly get to see panned out in the OVA). There isn't much of a read more
Jan 16, 2015
Aarronin (All reviews)
Tenchi Muyo Ryo-Ohki or OVA 3 is not bad. If anything, it's actually pretty good.

I know there have been gripes with the changes that have been made but guys come on. Change happens, and while not the way we want, the story is expanding. And there are great gems to be had in this OVA. (get it? Three gems?)

Anywhoo:

Story: Kajishima returns for a new addition to the Tenchi franchise. I, like many others, gripped at the changes back when I first saw it but coming back into them, they are good. It's a YMMV experience but I recommend it.

The story has brought it's A read more
Mar 12, 2014
SlayerJim (All reviews)
I am fucking enraged right now! I love Tenchi Muyo! and am glad that the original OVA series really holds up but this god damn sequel to it that was hyped up at the 2nd OVA series cliffhanger and took 8 years to come out is one of the biggest abominations I have ever seen. This is 1st Negima anime level bad, I didn't think that I would watch an anime worse than Infinite Stratos 2 so soon. I watched an episode of Wizard Barristers today as well and I enjoyed the Wizard Barristers episode better than this and that show sucks. Sure Tenchi becomes read more
Jan 22, 2010
apatch3 (All reviews)
I'm afraid this OVA was an utterly disappointing end to the god-like OVA series its supposed to complete. For starters why the hell did they change the art style their whole attempt at modernizing the backdrops and certain elements just took the whole 90's charm out of tenchi...-_-.
The story is rather disjointed and the introduction of new characters this late in the game was wholly necessary, as my fellow reviewers have already mentioned the only good part of this series was getting to see the 3 goddesses in action. *sight* As a tenchi fan you're going to read more
Mar 18, 2009
genshiken195 (All reviews)
For me, as well as for many of the other Tenchi fans out there... this third series of OVAs did nothing but disappoint.

The long awaited final set of episodes only leaves a so-so impression on its long time fans... and would hardly be enough to cultivate new ones. Only long time fans such as myself would bother to sit through these average episodes... and that can only be credited to the greatness of the first and second set of OVAs.