Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tsukuyomi: Moon Phase


Alternative Titles

English: Tsukuyomi: Moon Phase
Japanese: 月詠 −MOON PHASE−

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2004 to Mar 29, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Shaft
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 22,248 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #34312
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1599
Members: 57,474
Favorites: 277

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 31, 2008
Dorcas_Aurelia (All reviews)
This series is for those who prefer their vampires to be cute as kittens more often than they are dark and brooding. The mood of the series, like Hazuki's personalities, tend to alternate between the two, although it generally works better when emphasizing the moe aspects, which it does a lot. That said, people with an aversion to cat-eared girls and little-sister types are advised to stay far away.


The plot tends to switch between stretches of seriousness and levity: the first two episodes deal with Hazuki meeting Kohei and escaping the castle, then settling into a silly daily routine before dealing with more villains a read more
Mar 17, 2008
Nezon (All reviews)
Tsukuyomi -MOON PHASE- is about a photographer who takes pictures of ghosts for a living. Kouhei the protagonist then encounters a vampire, whom tries to force him to become her slave.
______________________________________________________________

Story: The story is quite simple, but isn't your typical romantic comedy anime. It focuses on the relationship between a human and a vampire, which can become pretty interesting if it can deliver it well. Every anime has its villain, and the bad guys really make the story interesting.
______________________________________________________________

Art: The art isn't the best, and it doesn't appeal to the audience. The majority of the anime consists of dark colours, and in some read more
Jan 13, 2019
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Instead of reviewing the latest seasonal, I'm going to take readers back to a dark time in anime's past. The first days of On-Demand cable. The year is 2004. There is anime on a few channels like Cartoon Network and Sci-fi, but you don't have a lot of selection. If your local video store didn't carry a lot of anime, tough shit! Wait till Saturday and watch that rerun of Cowboy Bebop and Outlaw Star. Then something amazing happened! You could actually go to the On-Demand section and pick from dozens of anime, anytime you want.

So what anime were available? Nearly all the top anime read more
Aug 5, 2008
mlluu92 (All reviews)
Intro: Boy's job is to take pictures of the supernatural. Boy's job leads him to castle to meet girl. Girl has multiple personalities and is a vampire. Boy brings girl home. Story unravels there.

Story: The story was actually decent in my mind. It was creative and it included everything one would ask for in an anime. DRAMA, ROMANCE, ACTION, and COMEDY. It although, lacked a decent ending and left a minor amount of questions un-answered, the story fell into place and connected to the next scene of the story. I have nothing really to complain with the story.

Art: The art was the noteworthy thing about read more
Jun 16, 2009
Maur (All reviews)
This won't be your typical review. There are already plenty of those. Instead I just wanted to share my final thoughts about something usually overlooked about Moonphase. Moonphase/Tsukuyomi is a very strange show. I don't just say that because of its reputation for loli level moe. What I mean is, the series as a whole is hard to summarize. Moonphase is easily the kind of show that can give the somewhat misleading impression of "typical". By no means is it some amazing original masterpiece, but the point I'm going to make isn't meant to slam it or demonize it either. In fact, the sole purpose read more
Apr 13, 2008
thousandmaster (All reviews)
Story - 10 - The story is about a human who love a vampire. A world ful of action, comedy, adventure and love. The story revolves around hazuki and kouhei in romantic comedy way, the people who protect hazuki and the world that they choose for being with each other..
Art - 10 - I can say that the anime was really realistic and the fact that the images changes in the story plot. It was really good and I really like the animation..
Sound - 10 - Oh boy, the music in this anime was really good.. I like the theme song that they are read more
Apr 4, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
Sometimes anime really does get on my nerves hard. Anime can take an old concept and add in a few twist which gives it an original feel. In addition, provide a pretty good story for a brief period. Then just completely ruin the whole damn fuckin' thing robbing it of almost all value. Moon Phase so falls into this category to the point where I can run into my corner and cry.

I'll begin with the features that immediately grabbed my attention: the animation and artwork. Visually, Moon Phase is outstanding. It displays a great deal of color combinations with a dark and gothic setting. The read more
Jul 20, 2010
Vamwolf1 (All reviews)
To be honest the reason I decided to write this review was because everyone was mainly putting down all the bad stuff about this anime instead of keeping a open mind about it. When I first looked at this I thought "oh probably another fan service type of anime", but I completely misjudged it. In fact the most fan service it had were the neko ears.

Story: I can't say the story was outstanding, because if it was I wouldn't be craving for more. In fact I would be quite satisfied with the ending results. I'm not saying it was bad or that it left read more
Jul 25, 2010
Cyberwoman (All reviews)
Being a fan of vampires and the gothic all my life I had to check this anime out when I heard about it, and while it is far from a classic, it’s an enjoyable romp of an adventure for sure.

Moon Phase is at its heart an adventure/romance/comedic anime and it mostly works very well in all its fields and while the series may look light and fluffy on its surface (And most of the time it is quite light) it holds some dark settings and events which will surprise you.

The central story is engaging enough and develops well at the start, yet as it progresses read more
Jun 13, 2010
jabcreations (All reviews)
Preliminary
Moon Phase promised to be a good series and was able to deliver in some ways however this series is clearly not for everyone. My reviews aren't really spoilers so much as the context of the content you should expect.

There is a storyline and it's reasonably interesting however this series is ultimately dominated by the conflicting emotions of the two main characters. The first two episodes will draw you in and depending on your tastes will either be the best thing since sliced bread or a disappointment.

I enjoyed the art and it was definitely above average in my opinion. There were no cheap budget gimmicks read more
Jun 8, 2010
hazumuchan (All reviews)
I had originally been introduced to "Tsukuyomi ~Moon Phase~" when I was still using GaiaOnline and was pleasantly surprised at the combination of humor and supernatural elements. In this day and age where we have so many serious vampire series, it's good to see one that doesn't take itself too seriously.

This series can move slow at times, and the near-constant arguments between Kouhei and Hazuki can be annoying from time to time. I enjoyed the latter half of the series immensely, but it took me forever to get through the first half because of these.

In the end, I found it to be a read more
Oct 9, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Moon Phase seemed like a series that wasn't sure what kind of story it wanted to tell, mixing rom-com and vampire drama in its focus on male lead Kouhei's interactions with 14-year old vampire gal Hozuki, though both elements are still lackluster. The comedy and drama to the series comes from Hozuki adjusting to living life outside her castle while Kouhei puts up with her antics and Kouhei's family trying to protect her from other vampires trying to drive her back to the castle. The comedy was mostly lackluster for me since it relied on many of the same gags such as Hozuki's obnoxious tsundere read more
Aug 21, 2012
OmegaBigAxiom (All reviews)
Before I say anything I'd like to say that the beginning of this anime is very slow and kinda boring but once you get over the first 15 episodes or so everthing starts to get more or less exciting. That been said let's talk about the story. Basically this is youre basic love story, you know, guy sees girl on castel roof.....guy keeps thinking of her.... guy decides to see her again....so on and so forth (Twist beeing that she is a Vampire). After he successfully rescues her his family decides to keep her as a member. This is where things start to spice read more
Jun 18, 2009
HazukiSama (All reviews)
Story:I really enjoyed Tsukuyomi "Moon Phase" I watched when I was younger,so I didn't understand the whole concept of moe all I knew was that It had my two favorite things Vampires and Cats,even now I still enjoy it and I've watched a lot of animes and it is still one of my favorites.I also enjoyed the opening,most of the time I tend not to like cutesy songs that repeat over and over but when I first saw it I fell in love with the song I also like the little details that change in very opening and the things that fall on the characters read more
May 11, 2009
nixops (All reviews)
Preliminary
Boy meets strange vampire girl with lots of enemies.... thats about all there is to it. Its difficult to know whether to lilke Hazuki (the main female character) or not. She moves between precious, vulnerable, cute, annoying and sweet so many times in an episode that you really feel sorry for Kouheii (the main male character). The supporting characters are what makes this interesting, there are quite a few and each adds their own bit of spice to what is a reasonably predictable anime.

I enjoyed the anime more than the manga, I felt the anime made a bit more sense and was fleshed out better. read more
Jul 19, 2011
brent_starks (All reviews)
At first look, Tsukuyomi appears to be a loli type anime. If you thought this...well you would be incredibly wrong on so many levels.

story: (spoiler free) The story is based on a young photographer named Kouhei who happens to see a beautiful girl on a haunted castle...he later finds out she is a vampire who wants to escape her castle and be free..

art: fantastic. I loved the character designs. A few problems with the noses occasionally.

sound: not bad, but nothing memorable outside the opening song.

character: Really great. Kouhei and Hazuki grow so much over the story. Side characters are interesting as well.

enjoyment: I really enjoyed read more
Mar 18, 2018
squirrvev (All reviews)
SPOILER-FREE REVIEW

This is a weird show. The beginning of SHAFT as we know it today. That being said, it's very different from most SHAFT shows. That's because the style many people love SHAFT for isn't developed yet at this point of this studio's history. There are a lot of weird things that just exist within the show for lolz, or even no reason at all. Like washbasins falling on people's heads out of nowhere. Or every single opening being different. I have to say that they were handled pretty well, especially some joke changes in openings that appear once in a while.

The story consists read more
Mar 15, 2011
XP-Muzzy (All reviews)
For me, this show should have gotten much higher scores than I gave it. The first two episodes absolutely blew me away, and I couldn’t wait to continue the series. Then I hit episode three, and the show changed so quickly I felt like I had gotten slapped across the face. Tension of a romance brewing between a 14 year old girl and a grown man became the major focus. Normally in anime the girl looks mature enough that her age is basically forgotten, but Hazuki cannot ever seem anything but a little kid. It irritates me every time I see it.

Though it is a read more
Aug 21, 2014
bearvarine (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this series. It is one of the few I have actually watched twice.

The thing about this series is that it is almost more interesting as a survey of the Japanese Occult than for the story itself.

The story is about Kohei Morioka who is a photographer for hire. He investigates a castle in Germany but while there, becomes ensnared with Hazuki, a young vampiress. She bites him and tries to make Kohei her slave, but something goes wrong with her magic and she cannot control him, a fact that enfuriates her. In fact, he takes pity on her and read more
Jan 25, 2010
Kodomo_R (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime shows the good side of the vampires.Hazuki does ordinary vampire things like - walking out only in when it's dark,drinking blood sometimes etc. ,but she is also kind and very kawaii.In some of the episodes the anime looks looks just as the many animes with a cute loli, but the thing that;s best in this anime is the great mixture between action and drama/loli and cuteness .