Ranked #1073

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Alternative Titles

English: Haganai
Synonyms: I Don't Have Many Friends, Boku ha Tomodachi ga Sukunai
Japanese: 僕は友達が少ない


Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2011 to Dec 23, 2011
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.661 (scored by 148,788 users)
Ranked: #10732
Popularity: #75
Members: 243,689
Favorites: 2,285
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 27, 2015
At its core, the whole 'Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai' series is a coming of age story that pits its characters against a wide variety of issues every person on this planet has experienced in their teenage years. Sexual tension, childhood memories, emotional pain, hunger for success and the unbreakable will to change.

The premise is very simple. We have the protagonist, Kodaka Hasegawa, a blond high school boy who has a hard time building any sort of rapport with people due to his hair colour (being blond in Japan is bad ass apparently) and his inability to smile. Everyone sees him as a delinquent read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 19, 2015
*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Let me start off by saying, yes, this anime has quite a bit of fan service. If you're looking for that kind of thing, this anime has quite a bit for you. However, if you look past the harem anime staples, it's pretty humorous, and the characters will become endearing to the viewer. The story follows Kodaka Hasegawa, self-proclaimed "no-lifer" as he searches for friendship, love, and belonging. He and Yozora Mikazuki create the "Neighbor's Club" a club where a lovable bunch of misfits band together to create friendships. This series has quite a bit of crude humor (and read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 2, 2012
If you have strong feelings about this anime, please don't read any further. I just noticed there was an abnormally large amount of overly positive reviews for this show and thought it would be best if there was a second opinion readily available.

Haganai was not an enjoyable anime for me. I did not find it funny past a certain point. For the first three episodes the show revolves around the mistaken delinquent and the two "heroines" of the series - Yozora and Sena. These episodes for the most part were quite sharp, and as Sena and Yozora's antics grew and grew, Kodaka's role as the read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 22, 2011
With Christmas fast approaching, I can safely say one thing: All I want for Christmas is Meat. Delicious, delicious, Meat.


What do you get when an ambitious and rather oddball girl drags an unwilling male into forming a club for whatever reason? You get the "Save the World by Overloading it with Fun (SOS) Haruhi Suzumiya Brigade!" Oh wait, wrong show. You alternatively could get the "Neighbors Club." Yes, that seems about right. This fabulous club is composed of Kodaka and Kobato Hasegawa, Yozora Mikazuki, Sena Kashiwazaki, Rika Shiguma, Maria Takayama and Yukimura Kusunoki. Watch as this rebellious group takes on one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 2, 2015
Haganai is an interesting tale about a group of misfits who share one trait: an inability to make "friends". While wildly popular in the visual novel form, how does the anime adaptation hold up?

On the surface, haganai is just about a group of people hanging out, reminiscent in multiple ways of Haruhi. Underneath, however, it's a story about relationships and fitting in your own way. It really isn't a series about how to make friends, the most blatant "how to" example being 30-sai. It's more about finding and accepting one's own place, quite similar in theme to Denpa Onna (as well as animation style). In read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 12, 2014
Disclaimer: My normal scoring preconditions go flying out the window. This is my first non-critical review. This show is mainly for humor so I review it as such. So my scores are based more on how much laughter I got out of it and less on critical appeal. See the rest of my body of work for something more critical. If you don't agree with my score, please don't downgrade it just because you think the show is stupid or what not.

Summary: Haganai is another average slice of life anime. It's humorous, kinda realistic, and in a club school setting. I didn't expect much read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 31, 2015
“It doesn't matter if you can make 100 friends. Instead, make real friends who are as important to you as 100 is to them. It doesn't matter if you have one, as long as it's a friend that you care about.”

What can one expect from an anime focused around the concept of making friends, it could lead us to some funny moments, it could be deeper and focus more on the psychological aspect, or it could, as it happened in this case, just turn into a regular run of the mill harem anime. Not all is bad as you are to find out in read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 7, 2015
Story - 8/10
The story starts off with a teen boy, Kodaka Hasegawa, who has just moved back to his childhood town. When he first walks into his high school class, he gives the immediate impression to everyone that he's dangerous and a delinquent, mostly because of the color of his blond hair. Kodaka doesn't make any friends after this happens. But, soon after, he meets Yozora Mikazuki, another student in his class who is also antisocial and friendless. Both of them form the Neighbors Club, a place for people with no friends to help each other try to make friends. I will not go much read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 1, 2014
To be honest, I came here looking for just a plain comedy, what I found was a much more. The opening few episodes were genuinely funny. At first the characters don't look particularly fascinating however, as the series progresses they become more and more interesting. Towards the end the anime is set up brilliantly for its next season which would be hard to miss if you completed the first one. An anime to get easily hooked to and one which becomes more interesting as it progresses.
I liked it a lot and overall it is quite nice.
I found this review Helpful
Jul 20, 2014
“It doesn't matter if you can’t make 100 friends. Instead, make real friends who are as important to you as 100 of them. It doesn't matter if you have one, as long as it’s a friend that you care about.” – Mikazuki Yozora
Everyone at some point in their lives eventually will make the decision as to who their real friends are going to be. This quote summarizes the theme of the anime.

‘Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai’, or ‘Haganai’ for short, is a story about a transfer student named Hasegawa Kodaka, who is having a hard time making friends due to the fact that he looks read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 19, 2015
For my anime reviews I am going to review the anime on the order of which you would experience while watching an episode of the anime that is being reviewed.

1.Art - The art for this anime was very average...... very average. Yeah the art never really gave me any excitement and it was the most boring art style that i've seen. I am definitely not trying to be a sour patch kid about it but I really wasn't impressed at all. That being said, I really appreciate the effort that is put into art by all the artist and animators and I read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 7, 2011
Outstanding-Is one word that can sum up this entire series.

First of all, the story is exceedingly compelling. The underlying complexion of such a minute situation in the premise of today’s society and its impact on people nowadays may seem like trivial matter, but that may not always work out for all of us. Generalizing, many of us laugh/disregard those who are disabled or lack some sort of trait or ability that hinders them from their true potential. Those people, who do make fun of others, are none less than a prick. We fail as humans to understand the feelings of others, and must take into read more
I found this review Helpful
May 18, 2015
First off, this review covers both seasons of Haganai, but will still be spoiler free.

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukuna, more simply known as Haganai, as the title states, is about someone who doesn't have any friends. While I was originally hesitant to watch the anime, I quickly discovered the beauty of it.

Overall: 8

Haganai follows the simple, yet effective, harem rom-com format. Nothing particularly excels in the anime. Pretty much everything is simply decent. With that in mind, I still enjoyed the anime quite a lot. Haganai is a fun, easy-going, hilarious and enjoyable anime. I would certainly recommend it to mostly anyone who enjoys lighthearted, read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 7, 2011
The anime is very good.

It has an original theme, "Make Friends".
In most anime in high school, club characters do in the first year, but this anime the characters decide to make the club a second year of high school.

Yozora after talking with friends about Kadoka, discovers it is not the only one who can not make friends, then create a club to make "friends" and put an ad in code, to understand just who may join the club. She and Kodak are the first to join the club.

The anime has the same graph Denpa Onna.
It's a great college comedy and anime.

The manga is also good, read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 22, 2015
My experience with the harem genre is mixed. I love reverse harems but I have a bit of a problem with harems. I've seen some awful ones such as Yumeira and Girls Bravo But luckily Haganai is different from those shows and puts my fate in the genre .Today I'll explain why it's a great harem and show in general.

Story 7.5
It has a great premise and it knows what it's doing. I also enjoyed the comedy ,it reminds me of Baka and Test cranked up a few notches. There is a story as a side element and I heard in season 2 they read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 26, 2015
Figures I would smash this out before bed having just finished this. This slice of life and a half anime is one of the most memorable I have watched in a long time. Not that this is saying much as slice of life is not really my bag, as it were. But still I had a lot of fun with this one. As will be the norm with my reviews I will spoiler worn and disclaimer right now. All that is about to be said is my pov so feel free to bitch about it but don't take offense as I don't mean any. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 30, 2015
Hagani follows a boy named Kodaka as he struggles as the new kid at school after he moves to a new town where he used to grow up with his sister. You watch as throughout this series he struggles to make friends and meet a lot of amazing people a long the way most people are scared of him. But he comes to find an amazing group of friends that come together to make the neighbors club. The members of this club are Kodaka, Yokora, Sena, Rika, Maria, and Yukimura who come together everyday to learn to make friends. Little did they know they were read more
I found this review Helpful
May 12, 2014
Most of the things I get from harem anime without actually watching them is that as good as everyone is basically the same. From the basic premise, over the characters, the setting and most likely the whole conclusion, mostly everything has been done before. This is one of the reasons I don't usually get my eyes on such anime. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is an exception though because a very good friend of mine recommended it. "Might as well give it a try", I thought, "It only has 12 episodes, it's something different from the previous stuff I watched and it's on my HDD read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 7, 2011
So once again we have a popular light novel adaptation that tries to defy most senses of competent writing and interesting stories, if you want to fascinated by real plots and unusual set ups, Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is not for you, but if want the same ole, same ole, then anything would work out, even stuff as boring and singular as this works too.

STORY: YAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN... Here we have a good example of what uninspired and perverted novel writers can come up with by using the official "Same Old Shit" guidebook that many others used for years on end. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 14, 2015
The opinions of Boku Wa Tomodachi Ga Sukunai are very discordant with each other, those who love him, who hates him and those who think that it is enough but nothing impressive. I honestly I really enjoyed because he managed to entertain me and I was never bored.
But enough talk and get lost in it immediately begins to talk about the plot. It is not the most complex, but I appreciated even if it is not the most original. It grows quite well and for some places even becomes interesting. I'd give it a 7.
The characters are one of the highlights of this anime. I read more
I found this review Helpful