Ranked #431

Death Billiards

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Wakate Animator Ikusei Project, 2012 Young Animator Training Project, Anime Mirai 2012
Japanese: デス・ビリヤード


Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 2, 2013
Producers: Madhouse
Duration: 25 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.071 (scored by 43,376 users)
Ranked: #4312
Popularity: #614
Members: 64,632
Favorites: 122
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Apr 7, 2013
Now that is a single pearl, easy to miss and likely to be underrated.
Madhouse studios must be mad.

A short story of life and death, a story of human life and the illusion of equality. Could it be possible to compress into 25 minutes? Well, it seems it was.

On artistic-wise, visuals were appealing, if not gorgeous. Such details and great work for such a short story, with all the detailed background visuals were something that multiplied the joy.

For a one shot special anime, it would not be fair to judge characters, yet they were not half-baked personages either.
Death Pool (or Death Billards for that matter) uses read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 14, 2013
"Life is never fair" - Bartender

Death Billiard is like a piece of beautiful diamond between a pile of rough stones, not so many people even aware of this anime (actually me too, until now). Its kinda coincidence i found this one, honestly i found this one when i am looking for some ecchi anime, thats why i said "like found a piece of diamonds in a pile of rough stones"

Anyway, why do i called it like A beautiful diamond? first of all, Death Billiards is just ONE episode anime. One? yeah just one, but its enough to make your head blows up.

The story involves about read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 8, 2015
Welcome to Queen Decim, mystical bar of fate.

What happens when two people, whether they're strangers or the closest of companions, are pitted against each other in a seemingly mundane contest, with the stakes being their own lives? Suspicions, outrage, deceit, bargaining, and all manner of psychological warfare commence, all in the name of survival. However, is everything as it appears?

------If you have questions or comments about this review, please message me-------
I feel this episode 0, if you will, should actually be seen after the first two episodes of the Death Parade TV series. That way, one has an idea what's going on, and who read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 9, 2013
Death Billiards should be applauded for its ambition to convey a well executed and thoughtful short story in only 25 minutes. The premise is dark - two men (with a few decades between them) are basically forced to compete in a game of pool... with their lives on the line. What starts off as a cruel premise evolves into something even darker as the two men deal with the severe trauma of being forced into such a grim scenario.

As the game begins we learn about the two unrelated main characters through some brief flashbacks. The challenge of getting an audience to care about them in read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 12, 2013
Death Billiards.

At first, I was a hesitating on checking this out. However, after watching another anime from the Anime 2013 Mirai Project group, my confidence was higher than usual and I decided to give this title a shot. And boy, I did not regret that decision.

The anime seemingly takes off in a modern like era at a local bar named the Queen Deim. However, there is a sense of confusion involving memories and how the characters came to this mysterious place. That mystery becomes a sense of danger though because seemingly, two characters becomes involving a game where their very lives at stake. There is read more
I found this review Helpful
May 31, 2014
If there is one thing that makes me wonder, is how Death Billiards is set under the “Young Animator Training Project”. Emphasize the word “Training”. That would be purely because the animation is most splendid, easily peaking the works of many so-called professional studios out there. It could be because quantity-looking, not much of a story had to be animated in the first place, nor there was much of a deadline set, meaning that more time was able to be spent on each separate scene. Still, those are all basic assumptions. What is known is the outcome, and that is that the animation holds apparent read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 16, 2015
As quite few of you already know this is the preview for Death Parade, which has drawn comparisons to things like Saw movies or Twilight Zone, but this particular episode clearly screams out Twilight Zone episode called A Game of Pool. you'll nod if u know what I'm talking about!

Anyway, I actually started watching Death Parade before this, and thus that kinda influenced me of knowing what was going to happen in Death Billiards.

What makes this episode great and like all other death parade episodes are how they present you 2 characters that are pushed to their extremes thinking at first they have to read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 14, 2013

All the four pieces of work from Anime Mirai 2013 were outstanding, in my opinion. Honestly non of them are "bad" or "average" when you consider that they are 24min one-shots. What really matters here is that all the young animators from each production company tried their best and gave their all into the work.

However, Death Billiards stood out to me the most, and is (in my opinion) a must-watch of the animes of 2013, which is why I am taking my time to write this review. read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 25, 2013
"A man is born alone and dies alone; and he experiences the good and bad consequences of his karma alone; and he goes alone to hell or the Supreme abode."

Death Billiards. In a bar, two men, one old, one young, arrive through an elevator and sit down at the bar. The waiter brings them their drinks, although neither man can recall how they arrived. In this bar, they are forced to play a game of billiards. The stake? Their lives. Although the premise of this bet may be deeper than it seems.

The story is as deep as one can be made in only 25 minutes, read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 25, 2014
Death Billiards is a rather unassuming title. It is a short that only has a ½ hour episode going for it with an interesting name but a lacking synopsis. What story could possibly be told in a half an hour that could engage you? Well this hidden gem not only told it well but left me wanting more.

Unlike my other reviews, this one won’t be as lengthy. This is because it is only one episode and thus does not need a lengthy review.

Imagine, you suddenly find yourself in an elevator that leads you to a strange bar. When you try to recollect just how you read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 23, 2014
What happens when two people, who befriended themselves just recently are pitted against each other in a pool match in order for them to survive is the whole concept behind Death Billiards. Death Billiards is a part of the Anime Mirai project and for me, this was the first anime that I watched from this project; and I did not even feel a sliver of regret after finishing it.

After reading the synopsis, I had my doubts if this show can accomplish what it set out to achieve within a solitary episode but I was proven wrong. The story meted out almost all the conditions; trying read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 8, 2014
"Death Billiards" has an intriguing premise. An old man and young man, whose names are never given, find themselves in a luxurious, mysterious bar, and must play a game of billiards. It's never revealed what is at stake, only that it's very significant. While comparisons to "Kaiji" and "Liar Game" were already swirling around in my head, I was immediately engaged.

Unfortunately, the execution is often lacking. The young man is an overly hysterical, ridiculous character, and thus reduces our investment in the game and his fate. If he is neither sympathetic, intelligent, nor even realistic, why should one read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 11, 2013
The story is affiliated with religion. The thought of karma, "heaven & hell", life being a game monitored from above, the thought of fate... They all "reek" of religion. I presume that the writer of the plot is of Japanese origin and therefore had brainstormed ideas from Shintoism, even though such ideas also appear in Christianity.
How it was expressed in Death Billiards, however, is not as good as one would guess. One would have to wrap his mind in order to find out what is right and what is wrong.
I liked the story because I wasn't spoon-fed details. My mind worked a lot in order read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 10, 2015
This short movie was produced by some amateur trainees at Madhouse. And you can tell, because it wasn't very good.

The story was highly unrefined and boring.The short movie clearly strived to be a thriller and psychological drama. This inherently means the pacing was somewhat decent; there were a few new things to hold my interest for a few seconds.
However the climax was very disappointing. It was not even clear which scene was the climax because the pacing was so monotone and inorganic. It was like reading a list of events on an author's outline, rather than being engaged by the world or characters. So in read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 24, 2013
I didn't like this "movie."

This could be good, if it were a series, not a movie. 25minutes is too minimal time for a movie (at least for this movie). Nothing interesting happened, they just played some billiard and the game wasn't even exciting. Also the plot was kinda too simple & stupid.

After the movie, yes I wanted to see more. But as a one episode movie this wasn't so great. Like I said, as a series this might work!
I found this review Helpful
Oct 1, 2014
Only 25 minutes long, but this is perfectly enough time to make people ask some questions about life and death, and equality.

At first, I was a bit afraid of the characters if they are developed or not really. Then it became clear very quickly: they ARE motivated both in their acts and thoughts, so not rough-and-ready at all! Another plus goes for the creators because no additional dialogues were needed to show their personality/backgrounds. I really enjoyed the minimality and simplicity in this.

Gotta admit too that I'm very picky about animation in general,however now I just can't say anything bad. This movie is well animated, read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 28, 2015
I was listening to the Death Parade opening song song last night and I got the urge to watch Death Billiards. Death Billiards is the OVA that eventually lead to Death Parade. It's about two people who have to play risk their lives while playing a game. In the spectrum of Death Parade episodes that had this format, it's below average lacking any momentous revelations about the characters. Never the less, it's exciting and entertaining and defiantly worth watching if you enjoyed Death Parade.
I found this review Helpful
Apr 8, 2013
Just a Wonderfull short movie and I enjoyed all 25 minutes of it!
I recommend it to anyone who like to be amazed , confused & shocked.
Atleast this was my reaction there isn't a good way to describe it only thing i can say.
Why are u reading this if u can watch this at the momment?!
I found this review Helpful
Jun 13, 2013
If you've watched Little Witch Academia, the pioneer of the Anime Mirai 2013, this one might pale in comparison a little. I say that because Little Witch Academia had better closure. Death Billards has quite a cliff hanger at the end and it just leaves questions behind with no answers. You can probably make a clever guess though.

The concept is pretty cool. Elements of the story are slowly introduced. You are slowly revealed the set up and you seem to grasp the story and its concept pretty well. And then things get a little crazy and you're kinda left with "Uh? But that means...." read more
I found this review Helpful
May 29, 2014
Human minds were never easy to decipher, you would walk past each human thinking their life is as ordinary and as boring as a plain living beings, you would never guess the sort of stories that lived up inside their hearts, you wouldn't guess anything about them.

I don't exactly know how to put it into words, but the anime showed great depth in very short time and managed to show us how a person can honestly be defined when they realise their life is on the line. How twisted are you, really? If you were put in a situation where you had no choice but read more
I found this review Helpful