MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1254
Bamboo Blade

Bamboo Blade

Alternative Titles

Japanese: バンブーブレード

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2007 to Apr 1, 2008
Genres: Comedy, School, Sports
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.561 (scored by 23294 users)
Ranked: #12542
Popularity: #521
Members: 45,812
Favorites: 223
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy kendo school sports
Nov 29, 2008
Retro8bit
Ever wonder what its like to be in a Kendo club? Well certainly most of us would answer "no" to that one, but after watching Bamboo Blade it just might make you more interested in this old time tradition! As this series does it very well!

Story: 7/10
Pretty straight forward for the most part, basically it starts up with a struggling Kendo instructor and his team leader trying to get others into Kendo, as their club has little to no members at present. As the story progresses they meet/get new club members and then begin a road down to the final tournament to keep the instructor read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 12, 2008
Ranivus
The most popular (aka common) type of animes of the past year has most definitely been school comedy anime with a female cast. And this one is no exception. Thankfully they put emphasis on what matters most character chemistry.




As you should already know it's a comedy about a high school kendo club, mainly consisting of (SPOILER AHEAD!) a group of girls. It all sounds like standard fare from here, and it is. The kids get involved in crazy hijinks, make silly jokes, and even have a decent amout of action in show such as this. After watching the first couple episodes, you'll most likely have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 31, 2013
SirAbblot
When people read the synopsis for this show, this is probably the most common reaction: "An anime about Kendo? This must be sooo boring!". That is what I thought at first as well, but when I really got to watching this show I'd have to use one of the biggest clichés ever to describe it.. Don't judge a book by it's cover.

Bamboo Blade was really special for me, because I was feeling kind of down when I started watching it, the reason being that I had just finished "Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch R2" and I loved that show so much that I actually felt read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 5, 2008
Ladholyman
Girls with Wooden Swords

Man, what a ride. Bamboo Blade has it all; comedy, drama, romance, all rolled up into one. By making fun of itself at random places and with the help of very fabulous characters, this show rises from its shoddy animation to join the elite group of anime this season that deserves your time.

I should get the not-so-good things out of the way first. The animation is pretty bad. No, not like Musashi Gundoh bad, but repeated animation, laziness supreme kind of bad. Up until the last two episodes, the same kendo swings from episode one get repeated over and over, with only read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2013
HaiiroTama
I would like to preface this by saying that I've never even heard of Bamboo Blade, let alone watched it.

Bamboo Blade is a comedy that comes around only once every very often. Let's face it, you've seen all of this before: Broke teacher looking for a quick fix to his problem, lovable cast of female characters who just want to train in kendo and have a fun time, all wrapped up in a comedy school setting. By no means is it anything new in the anime world, but it is still a wholly charming and fun little show.

Story:
Honestly, the story isn't all that fantastic. It's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 13, 2012
FauxAzn
The only thing that makes this show unique among legions of other school anime — the Kendo aspect — is terribly weak.

Lazily abiding by the uninspired girl-laden light comedy formula, the main problem with Bamboo Blade is its superficiality. They never really delve into the Kendo fights or the club’s training. Cutting corners in production, you'll repetitively see characters "train" via nothing but overhead strikes. Over, and over, and over. Tournament matches are all skimmed over with the viewer limited as an observer rather than a vicarious participant: they barely let you in on what's going on in the fighter's head when they read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 1, 2008
ReverseHarem
This is my first... and last review. Which goes to show you how much I loved Bamboo Blade!

Story -
I thought the story was very good. I usually don't like sports-related anime, but a kendo club full of eccentric girls (and you know they are if you've seen this) and the two lone guys is something that grabbed my attention. It was nice to see how their relationships with each other progressed and what was going to happen with the club.

Art -
I really liked the art for this series. To compare it with other series - the art is a lot like Ichigo Mashimaro or Minami-ke read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2012
SilveRR
I believe a good sports anime should be able to make the viewer enjoy the anime even if they have little knowledge about the sport. Bamboo Blade manages to do this by making the characters the driving force instead of heavily focusing on the sport itself.

The plot is pretty simple, which is basically a school comedy revolving around the kendo club, they practice, go to tournaments and recruit new members along the way. Although the plot is simple, it also works because of the characters. The series is light hearted and has a fairly large amount of comedic moments which are actually pretty funny. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 11, 2008
Akaike
I'm only 10 episodes into this anime right now - so I'm writing this only on the basis of what I've seen so far. Plus, I'm not really a huge fan of the school/romantic comedy anime genre - so I was surprised when I actually decided to watch this particular anime.

Story
What can you really say about Bamboo Blade? Well, it's a story of 5 girls who are members of their high school kendo club. Their instructor (or sensei.. whatever) makes a bet with an old friend (who is also a rival kendo instructor) that his girls can beat the others at a kendo practice read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 18, 2009
ace52387
Overview
It's surprising the amount of insight Bamboo Blade's silly, gag oriented characters provide on the passion for and the meaning of Kendo. Even more unthinkable is the lack of ecchi in a high school girl oriented cast clearly aimed at males. Bamboo Blade is full of wonderful surprises, but the repetitive comedy and weak action elements do nothing to fill in for its uneventful plot.

Synopsis
An unambitious teacher is the supervisor for Murota school's Kendo club. Throughout the years, his club has been whittled down to one hard working and devoted girl, Kirino, who loves the sport but is miffed that her teacher is always so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2008
diaho
So first off, before I go into the review, I will mention that I actually do kendo; so while I will have a better understanding of kendo, it also means that I will be incredibly biased :D Anyways....

Story:
I had to admit, the beginning premise is pretty lame. Producing a championship caliber team of 5 girls just for sushi (yes, even sushi) is a pretty stupid plot. Luckily, the story never really gets into that, and the story quickly progresses to how the girls form a team and overcome diversity. I could have done with a little less of the blade braver read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 13, 2008
GrimaH
I'd be all personal about it and say it's DA BEST THING EVARRR!!!! and give it a 10 across the board like a typical MAL fa...uh, not-so-objective member. But then I'm simply not that type.

STORY
Pretty simple premise: guy in charge of the club looks to make a group of kendo chicks to compete with his ex-kendo mate's team, so that he can have a shot at his buddy's promised reward: free food for a year.
Not terribly exciting, and the way the teacher just manages to put together a team of skilled kendo experts screams plot device. Plus the couple of filler episodes distract from the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2009
An00biz
An anime about a kendo club in school. When I first saw the name and read a synopsis of Bamboo Blade I wasn't too sure about it. I was no really fan of sports anime and I thought it was just another one of those which were shown here in TV. A friend of mine asked me to watch the first episode together with him and I'm quite glad that I did it. I really enjoyed this warm and heartfilling anime.

Story: To be true there isn't that much story in this kind of anime. The girls go to school, practice kendo and participate in kendo read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 18, 2009
Eltharrion
Anime that really manages to show what kind of thing Kendo is? Is it possible?

Yes, it is. Bamboo blade manages to do that, and with flag flapping out high. Fights really are short, as in kendo, and not something like a episode-per-battle things that you see in many different animes (or, in DBZ format, battles take 10 episodes...) Main caharcters are also human-like, they all have even the bad sides and can feel negative emotions about things. None of the characters are really weak for the show, and everyone's thoughts and life is shown somehow. None of the characters are left out. With this many read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 15, 2008
Smithy
I enjoyed “Bamboo Blade”, to me personally it was a good, solid anime series. While I do not think it really excels in any particular way, it's a nice series that is easy to watch and provides enjoyable entertainment.

Set in a high school kendo club, it is mostly a school sports comedy that contains well known plot elements such as personal growth, changing yourself, achieving set goals, finding a purpose and keeping your spirit strong to overcome challenges.

The characters are not incredibly original but most are presented well enough. Throughout the main cast you have more typical characters such as Ishida the sloppy kendo teacher read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 10, 2008
Lovekuja
Story: It was pretty much like every other school anime. Characters do something for a few episodes and then move to something else. Blade Braver was a great way to add some feeling of a on-going story.

Art: The animation was not anything special and was pretty much like most other anime. The drawing style and colors won me over.

Sound: Soundtrack was good. Voices were good. Opening and ending themes were good. I'm not complaining.

Character: I liked the characters, well most of them. Tamaki was just super cute, she was the reason I began watching this show. Kirino was an awesome character too. When she'd get read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 18, 2011
7jaws7
"Bamboo Blade" is based off of a Japanese comic of the same name. While there are notable differences between the two - especially in Miya-Miya's case; she's a little more rough in the manga - the idea is the same: five girls are recruited into a desperate kendo instructor's dojo.

Tamaki is the strong, silent type (and an otaku), Kirino is lovable and carefree, Miyako has a dark side, Sayako becomes distracted with other hobbies, and Satori is a klutz. There's Toraji the instructor, but he's a rather shallow character solely meant for comic relief, and the other two prominent male characters in the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2011
Rajaion
I enjoyed watching this anime.
Anime based on the manga, where as girls make up the majority of a school's kendo team. A school kendo teacher starts up a team in his efforts to win a bet against his rival's school team in a kendo match competition. His reward, free meals for a year. As far as the story goes, I have to say it is pretty straight forward, but much obliged as it is still fun watch. As far as character development goes from you expect from a sports anime, the characters progressively improve. You got your typical shy but BADASS girl, Tamaki, voiced by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 24, 2010
NinjaKirby1322
Av: Um...what's with the wiffle bat?
NK: Hm? Oh, hey Avon. Just practicing my kendo swing. I just finished watching Bamboo Blade

Av: Oh...right. How was it?
NK: Fantastic. Though it was informative, kinda like Hikaru no Go, it was really enjoyable because of the characters.

Av: Take it that's what you liked best, then.
NK: Yeah. The plot was pretty good, and the music was good too. The characters really define the series, though.

Av: From the looks of it, it's all female.
NK: Nope. Though the series is focused on the girls' kendo team, male characters are present and are actually pretty read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2010
Vespers
I started with the (ongoing) Bamboo Blade manga, so my review of the anime comes from that perspective.

All of the enjoyment of the show comes from the characters and the fights. Although that might make it sound like a shonen series, it certainly is not, but it dances on that line between shonen and seinen very well. Ostensibly about a kendo instructor and his struggles with a high school club, it's really about a young kendo prodigy named Tamaki who matures into a young woman through the course of the series.

The series is short on plot, and since this was my first real sports anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices