Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Jigoku Shoujo Mitsuganae


Alternative Titles

English: Hell Girl: Three Vessels
Synonyms: Hell Girl 3, Jigoku Shoujo 3
Japanese: 地獄少女 三鼎

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2008 to Apr 4, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Tokyo MX
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 31,300 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1282
Members: 78,668
Favorites: 294

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 20, 2011
DraconisMarch (All reviews)
Ah... the final installment of Jigoku Shoujo. Sadly, all good things come to an end, but some ends are uglier than others.

*If you haven't seen Futakomori (season two), stop reading now and watch that first. If you haven't seen Jigoku Shoujo (season one), why are you even here?

Mitsuganae is like a monkey on a unicycle: At the beginning, it looks cool and interesting--until you realize it doesn't make much sense (plot holes and discontinuity issues). But then, the monkey starts throwing its poop at you. Then (starting at episode 13), it starts using its tail to try to clean the read more
Jun 29, 2009
naganje (All reviews)
Maybe not as good as Futakomori, but still a must watch for every fan of Enma Ai.

The story is pretty much similar to what we have seen in the two previous seasons, people are being sent to hell and hatred is released, though this time hatred gives birth to more hatred.

Throughout the season it can be noticed that the creators have decided to use the ideas the fans found rather pleasing in the past. Once again someone tries to make a stand against the jigoku tsuushin, similarly to what has happened in the first season of the series. While new characters are introduced stories about read more
May 20, 2010
meikira14 (All reviews)
I'll be straightforward. If you loved futakomori, don't watch this one. It would be very dissapointing, referring to the plot and the story of course. The cases are not that intriguing, relevant and amusing this time around. And the main plot is just not as good as the one in its prequel. But still, the sound and art is great. And you still get to see the lovely enma ai. Try watching it if you want to see enma ai that badly. But do not even try if you don't want to keep comparing it to it's past seasons.
Apr 13, 2009
mrsjunmatsumoto (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:
Basically the frame of each episode is the same as season 1 and 2 *people sending other people to hell*, but the new twist of Ai being reborn with Yuzuki as the medium is very interesting. It get's interesting with every episode because it unfolds the deeper story of Yuzuki's involvement with Ai.

Art:
Effects are basically the same as 1 and 2 but I love Ai's new kimono. The effects of it is really great. Opening and closing vids are amazingly colorful.

Sound:
Timing and choice of sound effects add the eerie effect at key points of the story. Making you anticipate something coming.

Character:
Though old characters retained their read more
May 7, 2009
Fye_DX (All reviews)
Quick Review (For lazy readers!):
Thinking back to the time I watched the other Jigoku Shoujo seasons, I guess this was the one that took me the longest to finish. I just didn't feel like it, and it seemed worse than the other 2.
You can probably get bored of it, after all it is really similar to what we have seen so far. The last episodes were pretty good though.
A- for fans, and probably an C+/B for other people watching it.
Worth watching. Overall: 8/10
------------------------------
Story (6/10):
This is surely the worst season of the 3. The story was not BAD, but it was rather boring because you mostly read more
May 4, 2012
gdjdelacruz (All reviews)
First of all, I would like to thank you for reading this review because you actually took time to
read this post. :)

"Would you like to try dying once?" - Enma Ai

Okay, so I recommend that you would watch this series chronologically. By that I mean from Jigoku Shoujo -> Jigoku Shoujo Futakamori -> (finally) Jigoku Shoujo Mitsuganae. It should be in this order for you to understand the story of Enma Ai and her job as Jigoku Shoujo.

This season in particular, has the most messed-up characters because of the reasons why they send
the people who they hate

-SPOILER ALERT-

EPISODE 4 = that boy read more
Nov 15, 2008
REVERIEExx (All reviews)
Preliminary
Enma Ai has really gotten creative this time. She has resurrected herself in a young girl, Yuzuki Mikage. This season's people who sent people to Hell, and people who get sent to Hell are very interesting. But pointless. Most people that get sent to Hell don't deserve to, in this season of Jigoku Shoujo. Most of the people who want to send a certain person to Hell is just jealous, or doesn't like how they do things. It's never for the right reasons. Except for Episode 5, whereas the person actually deserved to die.

Story: Most of the people who want to send a certain person read more
Oct 8, 2011
nunchuk28 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hell Girl is one of my favorite anime of all time, it was a nice change of pace from your typical shonen or comedy show and it really did a great job at showing the cruelty of the world. Now, I never really brought myself to see the sequels to it until this year, so I had no clue of how it was altogether. Now that I have done so, I can come to a final critic about the series in general, but I'm not someone that does anime reviews, at all. However, this season was so "special" I just had to give it such read more
Oct 24, 2008
huhahu68 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've been a fan of both anime producers and anime songs(artists). but for this season, i did like the fact that enma is back. but the fact that she possessed a girl to take her form(enma form) i didnt like it. same w/ the op of the anime. i think Snow can make a better song for it. but it's worth watching for the sake of curiosity.
Dec 6, 2011
Ambertsarina (All reviews)
First of All, watch Jigoku Shoujo Mitsuganae if..
- You are JS or Ai Enma fan
- You have seen both the season, and want some 'hell-grudge' stuff
- You are not bored of people going to hell

Jigoku Shoujo Mitsuganae follows after the second season of the Jigoku shoujo Series. As spectacular the first and second season were, the third fails to appeal to that level. Even though this season has its own appeals, its not THAT great!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
to elaborate:-

STORY
Basically, JS3 continues from the 2nd season. As the season starts Ai Enma doesn't have her body, so she passes judgement through the body of a girl, yuzuki. as read more
Jun 22, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
This season of Hell Girl felt like a step down in quality compared to the quality of the second season. Mitsuganae retains the elements you would find in the first two seasons of Hell Girl where a victim browses the Hell Correspondence site to send their tormentor to hell, thinks over the decision and sends said tormentor to hell when they reach a breaking point. The elements of flawed and sympathetic elements found between the victim and tormentor of each episode are retained from the second season as well. Anyone expecting a change from the same repetitious developments found in Hell Girl's past two seasons read more
Aug 2, 2011
BBHood22 (All reviews)

I've seen the 1st and 2nd seasons of Jigoku Shoujo, so upon learning that there was a 3rd, I immediately made sure that I get a copy... Unfortunately, it took me some time to get all the episodes...

Main Characters: Enma Ai, Hone Onna, Ichimoku Ren, Wanyuudou, Kikuri, Yamawaro and Yuzuki

Story: 6/10 - the ways on how people were put to hell were still interesting... however, it gets boring since the flow of the episodes are the same... it was not necessary to drag the story to 26eps... i think 12eps will suffice... this is the first time i had to fast-forward an anime just to read more
Mar 25, 2009
kikuchimera (All reviews)
Preliminary
i didn't like the plot of story in Jigoku Shojo Mitsuganae that much, that Emma Ai come back, but i like that she got more emotional in the third season. and the cause in this season it not good as the last 2 season. this season the client pull the string because of jut hate ppl.
Dec 11, 2012
super88 (All reviews)
This is a review for those who've watched the first two seasons of hell girl, if you haven't watched hellgirl by now you need to start with season 1.

Everything about Mitsuganae is mediocre compared to the first two seasons. While the first season wasn't perfect by a long shot and many critics had lots of issues with it, Mitsuganae (the third season) is a disaster compared to it. With season 2 being the best.

The problem is that the third season has the same problems as the first, except this time it's obvious the writers ran out of ideas. The repetitive plot read more
Oct 4, 2016
Raccoon_Citizen (All reviews)
This is a review talking about all three seasons of Hell Girl. (There are some spoilers of the first two seasons and the main points of what this season has. And this is mixed with my opinion)

If you want to avoid spoilers, read the conclusion which gives you an advice.

This is my first time (and probably only time) writing a review.

First season is where the story started with some intriguing/interesting stories (As a bonus, there were 2 supernatural episodes) about revenge, then the Shibata’s make an entrance and the story will make you hooked to know what will happen. It introduced the Shibatas’ and read more
Apr 12, 2017
RanmaChanFC (All reviews)
I don't normally feel the need to write reviews, but I felt rather, disgruntled, after watching this through to the end. Maybe this is the sort of, wait a day after watching then see if you want to write a review sort of situation? Eh, screw it. If you enjoy the main focus of the story, the 'calling upon Hell Girl and watching her banish people' no matter how trivial or silly some of the reasons become, then you will still like this. However, if that isn't all you are looking for, then you will be disappointed. I know I was, despite wanting to like read more
Jun 10, 2009
nalferd (All reviews)
If you're a fan of the Jigoku Shoujo series, you gotta watch this one! It still deals with people being sent to hell, but Ai Enma got resurrected to Yuzuki's body. One thing I didn't like about the series is that the main plot starts again late in the series. They didn't also explain how did Ai came back... But I still enjoyed it especially in terms of the OST's... (The ones being played when Ai is about to send a person to hell)...
Oct 1, 2010
hangbin9 (All reviews)
Enma Ai returns with Season 3! After the events of the previous season, Hell Girl will have to find a body to work. Yuzuki Mikage was living an ordinary life until Ai possessed her. Now, Yuzuki will have to see the job of Hell Girl personally and so begins another battle between the Hell Girl and an individual who wants her to stop.

Very similar to season 1, Mitsuganae will still bring you the stuff you want. The possession part is new, but won't be too much of a change to the overall story. The old team of Hone Onna, Ren and Wanyudo will return, but read more
Jan 7, 2017
highfeel (All reviews)
***This review contains spoilers for prequels of the series***
So it is recommended to ones who finished 1st and 2nd seasons

The third season of Jigoku Shoujo is still conceptually the same, keeping rather dark atmosphere with faint rays of hope glowing, and then fading. But this time it is getting really absurd, I mean it not in a bad way though it is hard to get the point, the situations pictured here are now even more absurd. Yeah, people tend to act irrationally, especially being filled with hate and wrath, and the consequence are not pleasant at all. But what for are we shown that? To read more
Jan 2, 2014
AkaenX (All reviews)
The series exploring certain states of the humans psyches, which when collided, lead to conflicts, unrest, suffering, and eventualy, " pulling THE red string ", that ultimately only brings the prosperity of Hell, through the job of the Hell Corespondence and it's 'employees', Enma Ai and Co. ; Jigoku Shoujo, continues with it's 3rd season.

( Story and Characters ) After her...disturbing departure at the end of the last season. Enma Ai, supernatural maiden, contractor of souls, once again does her stuff in this realm, this time, without a body of her own, having to manifest herself using a school girl as read more