MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #825
Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Alternative Titles

English: Haganai
Synonyms: I Don't Have Many Friends, Boku ha Tomodachi ga Sukunai
Japanese: 僕は友達が少ない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2011 to Dec 23, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.761 (scored by 85525 users)
Ranked: #8252
Popularity: #79
Members: 137,230
Favorites: 1,530
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Oct 7, 2011
artist-retired
So once again we have a popular light novel adaptation that tries to defy most senses of competent writing and interesting stories, if you want to fascinated by real plots and unusual set ups, Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is not for you, but if want the same ole, same ole, then anything would work out, even stuff as boring and singular as this works too.

STORY: YAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN... Here we have a good example of what uninspired and perverted novel writers can come up with by using the official "Same Old Shit" guidebook that many others used for years on end. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 25, 2013
Mcadogg1
You ever have a hard time making friends? Like, you just can't seem to get out there and communicate with other people the way you want to, without them thinking you're weird or scary? Well join the club. The Neighbors Club that is. In this ecchi, harem, romance-comedy, come along with our ambitious friends here, as they try to improve your people skills.

Pretty much everything about this anime in my personal opinion is outstanding. The artwork is rather impressive and has a lot of detail and bright elaborate colors. The soundtrack is also rather enjoyable and I love singing along to the opening theme. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 20, 2013
dagengarmaster92
What a great anime or should I say, in the name of all that is HOLY, GOD BLESS this anime!

When I read the synopsis of this anime, I was worried that the, "ecchiness" would totally ruin the potentially good plot (i.e. random flashing tits, panty shots), BUT HELL NO, I was quite surprised it wasn't as fanservice as I would've thought and I do like fanservice, BUT just as long as it doesn't destroy/take from the intentions of an anime *cough cough* Rosario + Vampire Capu2.

Now, probably the ONLY ecchi/fanservice parts to this anime are probably ALL the eroge references the Viagra in a bottle read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 28, 2011
roriconfan
Warning to readers: This is a meta-review targeted mostly at people who consider it good. Do not view this text as an attack to your integrity or something because the show itself is an attack to your common sense and feelings and I am just counterattacking it by using the same method. Also, the review covers both seasons.

This is another case of a show trying to mask its shallowness with a serious premise and once again hundreds of people are biting the lure. Busyness as usual. Let me start with some cold-hearted facts that many of you readers haven’t realized or don’t want to admit read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 22, 2013
KamManga96
All i can say about this anime is that it is really creative. It has hilarious characters, a sense of romance and characters who deal with their problems which i can somewhat relate to. Overall, I really enjoyed this anime's story and the beautiful animation.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 31, 2013
Hongu
Okay, so today I will be reviewing the 2011 anime ‘Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai’. It’s okay, you don’t need to memorize all of that. Just call it Haganai. Anyway, this review will basically cover the overall plot, presentation, characters, and entertainment the title brings to the table. Whether said qualities are positive or negative will be answered quite shortly.
I was originally planning on trying to make this funny, but as you all probably know, I’m an awful comedian. But that won’t stop me to try. Painfully.
So, what got me to reviewing this show? I don’t really know myself. It’s got a decent following. There read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2014
Kere
As any of you who have never probably never read my reviews, I'm a poor reviewer, but I do my best. Now onto business. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is sorta what i classify one of those shows that was written by some guys who had no girls in their lives ever. However, this show has a catch. To enjoy this show, switch your brain over to Luckystar mode if it was R-18. Imagine every dirty joke you can, and throw all your logic out the window. You'll find it much more enjoyable.

That aside, the problem is they tried to mix seriousness into a poor-logic read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 20, 2013
GBKeroberos
Pros:
-A handful of amusing gags

Cons:
-Bottom of the barrel characterization
-Vast stretches of frankly unfunny dialogue and events
-Poor, sometimes disturbing use of fan service
-Directionless plot


Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (hereafter Haganai) is a barely entertaining, completely forgettable series.

The characters do not deserve more than a brief mention. Their familiar, unremarkable personalities can be succinctly explained using one to three adjectives. The unloved beautiful rich girl, the exasperated protagonist, the perverted scientist, the gender-confused male, the jealous little sister. Nothing new to see here—which might be acceptable were they done well enough.

The dialogue is unfortunately slave to these routine, bland archetypes. Familiar exchanges like the artificial, gradually read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2013
ZackNero03
Comedy and drama don't really good hand in hand in most entertainment media stuff. Either one element is done too much or it is a complete disaster. This anime honestly a bit harder to describe, it isn’t a disaster but the anime didn’t know how to present their material. It pulls it off well enough to where it has the right amount of comedy and drama but it just wasn’t shown well enough.

Story 6/10: They did give off a good plot at the start of the anime and I was drawn into it at first. However, as the show went on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2012
Kaede-Pro
At first, I believed "Haganai" would have been a series with some quality drama, effective character development and/or deep insight into the meaning friendship but I was sadly mistaken. The atmosphere created from the first couple episodes mislead me to think that the series was going delve deeply into the concept of friendship but rather it quickly began to take the slice of life/comedy/harem route and made use of some cliche themes and characters. For the most part "Haganai" didn't turn out too bad, it offered a great quality of humor and entertainment via parodies, references, sexual innuendos, hilarious conflicts between characters and of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 16, 2013
OrangLewat
I Know this franchise from *ahem* H-Doujin, at first, i simply like Sena's Body and Personality, so i searched on google, yeah back then, the anime wasn't out... so i read the manga, it was pretty good... and a couple weeks later i heard the anime was out, so i instant download it, the Story was Funny with Yozora Bullying Sena, Rika's Fantasies and 2 Silly loli's, Kobato and Maria, actually i postponed it at Episode 3, because back then, there are no RIP, so the file size is pretty big and i got a slow internet speed.
I like the art, it's very similar to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2011
Kazuyasan
This anime talks all about FRIENDS! If you're someone who does not have much friend,this anime is perfect for you.You will learn something from this anime,I can guarentee you,this anime is really exciting.

Storyline:
Alright,the story starts with good story development. The first episode is kinda introduction to the character,of course the main one.How they behave,what kind of guy/girl is she/he , and the root of the story is started from the first episode.
But the first episode does not deliver all the information ,what is going to happens next. After watching ep 3,the main punchline of the story started.The ep 3 will tells you the new route read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 21, 2013
yaki_niku
I'll keep this review short and simple and discuss the things I liked/disliked about this anime.

Characters: Most characters in this anime is typical (cliche) but likable and fun to watch. However, unfortunately, the main heroine Yozora acts like a total b**** and gets annoying which made it difficult to pleasantly enjoy this lighthearted anime.

Story: There isn't much twists and the plot is pretty straight forward. I liked the episode where they showed the view of Yozora (heroine) - it made me hate her a little less.

Overall: The anime was good. It gives the viewers what they expect. Nothing spectacular but not super disappointing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 5, 2013
Pariah695
This show...This show confuses me so much. You read the synopsis, how generic does it sound? As much as it is. Dude with a do nothing club that is just his harem. The characters are unoriginal and the protagonist is no different from any other generic harem anime out there. Yet for some odd reason I loved this show.

The story is completely unoriginal and has nothing really new to it. It's just another harem.

The characters as I said are also unoriginal. No, not that they're unoriginal more like they were written to BE the generic harem girls. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2012
Myythic666
so i gotta say, this surprised me. i wasn't too sure if this was going to be good or not but i watched it and i gotta say, it was addicting. its a unique story that i loved and enjoyed.

the story was great. they try to make friends by making a club for people with no friends. it kept this theme through the show and got better every episode.

the art was good it is my favorite style of art and its all beautifully drawn out the way i hoped when i saw the cover.

the music & sound were chosen well for this anime. especially the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2011
ILoveJapan1596
I have to admit that this anime was on my "plan to watch" list long before its airing. I didn't expect a spectacular story, nor deep character growth, nor captivating elements, and its a good thing, too. But whats wrong with watching an anime with no depth, and no serious plot, if you're just looking for entertainment and a few laughs? Nothing, right?

Right..?

I didn't, and you shouldn't either... Because honestly, in my 5 episodes of watching Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, thats pretty much all it is so far.
Boku wa starts us off with ....badabada-bing, our scary-eyed, delinquent protagonist, Kodaka. Then, we meet read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 21, 2011
exthetic
Ok, I'll be the first to say this isn't the most original anime. Basically, delinquent guy, and two tsunderes, and a plot about making friends. In terms of plot, it's fairly cliche', no doubt about it. Although fairly predictable, you'll still have a blast viewing it though. The classic "melting" of the tsunderes, and the cute animation and soundtrack give a familiar, and lovable experience that many anime fans have come to love. This isn't going to change the way you look at anime, provoke any news ideas, or really improve on anything that has been done before. But you'll have a fun time, smile read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 13, 2012
albesir
I can see now that any anime coming from this studio is going to be exactly the same. From the people who brought us OreImo comes Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sakunai, or I Don't Have Many Friends.

Kodaka comes to a new school and immediately is typecast as the delinquent by his classmates thanks to his hair. He shortly thereafter has a run-in with the other outcast of the class, Yozora, who is talking to her "air friend." They end up starting a club to make friends, and so Sena immediately joins. Sena and Yozora clearly are meant to be foils of each other, although Yozora read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 8, 2011
Woks
Probably my favourite anime of the season.

After the first episode I read all that was available for the manga. Then going through the following episode I can tell that it is fairly the same except maybe for the art being much better in the anime and some event not happening in the same orders. Nonetheless I enjoy both and the anime even more.

Really funny, lovable characters it only makes me really sad that we are already 3 episodes left to it. I wish they would have make it a 26 episode season. Hopefully for a second season. hopping they wont conclude it with this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 2, 2013
The_Gray_Otaku
I came to Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai with no preconceptions whatsoever beyond that I was about to see some truly beautiful artwork, and I wasn't disappointed in the slightest.
Unfortunately, that's about the only thing about the show where I wasn't.

The concept of Haganai is simple enough to be almost formulaic...
Social misfits get together in search of the ever elusive "popularity", and merriment/romance/insert trope here, ensues.
The dynamics are all in place...we have the nice guy who just can't seem to get a break; the beautiful, yet miserable outsider girl; the eye candy, I mean, the rich, beautiful, talented, stuck-up girl who only wants to be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices