Ranked #1531

Bamboo Blade

Alternative Titles

English: Bamboo Blade
Japanese: バンブーブレード


Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2007 to Apr 1, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Genres: Comedy, School, Sports
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.491 (scored by 27,224 users)
Ranked: #15312
Popularity: #763
Members: 55,487
Favorites: 248
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 16, 2015
Lovable and interesting characters, passionate martial art, great humor and cat cameos. Bamboo Blade has it all.

Kendo instructor at Muroe highschool, Ishida, has a hard time to pay his bills, when his old friend and coleague offers to pay for his sushi for one whole year. That is if his team wins at a friendly tournament. If only there were more than one loyal captain and the other that has not showed up in a while. To win, he would need a miracle. A big miracle. A miracle that, say, easily deflects dangerous stray tennis ball. And baseball... aaand a rugby ball. And principal falling read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 10, 2015
Have you ever had an empty feeling after watching a good anime? Well that's what happened after i watched Bamboo Blade.

In my country or at least in where i live, there's no clubs in high school, so i'm always exciting to watch series about everyday life in a school club and this show surely delivered it. A very well-executed anime from the start to the very end.

In 26 eps long, Bamboo Blade has got it all what you would ever see in an sport, slice of life gerne: the school life, the hardwork, a little drama, a little romance, the will to overcome hardness, the read more
I found this review Helpful
May 12, 2008
The most popular (aka common) type of animes of the past year has most definitely been school comedy anime with a female cast. And this one is no exception. Thankfully they put emphasis on what matters most character chemistry.

As you should already know it's a comedy about a high school kendo club, mainly consisting of (SPOILER AHEAD!) a group of girls. It all sounds like standard fare from here, and it is. The kids get involved in crazy hijinks, make silly jokes, and even have a decent amout of action in show such as this. After watching the first couple episodes, you'll most likely have read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 29, 2008
Ever wonder what its like to be in a Kendo club? Well certainly most of us would answer "no" to that one, but after watching Bamboo Blade it just might make you more interested in this old time tradition! As this series does it very well!

Story: 7/10
Pretty straight forward for the most part, basically it starts up with a struggling Kendo instructor and his team leader trying to get others into Kendo, as their club has little to no members at present. As the story progresses they meet/get new club members and then begin a road down to the final tournament to keep the instructor read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 5, 2008
Girls with Wooden Swords

Man, what a ride. Bamboo Blade has it all; comedy, drama, romance, all rolled up into one. By making fun of itself at random places and with the help of very fabulous characters, this show rises from its shoddy animation to join the elite group of anime this season that deserves your time.

I should get the not-so-good things out of the way first. The animation is pretty bad. No, not like Musashi Gundoh bad, but repeated animation, laziness supreme kind of bad. Up until the last two episodes, the same kendo swings from episode one get repeated over and over, with only read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 28, 2015
If you want to watch an anime that would leave you feeling warm, happy and heartfelt, look no longer!

The story line isn't as exciting, but the character and the development of the character was lovely and charming. Full of light hearted and charming sense of humour, that would leave you smiling.

The art work is decent. The setting of the dojo brings a traditional theme into the modern school setting, which is nice to watch.

I strongly recommend this anime. It is one of those anime that would leave a smile when you finish it :)
I found this review Helpful
Dec 22, 2014
I don't always watch sports anime but when I do, usually the first few episodes are deciding factor on whether keep watching or not. Bamboo Blade is one of the anime's that has hooked me in and didn't and kept me going until the very end, but that was just my experience.

The story about a high school kendo club that is mostly comprised of girls, I won't get to much into details but despite have a few male members in the club the story mostly centers around the girls but there really isn't a main character as the focus of the show tends to shift read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 31, 2013
When people read the synopsis for this show, this is probably the most common reaction: "An anime about Kendo? This must be sooo boring!". That is what I thought at first as well, but when I really got to watching this show I'd have to use one of the biggest clichés ever to describe it.. Don't judge a book by it's cover.

Bamboo Blade was really special for me, because I was feeling kind of down when I started watching it, the reason being that I had just finished "Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch R2" and I loved that show so much that I actually felt read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 10, 2014
The show is enjoyable, but his overall takes its time [in other words, a little slow]. That's not meant as criticism as I often like slower paced shows, just be aware that, despite being about kendo, this isn't a driving action series. It's more about the 5 girls, their teacher, and the 2 guys that are part of the high school kendo club. I especially like the fact that the characters, particularly the boys, are NOT the usual Anime stereotypes, and obvious "potential romantic connections" don't occur, which is good. I think there could've been a lot more character development, but it's still a good read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 23, 2012
I believe a good sports anime should be able to make the viewer enjoy the anime even if they have little knowledge about the sport. Bamboo Blade manages to do this by making the characters the driving force instead of heavily focusing on the sport itself.

The plot is pretty simple, which is basically a school comedy revolving around the kendo club, they practice, go to tournaments and recruit new members along the way. Although the plot is simple, it also works because of the characters. The series is light hearted and has a fairly large amount of comedic moments which are actually pretty funny. The read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 8, 2013
I would like to preface this by saying that I've never even heard of Bamboo Blade, let alone watched it.

Bamboo Blade is a comedy that comes around only once every very often. Let's face it, you've seen all of this before: Broke teacher looking for a quick fix to his problem, lovable cast of female characters who just want to train in kendo and have a fun time, all wrapped up in a comedy school setting. By no means is it anything new in the anime world, but it is still a wholly charming and fun little show.

Honestly, the story isn't all that fantastic. It's read more
I found this review Helpful
May 11, 2008
I'm only 10 episodes into this anime right now - so I'm writing this only on the basis of what I've seen so far. Plus, I'm not really a huge fan of the school/romantic comedy anime genre - so I was surprised when I actually decided to watch this particular anime.

What can you really say about Bamboo Blade? Well, it's a story of 5 girls who are members of their high school kendo club. Their instructor (or sensei.. whatever) makes a bet with an old friend (who is also a rival kendo instructor) that his girls can beat the others at a kendo practice read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 1, 2008
This is my first... and last review. Which goes to show you how much I loved Bamboo Blade!

Story -
I thought the story was very good. I usually don't like sports-related anime, but a kendo club full of eccentric girls (and you know they are if you've seen this) and the two lone guys is something that grabbed my attention. It was nice to see how their relationships with each other progressed and what was going to happen with the club.

Art -
I really liked the art for this series. To compare it with other series - the art is a lot like Ichigo Mashimaro or Minami-ke read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 22, 2012
Kendo: meaning “Way of The Sword”.

Definition #1: A Japanese form of fencing with two-handed bamboo swords, originally developed as a safe form of sword training for samurai.

Definition #2: Kendo is a modern Japanese martial art of sword-fighting based on traditional swordsmanship (kenjutsu) which originated with the samurai class of feudal Japan.

Defination #3: Kendo is a physically and mentally challenging activity that combines martial arts practices and values with sport-like strenuous physical activity.

With that being said, have you ever wondered what it was like to be in a Kendo club? Well, if you didn’t know what kendo was until now, the thought has probably never crossed read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 18, 2009
It's surprising the amount of insight Bamboo Blade's silly, gag oriented characters provide on the passion for and the meaning of Kendo. Even more unthinkable is the lack of ecchi in a high school girl oriented cast clearly aimed at males. Bamboo Blade is full of wonderful surprises, but the repetitive comedy and weak action elements do nothing to fill in for its uneventful plot.

An unambitious teacher is the supervisor for Murota school's Kendo club. Throughout the years, his club has been whittled down to one hard working and devoted girl, Kirino, who loves the sport but is miffed that her teacher is always so read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 24, 2010
Av: Um...what's with the wiffle bat?
NK: Hm? Oh, hey Avon. Just practicing my kendo swing. I just finished watching Bamboo Blade

Av: Oh...right. How was it?
NK: Fantastic. Though it was informative, kinda like Hikaru no Go, it was really enjoyable because of the characters.

Av: Take it that's what you liked best, then.
NK: Yeah. The plot was pretty good, and the music was good too. The characters really define the series, though.

Av: From the looks of it, it's all female.
NK: Nope. Though the series is focused on the girls' kendo team, male characters are present and are actually pretty read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 10, 2008
Story: It was pretty much like every other school anime. Characters do something for a few episodes and then move to something else. Blade Braver was a great way to add some feeling of a on-going story.

Art: The animation was not anything special and was pretty much like most other anime. The drawing style and colors won me over.

Sound: Soundtrack was good. Voices were good. Opening and ending themes were good. I'm not complaining.

Character: I liked the characters, well most of them. Tamaki was just super cute, she was the reason I began watching this show. Kirino was an awesome character too. When she'd get read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 5, 2014
I'm writing this review right after finishing the last episode of the series, and, generally speaking, I act like this just when I really enjoyed a show.
So I'll state right from the beginning that I really loved Bamboo Blade, for more than one reason.

First of all, it's actually funny. The charatcers are nice shaped and mixed. You can find one for all flavours. Given the case that we are speaking of a group of friends, you have all the anime classical girls, from the shy kuudere Tama-chan, to the violent and loving yandere Miya-Miya. For most of the time I've been watching it, I had read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 15, 2009
An anime about a kendo club in school. When I first saw the name and read a synopsis of Bamboo Blade I wasn't too sure about it. I was no really fan of sports anime and I thought it was just another one of those which were shown here in TV. A friend of mine asked me to watch the first episode together with him and I'm quite glad that I did it. I really enjoyed this warm and heartfilling anime.

Story: To be true there isn't that much story in this kind of anime. The girls go to school, practice kendo and participate in kendo read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 13, 2008
I'd be all personal about it and say it's DA BEST THING EVARRR!!!! and give it a 10 across the board like a typical MAL fa...uh, not-so-objective member. But then I'm simply not that type.

Pretty simple premise: guy in charge of the club looks to make a group of kendo chicks to compete with his ex-kendo mate's team, so that he can have a shot at his buddy's promised reward: free food for a year.
Not terribly exciting, and the way the teacher just manages to put together a team of skilled kendo experts screams plot device. Plus the couple of filler episodes distract from the read more
I found this review Helpful