MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #871
Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Alternative Titles

English: Haganai
Synonyms: I Don't Have Many Friends, Boku ha Tomodachi ga Sukunai
Japanese: 僕は友達が少ない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2011 to Dec 23, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.741 (scored by 96221 users)
Ranked: #8712
Popularity: #79
Members: 154,283
Favorites: 1,678
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Aug 8, 2013
pacdmaster
When you look at the cover art of Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (or Haganai: I Don't Have Many Friends) you just think meh.. just a simple Harem. But no and yes, sure the story is simple but there is true enjoyment in this anime. Let's delve into this anime and see why i gave this anime high praise.

Story-7/10
The story opens up with this dude coming to a new school with an read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 7, 2011
artist-retired
So once again we have a popular light novel adaptation that tries to defy most senses of competent writing and interesting stories, if you want to fascinated by real plots and unusual set ups, Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is not for you, but if want the same ole, same ole, then anything would work out, even stuff as boring and singular as this works too.

STORY: YAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN... Here we have a good example of what uninspired and perverted novel writers can come up with by using the official "Same Old Shit" guidebook that many others used for years on end. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 20, 2013
dagengarmaster92
What a great anime or should I say, in the name of all that is HOLY, GOD BLESS this anime!

When I read the synopsis of this anime, I was worried that the, "ecchiness" would totally ruin the potentially good plot (i.e. random flashing tits, panty shots), BUT HELL NO, I was quite surprised it wasn't as fanservice as I would've thought and I do like fanservice, BUT just as long as it doesn't destroy/take from the intentions of an anime *cough cough* Rosario + Vampire Capu2.

Now, probably the ONLY ecchi/fanservice parts to this anime are probably ALL the eroge references the Viagra in a bottle read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 11, 2013
DreamyGhost
Big secret of making friends? May look easy, but it takes time getting to know someone you never saw before. Well, Haganai is kinda unique, it's like a chapter from the "life's manual", as it teaches how to get along with people towards you. Friends are mostly made by "accident", casually... Maintaining and improving that relationship depends on both parts. That's what this anime is about.

Having a weird hair color makes Kodaka totally unsociable, as others think he's some kind of delinquent. His facial gestures and weird actions also worsen this situation... A bad movement quickly turn into rumours that run free all over the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 31, 2013
Shitposter-kun
Okay, so today I will be reviewing the 2011 anime ‘Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai’. It’s okay, you don’t need to memorize all of that. Just call it Haganai. Anyway, this review will basically cover the overall plot, presentation, characters, and entertainment the title brings to the table. Whether said qualities are positive or negative will be answered quite shortly.
I was originally planning on trying to make this funny, but as you all probably know, I’m an awful comedian. But that won’t stop me to try. Painfully.
So, what got me to reviewing this show? I don’t really know myself. It’s got a decent following. There read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2014
MangakaNotlora
I'd heard about Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (I Don't Have Many Friends, from here on out, Haganai) all over the internet, seen the characters around, and finally stumbled upon the episodes, watching over half the series in one day. Unfortunately, I fail to see why Haganai was regarded as a popular anime series, as the 12 episodes were rough to tough my way through.

Story - 4/10
Usually I find animes based off of light novels are pretty good and I end up liking them a lot, but this was not the case with Haganai. Your basic outcast main characters is of course faced with the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2014
Kere
As any of you who have never probably never read my reviews, I'm a poor reviewer, but I do my best. Now onto business. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is sorta what i classify one of those shows that was written by some guys who had no girls in their lives ever. However, this show has a catch. To enjoy this show, switch your brain over to Luckystar mode if it was R-18. Imagine every dirty joke you can, and throw all your logic out the window. You'll find it much more enjoyable.

That aside, the problem is they tried to mix seriousness into a poor-logic read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 5, 2014
beccabear94
How do I put this ....
I watched this anime after watching Special A because it was a recommendation, I came into the anime thinking that it would be simular to special A and I would fall in love with it as much as I had the previous one. Boy was I wrong. The characters in this one are awkward and stupid. I know that just using the word 'stupid' seems weird but they don't "do" anything. They make a club then go around and the same people get into the same fights and don't learn anything from their mistakes. It was just irritating, for a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 20, 2013
GBKeroberos
Pros:
-A handful of amusing gags

Cons:
-Bottom of the barrel characterization
-Vast stretches of frankly unfunny dialogue and events
-Poor, sometimes disturbing use of fan service
-Directionless plot


Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (hereafter Haganai) is a barely entertaining, completely forgettable series.

The characters do not deserve more than a brief mention. Their familiar, unremarkable personalities can be succinctly explained using one to three adjectives. The unloved beautiful rich girl, the exasperated protagonist, the perverted scientist, the gender-confused male, the jealous little sister. Nothing new to see here—which might be acceptable were they done well enough.

The dialogue is unfortunately slave to these routine, bland archetypes. Familiar exchanges like the artificial, gradually read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 25, 2013
Mcadogg1
You ever have a hard time making friends? Like, you just can't seem to get out there and communicate with other people the way you want to, without them thinking you're weird or scary? Well join the club. The Neighbors Club that is. In this ecchi, harem, romance-comedy, come along with our ambitious friends here, as they try to improve your people skills.

Pretty much everything about this anime in my personal opinion is outstanding. The artwork is rather impressive and has a lot of detail and bright elaborate colors. The soundtrack is also rather enjoyable and I love singing along to the opening theme. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2013
bocodamondo
you know what. despite the fact i see that everyone hates this show. i really enjoy it. i mean yes sure the characters are pretty much everyone is a anime cliche trope. but that doesnt automaticly make the suck. i mean Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu characters also were cliches and everyone loved them. i know anime cliches are the worst but if its done right they can be enjotable. the show also got some fanservice (if you might call it that) i personnaly think its very VERY pointless and the show wouldve been soo much better without it.
so yeah i do like the plot. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2013
ZackNero03
Comedy and drama don't really good hand in hand in most entertainment media stuff. Either one element is done too much or it is a complete disaster. This anime honestly a bit harder to describe, it isn’t a disaster but the anime didn’t know how to present their material. It pulls it off well enough to where it has the right amount of comedy and drama but it just wasn’t shown well enough.

Story 6/10: They did give off a good plot at the start of the anime and I was drawn into it at first. However, as the show went on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2012
Kaede-Pro
At first, I believed "Haganai" would have been a series with some quality drama, effective character development and/or deep insight into the meaning friendship but I was sadly mistaken. The atmosphere created from the first couple episodes mislead me to think that the series was going delve deeply into the concept of friendship but rather it quickly began to take the slice of life/comedy/harem route and made use of some cliche themes and characters. For the most part "Haganai" didn't turn out too bad, it offered a great quality of humor and entertainment via parodies, references, sexual innuendos, hilarious conflicts between characters and of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 16, 2013
OrangLewat
I Know this franchise from *ahem* H-Doujin, at first, i simply like Sena's Body and Personality, so i searched on google, yeah back then, the anime wasn't out... so i read the manga, it was pretty good... and a couple weeks later i heard the anime was out, so i instant download it, the Story was Funny with Yozora Bullying Sena, Rika's Fantasies and 2 Silly loli's, Kobato and Maria, actually i postponed it at Episode 3, because back then, there are no RIP, so the file size is pretty big and i got a slow internet speed.
I like the art, it's very similar to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2011
Kazuyasan
This anime talks all about FRIENDS! If you're someone who does not have much friend,this anime is perfect for you.You will learn something from this anime,I can guarentee you,this anime is really exciting.

Storyline:
Alright,the story starts with good story development. The first episode is kinda introduction to the character,of course the main one.How they behave,what kind of guy/girl is she/he , and the root of the story is started from the first episode.
But the first episode does not deliver all the information ,what is going to happens next. After watching ep 3,the main punchline of the story started.The ep 3 will tells you the new route read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 21, 2013
yaki_niku
I'll keep this review short and simple and discuss the things I liked/disliked about this anime.

Characters: Most characters in this anime is typical (cliche) but likable and fun to watch. However, unfortunately, the main heroine Yozora acts like a total b**** and gets annoying which made it difficult to pleasantly enjoy this lighthearted anime.

Story: There isn't much twists and the plot is pretty straight forward. I liked the episode where they showed the view of Yozora (heroine) - it made me hate her a little less.

Overall: The anime was good. It gives the viewers what they expect. Nothing spectacular but not super disappointing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 5, 2013
Pariah695
This show...This show confuses me so much. You read the synopsis, how generic does it sound? As much as it is. Dude with a do nothing club that is just his harem. The characters are unoriginal and the protagonist is no different from any other generic harem anime out there. Yet for some odd reason I loved this show.

The story is completely unoriginal and has nothing really new to it. It's just another harem.

The characters as I said are also unoriginal. No, not that they're unoriginal more like they were written to BE the generic harem girls. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2012
Myythic666
so i gotta say, this surprised me. i wasn't too sure if this was going to be good or not but i watched it and i gotta say, it was addicting. its a unique story that i loved and enjoyed.

the story was great. they try to make friends by making a club for people with no friends. it kept this theme through the show and got better every episode.

the art was good it is my favorite style of art and its all beautifully drawn out the way i hoped when i saw the cover.

the music & sound were chosen well for this anime. especially the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2011
ILoveJapan1596
I have to admit that this anime was on my "plan to watch" list long before its airing. I didn't expect a spectacular story, nor deep character growth, nor captivating elements, and its a good thing, too. But whats wrong with watching an anime with no depth, and no serious plot, if you're just looking for entertainment and a few laughs? Nothing, right?

Right..?

I didn't, and you shouldn't either... Because honestly, in my 5 episodes of watching Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, thats pretty much all it is so far.
Boku wa starts us off with ....badabada-bing, our scary-eyed, delinquent protagonist, Kodaka. Then, we meet read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 21, 2011
exthetic
Ok, I'll be the first to say this isn't the most original anime. Basically, delinquent guy, and two tsunderes, and a plot about making friends. In terms of plot, it's fairly cliche', no doubt about it. Although fairly predictable, you'll still have a blast viewing it though. The classic "melting" of the tsunderes, and the cute animation and soundtrack give a familiar, and lovable experience that many anime fans have come to love. This isn't going to change the way you look at anime, provoke any news ideas, or really improve on anything that has been done before. But you'll have a fun time, smile read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices