Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou


Daily Lives of High School Boys

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 男子高校生の日常
English: Daily Lives of High School Boys
German: Daily Lives of High School Boys
Spanish: Daily Lives of High School Boys
French: Daily Lives of High School Boys
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2012 to Mar 27, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:00 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Web manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Theme: SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 343361343,361 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #200
Members: 693,396
Favorites: 12,345

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2012
kurosaki_kabuto (All reviews)
"Everybody's youth is a dream, a form of chemical madness." F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Oh youth and the epic journey called growing up. Most people tend to, in a way or another, be deeply defined by their teenage years. High school is a fond memory to some and a painful one to others, but I think everyone can agree that it is a unique and special period of our lives, one that has no equal. Most people quickly relate the words High School with friendship, as the friends you make in that period of time seem to leave a permanent mark in your memories and so read more
Oct 13, 2013
Impala (All reviews)
What is the first thing pop up in your head when you hear a high-school-slice-of life-comedy anime? Boring, if you ask me. I used to think that a pure comedy show revolving around high school students life is so common and dull, my perception changed after I watched Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou, I will refer it as Nichibro from this point. The title may give you a doubt, I wouldn't be surprised if you're skeptical, what's so great about watching a comedy anime revolving around highschoolers' everyday life? I'd say Nichibro stands out because it succeed in delivering what it offers, that is comedy.

The title read more
Mar 31, 2015
CapitalistOtter (All reviews)
“I suppose if we couldn't laugh at the things that don't make sense, we couldn't react to a lot of life.” – Hobbes, from Calvin and Hobbes.

As a stressed out college student, I constantly find myself looking back at my high school years and remembering the fun old times. My all boys school meant that we could rein in free chaos without the worry of having to act proper around girls, so my class and I did all sorts of pranks and whatnot. From playing football in the hallway, to accidentally taking down a security camera, to taking down the school flag and wearing it read more
Jan 11, 2012
houbutsusen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I knew I had to check this one out after watching the trailer. It's as everyone says, Kimi to Boku with Nichijou's humor and style. Gags are real...hilarious. Incidentally, Tadakuni is Kimi to Boku's Chizuru (seiyuu), Yoshitake is Gintama's Sougo, and Hidenori, Gintama's Gintoki (that mad funny gag anime, too)!!! I recognized those voices right off the trailer. The vocal talents just fit in well the characters. I'm looking forward to this show, more made of laughter moments to come. Another Sambaka (Those Three (Idiot) Guys) is born!
Mar 30, 2012
5camp (All reviews)
Warning: There will be a copious amount of taking my comedy anime seriously

Daily Lives of Highschool Boys is a satire of anime's depiction of highschool life. The entire name and set up is a direct reference to the glut of anime about a bunch of girls doing cute shit in highschool, although it frequently jumps into referencing romance anime or other dude wish fulfilment stuff. From the very direct referencing of K-ON to the highlighting that boys 'are only any use in sports or battle anime', it's constantly lampshading this genre. But what makes it better than most anime's attempts at parody is it's not read more
Jun 30, 2014
twigtea (All reviews)
Preliminary
The opening scene of the first episode is a hilarious and wonderful introduction to this series, but unfortunately Daily Lives of High School Boys goes off the rails shortly after the OP and never returns.

Daily Lives tries to play around with and subvert the tropes, cliches, and stereotypes common to slice-of-life anime (and anime in general), but doesn't always succeed in sending them up properly -- which sometimes seems more like an endorsement of the cliches than a critique thereof. I think this is the core reason why Daily Lives fails, though there are a raft of other problems that further damn this series.

STORY (4)
There read more
Nov 16, 2014
blazebolt7 (All reviews)
Story (9/10) -

Daily Lives of High School Boys is a 12 episode series based off a manga by Yasanobu Yamauchi. The series follows the daily lives of high school students, specifically, the comings and goings of the all male student population at Sanda North Boys High. Yup. That’s it. Don’t look for anything more earth shattering than that, guys. That’s all you get with Daily Lives; odd boys doing odd things…just like Lucky Star is cute girls doing cute things. This show doesn’t try to rewrite the book on what a high school comedy can be; it just uses a tried and true formula read more
Dec 18, 2016
Hibbington (All reviews)
We are all aware about how first impressions are a very important factor if you’re going to enjoy a show.
My first impression of Danshi was it was a more annoying version of Kimi to Boku.
The comedy style seems to be the same as Drifters comedy at times. That immediately turned me off from that show.

What also doesn’t help is this is indeed another episodic show that I continue to have issues with.
I was basically checked out by episode 8. I knew what was going on. I knew nothing was going to get better. I didn’t care for the rest of the read more
Apr 17, 2012
Emma22 (All reviews)
Pros: Great comedy, short length, skit and episodic format make it easy to pick up

Cons: The skits can fall a little flat and/or be lost in translation, I personally found the Highschool girls are Funky skits to be a bit eyeroll worthy.

Bottom Line: A funny series that doesn't take too much investment to watch. Look at the first few episodes and see if the comedy clicks with you.

Comedy:
Daily Lives of Highschool Boys is first and foremost a comedy series. There isn’t a lot of time spent on character development or any overarching plot. Like Azumanga or other read more
Aug 11, 2014
interconnected- (All reviews)
What word would you choose to describe your high school days? Is it stressful, exhausting, slave-driving, or even fun in some cases?
In a time period where almost every anime has some elements of school life or the words "High School" involved, it usually puts a damper on the experience as a whole depending on how you look at it before you may have even watched it. (Heck, even after you're dead you go back to high school according to Angel Beats).
So when you have an anime centering not around the overall experience and tales of friendship that take place in a high school, but read more
Feb 5, 2015
malikkkk27_ (All reviews)
Danshi Koukousei No Nichijou - Daily life of high school boys.

I always watch all-girls, co-ed slice of life, school anime. This is the first time I watch all-boys slice of life. I would expect to be boring but this anime doesn't allow me to hate it. I love it!


Story: 8/10 . The story is decent for most, no ecchi scene, mostly boy's stories. It's just a slice of life.

Art: 8/10. I wonder why most of the girl characters doesn't have eyes. Only few of them, but the artwork is well done.

Sound: 9/10. OP and ED are great

Character: 9/10. Funny, overreact, has good sense of read more
Feb 27, 2013
Snakeskins (All reviews)
M'kay, this kinda bored the crap outta me, now I know that there are those of you out there who totally love this type of genre but I wasnt feeling this at all.
Imagine some camera crew following you around all day filming everything you do, now maybe that would be awesome; but if your life isnt any more exciting than mine, it would be a pretty shitty show. So this is supposed to be daily lives, but as a highschool boy (or near enough) I know that my experience was waaay different from this and I wasnt able to relate to anything going on.
The read more
Oct 18, 2015
SpaceOdJobs (All reviews)
Words cannot describe the ingenuity behind what seems to be very common and ordinary everyday practices that we sees them as 'jokes'. Every single skits have been re-watched more than my re-watch of Christopher Nolan's Batman films and the Star Trek series. The show has me grinning like a fool for hours to end, even after I've finished the show and wished for a season 2.

I also like how the simplicity of the art style adds up more volume to the humor, especially when it comes to characters expressions from time to time and does not rely on over-the-top moe characteristic for the audience read more
Feb 25, 2015
nineup (All reviews)
The story actually does not deserve a 10, but each episode had its own individual story that was pretty creative and all-out hilarious. This was probably the funniest anime I've seen, especially the starting scene. The opening song is great and the characters are really likable. This is not a sentimental anime that will make you cry, but just a comedic anime made for laughs. If you just want a funny anime this is my favorite.
Edit: I've rewatched clips of this show over and over again on Youtube and it still never gets old. However, if you aren't immediately into the sort of comedy read more
Jul 30, 2015
Khatsudum (All reviews)
This anime is obviously about High School Boys and their daily lives, or should I say, the highlights of their daily lives?

It's a really good anime with lots of weird and awkward moments, which will make you smile and laugh.

Story: 7 of 10

There is no exact plot in this anime, but only short story arcs in each episode. Each arc contains some of the characters, either in their High School Building, by the riverbank, or in Tadakuni's house, convenience store etc. Each arc is quite short but funny, albeit the endings aren't that good. Each arc may just end as if they're on square read more
Oct 4, 2014
lagcrazy (All reviews)
Ah, slice-of-life. If you are not one to enjoy putting yourself into the character's shoes... well you should at least give it a try for this anime. Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou is quite different from other comedy anime because rather than having a continuous plot, it has various skits. I am not exaggerating when I say this is my all-time favorite comedy anime (I have not watched Gintama yet so maybe my opinion will change).

Story: 7/10
Although there is no real constant plot, Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou does not fail to implement various, entertaining scenarios. Each skit is not too short and most importantly catches my read more
Sep 6, 2014
metalsynkk (All reviews)
I haven't seen many anime to begin with, and I sure as hell did not know what to expect from a highschool themed anime after series like FMA:Brotherhood, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Death Note and the likes.

But I must say, this surprised me alot. I thought something like DKN would have bad humor, recurring boring situations, and overall nothing all too fancy for enjoyment. I was wrong.

The comedy and satire is excellent, the characters have great, well, character in them, all in all being very different which adds to the enjoyment and interactions between any particular character combination were very well-written and professionally acted. Again, I read more
Apr 8, 2016
Chiaki__Nanami (All reviews)
First off, I died watching this show. If you're looking for a comedic anime this one is pure gold. The situations or little skits it shows, will most likely crack you up because its just stupid. Though the show doesn't really have much of a plot it mostly just exist for comedic purposes.

I didn't really see the anime having any problems besides not having a plot, but it doesn't really need one for the type of anime it is. I can almost guarantee you will like this show if you give it a shot. If you want something that will make you laugh then read more
Jan 2, 2015
Psycho_Pass (All reviews)
One thing “Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou”, or “Daily Lives of High School Boys” taught me is that high school boys acting silly is a universal occurrence. If you’ve ever been a part of a tight-knit group of friends while growing up, then DLoHSB is something you should watch. It’s an atypical Shouen anime that revels in the camaraderie, trivial conflicts, and the general antics one engages in as an immature young male.

DLoHSB is a comedy that follows a group of friends as they simply live their lives. That’s it. It’s serialized in the least possible way; every episode consists of a read more
Feb 18, 2012
techstepman (All reviews)
Preliminary
when i ended watching nichijou i saw this one as a recommendation...so i started watching...

story...there is no story...its all about the survival of some boys daily teen life...lolz...the writers keeps the story simple.the more simple the more funny...especially the girls edition at the end of almost each episode!

art and sound as to be expecteded from a modern anime.very good.

characters...lolz..now here is the fun part.these guys and those girls are some standard types you'll meet in animes but the boys are somewhat normal.as i said the more simple the more funny!there is some development though.as the series goes on you'll get to see more aspects of read more