Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yamato Nadeshiko Shichihenge♥


Alternative Titles

English: The Seven Metamorphoses of Yamato Nadeshiko
Synonyms: Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge, Perfect Girl Evolution, The Wallflower
Japanese: ヤマトナデシコ七変化♥

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2006 to Mar 28, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Nippon Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Shoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 59,451 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #908
Members: 113,562
Favorites: 2,267

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 1, 2008
Shido_Tatsuhiko (All reviews)
Upon finishing this series, I just had to make a review of it :D

* Story *

I must say, even for a shoujo title, this story has a lot of originality as well as taking advantage of the same old clichés but with a twist. With Nabeshin as director, I couldn't expect any less, as he makes every episode hilarious! And it's nice to see the series has its serious and dramatic moments, and when you see them, you'll crave for more, seriously.
Sunako-chan is quite a character, and you'll love her from the getgo. She is a very special girl, and she suffered quite a lot read more
Jul 27, 2007
Xinil (All reviews)
Ater taking nearly 4 months to complete, this show finally got the last episode subtitled. So, what were my thoughts?

Story
The story started off great. Four guys need money to pay rent, so their landlord asks them to "turn this crazy girl into an actual lady". Eh, not an amazing story, but sounds funny. I'd probably have given it more than a 6 if it actually went anywhere. But, it didn't really progress, nor did we get to see much happen from the start until the end.

Art
Prepare to be swamped by constant chibi characters. Odd models and bland scenes..the art is something to be desired.

Sound
Nothing special. read more
Aug 27, 2007
Sarcastic (All reviews)
I thought that the story was actually quite original. At first I thought that it would be your usual story. They try to change her and then they fall in love and then love rivals appear and some comedy is thrown in but that didn't happen in the slightest, which I thought was quite refreshing. I do wish that focused a little bit more on the relationships with each other, especially Sunako (Main Character).

Some people may not like the artwork but I thought that it went quite well with all of the characters personalities and I also really liked the way that they read more
Dec 31, 2008
Ceptryn (All reviews)
Watching Yamato is like dating a someone (guy or girl) who looks like Borat in a mini-skirt. Prolonged exposure could leave you with a desire to gouge your eyes out, though on the plus side, you'll enjoy Yamato's hidden charm a lot more once yours eyes are bloody pulps on the floor.

Normally, art is a minor detail for me, but the atrocious art in Yamato cannot be ignored. While there is a lot to blame, the bland backgrounds, the sub-par animation, the dreary colors, and the overly constant use of chibi characters, one particular feature completely stands out.

The four main male leads are suppose read more
Jan 24, 2008
zeru02 (All reviews)
This anime's selling point is comedy, comedy, and comedy. At first glance, the male characters aren't as appealing to look at, unlike say, ouran host club. They all seem to be wearing too much eyelashes and lipstick. Kyohei is the best looking of the four, I daresay. As for the story, its a typical laugh-in-you-face theme, with hilarious situations like nose bleeds and excessive addiction to anything horror and blood related stuffs. Sunako's protrayal of a reclusive, horror-blood-splatter-loving female who gets nosebleeds whenever she sees anyone beautiful is hilarious, as well as the silly romantic escapades of her aunt in the series. There is read more
Feb 23, 2011
TheSakurax (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think it's always good to read a poor review for any anime. It doesn't reflect the opinions of everyone, but it's good to add a little perspective to the rest.

Story: 8/10
I actually watched this as a live action before I watched the anime and the premise is wonderful. Screw cliches --the heroine is to shoujo as a carrot is to bicycle. Ie. She defies almost every shoujo cliche and I love it!

Art: 3/10
I'm sorry. I love the story, but the art really put me off. I just don't like men with full lips and girly eyes. Nope. Can't help it. I like them to read more
Sep 27, 2007
dollie_mixtures (All reviews)
Having read the manga first, I can't help but compare the two. And, boy, does the anime score low. It's a classic case of good idea badly executed.

First thing I noticed is the sloppy art. In the manga the boys are beautifully drawn; in the anime, the artists seem to run out of steam by the time they finish drawing Kyohei and Takenaga - Ranmaru often ends up looking like a drag queen and Yuki grotesquely cute. The backgrounds are so simplified they are almost nonexistent and the constant use of chibis is distracting and annoying after a while. The characters we get to know read more
Apr 12, 2009
Japachinglish (All reviews)
I cant even begin to describe how awesome this series is. I just started the first episode just to fill in sometime, and the next thing you know if finished the series before dinner...on the same day.

Story: Not new, similar to Nobuta wo Produce and lots of other shoujo animes some what. But what makes this unique is the humour. I mean GOD its so hilarious it's nearly unrivaled. Definately very unique.

Art: I'm not really into this style art yet I lived through it. If your turning your back on this anime just because of the then DON'T. You will definately forget. The art is read more
Feb 24, 2015
AnimeLiu (All reviews)
Warning: the review may contain spoilers

Story
The storyline itself isn't very unique and original. In fact, it greatly reminds me of Kimi ni Todoke, but we are talking about Yamato Nadeshiko Shichihenge here. This anime is a story of a transformation, friendship and being true to oneself. There are many repetitive elements in each and every episode (eg. nosebleeds, Goth~ Goth~ Loli~ Loli~ etc.) and sometimes you want to punch Sunako or the Goth Loli Sisters in the face. Anyway, it's still enjoyable to watch the guys trying to convert hard-core goth into a lady.

Art
Only five words: it is not a masterpiece. You can watch it, read more
May 19, 2014
quirkista (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first I wasn't too fond of the animation style but it has grown on me to an extent where now I can enjoy the show with no problem. Now I believe that the art is quite memorable.
I liked the pacing of the anime and it never fails to amuse me. Kyohei is definitely my favourite character with Sunako a close second. I like how normal he is especially compared to the other boys. He hates the attention he receives because of his good looks and this really appealed to me as I felt the other three 'hotties' were somewhat egotistical although overall good people. read more
Jun 20, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
What do you get when you have a romantic comedy with a girl that is gothic? Well, you may get a lot of things but you might not get something as wonderful as this. The show has a lot of things that make it fun and memorable. I was surprised that Watanabe (The one that made Excel Saga) actually had a hand in this one.

We get to the characters and I think in all fairness, we just have to start with Sanako. Sanako is a sad girl but it wasn’t her fault really. I know a couple people that sank like this when someone read more
Apr 6, 2010
TokyoKisses (All reviews)
By far one of my favorite series. It's a shame it's been since 2007 and they haven't continued the series, maybe if more of the manga is developed?

This is an oddly hilarious yet sweet drama. There was even a live action series made of it. Sunako is just impossible not to fall in love with, while most men paw towards the men she live with, she wants nothing more than to have them cast in the dark or even dead. The man who is slowly falling in love with her Kyohei. You can even see the changing developments with Ranmaru, read more
Jun 19, 2011
miseriway (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show had a great story line and plot, actually i don't even know if there was a story line.
I only saw about 5 episodes including the first episode, some middle eps and the last episode.
That's all i really needed to see. There was no character development throughout.

This show would have been fantastic IF Sunako, the lead girl, wasn't so unbearably annoying. Sure the nosebleeds were funny in the first couple of episodes, but it just got tiring.
In the first episode, they drew Sunako as a normal character, but every episode after that, Sunako was depicted as a Chibi character which made it feel read more
Sep 7, 2008
TLM91 (All reviews)
I liked the principal of this story line because it is such a simple idea and yet it is portrayed well. I thought that this anime was really enjoyable and it worked well considering that there is no real depth to the storyline.

The art was variable - at times it was irritating to see sunako in chibi form when in actual fact she was beautiful. However, i think that this was sometimes beneficial to the plot - we saw the beautiful sunako when she was defending her friends which was the pretty side of her.

I didn't really like the music that accompanied read more
Mar 23, 2011
Nightray8 (All reviews)
Dear fellow Anime lovers,

I really enjoyed this anime, it was so refreshingly funny! I do not think I have seen an anime as funny since Great Teacher Onizuka. I thought the story was OK but its the type of anime you need to watch when things in life are a little depressing or bleak, or in an economic downturn, with political revolutions, earthquakes in Japan etc - this is the perfect thing to watch to put a SMILE to your face. Every episode leaves you laughing and smiling to yourself. Its really upbeat and the jokes and animation together make the experience all the more read more
Sep 10, 2008
red_888 (All reviews)
A story of a very weird girl named Sunako Nakahara. Not you're ordinary 15 year old girl who loves to look at themselves at the mirror, concious of becoming fat, pimples..etc.. Instead, she has anatomical manequins fetish (they actually have names), her room was filled with preserved organs, disected frogs, skulls, a horror movie addict (she can eat in front of very gross movie), her curtains were black.. She can't stand the bright lights. Now, how can she ever survive in the presence of four "radiant beings"? She really has a low self-steem after a boy from their middle school told her she was ugly. read more
May 29, 2008
NerZul (All reviews)
I Actually quite liked it , One of the only animes i've seen with such dark sense of humor , And since i feel slightly connected to the main charecter , i found it funny on the way she reacts on some parts of the animes .


One thing that quite disturbed me is the guy's , sometimes they overdid the ''female type guys'' .

Animation in this anime wasnt a big thing , but no one need a good animation in comedy anime .

The faced they did was perfect in so many Comedy Moments , specially the Main charecter and when she went ''Chibi read more
Apr 26, 2015
shiruuia (All reviews)
Best anime ever! Sunako-chan is so cute (however she thinks she is so much ugly). She have to live with amazing nice looking guys which have to help her to become beautiful lady. However Sunako-chan likes dark and scary sceneries (she lives with skeleton which has his own name). Sunako-chan cannot hate beauty of her amazing looking new friends and whenever she looks up at these young guys, she loose her blood from nose ^^ This anime is really funny, and characters are really amazing!

PS: at the end of each episode is a lot interesting tips :D
Oct 23, 2018
Caranda (All reviews)
This is going to be quite a short review since there are a lot of others who describe the story characters ect. I just wanted to share my view on this series.

I love comedy and I saw someone recommend this one on some site. So i decide to put in in my list. It took me quite a while before I actually started to watch it. Mainly because I thought is was pretty old. But last month I decide to give it a shot. First impression. How the hell am I going to get used to the artwork? Because yeah its pretty bad. The read more
Sep 22, 2018
aubreyaylaine (All reviews)
"The Wallflower"

I think this anime is best described as 'a hidden gem'.
There really isn't anything too spectacular about this anime. I still think it is worth watching.

The story line is kind of plain. Yet humor is still prominent in it.

The art is obviously an older style but modern for the time it was made.

The sound is fine.

Characters are 'unique'.

I enjoyed this anime a lot and feel like the message portrayed is to not pretend to be something you are not. You can be beautiful in your own way as long as you stay true to you. Sometimes you need to be reminded read more