Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Chouyaku Hyakuninisshu: Uta Koi.


Alternative Titles

English: Utakoi
Synonyms: Utakoi.
Japanese: 超訳百人一首 うた恋い。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2012 to Sep 25, 2012
Premiered: Summer 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: TYO Animations
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.531 (scored by 5,696 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15032
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2621
Members: 17,940
Favorites: 79

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 1, 2012
Paulwillson26 (All reviews)
Chouyaku Hyakuninisshu: Uta Koi is an animation of the Japanese card game Uta-garuta which itself comes from Hyakuninisshu one of the most important works of Japanese literature which is a 12th century anthology of love poems compiled by the aristocrat Fujiwara no Teika includes poems by the most important poets of the Heian Period.

History lesson out of the way. Each episode is introduced by Fujiwara no Teika himself in a modern setting and tells the background of each poem and a little about the poet's life, lacing it with humour and an intelligent script.

It is worth remembering that the characters were real people and read more
Jul 31, 2012
yanhomo (All reviews)
Preliminary
No reviews yet so I guess I'll write a little something for people who have no idea what to expect.
I know some people cringe at the sight of "Historical, Josei" but I think you should give it a try. At least I was pleasantly surprised.

If you watched Chihayafuru you will definitely appreciate this show in a whole different way, but you can just watch it in all its glory without knowing anything about the 100 poems too.

The love stories so far have been great, and the way they tell them is very interesting. At first I thought it was going to be episodic, but many read more
Sep 24, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
This was an enjoyable title while it lasted. Uta Koi, for the most part, portrays animated adaptations of stories concerning the lives of famous traditional poets in feudal Japan having their own differing experiences with love that influence their writing. Each of the stories provides enough fleshing out of the characters to let you know of their upbringing and unique romantic dilemma, many of whom involve differences in age and/ or social standing, the latter of which being a huge deal in feudal times. It made for quite the interesting watch since it let me know a little more about Japan's literary history.

The series read more
Nov 5, 2016
Amyltia (All reviews)
Hi everyone!

Let's start :
Story(7/10)
The 13 episodes are episodic, so each one has a diffrent stroy to tell (understand a different poem to illustrate), but some characters are reccurent and you get to know them and their stories.
Theres nothing special to say, its not mystery or anything, because its no the purpose of the show.

Art (9/10)
Its very beautiful, the kimono, the hair, the colors, its beautiful, but nothing particulary outstanding. Expet some scenes that are really well animated, and absolutely beautiful and memorable.

Sound (8.5/10)
The opening is really good and fits perfectly well to the show, you easily get the spirit. The ending is surprising read more
May 16, 2015
shehrozeameen (All reviews)
I think that Chouyaku Hyakuninisshu is a good series, with its use of historical references to Japan and Medieval Age Japanese poetry, as well as the way the characters were portrayed in it (which I believe was one of the highlights of this series). At the same time, it did make me want to read the original set of 100 poems, which are available here:

http://jti.lib.virginia.edu/japanese/hyakunin/noJIS/hyaku8.html

I will say that the art is good, but not the best - it could have been a shade better. Also, the story had its moments when I wondered what the tone of the anime will be. Although it carried its read more
Mar 2, 2014
Deep_Drive (All reviews)
Story - Long ago, a man named Fujiwara no Teika was hired to create an anthology of 100 poems by 100 different poets. He titled this group of poems the “Hyakunin Isshu.” 43% of these poems happened to be about love and came from nobles as well as lower classmen. Uta Koi focuses around the stories behind 12 of these romantic poems. Therefore, each episode is its own individual story that centers around the love between two characters.

Characters – It feels strange to call the cast of this anime “characters” because they are all based on real people. There are so many different people you read more
Dec 2, 2013
Nocti (All reviews)
“Chouyaku Hyakuninisshu: Uta Koi” is a very free adaptation of the lives of some of the authors included in the famous poetry anthology "Hyakuninisshu" (100 poets, one poem each).

Story – 9
The anime centers in the love poems of the anthology and narrates the events and relationships that gave rise to some of them. However, such events should not always be considered faithful to history, as many of them didn´t happen, or happened differently in reality. But it doesn´t really matter. The core of this anime isn´t the portrayal of actual events, but rather the spirit of poetry in the Heian Court, which is successfully rendered. read more
May 29, 2017
duonoaikouka (All reviews)
Not what I was expecting in the slightest, this anime stands out. I was originally intrigued due to his historical setting and context. I’m a huge fan of history in general, especially for areas of the world I’m not that familiar with. Once I got started in this show, though, it was the individualized art style and emotional punch that kept me going.

The art in this show is unique to say the least. Not to everyone’s taste, however I found much enjoyment in it. Usage of thick lines and geometric type backgrounds give the anime an artistic sort of feel, like we’re looking at read more