Kimera

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 祈明羅

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 31, 1996
Producers: Studio Tulip
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: animate Film
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, Boys LoveBoys Love, HorrorHorror, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: VampireVampire
Duration: 47 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 5.111 (scored by 29492,949 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #111422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #6227
Members: 6,506
Favorites: 7

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 5, 2021
literaturenerd (All reviews)
I've decided to review a god awful Yaoi title for LGBTQ Pride Month! I believe the last time I did this was for "Boku no Sexual Harassment" back in 2016, so it's been far too long! This is the story of Kimera: Gender/Sexuality or as its better known in America, Kimera: Gay Vampires from Outer Space!

Kimera was created by the same woman who wrote Boku no Sexual Harassment, so we're off to a great start! The animation studio behind Kimera was Animate Film, who mostly did in-between animation for larger studios. However, they did create a few independent projects apart from Kimera, most notably read more
Dec 7, 2013
mahoganycow (All reviews)
Selected scene from Kimera, 1996: An Air Force official maintains a roadblock on a rural mountain path. He is armed, and there are numerous uniformed soldiers clearly visible in the background, as well as the flaming wreckage of an overturned army-green transport. As a bystander approaches to, y'know, see what all the fuss is about, the official levels his assault rifle, its muzzle six inches from the man's head, and says “you can't be here, it's dangerous, run!” The bystander does the absolute last thing that any thinking human being would do: Pushes the barrel of the gun aside with his hand and demands to read more
Apr 4, 2011
kitphiroth (All reviews)
I picked this anime up a long time ago on a whim, boy I didn't know what I was getting into.


STORY:

It's about a vampire wanting to use Kimera to continue the race. During this there seems to be a lot of Damsel in Distress on top of her being a vampire. The weirdest thing about her is that she has the upper body of a man and the lower body of a female. There appears to be a rape scene of some sort too, but it's just odd because Kimera looks like a woman/man or something.

She doesn't talk, which read more
Oct 2, 2013
PeterWendy (All reviews)
This is one totally underrated piece.
I watch low rated films with my finger on the "skip" button, just to make sure that I'm not missing out. This time I didn't use it even once.

Story:
One of the rarest occasions when you watch fantasy/Sci-Fi/supernatural and in the end everything make sense. The plot is not too twisted, but well thought through. No Deus ex Machina, no "figure it out for your self" parts. The story flows smoothly and the ending is not trivial, but conclusive.

Art:
The style is a bit old, yet thoroughly done, nothing extraordinary, except for the fight scene, that was pretty intense and visual (blood read more
Jul 24, 2020
unimportantuser (All reviews)
Me being me, I love seeking out & watching really awful anime OVAs. With me also liking to write reviews on these said atrocities on occasion, I have come across some real stinkers such as Dark Cat, Sword For Truth, Kennel Tokorozawa, & Kite to name a few. Kimera just so happens to be another victim about to face my wrath. I’m kinda hoping this will be somewhat bearable, but we’ll find out I guess.

Story: 1/10

The story is completely incomprehensible. The “plot” is supposed to be about this guy named Osamu finding the titular character & protecting her I think? The only thing we read more
Apr 6, 2018
ky_Yuuki (All reviews)
This anime would have been more tolerable if the music wasn't so terrible. Most notable, 38 minuets into the show one song during the only fight scene included dialog from what sounds like a phone call. A woman saying something like "Your payment for your insurance is approximately 4 weeks overdue, no insure company will ever take you with your insurance...". All of the music and stock sound effects were just bad. And yes this was the original Japanese version. Maybe they did a better job on the English dub, but I haven't seen it. If this anime was read more
Mar 13, 2017
Sidewinder51 (All reviews)
Rate a 5
English Dubbed

Story
Odd putting to say the least. Story is about vamps but doesn't really stick to what equals a vamp. Also, the 'Green creature' concept is puzzling. I am aware of what the green creature is but the makes it seem somewhat natural to the characters when it actually confusing to the viewers. Let's just say when it comes to frisky things you need matching tools which set of the two is missing on the 'green creature?'' Aside from those confusing elements it was an original story.

As for the ending... Not quite what i was hoping/expecting but it works i guess. It was read more
Oct 1, 2017
shehrozeameen (All reviews)
Its an anime with late 90s aesthetics. While it may not appeal to a lot of people (because the last 20 minutes of this anime are consumed with an exposition dump and an ending which leaves a lot of head scratching - even though it makes sense, but its more short term sense rather than long term), the overall art style, english dub quality, and general competent direction is acceptable. I think its a decent work, even though I wouldn't see it a second time.

With that said, it is under 50 minutes, so that works in its favor. You can watch the OVA without prior read more