MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #871
Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Alternative Titles

English: Haganai
Synonyms: I Don't Have Many Friends, Boku ha Tomodachi ga Sukunai
Japanese: 僕は友達が少ない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2011 to Dec 23, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.741 (scored by 100347 users)
Ranked: #8712
Popularity: #77
Members: 160,927
Favorites: 1,722
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Oct 7, 2011
jonathanexp
Outstanding-Is one word that can sum up this entire series.

First of all, the story is exceedingly compelling. The underlying complexion of such a minute situation in the premise of today’s society and its impact on people nowadays may seem like trivial matter, but that may not always work out for all of us. Generalizing, many of us laugh/disregard those who are disabled or lack some sort of trait or ability that hinders them from their true potential. Those people, who do make fun of others, are none less than a prick. We fail as humans to understand the feelings of others, and must take into read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2013
DarkwindJR
This Anime is clearly one of those RomCom animes out their but focuses on the essence of friendship and how to find it. This Anime was actually pretty good if your in to this stuff but it was rated badly because most of the viewers of this anime were not a fan of this genres at all. Artwork was definitely pretty good, storyline was ordinary but still it was delivered pretty nicely. The Characters we're a little bit Childish looking which probably rated down those fans and The Main Character pissed off most of the audiences I guess, The Soundtrack was actually pretty good read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 24, 2011
Yemi_Hikari
This series is about a school club specifically designed to make friends. However, despite the serious topic of making friends, the plot line is not at all serious. No, the show is flat out comedy from beginning to end, and some of the humor will not appeal to everyone, even if some of the humor does appeal. I am also going to admit, that some of the humor is going to be the type that the viewer may question if it is really a good thing to be laughing at.

I mean, you wonder how the characters can be so stupid at times, yet the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 7, 2011
Sora_Shiro
The anime is very good.

It has an original theme, "Make Friends".
In most anime in high school, club characters do in the first year, but this anime the characters decide to make the club a second year of high school.

Yozora after talking with friends about Kadoka, discovers it is not the only one who can not make friends, then create a club to make "friends" and put an ad in code, to understand just who may join the club. She and Kodak are the first to join the club.

The anime has the same graph Denpa Onna.
It's a great college comedy and anime.

The manga is also good, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
Temere
No matter what stage you are in life, you will always have friends. Even if you don't realize it. But when your idea to make friends involves making a club revolved around making friends, that's when you need those friends to step in to tell them to wake up and smell the roses. Unless those friends are just as thick as the one who made the club, then you have a problem.

The story of this anime is not that really leads anywhere. with a small 13 episode series, at least 5 or 6 of them can be ruled out as fillers which is rather disappointing. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 7, 2011
artist-retired
So once again we have a popular light novel adaptation that tries to defy most senses of competent writing and interesting stories, if you want to fascinated by real plots and unusual set ups, Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is not for you, but if want the same ole, same ole, then anything would work out, even stuff as boring and singular as this works too.

STORY: YAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN... Here we have a good example of what uninspired and perverted novel writers can come up with by using the official "Same Old Shit" guidebook that many others used for years on end. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2013
pacdmaster
When you look at the cover art of Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (or Haganai: I Don't Have Many Friends) you just think meh.. just a simple Harem. But no and yes, sure the story is simple but there is true enjoyment in this anime. Let's delve into this anime and see why i gave this anime high praise.

Story-7/10
The story opens up with this dude coming to a new school with an read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 20, 2013
dagengarmaster92
What a great anime or should I say, in the name of all that is HOLY, GOD BLESS this anime!

When I read the synopsis of this anime, I was worried that the, "ecchiness" would totally ruin the potentially good plot (i.e. random flashing tits, panty shots), BUT HELL NO, I was quite surprised it wasn't as fanservice as I would've thought and I do like fanservice, BUT just as long as it doesn't destroy/take from the intentions of an anime *cough cough* Rosario + Vampire Capu2.

Now, probably the ONLY ecchi/fanservice parts to this anime are probably ALL the eroge references the Viagra in a bottle read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2014
Kere
As any of you who have never probably never read my reviews, I'm a poor reviewer, but I do my best. Now onto business. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is sorta what i classify one of those shows that was written by some guys who had no girls in their lives ever. However, this show has a catch. To enjoy this show, switch your brain over to Luckystar mode if it was R-18. Imagine every dirty joke you can, and throw all your logic out the window. You'll find it much more enjoyable.

That aside, the problem is they tried to mix seriousness into a poor-logic read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 11, 2013
DreamyGhost
Big secret of making friends? May look easy, but it takes time getting to know someone you never saw before. Well, Haganai is kinda unique, it's like a chapter from the "life's manual", as it teaches how to get along with people towards you. Friends are mostly made by "accident", casually... Maintaining and improving that relationship depends on both parts. That's what this anime is about.

Having a weird hair color makes Kodaka totally unsociable, as others think he's some kind of delinquent. His facial gestures and weird actions also worsen this situation... A bad movement quickly turn into rumours that run free all over the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 31, 2013
enginesofdemise
Okay, so today I will be reviewing the 2011 anime ‘Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai’. It’s okay, you don’t need to memorize all of that. Just call it Haganai. Anyway, this review will basically cover the overall plot, presentation, characters, and entertainment the title brings to the table. Whether said qualities are positive or negative will be answered quite shortly.
I was originally planning on trying to make this funny, but as you all probably know, I’m an awful comedian. But that won’t stop me to try. Painfully.
So, what got me to reviewing this show? I don’t really know myself. It’s got a decent following. There read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 5, 2014
beccabear94
How do I put this ....
I watched this anime after watching Special A because it was a recommendation, I came into the anime thinking that it would be simular to special A and I would fall in love with it as much as I had the previous one. Boy was I wrong. The characters in this one are awkward and stupid. I know that just using the word 'stupid' seems weird but they don't "do" anything. They make a club then go around and the same people get into the same fights and don't learn anything from their mistakes. It was just irritating, for a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2013
bocodamondo
you know what. despite the fact i see that everyone hates this show. i really enjoy it. i mean yes sure the characters are pretty much everyone is a anime cliche trope. but that doesnt automaticly make the suck. i mean Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu characters also were cliches and everyone loved them. i know anime cliches are the worst but if its done right they can be enjotable. the show also got some fanservice (if you might call it that) i personnaly think its very VERY pointless and the show wouldve been soo much better without it.
so yeah i do like the plot. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 2, 2013
The_Gray_Otaku
I came to Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai with no preconceptions whatsoever beyond that I was about to see some truly beautiful artwork, and I wasn't disappointed in the slightest.
Unfortunately, that's about the only thing about the show where I wasn't.

The concept of Haganai is simple enough to be almost formulaic...
Social misfits get together in search of the ever elusive "popularity", and merriment/romance/insert trope here, ensues.
The dynamics are all in place...we have the nice guy who just can't seem to get a break; the beautiful, yet miserable outsider girl; the eye candy, I mean, the rich, beautiful, talented, stuck-up girl who only wants to be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2012
Kaede-Pro
At first, I believed "Haganai" would have been a series with some quality drama, effective character development and/or deep insight into the meaning friendship but I was sadly mistaken. The atmosphere created from the first couple episodes mislead me to think that the series was going delve deeply into the concept of friendship but rather it quickly began to take the slice of life/comedy/harem route and made use of some cliche themes and characters. For the most part "Haganai" didn't turn out too bad, it offered a great quality of humor and entertainment via parodies, references, sexual innuendos, hilarious conflicts between characters and of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 16, 2013
OrangLewat
I Know this franchise from *ahem* H-Doujin, at first, i simply like Sena's Body and Personality, so i searched on google, yeah back then, the anime wasn't out... so i read the manga, it was pretty good... and a couple weeks later i heard the anime was out, so i instant download it, the Story was Funny with Yozora Bullying Sena, Rika's Fantasies and 2 Silly loli's, Kobato and Maria, actually i postponed it at Episode 3, because back then, there are no RIP, so the file size is pretty big and i got a slow internet speed.
I like the art, it's very similar to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2011
Kazuyasan
This anime talks all about FRIENDS! If you're someone who does not have much friend,this anime is perfect for you.You will learn something from this anime,I can guarentee you,this anime is really exciting.

Storyline:
Alright,the story starts with good story development. The first episode is kinda introduction to the character,of course the main one.How they behave,what kind of guy/girl is she/he , and the root of the story is started from the first episode.
But the first episode does not deliver all the information ,what is going to happens next. After watching ep 3,the main punchline of the story started.The ep 3 will tells you the new route read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 25, 2013
Mcadogg1
You ever have a hard time making friends? Like, you just can't seem to get out there and communicate with other people the way you want to, without them thinking you're weird or scary? Well join the club. The Neighbors Club that is. In this ecchi, harem, romance-comedy, come along with our ambitious friends here, as they try to improve your people skills.

Pretty much everything about this anime in my personal opinion is outstanding. The artwork is rather impressive and has a lot of detail and bright elaborate colors. The soundtrack is also rather enjoyable and I love singing along to the opening theme. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2012
Myythic666
so i gotta say, this surprised me. i wasn't too sure if this was going to be good or not but i watched it and i gotta say, it was addicting. its a unique story that i loved and enjoyed.

the story was great. they try to make friends by making a club for people with no friends. it kept this theme through the show and got better every episode.

the art was good it is my favorite style of art and its all beautifully drawn out the way i hoped when i saw the cover.

the music & sound were chosen well for this anime. especially the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 21, 2013
yaki_niku
I'll keep this review short and simple and discuss the things I liked/disliked about this anime.

Characters: Most characters in this anime is typical (cliche) but likable and fun to watch. However, unfortunately, the main heroine Yozora acts like a total b**** and gets annoying which made it difficult to pleasantly enjoy this lighthearted anime.

Story: There isn't much twists and the plot is pretty straight forward. I liked the episode where they showed the view of Yozora (heroine) - it made me hate her a little less.

Overall: The anime was good. It gives the viewers what they expect. Nothing spectacular but not super disappointing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices