Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Pokemon Movie 06: Nanayo no Negaiboshi Jirachi


Alternative Titles

English: Pokemon: Jirachi Wishmaker
Synonyms: Gekijouban Pocket Monsters Advanced Generation: Nana-Yo no Negai Boshi Jiraachi, Pokemon Advanced Generation: Nanayo no Negaiboshi Jirachi
Japanese: ポケットモンスター・アドバンスジェネレーション 七夜の願い星 ジラーチ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 19, 2003
Studios: OLM
Source: Game
Duration: 1 hr. 21 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.881 (scored by 36,514 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41802
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1564
Members: 58,573
Favorites: 68

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 24, 2008
Torchic23 (All reviews)
Though I'm not much of a fan of the main Pokemon series, I LOVE this movie, it's my favorite Pokemon movie! Jirachi is absolutely adorable!

Story:
Maybe the plot is rather simple but very enjoyable. Once Jirachi is known about, it'd be a real crime to stop watching. A couple twists but a couple obvious things. Overall, nicely done!

Art:
I noticed with the Pokemon movies they do an especially nice job with the art and this one is no exception. The characters look great, the backgrounds are great, it's all very good.

Sound:
The soundtrack for this movie is incredible and beautiful! I really wish I could find it because read more
Aug 12, 2013
remytanabata (All reviews)
Personally,in most movies from pokemon, Ash and the highlight legendary icon are the stars. But on this movie, Masato (Max in America) [known as May's Sister] leads the movie with Jirachi (in my personal opinion, a charming little legendary). The beauty is that it implements about the beauty of friendship on the early days, the middle days, and the day of separation. It's like something to compare with in school life. Meet them, enjoy the months, and bidding goodbye after graduation. Minus the Graduation hats and diplomas.

No matter how long or short the days, moths, or years last, the relationship between the intellectual Max/Masato and read more
Apr 11, 2015
Chaotic_beauty (All reviews)
Jirachi The Wish Maker is a prime example of wasted potential. The film sets up characters and themes with so much potential, yet blunders them on a nonsensical plot. In the end we're left with a film in which anything goes and the audience is left out cold, only to warm up to the film if they find overly long final fight engaging.

On the bright side of things, most of the characters and their interactions are likable.The first third of the film nicely establishes the new Pokemon cast. Generally, shenanigans in the camp are engaging. Establishment of Jirachi, although a bit too goofy, works. Even read more
Dec 17, 2010
oxana (All reviews)
Not the best Pokémon movie, but a decent watch that had nothing really wrong with it.

The animation was the usual, as were the voices and sounds. The only thing that really bugged me was that Jirachi, a Pokémon constantly referred to as "he", had a girl's voice. Just a minor detail that threw me off a little.

As for the plot of the movie, it was decent, although left a bit to desire. It didn't jump around randomly and wasn't confusing either, but it just seemed a little... simple. Between making a wish on a comet that appears for seven nights every thousand years and trying read more
Aug 31, 2018
PokeFan2112 (All reviews)
A decent movie, but definitely the weakest to this point.

The story was thin and lacked substance, it was mostly just Max and Jirachi doing cute stuff and it wasn't until the end that a clear conflict developed.

However, though yes it did focus on cuteness over story, it succeeded pretty well in that regard. There were Lots of cute, funny moments throughout, both between the bonding of Max and Jirachi, and Max and May's sibling relationship. The animation was great and there was once again a good share of lovely scenes, direction was nice, and when things got going, the climactic scene was the high read more
Jul 10, 2018
Duckielover151 (All reviews)
Upon rewatching this movie, I was surprised to find that it was actually... pretty good. I can't remember ever really liking it as a child, and when it first came out, it played All The Time. Like, every weekend. I got sick of it real fast. But I'm thinking now that this is because so much of this movie's focus is on the bond between Jirachi and Max. And I can't say I ever warmed up to Max. He was just annoying. (Though maybe not as bad as Iris...)

But the plot actually had a pretty solid connection back to the actual story-- the main read more
Nov 9, 2011
NightmareRWolf (All reviews)
wow, another pokemon movie review. sixth in the series, jirachi wishmaker is one i remember from my childhood quite well and is the first one to feature the hero group from pokemon advanced. though a little on the random side from the series, the story does tie in somewhat from the reference to team magma and groudon. jirachi is a cute little pokemon and it's ability did come into play so i can see how it fits. it seems a bit simple, like there should have been some more there, but it's nothing that makes the movie unwatchable. for a side story like movie, i read more
Mar 12, 2017
Soda-Stroyed (All reviews)
This movie is quite, average, when compared to the other movies. I got this movie as a gift from a friend, and it isn't bad. The sound and visuals are standard, and the story, while not bad, is not anything special. The characters are the characters (except for Brock, who is always a blast.), so why is my enjoyment a 7/10 then? Well, to be honest, its because this movie was one of the reason's why Absol became one of my favourite pokemon, but of course this is subjective. I recommend seeing the better pokemon movies instead, and while I wouldn't say this movie is read more