MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #994
Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Alternative Titles

English: Haganai
Synonyms: I Don't Have Many Friends, Boku ha Tomodachi ga Sukunai
Japanese: 僕は友達が少ない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2011 to Dec 23, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.701 (scored by 121117 users)
Ranked: #9942
Popularity: #79
Members: 196,449
Favorites: 1,938
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Dec 12, 2014
Emperormin3
Disclaimer: My normal scoring preconditions go flying out the window. This is my first non-critical review. This show is mainly for humor so I review it as such. So my scores are based more on how much laughter I got out of it and less on critical appeal. See the rest of my body of work for something more critical. If you don't agree with my score, please don't downgrade it just because you think the show is stupid or what not.

Summary: Haganai is another average slice of life anime. It's humorous, kinda realistic, and in a club school setting. I didn't expect much read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 20, 2014
KumaKing
“It doesn't matter if you can’t make 100 friends. Instead, make real friends who are as important to you as 100 of them. It doesn't matter if you have one, as long as it’s a friend that you care about.” – Mikazuki Yozora
Everyone at some point in their lives eventually will make the decision as to who their real friends are going to be. This quote summarizes the theme of the anime.

‘Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai’, or ‘Haganai’ for short, is a story about a transfer student named Hasegawa Kodaka, who is having a hard time making friends due to the fact that he looks read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 22, 2011
TheArchangel
With Christmas fast approaching, I can safely say one thing: All I want for Christmas is Meat. Delicious, delicious, Meat.

Ahem.

What do you get when an ambitious and rather oddball girl drags an unwilling male into forming a club for whatever reason? You get the "Save the World by Overloading it with Fun (SOS) Haruhi Suzumiya Brigade!" Oh wait, wrong show. You alternatively could get the "Neighbors Club." Yes, that seems about right. This fabulous club is composed of Kodaka and Kobato Hasegawa, Yozora Mikazuki, Sena Kashiwazaki, Rika Shiguma, Maria Takayama and Yukimura Kusunoki. Watch as this rebellious group takes on one of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 1, 2014
abhinaVADAR42
To be honest, I came here looking for just a plain comedy, what I found was a much more. The opening few episodes were genuinely funny. At first the characters don't look particularly fascinating however, as the series progresses they become more and more interesting. Towards the end the anime is set up brilliantly for its next season which would be hard to miss if you completed the first one. An anime to get easily hooked to and one which becomes more interesting as it progresses.
I liked it a lot and overall it is quite nice.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 14, 2015
kurobato
The opinions of Boku Wa Tomodachi Ga Sukunai are very discordant with each other, those who love him, who hates him and those who think that it is enough but nothing impressive. I honestly I really enjoyed because he managed to entertain me and I was never bored.
But enough talk and get lost in it immediately begins to talk about the plot. It is not the most complex, but I appreciated even if it is not the most original. It grows quite well and for some places even becomes interesting. I'd give it a 7.
The characters are one of the highlights of this anime. I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2015
MarinOfPula
Haganai & Haganai NEXT
Another fanservice fap romp; Or is it?

Art and Animation
Technically animation is above average, and fanservice is surprisingly subtle.
Overall Haganai is pleasant to look at
6.5/10

Sound and Music
First season opening and ending are great, second season (Haganai NEXT) not so much. Rest of the OST is in the background without any stand out track.
6.5/10

English voice cast performance
Dub brings Haganai to life, yet another great effort by FUNimation.
8.5/10

Story, Characters, and Writing in general
Despite the marketing, this is slice of life show about people without friends, and their efforts to change that. There are good reasons why main characters are "lonely"; From borderline schizoid Kodaka, conceited read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 28, 2014
Rom0n
This is my first encounter with slice of life genre. High school animes I normally watch always have supernatural/sci-fi twist because I assumed without it, it would be just like American TV shows. I'm glad I'm proven wrong because now I have a plethora more anime to watch.

Characters: The male main character,Kodaka is likeable. He appears to be a delinquent but really just want to have friends. He is afraid of change and this fear is the driving force for the main plot.
Pretty much every stereotype of a girl is in this anime. There is the childhood friend Yozora, Koda's Siscon sister, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 8, 2014
Cenzora
I really enjoyed boku wa tomodacha ga sukunai I thought it had amazing art with great voice acting and charecters, also I really liked the concept of the "neighbours club" and I thought that some of their ideas on what it's like to have friends was really funny. I thought this anime had a wide variety of charecters along with having a wide variety of charecters I felt that somehow these charecters were different to other anime and were not the usual common type of charecters that you may have expected.i really liked how the charecters yozura and cena argued over petty things, I thought read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2012
Detective
If you have strong feelings about this anime, please don't read any further. I just noticed there was an abnormally large amount of overly positive reviews for this show and thought it would be best if there was a second opinion readily available.

Haganai was not an enjoyable anime for me. I did not find it funny past a certain point. For the first three episodes the show revolves around the mistaken delinquent and the two "heroines" of the series - Yozora and Sena. These episodes for the most part were quite sharp, and as Sena and Yozora's antics grew and grew, Kodaka's role as the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2012
Kamakie
A long time ago, I had the idea to write a novel with every otaku trope in it, figuring I could capture the entire otaku market spectrum. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (Haganai) beat me to it. Goth loli, fujoshi, tsundere, forgotten childhood friends, natural-blonde-haired male lead ... it's all there in one jumbled mess.

What really got me was the number of face-palm, cringe-worthy moments in this show. After all, Haganai is about awkward kids trying to make friends. If you think watching someone with Asperger's try to hit on chicks would be hilarious, go for it. For me, there were quite a few times read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 12, 2014
LaughingManlet
Most of the things I get from harem anime without actually watching them is that as good as everyone is basically the same. From the basic premise, over the characters, the setting and most likely the whole conclusion, mostly everything has been done before. This is one of the reasons I don't usually get my eyes on such anime. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is an exception though because a very good friend of mine recommended it. "Might as well give it a try", I thought, "It only has 12 episodes, it's something different from the previous stuff I watched and it's on my HDD read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 16, 2014
GoodLuck
Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, or Haganai is about the adventure's of Hasagawa Kodaka and the Neighbor Club. A club based around socially inept people trying to make friends.

This show weakest point is probably it's story, because it has almost no major plot development's, or even real arks until the end of season 1, and the end of season 2. Despite that it does have many redeeming qualitie's in other aspects; specifically characters.

Haganai is often compared to Oregairu because of the theme of social outcasts, and loners. However Haganai's character's can probably hold their own against Oregairu's. Since Haganai's main focus is characters. Even read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 26, 2012
Yukariki
Friendship comes in many flavors. One type includes gigantic lazer beams from an orange-haired girl in a white dress; another involves interpersonal attraction, the one that involves physical and personality attraction. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai asks questions based on the latter: “What is a friend? Do good friends exist? If they do, will they add me on Facebook?”

The answer, of course, is, “It’s someone who you ask for money. Yes, they are also known as rich people. And yes, they will.”

Without a doubt, Boku not Pico refuses to acknowledge the true definition of friendship. It is romanticist in its ideals, believing that friends are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2014
MangakaNotlora
I'd heard about Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (I Don't Have Many Friends, from here on out, Haganai) all over the internet, seen the characters around, and finally stumbled upon the episodes, watching over half the series in one day. Unfortunately, I fail to see why Haganai was regarded as a popular anime series, as the 12 episodes were rough to tough my way through.

Story - 4/10
Usually I find animes based off of light novels are pretty good and I end up liking them a lot, but this was not the case with Haganai. Your basic outcast main characters is of course faced with the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 20, 2013
GBKeroberos
Pros:
-A handful of amusing gags

Cons:
-Bottom of the barrel characterization
-Vast stretches of frankly unfunny dialogue and events
-Poor, sometimes disturbing use of fan service
-Directionless plot


Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (hereafter Haganai) is a barely entertaining, completely forgettable series.

The characters do not deserve more than a brief mention. Their familiar, unremarkable personalities can be succinctly explained using one to three adjectives. The unloved beautiful rich girl, the exasperated protagonist, the perverted scientist, the gender-confused male, the jealous little sister. Nothing new to see here—which might be acceptable were they done well enough.

The dialogue is unfortunately slave to these routine, bland archetypes. Familiar exchanges like the artificial, gradually read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 14, 2013
JuppJupp
Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai deals with a group of introverted friendless pupils who aim to make friends. This anime is your average dosage of ecchi which does not focus on story but on fanservice and laughter. I have to admit that I really enjoyed watching it. But, there are some points that disappointed me and influenced me to give it a lower rating and I’m going to present you these:

Story (5):

As mentioned above, this anime has just a whiff of a story. The main character Kodaka transferred to a new school. Due to his unusual blonde hair and unintended aggressive behavior his classmates avoid read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 24, 2014
Ninjjamonk
Upon seeing this recommended alongside OreImo and OreGairu I was fairly excited to give it a watch, sadly though this show is overall lackluster. Not to say that its bad, it just also not good, there are hundreds of versions of this show and every one that I have seen is better than it.


Plot - 6 - Doesn't progress much.

The plot of this show is a basic one, but a decent starting point, that is if it ever had anything added to it. Without spoiling anything a basic summary would be
"A male transfer student who has no friends meets a female who has no friends, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 18, 2011
Jstyle
*Review [After finishing eps 1-7]*

Hmm... Well, all I can say is that there's nothing really spectacular about this new series as it uses the same old jokes and themes. The plot is obviously heading to a love triangle or possibly a harem and it's slowly deteriorating in terms of comedy. As for the characters, I've not seen any developments or whatsoever, they are basically a bunch of static stereotypes. I've also noticed that their faces are very similar (with the exception of Kodaka), they only seem to differ according to their hairstyles. The fanservice is also noticable in this one.

For me, that pretty much read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
Temere
No matter what stage you are in life, you will always have friends. Even if you don't realize it. But when your idea to make friends involves making a club revolved around making friends, that's when you need those friends to step in to tell them to wake up and smell the roses. Unless those friends are just as thick as the one who made the club, then you have a problem.

The story of this anime is not that really leads anywhere. with a small 13 episode series, at least 5 or 6 of them can be ruled out as fillers which is rather disappointing. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2013
StarDescent
Because apparently reviewing something done to death got me nowhere, I'm gonna review this today. Woot.

Boku Wa Tomodachi Ga Sukunai is the story of the endeavors of the Neighbors Club, a Highschool club dedicated to the purpose of making friends for those who have none. ... That's really all you can say without throwing a spoiler in there.

The plot itself throws a whole cast of characters together, slowly but surely, and makes it so that they all become friends with each other, indirectly achieving the objective of the club in the first place.

It might sound like I'm tearing this apart, but.. I loved this anime. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Advertising     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy