Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou


Alternative Titles

English: Daily Lives of High School Boys
Japanese: 男子高校生の日常

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2012 to Mar 27, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Tuesdays at Unknown
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Web manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.341 (scored by 170,941 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1972
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #136
Members: 334,425
Favorites: 7,294

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 7, 2013
GBKeroberos (All reviews)
Pros:

— Hilarious jokes and situations, in both setup and execution
— Insightful and outrageous satire of common anime tropes
— Stellar voicing and relatable, varied cast of characters
— Segment-based structure keeps things moving before jokes grow old

Cons:

— A few jokes you can see coming, a rarer few that miss the mark


Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou (from here on DKN) went far above and beyond my expectations. Playing off the all-too-common “schoolgirls and everyday life” genre, DKN is far more than the mere gender reversal it may first appear to be.

Having an all-male cast, ignoring the “moe” factor really works in the show's favor. There is likewise no unnecessary read more
Mar 27, 2012
kurosaki_kabuto (All reviews)
"Everybody's youth is a dream, a form of chemical madness." F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Oh youth and the epic journey called growing up. Most people tend to, in a way or another, be deeply defined by their teenage years. High school is a fond memory to some and a painful one to others, but I think everyone can agree that it is a unique and special period of our lives, one that has no equal. Most people quickly relate the words High School with friendship, as the friends you make in that period of time seem to leave a permanent mark in your memories and so read more
Oct 13, 2013
Impala (All reviews)
What is the first thing pop up in your head when you hear a high-school-slice-of life-comedy anime? Boring, if you ask me. I used to think that a pure comedy show revolving around high school students life is so common and dull, my perception changed after I watched Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou, I will refer it as Nichibro from this point. The title may give you a doubt, I wouldn't be surprised if you're skeptical, what's so great about watching a comedy anime revolving around highschoolers' everyday life? I'd say Nichibro stands out because it succeed in delivering what it offers, that is comedy.

The title read more
Mar 31, 2015
TeamDaiSquirtle (All reviews)
“I suppose if we couldn't laugh at the things that don't make sense, we couldn't react to a lot of life.” – Hobbes, from Calvin and Hobbes.

As a stressed out college student, I constantly find myself looking back at my high school years and remembering the fun old times. My all boys school meant that we could rein in free chaos without the worry of having to act proper around girls, so my class and I did all sorts of pranks and whatnot. From playing football in the hallway, to accidentally taking down a security camera, to taking down the school flag and wearing it read more
Apr 13, 2014
Hatul (All reviews)
Note: Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou or 'Daily lives of High school boys' is yet another comedy made by Sunrise. I already reviewed the other two (Gintama and Binbougami Ga) so I might as well go ahead and review this one.

The premise is as simple as the title suggests, it's about high school boys in an all boys school doing boyish things or going through the traditional slice of life routine that Japanese people tend to go through. Like running with toast in your mouth, cultural festivals, student councils, staring at girls' hairy moles on trains (I guess), etc.

They do try to make read more
Jan 11, 2012
houbutsusen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I knew I had to check this one out after watching the trailer. It's as everyone says, Kimi to Boku with Nichijou's humor and style. Gags are real...hilarious. Incidentally, Tadakuni is Kimi to Boku's Chizuru (seiyuu), Yoshitake is Gintama's Sougo, and Hidenori, Gintama's Gintoki (that mad funny gag anime, too)!!! I recognized those voices right off the trailer. The vocal talents just fit in well the characters. I'm looking forward to this show, more made of laughter moments to come. Another Sambaka (Those Three (Idiot) Guys) is born!
Mar 30, 2012
5camp (All reviews)
Warning: There will be a copious amount of taking my comedy anime seriously

Daily Lives of Highschool Boys is a satire of anime's depiction of highschool life. The entire name and set up is a direct reference to the glut of anime about a bunch of girls doing cute shit in highschool, although it frequently jumps into referencing romance anime or other dude wish fulfilment stuff. From the very direct referencing of K-ON to the highlighting that boys 'are only any use in sports or battle anime', it's constantly lampshading this genre. But what makes it better than most anime's attempts at parody is it's not read more
Nov 16, 2014
blazebolt7 (All reviews)
Story (9/10) -

Daily Lives of High School Boys is a 12 episode series based off a manga by Yasanobu Yamauchi. The series follows the daily lives of high school students, specifically, the comings and goings of the all male student population at Sanda North Boys High. Yup. That’s it. Don’t look for anything more earth shattering than that, guys. That’s all you get with Daily Lives; odd boys doing odd things…just like Lucky Star is cute girls doing cute things. This show doesn’t try to rewrite the book on what a high school comedy can be; it just uses a tried and true formula read more
Jul 30, 2015
Khatsudum (All reviews)
This anime is obviously about High School Boys and their daily lives, or should I say, the highlights of their daily lives?

It's a really good anime with lots of weird and awkward moments, which will make you smile and laugh.

Story: 7 of 10

There is no exact plot in this anime, but only short story arcs in each episode. Each arc contains some of the characters, either in their High School Building, by the riverbank, or in Tadakuni's house, convenience store etc. Each arc is quite short but funny, albeit the endings aren't that good. Each arc may just end as if they're on square read more
Apr 8, 2016
Chiaki__Nanami (All reviews)
First off, I died watching this show. If you're looking for a comedic anime this one is pure gold. The situations or little skits it shows, will most likely crack you up because its just stupid. Though the show doesn't really have much of a plot it mostly just exist for comedic purposes.

I didn't really see the anime having any problems besides not having a plot, but it doesn't really need one for the type of anime it is. I can almost guarantee you will like this show if you give it a shot. If you want something that will make you laugh then read more
Feb 5, 2015
malikkkk27_ (All reviews)
Danshi Koukousei No Nichijou - Daily life of high school boys.

I always watch all-girls, co-ed slice of life, school anime. This is the first time I watch all-boys slice of life. I would expect to be boring but this anime doesn't allow me to hate it. I love it!


Story: 8/10 . The story is decent for most, no ecchi scene, mostly boy's stories. It's just a slice of life.

Art: 8/10. I wonder why most of the girl characters doesn't have eyes. Only few of them, but the artwork is well done.

Sound: 9/10. OP and ED are great

Character: 9/10. Funny, overreact, has good sense of read more
Oct 18, 2015
CovieHuman55 (All reviews)
Words cannot describe the ingenuity behind what seems to be very common and ordinary everyday practices that we sees them as 'jokes'. Every single skits have been re-watched more than my re-watch of Christopher Nolan's Batman films and the Star Trek series. The show has me grinning like a fool for hours to end, even after I've finished the show and wished for a season 2.

I also like how the simplicity of the art style adds up more volume to the humor, especially when it comes to characters expressions from time to time and does not rely on over-the-top moe characteristic for the audience read more
Jun 30, 2014
twigtea (All reviews)
Preliminary
The opening scene of the first episode is a hilarious and wonderful introduction to this series, but unfortunately Daily Lives of High School Boys goes off the rails shortly after the OP and never returns.

Daily Lives tries to play around with and subvert the tropes, cliches, and stereotypes common to slice-of-life anime (and anime in general), but doesn't always succeed in sending them up properly -- which sometimes seems more like an endorsement of the cliches than a critique thereof. I think this is the core reason why Daily Lives fails, though there are a raft of other problems that further damn this series.

STORY (4)
There read more
Apr 16, 2016
lensaamiranda (All reviews)
If you're looking for romance or a plot-driven show and you hate comedy, then stay away from this show.

'The Daily Life of High School Boys' is full of comedy, is a slice-of-life genre show and it doesn't have a specific story line. It's about three high school boys and their daily lives. Doesn't really sound interesting right? Yet, i personally think that this show is one of the rare cases of comedy done right. It had me in fits of laughter even in the first 10 minutes. No, scratch that; in the the first 5 minutes.

The art is just ordinary, not too bad, not too read more
Feb 15, 2017
Emsagrod (All reviews)
No worries , spoiler free :)

Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou is good if you're not expecting too much from it . Unlike me I was expecting way too much from the ratings and super positive reviews and I ended up a bit disappointed. A valuable lesson for everyone that will improve your experience while watching an anime. Never check the reviews first so you won't expect much from it.

Hold on fanboys , let me explain.

It's not pretty good if it's compared with anime from every genres. But it's without a doubt a perfect example of good comedy anime.As a Koukousei myself , I had read more
Feb 25, 2015
nineup (All reviews)
I have rated every section 10. But I do have my reasons. The story actually does not deserve a 10, but each episode had its own individual story that was pretty creative and all out hilarious. This was probably the funniest anime, especially the starting scene. The theme song is great and the characters are really likeable. This is not a sentimental anime that will make you cry, but just a comedic anime made for laughs. If you just want a funny anime this is my favorite.
Aug 11, 2014
interconnected- (All reviews)
What word would you choose to describe your high school days? Is it stressful, exhausting, slave-driving, or even fun in some cases?
In a time period where almost every anime has some elements of school life or the words "High School" involved, it usually puts a damper on the experience as a whole depending on how you look at it before you may have even watched it. (Heck, even after you're dead you go back to high school according to Angel Beats).
So when you have an anime centering not around the overall experience and tales of friendship that take place in a high school, but read more
Apr 17, 2012
Emma22 (All reviews)
Pros: Great comedy, short length, skit and episodic format make it easy to pick up

Cons: The skits can fall a little flat and/or be lost in translation, I personally found the Highschool girls are Funky skits to be a bit eyeroll worthy.

Bottom Line: A funny series that doesn't take too much investment to watch. Look at the first few episodes and see if the comedy clicks with you.

Comedy:
Daily Lives of Highschool Boys is first and foremost a comedy series. There isn’t a lot of time spent on character development or any overarching plot. Like Azumanga or other read more
Aug 10, 2016
Danny15278 (All reviews)
This show, is my all-time favourite slice of life and comedy show, with absolutely superb comedy and funny moments. This was originally based off a manga (which I also recommend). But all in all, this is hilarious and is severely underrated by the anime community.

Story: 10/10
It’s about daily life of high school boys, what did you expect? They place in hilarious moments that would happen (slightly exaggerated), but making hilarious situations that make you wonder why on earth the characters do this kind of stuff. The episodes are all split into 5 minute chunks, with a fresh topic each, which a few exceptions. If you read more
Mar 20, 2015
Yuutosan (All reviews)
Greatest comedy I've watched so far. This anime was realized me how precious the friendship is.
Well the first episode was very good to me and made me dying because of laughs. It's like forced me to watch more, more and even more. Sadly I ended it so soon. (I hope for more though)
Sometimes it reminds me to my old junior highschool friends, we often did some idiot stuffs like the anime does... Yeah overall is very good and really worth to be watched!